Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
FairUse Wizard

NEW VERSION 3D R2

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
FairUse is a DVD backup software designed to be very easy to use. It makes turning DVD into high quality DivX, XviD, H264 avi or mp4 files a breeze by guiding you in a step-by-step "wizard" interface. Conversion profiles for Apple TV, iPod, iPhone, PS3, Xbox 360, Tivo, Zune and standalone DivX DVD players. The lite version is free, if you want all features it costs $30.

Freeware Trialware
OS: Win
File size: 10MB
Old versions
Version history
8.6/10
81 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

FairUse Wizard screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


FairUse Wizard screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

3D R2 (August 21, 2012)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download FairUse Wizard 3D R2  10MB  Win




Download old versions


Download FairUse Wizard old versions



Software License

Freeware/Trialware (Free download but some features are limited to pro/premium version )



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


3D R2
Fixed:
- fixed loss of focus when defining file size on the encoding screen.
- fixed an IFO parsing bug which would result in mixing content across chains

Added:
- Now works on Windows 8!

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to FairUse Wizard


AutoGK



HandBrake



SimpleDivX



StaxRip



XviD4PSP







Guides and How to's


DVD to iPod with subtitles burned into mp4 format using FairUse Wizard

- Read

How to Backup DVD's for your GM PhatNoise MiniVan

- Read

How to convert DVD TV episodes to AVI Xvid or MP4 H264 with optional subtitles

- Read

How to convert DVD with FairUse Wizard to MKV with VC1 & AC3

- Read

FairUse Wizard video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

FUW




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




81 reviews, Showing 1 to 81 reviews


Got given a DVD boxset for my birthday and it is in 25fps PAL interlaced. Some of the dvd's choked up my Philips player so converting to h264 became necessary. Freemake totally messed it up with audio out of synch, but FU Wizard deinterlaced it superbly using Native Bob setting and audio in perfect synch.

Cant believe 8 years later after its last build, I'm still using this great software to bail me out on tricky projects? The Fast preset h264 set at 2 pass gave me some incredible quality encodes.


Review by Michael on Feb 6, 2020 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works fine in XP to Win10 64 biy. I did a few H264 tests and the quality is great using 1 pass abr or the 2 pass. I was surprised to find the 2 pass abr Fast preset hit a tighter compression target(file was a tad smaller mb) than the Very Slow preset which more than doubled the encoding time with no discernible quality differences at bitrates at 1000kbps or more.

I finally settled for 2pass Fast preset for all my dvd episodic encodes now using the recommended pixel ratio per resolution by the FU GUI. Quality software indeed! Much better quality than Freemake or others.


Review by Ally on Oct 18, 2019 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Regarding presets H264/ac-3 in avi container, it is the only way to use your original audio in FU Wizard, but there's an easy solution. Just remux everything using MKVToolNix into the mkv container(to put an srt in!) or use reBox.NET and direct copy. FU Wizard is a truly great program allowing you to output H264/Xvid/DivX with very little quality loss compared to your source file.

Review by Will on Sep 15, 2019 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best H264 or Xvid output I have seen to date. A superb GUI with everything you need automated. The presets are very good, but the h264/ac-3 in an avi container preset is just plain crazy! In an mkv container preset is the better choice, if it had been done.

Yes, it accepts only iso(why couldnt DVD folder from hard drive be accepted?), but if it had been developed further it might have gone the route of anything could be inputted like blu ray, h264/h265 etc. Now that would have been something!


Review by Mark on Sep 14, 2019 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Valerie D on Aug 12, 2018 Version: 3D R2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Ross on Aug 12, 2018 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The only problem I ever encounterd was using 'Native mode' after the auto detection advised to select it. Use ivtc and all will be well. This is great software. The GUI is really nice to use. Such a pity development was ceased. I never regretted purchasing the full program as the free lite version was too restrictive for me and older full(unrestricted) versions buggy excepting 2.9 build.

The 3D bit is redundant- who bothers with that? but for encoding episodes in high quality h264 this software is supreme. I noticed no major quality differences to my eyes between using its Fast preset or Very Slow H264 preset. The xvid is quality too. Would have been nice if a mild denoiser was incorporated like RemoveGrain(mode5) for some grainy dvd sources, but I find the build of H264 calms the grain down sufficently, so no need. This tool is still of some major use and better than most of that crapware out there !


Review by K.T on Aug 12, 2018 Version: 3D R2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To avoid errors in Fairuse Wizard select 'normal' error checking, because if 'agressive is checked sometimes part of the film is discarded, eg you might miss an intro of 30 seconds as it is discarded as an error. Also FU Wizard does make mistakes with the auto detection of interlaced/telecined sources by offering 'native' when it should be offering the ivtc option instead. Just ignore the 'native' option which keeps the frames at 29.97ps(may leave duplicate frames/scene repetition) and select ivtc which 99.9% of the time comes out correct!

