Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
DVDRebuilder is an one click DVD backup tool that uses CinemaCraft Encoder Basic/SP or HC Encoder or QuEnc or ReJig or Canopus Procoder. DVDRebuilder helps you to do a full dvd backup(movie, extras, menus) of your DVD9s to one DVDR using the best video encoders available, HC Encoder and CinemaCraft Encoder. Rip your DVDs with DVDFab Decrypter or AnyDVD first!

8.8/10
93 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

DVD Rebuilder screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

Free 0.98.2 / Pro 1.28.2 (July 12, 2008)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download DVD Rebuilder Free 0.98.2  5MB  Win




Download old versions


Download DVD Rebuilder old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Donate to get the PRO version with several more features!



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Professional Edition Version 1.28.2
CHANGES MADE TO PRO VERSION
- Made numerous changes to make DVD-RB more sensitive to
the security environment of Vista.

- Made changes to make DVD-RB more compatible with some
windows emulators.

- Added support for the HC adaptive quantization (*AQ)
function.This setting can improve picture in flat
parts.A default value of "2" is used, but can be
changed by setting "HC_AQ=n" in the "[Options]" area
of REBUILDER.INI."n" can be any integer value between
0 and 4."0" disables AQ and "4" results in lower
quants. Note: Keep in mind that due to virtualization
associated with VISTA, your most current INI may be
located in the VISTA VirtualStore.One easy way to
get to it (if you are using VISTA), is to create a
shortcut on your desktop that points to it.

- Added a parameter to the HC SETTINGS menu that enables
and disables LOGGING when encoding with HC encoder. The
log will be written to a file named "HCLOG.TXT" in the
working directory.

- Included HC Encoder v0.23 in the installation packages.
This version includes extended features and bug fixes.

- Added ability to have different 1st and 2nd passes when
using MOBILE encoding (see the MOBILE.INI template under
the AVCHD beta for an example.

- Added a "hidden" option called "ImgBurnDest" that, when
added to REBUILDER.INI will force the write to a specific
drive.This is expecially useful when working on a
computer that has more than one writable drive.As an
example, to force output to the "F:" drive you would add
"ImgBurnDest=F:" to REBUILDER.INI.

- Modified the TEMPLATE commands so they automatically
look in the VirtualStore for templates.

- Corrected "35601" error that could happen (very rarely)
on sources with no audio.

- Added a parameter to the REBUILDER.INI file so that an
alternate AVISYNTH resizing algorithm can be used for
certain functions (e.g. converting from 4:3 widescreen
to 16:9 anamorphic).The default is "LanczosResize".
Example usage: "RESIZE=Spline36Resize"Note: Adding
an incorrectly spelled resize parameter will cause your
encoding to fail.

- Other minor and cosmetic c

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to DVD Rebuilder


DVD Shrink



DVDFab



RipIt4Me







Guides and How to's


AfterDawn.com DVD-Rebuilder guide

- Read

DVD Rebuilder Free Basic Operations

- Read

DVD Rebuilder Pro Basic Operations

- Read

DVD Rebuilder video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

dvdrb,dvd-rb




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




93 reviews, Showing 1 to 93 reviews


Very great and one of a kind application to utilize CCE or any other Encoders.

BUT... there are STILL issues processing ILVU (Mutiple Angled) movies through rebuilder 1.28 !!

I have adressed this issue several times at Doom9 , and it aggravates me Jdobs just do not want to accept the possibility that dvd rebuilder still might containt bugs/flaws.

By the looks of the changelog, many ILVU fixes have taken place over time actually !!

Apart from the ILVU aspect, i NEVER EVER have had an BAD encoded DVD... ASLONG it doesnt contain any ILVU cells REBUILDER is 100% reliable !



Review by metagondria on Apr 1, 2011 Version: 1.28 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Fantastic tool. Gives excellent results when used with HC or CCE.