The GUI is excellent, especially for entering a 4:3 source iso and you can resize it to 16:9 e.g 720x448 really 16:10 or 1.61 AR and plays on the TV without squashing effect as it is cropped correctly by FU wizard. AutoGK can do the same but my experiment with it cames out looking very squashed. Advantages with FU Wizard are you can do H264 and its own Xvid Build is truly excellent. No macroblocking effects using good bit rates. AutoGK is good using compression tests but I've seen macroblocking at even high bit rates at 2pass or 1 pass quality 90%+ and much more artifacting than FU Wizard. That said the odd cockup can occur usually a bad rip and AutoGK can save the day, if you want an xvid encoding rather than h264.


Review by Dave on Aug 9, 2018 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a strange one for me to evaluate regarding NTSC/telecined or interlaced sources as it has been so touch and go with the end result in FuWizard. One interlaced source I did came out with duplicate frames after using the ivtc 'native' option(so I ran that through autogk and was handled perfectly as xvid, but one source a pure telecined NTSC DVD came out excellent after ivtc process with FU wizard as either h264 or xvid, after failing in AutoGK as an avi showing green stripes(cropping issue of telecined source?) at bottom of the video. Progressive sources are always encoded perfectly. Either way if one tool fails there's always another.

Review by Sal on Aug 7, 2018 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I bought this a few years back, and don't think it is worth a higher score as reluctantly I have to echo the sentiments of others and agree that it doesn't do a great job at deinterlacing or inverse telecining as it leaves lots of jagged edges on video. Your better off with the free Handbrake.

Review by Tom on Oct 27, 2017 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




The value for money score is hypothetical, as if I'd bought it I would have been brassed off as this tool failed most of the time on interlaced iso sources I'd entered as sources, hence I now use the free lite or the older Celtic Druid's 2.6 uncrippled version. I use AutoGK for those interlaced sources or Handbrake. Fairuse Wizard has a superb GUI and options. Footnote: on progressive sources it does a superb job and if it could handle ivtc correctly without leaving visible combing artifacts and the iso only input, I would have given it 10/10.

Review by Mark G on Oct 16, 2017 Version: 3DR2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




I needed to use this again for an avi encode, used to use Celtic Druid's super free build(accidentally deleted it on hard drive!), but many builds later it went payware. This latest version has both freeware and retail formats. Most of the time it handles DVD beautifully, but throw a pure interlaced source in and the audio is out of synch with duplicate video frames. Choose aggressive error correction and parts of DVD may be missing during the encode as FU wizard discards specific chains as being uneccessary. Basing my score on specific interlaced or hybrid sources this software fails some of the time to handle them correctly and having to use iso all the time rather than a ripped DVD folder is such a pain. That said its GUI is the best I've ever seen and it does make a lovely xvid or a h264 output from the profiles. Dated now, would have loved to have seen a mild denoiser built in like AutoGK and a h264vfw better build as the one onboard washes out facial details badly at times. Still relevant and useful tool though.

Review by Robo on Sep 11, 2017 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Great tool, but unfortunately it still cannot handle interlaced material well, with the result of repeated frame issues and out of synch audio e.g R1 T2 Extreme. Also the aggressive error checking option of enabled sometimes causes start of DVDs to be missed eg R2 The Ghost opening scenes, as this option causes relevant chains to be discarded, so just use the default error checking instead.

The built in version of h264 or is it x264vfw? build washes out details in a lot of DVDs I encoded, xvid retains much more and FU wizard has its own nice version of it built in. Pity the maker of this didn't include a denoise option like undot/remove dirt to help with mosquito noise incurred by the use of a mpeg matrix which is a common occurrence even with its quality settings? The GUI option for ffmeg always crashed for me too like previous post mentioned similar. I just use it now for episodic DVDs in which it excels!



Review by Tim on Jun 23, 2017 Version: 3DR2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I finally started using the last revision of FU to see if this program had improved and I was once a fierce critic of it, but now I must say that the maker of this software has ironed out nearly all its bugs apart from using a dodgy ffmeg build which gives massive file issue sizes and crashes, but I never use it for 99.9% of my encodes and it was a test anyway. Despite the h264 being quite an old build the quality of the encodes are truly superb with excellent a/v synch unlike older FU builds. The inbuilt Xvid gives great quality too. What a pity development ceased? This program has a great GUI and deserves its praise. Just drops a point for the ffmeg option. Fantastic software!

Review by azmoth on Nov 29, 2015 Version: 3D R2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I should have noted that in my files, the audio/video is not synced when .avi is the output. Like I said, the syncing is fine when the show is watched from the beginning, but when cueing, the audio stream is hopelessly lost. This is with DivX...
WinAmp seems to be able to handle this, I guess it interleaves the file when it's loaded (if I'm using the word correctly)...
If anyone


Review by saturnx311 on May 22, 2011 Version: 2.3d OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Solving problems of asynchrony in DVD files:

1) PgcDemux --> Joining VOBs
2) DVDAuthorgui --> File --> Creat ISO after Authoring

or

1) tsMuxeR --> Demux
2) DVDAuthorgui --> File --> Creat ISO after Authoring

or

Single process... Download DVD Shrink
1) Open DVD Shrink -> Edit -> Preferences -> Output Files -> uncheck the last two items
- Split VOB files into 1GB size chunks (recommended)
- Logical remapping of enabled streams.

2) Then click the tab Re-author
In "DVD Browser" find the DVD folder with VOB files.

3) Find the directory with the files on DVD

4) The VOB will appear aggregated into a single file -> click 2x on the file.

5) Double click "Title 1" to create the DVD file structure
The file is totaled transported to the window to the side.

6) In the Compression Settings tab -> Video -> change to No Compression

7) File tab -> click Backup ...
Once you open the window DVD Backup -> Target Device tab -> under Select backup target: leave as "ISO Image File"
Choose the destination to save the ISO image.


Review by jandor2009 on May 21, 2011 Version: 3D OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have one problem with FairUse Wizard, which I've had with multiple machines: the fact that the audio is not correctly synced with the video. If I watch a show from the beginning it plays through fine with no problems, but if I try to cue or skip ahead, the audio is hopelessly out of sync, never to be gotten back, and the only fix is to watch it from the beginning again.
Now, the playing software makes a difference-- if I use WinAmp it can be cued or paused, but with DivX-- even the very latest versions, this syncing problem is terrible.
Can anyone come up with a suggestion, perhaps alternative encoding software?
Thanks ahead...


Review by saturnx311 on May 21, 2011 Version: 3d OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I emailed FairUse explaining my problem of not seeing the correct chapter,not expecting a reply or to be told the problem is at my end.
Well I got a reply the next day asking for the logfile which I duly sent. The following day Fairuse (thats how he/she signs the email) directed me to a French download site to try out a new version of the FU exe file.

I did and it worked! I swapped the exe files around to make sure it wasn't a happy coincidence and tested it on some other dvds. It worked perfectly.
Expect a FairUse upgrade soon.
I'm impressed


Review by bazm on Sep 30, 2010 Version: 2.11b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I agree with the poster below. Every version since 2.9 has had problems selecting the main chapter. I find about 1 in 5 dvds to be like this.

I really like this program but this bug is driving me mad.
I have reloaded 2.9 from here but I've lost access to the fully paid up version now!!!


Review by bazm on Sep 22, 2010 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




i love this program but the newest version (1.10le) is a bit buggy (will not read certain chapters of some disks/isos)
i dont know if this also applies to the full version.
i uninstalled it and reinstalled version 2.9le and it is great

the ONLY thing that this program is missing is an option to add jobs, so that you could initiate multiple movies and leave it running for a day


Review by octeuron on Jun 11, 2010 Version: 2.10le OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




this software is wonderful, it maybe getting old, but it is still far superior in quality to nearly all other converters out there (ASP codecs only, NOT AVC codecs)

to achieve maximum quality, you need to put the Quality Slider in options to MAX

[Encoding Speed] mode,

be warned, maximum quality will push the DivX/Xvid codec to it's very limit (DivX seems to be able to be pushed more than Xvid) and in doing so will sigificantly slow the encode down,

if you set the Quality slider to MAX, then encoding will take 3 times as long, but the quality will be well worth it,

and for the record, AutoGK doesn't come close to fairuse wizard in sense of quality, AutoGK as said by the developer himself does a compressibility check, and balances quality vs speed,
in other words, AutoGK will not push the codec to it's limit just to gain an extra 15% in quality but adding 85 to 150% in encoding time, AutoGK was not designed for maximum quality, that's what GKnot was for.

it should be said though, AutoGK is a lot older than Fairuse Wizard,
also Fairuse wizard allows direct control of codec settings, and has a quality slider setting which manipulates the codec mode DivX and Xvid has many variables and settings that can be adjusted, fairuse wizard can adjust settings to the codecs to achieve a higher quality video but at a significant cost to encoding time.

AutoGK DOES NOT have the ability for the user to control encoder quality settings, this is decided by AutoGK, which always takes into account encoding speed.


Review by Registered55 on Apr 27, 2010 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I always wanted to get this to work for me but it never did, no matter which tool I used for ISO images eg PowerISO or MagicISO etc it just would not read images unless the dvd had been ripped by DVD Decrypter. A shame it would not read stored dvd2s off one's hard disc. A very limited tool now and the audio boost feature just overamplifies audio to the point of clipping, plus converting from your DVDROM drive all the time does it no good. VERY OVERRATED software and contrary to popular belief it does not produce better quality looking avi's than good old AutoGK.

Review by azmoth on Apr 26, 2010 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Used it for years, never had a problem.