It has functions to steal bits from extras and compress menus. Maybe this "steal function" could also be implemented for menus.

Anyways, this program is definitely recommended!


Review by leghorn on Oct 2, 2008 Version: 1.28.2 Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool! used with cce sp with 6 passes on all six star wars movies, Quality was great, i still say it makes the movies look better lol jk ,and its very easy to use.

must have tool!!


Review by zookeeper525 on Jan 7, 2008 Version: 1.26.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As a long term user of the freeware version and a recent Pro version upgrader, this, used in conjunction with CCE Basic is by far a superior method to produce lower bitrate backups of my dvd's than any transcoders I've used. The difference was more obvious when moving from a smaller CRT TV to a larger HDTV. With the 6-7 to 1 cost difference of double layer blanks vs single layer blanks, I prefer this over double layer media.

Review by gkar on Jan 5, 2008 Version: 1.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can confirm that I have now received my copy of DVD Rebuilder Pro so please ignore the comments I left below.

For a while now I've been receiving huge amounts of SPAM to my 'main' e-mail address which is the one I supplied during the donation.I usually use a program called Mailwasher to check the server before downloading e-mails to the Outlook Express inbox.I got sick and tired of seeing all the SPAM so instead I turned on an option called SpamGuard on my ISP's e-mail server.I shall never leave this option on again as it had obviously completely blocked the legit DVD-RB Pro e-mail from even landing in the trash folder because I checked it.Turned off stupid 'SpamGuard' and then I receive the download link for DVD-RB Pro!

Anyway excellent software to have in your tool collection.No more horrible pixelation due to transcoding DVD Files that indicate less than the 90% quality level using DVDShrink.I can now backup DVD Files,movie only ect... by re-encoding using DVD-RB+HC thus preserving much of the quality from the original.

Thanks jdobbs and sorry for being judgmental too soon.


Review by laspis59 on Oct 22, 2007 Version: Pro 1.26.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have to say that i have sent 2 emails to jdobbs over the last couple of years with questions and both times he has come back with help, if you have a problem i am sure he will do what he can to help

Review by solo on Oct 20, 2007 Version: pro 1.26.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The mailer will send it to you within about 10 minutes of your PayPal donation.

1. Make sure the e-mail address you have listed with PayPal is legitimate. That's where it is sent.

2. Check any anti-SPAM or junk mail folders. Some of these packages can be a little over-aggressive,.

3. If you still haven't received it -- send me an e-mail at dvd-rb@dvd-rb.com. I'll get it corrected.



Review by jdobbs on Oct 20, 2007 Version: 1.26.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I wanted to get my hands on the Pro version so I donated $29.95 using the PayPal link on their website.I received my PayPal payment confirmation e-mail straight away but am still waiting to receive any download link to my inbox for DVD-RB Pro.I've sent jdobbs an email with my Receipt Number but no response.Just sent another!

So much for what the website claims and that is 'DVD Rebuilder Professional Edition is AUTOMATICALLY delivered to your e-mail box for any donation of $29.95 or more'

Maybe I wont receive any Pro version even though I paid out.

Crap!


Review by laspis59 on Oct 18, 2007 Version: Any OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is an amazing tool. I just used it to back-up a disc that contained several episodes of a TV show and it worked perfectly. I had tried DVDShrink (which I use all the time and get pretty good results with), but after removing all the unwanted items (such as extra audio tracks, etc.) the compression was still very obvious. Used DVDRebuilder to re-encode the episodes on the DVD and it came out looking terrific - pretty much the same as the original. I used the highest quality setting for the encoding (with on of the free encoders that came with it) and it took about 6 hours, so it takes a while. But for the quality it produces I'd rather let it run those 6 hours (run it at night) than sacrifice the quality using a program that takes a couple of hours but produces poor quality back-ups.

I highly recommend this tool. And the best part is..... it's FREE! Many, many thanks to the author.