Review by ulapines on Mar 15, 2010 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Crashes with message 'Pass Handling Error'

Review by deckardo on Mar 14, 2010 Version: 2.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great tool indeed! Used it for 3 movie-backups so far (.avi/XViD) and even in two-pass mode - template "encoding speed" selected - speed and quality are awesome on my system: 1.8 Ghz Intel Pentium 4, 512 MB RAM, 80 GB HDD. A 1:42 h movie took less than three hours in two-pass(!) mode, result veeery satisfying.
Picture is crisp and in addition there seems to be a subtle color-adjustment taking place(?) that makes those movies look better on the TV-screen (mpeg4-certified standalone) as well as on the CRT. I give it a 9 for 'Ease of Use', since I think for experienced users like myself it is really easy, but newbies might get confused, if unchecking "automatic mode" (am using German translation, correct English term used in the app might be slightly different.)


Review by nbarzgar on May 18, 2008 Version: 2.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've recently evaluated FairUse 2.8 and HandBrake 0.9.2 for my DVD to H264 conversion. Conclusion is that I will use FairUse at the moment and wait for HandBrake to improve on its usability in Windows. Some advantages of FairUse over HandBrake:
1. Automatic detection of telecine or interleave content.
2. Preview window for cropping and checking of subtitle. HandBrake do not have a preview window for Windows.
3. Using the "H264/AAC/MP4, Slow" profile and quality setting, the speed of conversion is slightly faster than HandBrake quality preset.
4. Appears to be more stable than HandBrake.

Disadvantages of FairUse:
1. Cannot convert DVD files on hard disk rip by other programs, e.g. DVDFab Decrypter. You have to convert the DVD-Video files to an iso image before FairUse can read it.
2. Limited documentation and community support. HandBrake on the other hand has great documentation and forum support.
3. HandBrake seems to be more actively developed.


Review by pustefix on Apr 14, 2008 Version: 2.8 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




With this new version (2.8) that adds xbox 360, ps3, etc. functionality, Fairuse Wizard is simply awesome. No hiccups, hangups or any problem at all. I encoded 2 movies for the xbox 360, and the quality is superb. While no program is perfect, this one comes close.

Review by thundar on Mar 11, 2008 Version: 2.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




excellent program worked perfectly all the time. It would be very nice if it can take DVD directory from hard disk. If possible file mode like Auto GK.

Review by chints on Aug 3, 2007 Version: 2.6 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Updated FairUse Wizard to version 2.6. Used DVDFab Decrypter to rip main movie to ISO file.Converted movie to 700Mb avi file using the internal x264 codec. Amazing quality result. This program rocks

Review by mesaboogieman on Jul 4, 2007 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Celtic Druid's 2.6 Version works perfectly fine on Vista.

Did over 3 continuous days of coding of 8 films (lil slow computer).

needs external x.264 codec (recommended anyway to use the latest)
NOTE: uses vfw x264. latest (r654) has good visual improvement over the build included in FUW2.5




Review by labtroll on May 22, 2007 Version: 2.6 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Celtic Druid's version 2.6 doesn't contain trojan.
Great program, better than AutoGK (sync issues, expecially with stand alone players)).

1) Rip with DvdFabDecrypter
2) Make .iso with dvdshrink using NO COMPRESSION (less than 10 minutes)
3) Make xvid with FairUse.


Review by zand on May 21, 2007 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is an excellent program which delivers quality results in your conversions. I compared the output from this program with that of AutoGK, and I have to admit the results from FairUse Wizard were superior. The video was sharper, and retained better detail overall. I honestly can't think of a better program than this if you want to make high quality Divx or Xvid files.


The only gripe I have is that if your source files are stored on your hard drive, FairUse wants them to be in the ISO format. This is unfortunately completely unnecessary. All this does is to add a needless extra step and is a complete waste of time. I have DVD compliant videos stored on my drive and whenever I want to compress them into an Xvid or Divx avi format, I am first forced to bundle these files into the ISO format.

I find this extra step, which FairUse requires, useless, burdensome, and extremely irritating. No other DVD to avi converting programs out there require this unnecessary and ridiculous step.

I gave this program an 8. It would have earned a 10 from me if they had dropped the ISO source file requirement and let me load DVD folders normally, and not make me waste my time on an extra step. Well, maybe in the future they will, like all other programs, allow us to load the files normally. Then this program will really earn a 10 out of 10.


Review by Filsps on May 5, 2007 Version: 2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




To drakesis:

You review is right on the money in that FairUse Wizard dominates! However, you're really wasting a step + 50 minutes + quality by using DVDShrink before using FairUse Wizard. I highly recommend that you (and anyone else who comes along and reads this) pass on that step in the future as it is not only unnecessary, but can and probably does result in slightly lower quality.

Why?

Because the conversion from DVD to DivX/XviD is lossy compression, as is using DVDShrink to compress the MPEG2 streams. What this means in simplest terms is that you are compressing (FairUse) an already compressed image (DVDShrink) thus loosing quality on what you would wind up with if you skipped the DVDShrink step entirely.

By all means pop your DVD in, fire up FairUse Wizard and copy straight from disc.


Review by JaceMan on Apr 2, 2007 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent .. produces very compatible files for standalone players. BUT it does lack some of the subtlties of AuTOGK in that the tweaking of the codec and sound quality are more difficult to access. My only gripe really is that there is no option to keep the original ac3 sound.. If I have 192k ac3 stereo sound then I gain virtually nothing by converting that to 128k mp3, and sometimes the original ac3 sound is what you wish to keep. All in all tho, good, and easily understandable, with enough control to ensure hi quality output files. Commercial status cloudy.

Review by RabidDog on Mar 22, 2007 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




I like converting DVD's to fit on 1 cdr disc (700mb) if I can and Fair Use produces the highest quality out of all the all-in-ones I've use (and that includes AutoGK) The conversion process takes a bit longer, but the quality of the encode when using XviD is exceptional.

Review by deckard8 on Mar 10, 2007 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I have tried tons of other tools to convert Dvd's to Xvid (ie. AutoGK, Gordian Knot, etc..) and they were crap, or didn't work at all. After using Fairuse Wizard for the first time, it worked perfect! Audio is insync. Picture quality is still great!
I was worried it would lose quality, after all the different process's.

Here's what I do:
1. I rip with DVDFab Decrypter as a DVD9 (~20 mins)
2. I use DVDShrink to compress (w/ Deep Analysis) into a ISO (~50 mins)
3. Open the ISO in Fairuse Wizard, followed through the step by step wizard, it made the Xvid Avi (~2 hours)


Review by drakesis on Mar 9, 2007 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To gonwk:
...There is absolutely no trojan in Celtic Druid 's build.
Don't know about the original version,haven't used it,
at least in the latest versions.But I bet that even for them,
it's just a stupid false positive by some AV products.
FU,as the FairUse executable is called,
is also the name of a old,easily detectable nowadays rootkit.
My guess,that this would be the main reason for these warnings?
Money for nothing:
this pretty much shows the quality of nowadays AV products,
as most of them frequently detect NSIS installers or say,
UPX packed executables,as infected,"suspicious" etc...

FairUse is open-source,
everyone can download the code and compile it for him/herself,
why should they put a trojan in it?
The one edition/version is sold when in binary form,
therefore targeted as a supplemententary for making a living,
celtic_druid on the other side,
a well-known/respectable member on various video-related forums,
decided to share/make publicly available his personal build,
since he made a lot of interesting modifications in it.
You can read all about it here:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=60358&page=13

To the rest of the people,that stated there is a virus/trojan:
a)Learn how to use your OS.Period.
b)Learn to interpret your "super-secure" AV product's results,
before spreading wrong impressions in the rest of the world...


Review by sowhat123 on Feb 4, 2007 Version: 2.5 by Cetic Druid OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




An awesome program that provides excellent results. I'm using celtic_druid's version 2.5...simply superb.

Review by scorpiodragon on Nov 22, 2006 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Latest version has a trojon in it,reported buy AVGfree,all so been taken down by softpedia maybe because it has a trojan,gave 6 overall because it does work but has a trojon.

Review by jeller on Oct 14, 2006 Version: 2.5le OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




With regard to the previous posts about Fairuse Wizard being infected with the Ransome virus I suspect this is a false positive. Ewido is the only scanner that seems to report this infestation in Fairuse. Other well known applications such as NOD32 and Spysweeper do not as far as I know.

Review by mesaboogieman on Sep 10, 2006 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i too can confirm there's a trojan on 2.5. Apart from that, its not a bad app. Will be wary of anything they release in the future though.

Review by gremlyn on Sep 10, 2006 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Version 2.5 contains the ransom virus, but version 2.1 isn't infected with it.

Review by Guest on Aug 26, 2006 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




*** Trojan.Ransom.a found in installer and program files ***

Was very happy with Fairuse until doing a ewido scan today and found the mentioned trojan.

Could other members test this also pls? and if confirmed I will be seeking a refund.




Review by peterbuilt on Jul 10, 2006 Version: 2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I have been using other tools (IMTOO Platinum ripper, Gordion Knot, etc.) and all of them either didn't produce good output for me or were a little on the complex side for a person of my skill level. Fairuse is the solution to those problems. The out of sync problem and the jerky motion problem I got with IMTOO Platinum, or the "too many steps" problem with the other solutions are gone. I now just use Fairuse for my portable video solutions.

Review by tmcclell on Jun 28, 2006 Version: 2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




First impressions - comment may be ammended in the future. Almost went right past this program because of the method used to load your dvds (ie. movies) but I'm glad I got past that and gave it a go. I tried SimpleDivx and had inconsistency problems and AutoGK gave me a/v sync problems - so far FairUse is going well for me although there are a few options I'm not sure I should touch or not - they're sorta semi-hidden as if to say 'don't touch unless you really think you have to'. Especially like the cropping and clipping options. Have just queued up a three movies to do overnight - probably get two done as 4-5 hours seems to be the average time on a Celeron2400 or a P4-1800.