Review by j1d10t on Feb 24, 2007 Version: 0.98.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just a follow-up for all the DVDReb fanboys who wish that all the future failure on discs created by this software is the fault of the player or the media.

Sorry -- not true. I've used every recode/convert software this sight has had the grace to point me toward, and this is the ONLY software that has repeated failures on playback. This is the case in all three of my high-end DVD players -- the Panasonic 1000, the Toshiba DR2, and the Denon 3800. And I never use any media other than non-budget Taiyo Yuden.

The problem is DVD Rebuilder, and for creating DVDs which will last for years -- I still say it's junk.


Review by mitchum22 on Jan 7, 2007 Version: 1.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 4/10




jdobbs,
The problem does not and never has happened on version 0.97 and earlier. Only change in my process was moving to DVD-RB version 0.98.x. Therefore the defect is in your 0.98.x version program. It is something 99.9% of your users never experience because they do full backups of episodic dvd's.

winny,
I choose to put no more than three 45 minute episodes on my dvd backups to reduce compression needs and get the "Play-All" feature provided by TmpGenc DVD Author.

Don't misunderstand, this is an EXCELLENT program, but it does have a problem compared to 0.97 and earlier in my particular circumstance.




Review by gkar on Dec 17, 2006 Version: 0.98.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I've tried to not comment, as this kind of thing has a tendency to get out of hand.

Unfortunately the poster gkar doesn't mention that his trouble report also stated that the "skipping" error has never occurred on a single commercial disc backup... only on those that he has created using TMPEGEnc.

I've tried to make it clear to DVD Rebuilder users on the official forum at DOOM9 that when you choose to preprocess material with other packages, you also accept the risk involved in that decision. Authoring and editing packages are very powerful and often leave a lot of "discretion" to the person using it. That fact makes it impossible to determine whether a problem is caused by DVD-RB, the original source, the authoring package, or the person using the package. Sometimes even what appears to be a "working" source might still have timing or header issues that make further processing virtually impossible.

As those who know me will attest, I ALWAYS respond to reported issues in DVD-RB. But I also have to be reasonably sure the problem reported is actually related to DVD-RB.


Review by jdobbs on Dec 17, 2006 Version: 1.20.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply the best. Not sure why other poster would reauthor when Rebuilder can do everything with one click.

I would recommend the full version to everyone without hesitation, and the support from the author deserves a special mention.


Review by winny on Dec 17, 2006 Version: 1.20.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Version 0.98.2 exhibits same audio sync/video skipping problem that existed on 0.98 and 0.98.1 when re-authoring with TmpGenc 1.5 (played from hard disk first and didn't waste a disk this time). This problem did not exist on versions 0.97 and earlier. Burnt up over 2 hours to find out (again). Apparently it is too rare a problem for the author to spend time to correct. Gave it a "1" overall because it has deteriorated over the last 3 versions even after reporting the problem. Glad I didn't buy it.

Review by gkar on Dec 16, 2006 Version: 0.98.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




I have a similar problem as GKar. The resulting file seems to be OK when played from the file on the hard drive. After burning onto a DVD and play on a standalone DVD player, it skipped during portions of the movie. I tried with both HC Encoder and QuEnc but still see the same problem. I don't see anything wrong the file itself because it plays well with I used DVDShrink. I don't recall having such a problem with an earlier version, v0.97 and I thought the problem was with my DVD Player. I may have to go back to v0.97 to see. Before reading the post by GKar, I thought the problem was unique to my setup. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to pin point anything to be of help.

Review by auctioneer on Dec 10, 2006 Version: v0.98.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I had to go back to version 0.97 because of a bug in 0.98.x which causes an audio sync/skipping problem (with 3 different encoders) when re-authoring episodic DVD's with TmpGenc DVD Author 1.5.x. Reported the problem. Have not noticed a bug fix yet.