Review by pyst on Apr 19, 2006 Version: 2.4 Full OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Have used many programs to encode to either xvid or divx this has given me no problems whatsoever I have tested on my desktop and on my notebook both working perfect with good video and no lip sinc problems,the free version that you can download is the perfect to encoded tv shows but have also used it to do movies aswell but you can only go up to 700 mb per file
Have encoded movies of over 2 hours and came out realy good

this program is easy to use for the complete newbie as all the options that are selected on startup of the program will do fine


Review by ozzyozzy on Mar 5, 2006 Version: 2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I kept getting a run time error message virtual dub mod, so I couldn't get the prog to work.

Review by headhunter2003 on Feb 8, 2006 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 2/10




I have had the same experience with bad sync of audio and video.
If they could fix that, it would be great tool.


Review by ulapines on Sep 22, 2005 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 3/10




This new Fairuse Wizard is full of bugs. Things are looking good until the comversion is complete. And then I get AVI file with bad sync of audio and video. I tried different settings, audio tracks and bunch of other things, but the resault was the same.

Since I have 1.0 that worked OK, I tried that one, and it was bad too. I had to uninstall both of them, clean registry and install 1.0 to get the things working again.

2.0 is slower then 1.0. It is three times slower while making doing copy of the DVD to hard drive.

So stay away from 2.0 until the problems are solved.


Review by GoldenDragon on Sep 10, 2005 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 3/10




Crashed my system after waiting for almost two hours! I t was up to the point where the s/w recodes the DVD files, so I'm thinking it was close to the end...NOT! It gave me an estimate of an hour and a half, so i went away as it prompts you to and came back to a windows popup that Explorer had an error and needed to close. Well, I tried to close and it froze my system. Easy to use, but sucks for all else! I really don't see why anyone would want to use this or any Divx creator if they all take this long. DVDShrink is so much quicker!

Review by trialsofg on Sep 6, 2005 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




It *only* reads files from a DVD. You can't have the files on a harddrive and select a directory. (it can read from an ISO image, but it seems very fussy about the format of the image and will easily reject an image that plays fine)

It also can't encode single mpegs. It also uses vast amounts of disc space to do the encoding. It also isn't self sufficient, but it requires a lot of other programs to do stuff, they are however included in the install and it takes care of calling them when needed.

The installer, and the program will just read a langauge setting from windows and use that regardless of wether or not the user actually understands that langauge.

Given that, it does work, files are on the large side, but it if you have the source and the large mounts of disk space its just a few clicks and off you go.


Review by branch on Aug 28, 2005 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




This is probably one of the easiest proggies to go from DVD to Xvid or Divx. I use this to backup my DVDs but keep the AC3 surround. This combined with my Viewsonic WMA100 makes for an awsome poormans Kaleidescape.

Review by dicktheprick on Dec 21, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It is free again. At leeast the light version is, which is limited to 700 mb. This is much easier to use than autogk and rips direct from the disk. I have used version 0.42 in the past (the last free version) and never had any problems.

Review by winifreid on Dec 13, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




FairUse Wizard is awesome in my opinion. I tried several different DVD-to-DIVX tools I found via google that just didn't work or work well for me. I'm sure they could have all produced good results eventually but I didn't want another learning curve to climb over.
Then I started checking my favorite forums and sites and ran across this one listing several DVD-to-DIVX tools in one place. I saw several that I had tried previously and several new ones to me. Anyway, I started with the highest rated ones: reading the comments and gave FairUse Wizard a try and it worked right out of the gate. Furthermore, the guides provided here is great too and really got me up and running in minutes.
I would highly recommend donating to FairUse and getting the "full" version right away instead of using the trial version. This program works, so you might as well start using it right away. All the other tools I hinted at above I did trial but ended up uninstalling.
Anyway, thank you to everyone for their comments and thank you VideoHelp for the great guide.


Review by WesleyHester on Nov 21, 2004 Version: 0.9.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I think Angelmois's use of the word 'extort' is a bit strong. I have no problem with authors charging money for a good piece of software - and FairUse is damn fine software, it's just the way he's gone about it. He should have announced FairUse was going commercial when he released the last version 0.43 and stated that it was the last freeware version, instead of suddenly being directed to a donate page where you must contribute in order to download (free?) FairUse 0.44.. I still think FairUse is worth paying for though, even though the method used gets my back up a bit.

Review by deckard8 on Jul 31, 2004 Version: 0.44 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried two programs for converting DVD to DivX and I don't need to try any more. This one gives incredible results and far outshone DrDivX (the first program I tried). I can't say I've noticed any difference between the DivX and XviD output, they both look amazing. I have a Medion DVD player (a bargain 50 quid from amazon.co.uk) which handles DivX discs and the results are great. As an experiment I converted The Sound of Music,it is about the longest film I have in my collection,and it looks stunning. That's an almost 3 hour film shrunk down to fit onto one CD-R. With one or two initial settings this becomes a one click program if you prefer it that way, just insert the DVD click ok and an hour or so later you have your DivX file ready to burn to disc. Just great, I love it.

Review by summerfever on Jun 24, 2004 Version: 0.44 (0.79) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i find still free download (only register)http://www.divx.howto.pl/modules.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=84

Review by FairUseMan on Jun 15, 2004 Version: 0.44 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Fairuse is free to download for a short period of time.

Please go to the download page and vote so that ump knows what to do:
http://fairuse.free.fr/lang_en/download_allopass.php

(When you vote you can download).


Review by afonic on Jun 7, 2004 Version: 0.43c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




value for money = 10 because free download from CDRinfo.pl :-)
sorry my english


Review by FairUseMan on Jun 4, 2004 Version: 0.43c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Hey FairUseMan, I'm really wondering why you do you care at all about a tool that is not even worth $2, according to your "value for money" rating !


Review by ump on Jun 4, 2004 Version: 0.43c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just to clarify things : FairUse definitely IS free software. Free as is Freedom. Free as defined under the terms of the GNU General Product Licence (GPL).

This said, those of you guys who are asking for lifetime updates should just make a donation. The others are more than welcome to go use any other tool they like, or find a website that offers free (gratuitous) download. There are already several of such sites.

Last but not least, I wish to thank all the people supporting me everyday. You are the kind of users I like to develop FairUse for.

ump, developer of FairUse since v0.32


Review by ump on May 30, 2004 Version: 0.43c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Free software = $0. So if you have to pay > $0 this is NOT free software. With all the version the author is coming out, this probably cost around $100 when it reach 1.0 ??!!! Right now I'm only giving a score of 7, because of this scheme.

Review by viper10000 on May 29, 2004 Version: 4.3c OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




OK because some things need to get in order:

1) The allopass code remains the same for 30 days, Which means that you can download all updates in 30 days. So you're not right when saying that you'll have to pay $2 for every new version.

2) The program is pretty stable and works well. Actually it has less bugs that AutoGK and is far more easy than Gordian Knot. I don't say that these programs are not good (they are amazing) but FU is equally well.

3) There are no "authors", it's the author so he needs some help to continue the development.

4) If you like you can donate ex. $20 and then you'll get by email the allopass code for each month. This is for you that'll like to pay more and get all updates. And I think that PayPal is pretty trustworthy.

5) The software IS FREE SOFTWARE. Go on, download it and give a link here for others to download it too. It's not really supportive, but you can do it as we are talking about a free software.

Have a look here for more:
http://www.dvd-guides.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=670


Review by afonic on May 29, 2004 Version: 0.43b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Acording to the quote at the bottom of the Allopass payment screen, anyone is free to download and distribute copies of the Fairuse program. Here's the quote:

"A program is free software if users have all of these freedoms. Thus, you should be free to redistribute copies, either with or without modifications, either gratis or charging a fee for distribution, to anyone anywhere"

Maybe someone can spring for an Allopass, download the program once a week, then post it here on VCD Help???

I don't mind paying something for the program, even though it is certainly a work in progress. I don't want to have to go through the trouble and security risk of paying $2 every other time I download the program, however. As someone else mentioned, I'd much prefer paying $10 - $15 for the right to download any future versions for the next year or so.

PS- Who the heck is allopass anyway? I searched for them on Google and came up with a bunch of porn sites. That doesn't inspire much confidence in giving them my credit card.


Review by Chucko on May 28, 2004 Version: .41 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




YOU ARE KIDDING ME, ..........RIGHT??????!!!!!!!

NOTE TO DEVELOPER(s):
How about developing a stable program/final release before you start charging people for your "work-in progress" project? Geez, what a novel idea that is.

REVIEWERS:
This program has many issues that still need to be worked out. Go with Gordian Knot to do your DivX/XviD, until they fix whats wrong........... if you must and have to have this program. They are on the right track, although, I wish the developers would just do a compilation of their fixes before releasing an update. Keeping up with the releases has proved to be exhausting and they have 1 sometimes 2 per week.

Use this if you must or feel you have no other options that are FREE!!!


Review by dvwannab on May 28, 2004 Version: 0.41b OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I agree with the last post: i'd pay $20 for this (after i figure out how to fix a mux'ing problem), but this allopass thing is annoying. it's posted as $2 us, but I click on the Canada link (for me) and it says $7 per call. weird conversion there. (should be $3).

Review by FuzzyLemming on May 28, 2004 Version: 0.43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




I was standing 100% behind this product, then the author changed to a "micro payment" system. It allows you to download the product 5 times in 30 days for 2.00(US). Im not against the payment, but what I am against is the concept of shelling out 2 bucks everytime I see a new upgrade. Do this ten times and you just paid out 20.00. The author has made consistent change and improvement to the product and I would willingly purchase it for 20.00, but I cant see this scheme working very well. I took a look at the history and it lists 46 seperate revisions. If we follow the plan and assume that half of these updates would fall within 30 days of each other, you would still end up paying 46.00 total for a product that is supposed to be free.