Review by GKar on Dec 6, 2006 Version: 0.98.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Sorry dude,you are 100% wrong.This is the best program for backing up dvd's available.Your setup/equipment is at fault.I have never had a failure with this program since it's inception,and all dvd players play the backed up dvd's.Cheap media,burn software,or burner are the most likely causes of your problems.

Review by bmiller on Dec 6, 2006 Version: 1.20.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Seriously this is the one tool that I can say I have paid for, then received and get offered help for, etc etc. This is the one program that I love. You must have had some hardware/software issue with it that is causing you system to crap out. Sorry bud this program is awesome you need to check up on the forums, either here or on his official site. For example I was having an issue many many months ago some conflict with random Avisynth scripts or something, once I posted on the forums not only did have advice from fellow DVD-RB users but JDobbs himself walked me through fixing my issue now everything works fine again. Furthermore my issue was so problematic that he then added in his setup the correct file to use so no one else would have to suffer. Dude don't diss this one, cause We'll kill you. (kidding...mostly.)

Review by Cwluc on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 1.20.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i agree. this program is BRILLIANT. i was only using programs like dvd shrink but for the last year or so i have been using dvd rebuilder with NO compat problems at all.

must be your hardware or media that is junk. also just because your dvd players are top end does not mean it can not be a problem with them. i have had about a dozen dvd players and oftem found the really cheap ones to play more stuff than the top end ones.

both thumbs up for dvd rebuilder. keep up the good work!!!


Review by stackner on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 1.12.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Dude i disagree... That is the best program to rebuild your dvd. Personally i think it is your hardware or media that is JUNK. If you have to redo your dvd then it your burner or media, the program has nothing to do with it.

Review by JjMon on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 1.20.4 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Junk.

Yes, that's right -- junk. I know how "cool" the creator is. And yeah he's attached 141 other programs to it. So what? The problem here is compatibility. I have 3 state of the art DVD players at home, and I've created DVDs using CCE, TMPEGenc, CovertToDVD, FilmMachine, DIKO, Canopus, etc and DVDRebuilder is the only one that usually does not play after the 2-week encoding procress is finished. Or, if it does play initially, it winds up failing a week or a month down the road.

At least the name is correct -- 'cause after you finish with this program, you have to Rebuild your disc with something else.



Review by Mitchum22 on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 1.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




Tried using this application on a chapter ripped (using DVDShrink 3.2) from a DVD (with no encryption). Video size is 497MB, audio is
LPCM 2-ch with size 120MB.

Encoder is CCE SP 2.70

Using 0.981 selecting audio and subtitle, DVD Rebuilder created a dvd with audio and subtitle, but without the video. Video was a image stating MPEGSource error.

A friend of mine used his Pro version 1.20.0 on the same chapter.
Using the same encoder the DVD Rebuilder result was a DVD with video and subtitle, but now without the audio.

A final test using a video with AC3 audio was successful, but as LPCM 2-ch is a standard DVD audio format, this application fails.


Review by politiken on Dec 5, 2006 Version: 0.981 Free OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




i've used DVDShrink ever since ive been backing up my DVD's, but ive heard so many good things about DVD Rebuilder, so i thought id give it a try. i must say that the pro version is well worth it. it has so many more options to tweak the video to your liking, and i think its needed to actually produce a great picture. i also think that unless you are willing to learn all the advanced options, youre better off just using a transcoder, like DVDShrink.

With movies that have a lot of noise, i find the basic settings in DVD Rebuilder just dont cut it. without using the advanced settings, like adding filters, and using the matrices, the overall picture can actually look worse than your average transcoder like DVDShrink.

i've been doing MANY tests on the movie Gladiator, and the first few minutes of the movie have a lot of noisy scenes. using CCE SP, 3 pass VBR with no advanced settings tweaked, the picture did look more detailed and sharp compared to DVDShrink's output, but CCE added so much more noise and macroblocking, that i actually found DVDShrinks output was better. using the QLP matrix, and the undot avisynth filter made the picture much better than before. so this is just an example of the need to learn the advanced settings.