Review by samuraijack on May 28, 2004 Version: .43b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 7/10




Allopass again... (not free)
http://fairuse.free.fr/lang_en/download_allopass.html


Review by FuzzyLemming on May 26, 2004 Version: 0.43 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is THE program to use if your converting your DVDs to xvid. I use it every day to bring shows to watch on my work computer...no DVD drive. Thanks so much to the author for all the hard work.

Review by Jefros on May 19, 2004 Version: 0.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Fantastic. Using it for transferring DVDs on to my Ipaq.

Review by Hairless Heart on May 10, 2004 Version: 0.41b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great overall program except when it decides to IVTC. Seems to shudder a bit on action scenes or fast pan and scans. Tried other options but just can't quite give it thumbs up. I do prefer it over autogk as far as speed goes.

Review by computerchuck on Jan 29, 2004 Version: 0.36b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Excellent tool. I discovered it after EazyVCD stopped working for me. VERY easy to use, nice notes and help with the interface. Multiple session encoding is very nice. Just set it up and go to bed. I really like this program! You owe it to yourself to try it just once.

Review by samuraijack on Jan 29, 2004 Version: .36b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After running the new version on my computer, i had a few minor issues, like it freezing during encoding.

after a bit of investigation and ass. I found that it only appears to crash if you have your mouse cursor on any part of the EU progress screen. Aslong as you have your mouse cursor say on your background it goes through no problem. Hope this helps you guys that have also had this problem.

my computer:
amd 2700+ athlon
1.5 GB Ram
2x 200 gb HDD
ATI Raedeon 9800 xt Saffire.


Review by wilbmw on Jan 24, 2004 Version: 0.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great Program to be free. The only thing that the program needs it a auto size for the capture of the dvd for best quality. I don't know what size to save the dvd to. I ran Spybot Search & Destroy & AD-Aware Pro after I installed and they found nothing. Job well done!

Review by broadbit on Jan 24, 2004 Version: Fairuse0.35 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still appears to be a work in progress. RAn 1 encode test encode then the program stopped responding. There is little or no documentation on what its doing or how its doing it. Is it Home theatre compatible? internal dixv routines ?? why? reasonable ease of use. [/b]Had [/b]to reboot my system after using it.. memory leak perhaps. Could be good when finished.

Review by rabiddog on Jan 18, 2004 Version: 034d OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




This is an excellent program that worked the first time I used it. I would recommend this program to anyone.

Review by pyedog on Jan 1, 2004 Version: fairuse 0.33.1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




FairUse makes me feel like a l33t h4x)r! Download it, and you will also be one- by creating superior XviD or DivX compression videos. The bottom crop didn't work for me, and I don't care to look into it because the quality is awesome anyway.

Review by liquidlucid on Dec 24, 2003 Version: 0.33 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




When I saw the word "DVD Backup" I immediately downloaded the program and tried it. Not having a clue about DivX my first 2 attempts were failures so I started a search on DivX and discovered I needed DivX Codec, a DivX Player, and if I wanted to play it to my TV a DivX standalone player. I installed the codec and player and tried my "backup again". The video results were great but no sound so I checked the faqs and found out I should check that ....... dohhhhh. Did another and WOW, it came out perfect and the quality is outstanding. And so simple, even for the amateur who fumbles around like me! Now I can do my DVD backups to an 8 cent CD-R and play to my TV when I get the bucks for the player!! This is amazing ... I'm surprised I don't see more discussin in the forum.

Review by gritz on Dec 2, 2003 Version: .33 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




only 1 grip that is when dub comes up you have to click ok then when it finishes pc turns off

Review by jazhappy on Nov 18, 2003 Version: fairuseo.33 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool. Worked on all but one of the DVDs I have tried with it not counting Blade 2. And I reported this bug and it was fixed within a day. The programmer seems to really care about the product so I expect great things from this. Only real flaw is that it does not give you as many options as more complex tools so you might not get as good results as from other programs but do to ease of use I still give it a 10.

Review by K(c)offee on Nov 7, 2003 Version: 0.32 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is amazing. I have tried just about every piece of DVD to DIVX software out there. Mostly on trials because they all require you to pay. DVDX always made my audio and video out of sync. But Fair Use is a great program. It is very simple. Will figure out the bitrate for u depending on how big you want the file. And lets you choose resolution and shows bits per pixel and the compression u will be getting. I was able to rip some episodes show that were about 44 minutes long. It made each episode into a 393 MB file, that very, very high quality. Very near DVD.

Review by ikabod00 on Nov 6, 2003 Version: 0.32.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


81 reviews, Showing 1 to 81 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com