Review by xycer on Apr 29, 2006 Version: 1.09.2 Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using DVD-RB for several months. If you wish to do complete backups, or have large movie files, this program can certainly produce impressive results. ProCoder 2.0 has been my encoder of choice, although CCE or the other encoders (free, included) work fine. Overall quality is excellent.

The only issues that I've had were with the early versions: I did have one or two DVDs that had the wrong audio track (my bad), and had a few backups that would not read in DVD-RB due to read errors.

I did donate my $10 early, and do not regret it at all!

I only gave it a 4 on ease of use, because I feel that you MUST work with this program to get everything set up right - once done, it's easy enough. As to the issue of encoding time, I have built a set of "twins" to allow encoding on one dedicated machine, and everything else on the other. I just felt the quality of the finished DVD was worth the extra cost, especially when I can throw a machine together for a couple of hundred bucks (I'm not a gamer, so the machines that I build are "mules" - fast enough processor, stable video and board, and as much RAM as I can afford - or the board can hold).

If you are satisfied with DVD Shrink - keep using it: I still do, expecially if I'm looking at 90% quality and saving 5 hours, LOL..

My hat is off to JDobbs for an excellent program.


Review by classfour on Apr 1, 2006 Version: 1.09 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Best compresser I have ever used for movies to be put on a DVD-R hands down better than DVD shrink took longer to encode and compress but well worth the wait from now on I will use this for large movies and DVD shrink for those little movies!!

Review by Pisidan on Mar 29, 2006 Version: 0.97 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I used to always use dvd shrink because of the time difference but once i started using DVD Rebuilder i havent gone back to shrink since. Although it takes a lot longer than shrink, if theres more than 15 or 20% compression then Rebuilder is my weapon of choice.

Review by jhotmann on Mar 27, 2006 Version: 0.97 Freeware OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well It may take longer that dvd2one and others but its worth it

Review by garryward on Mar 21, 2006 Version: 1.09 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had used 2 pass for 1 year w/ CCE Basic. Switched to CCE SP for more passes and haven't looked back. Depending on the amount of compression and the options ticked it can take 12 ~ 24 hours on my rig. Results are well worth it. All I ever remove are warnings and non-english subs/lang. Based on quality, I will not do less than 6 pass anymore. 10 is when I only have one to do and will be away from the machine for some time.

Review by HatchetMan on Mar 16, 2006 Version: 1.08.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




in reply to the below post. 10 pass??????? how long does that take. i do 2 pass cce and accasionally 3 pass. but with cce and 2 pass it comes out perfect going more passes with cce i find pointless.

Review by stackner on Mar 15, 2006 Version: 1.08.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I love this tool. Been doing 10 pass with CCE SP 2.70.02.06 and UnDot().Deen() filters applied without removing any features, just half d1 & half space for extras. Result has been superb. Way to go jdobbs! Thanks for the support Rockas!

Review by HatchetMan on Mar 15, 2006 Version: 1.08.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I am a big fan of DVD Shrink, but now I only use it for 90% or less in transcoding. Any more and I use this app with the HC free encoder. First I rip the Main Movie Only (Movie 5.1 and 1 sub title). Then I set at the highest quality and let it run. Quality is fantasic.


Review by jntaylor63 on Mar 15, 2006 Version: 0.96 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




There is no doubt about it,DVD-RB gives excellent quality video output compared to transcoders like DVDShrink,CloneDVD ect..
Its downside is that it's very slow.Of course the encoding time depends on which encoder you use with the tool and the settings you use.
I own Mainconcept MPEG encoder and I am unwilling to pay for a second tool for the same job for example CCE.The free encoders that it's compatible with seem too slow.
I cannot see any option in DVD-RB to use MC Encoder,so until it supports my encoder I will not be using the free or payware version.


Review by laspis59 on Feb 8, 2006 Version: Free Or Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




The time is variable depending upon disc complexity. But it normally takes 90 minutes to 2.5 hours with CCE Basic set for 2 passes, assuming you have a reasonably recent computer (e.g. AMD XP 3200+). I wouldn't consider that "all day". Older computers certainly might take longer. With HC encoder it takes about 50% longer. The reports of longer times usually come from a slow computer or a user selected setting that does numerous passes in CCE (which is NOT necessary under most circumstances)

Review by jdobbs on Jan 18, 2006 Version: 1.06 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




yes it is slow as mentioned BUT i use it for all my dvd-9 to dvd-5 conversions that will requier a LOT of compression. in this case it is more than worth the time it takes.

Review by stackner on Jan 15, 2006 Version: 1.01 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




sllllooooooooooooooooooooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
takes way too long.

it's ok if you have the whole day to kill for one DVD


Review by telliks on Jan 15, 2006 Version: 0.96 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




I was the type of guy to use DVDShrink for most of my projects. However I wanted to try using something new, and I am so glad I did. If you would have told me previously that a DVD-9 could be backed up to a DVD-5 with this kind of quality, I would never have believed it. This software is absolutely outstanding! To compress a movie 50-60% and have it turn out this good is a miracle. It does take some time, but the results are well worth the wait.

Review by gobama05 on Dec 29, 2005 Version: 0.96 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




DVD-RB is still my backup choice over DVD Shrink, however, I've noticed that the DVD-RB DVD's don't play correctly on some DVD Players yet they all play just fine on my Panasonic DVD Player. It's still THE backup solution as far as I'm concerned it's just the discs seem to play better on some DVD players than on others.

Review by TVM2K4 on Nov 30, 2005 Version: 1.04 Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using DVD-Rebuilder since it first appeared. There is no way DVD Shrink can compare with heavy compression ratios unless you have bad eyes or a lousy tv\dvd player. I have a HDTV so the quality of my backups really matter. By all means get the Pro version, the extras are well worth the cost.

Review by soundforbjt on Oct 17, 2005 Version: 1.01 Pro Final OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To be a v 0.95 is not that bad. I make 2 test DVD's of the patriot, 1 with the using rebuilder as it comes with HC encoder and another with shrink. I show them to 3 persons and in conclusion shrink look better. I have CCE SP v2.62 but coul'd make it work. The encoder keep giving me an error when it open "not an AVI file". So is fair to say that as it comes shrink look better.

Review by A_51 on Oct 16, 2005 Version: v0.95 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




Downloaded the trial on thursday, bought the pro version saturday. The Pro version really does give so much more and for £6.00GBP really is a bargain.

I use it with the hc encoder and the results are simply stunning at really heavy compresion levels. I use one click mode and when I wake up in the morning all the work is done and ready to burn to a dvd.

Really is a must have software. Buy the pro version as well!


Review by Fresh Fighter on Oct 6, 2005 Version: 1.06rc OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




i too like a lot of people who have left comments thought the world rose and set on dvd shrink, but i have seen the light and now i have been converted.
however dont trust the comments left here do your own test dvdrebuilder has a free option, try it with your favourite t.v. season dvd ( simpsons,family guy , ect.) and with shrink and see the results for yourself
i just finished backing up a movie at 61% with dvdrebuilder and it looks fantastic , with shrink that just wouldnt be possible, check it out for yourself


Review by zesty on Sep 11, 2005 Version: pro 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using DVD Rebuilder for a few months now and haven't run into any problems with it until here recently. It involves the Alien Quadrilogy movies and Taxi. It'll prepare and encode them just fine but when it goes to rebuild them, it errors out and stops due to the additional angles. I've had to use DVD Shrink to get them onto DVD+R but otherwise DVD-RB is a top notch program. Kudos to JDobbs.

Review by TVM2K4 on Jul 10, 2005 Version: v1.00 RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Started using DVD RB Pro with CCE Basic a few months ago and have been very pleased with the results. Backed up a video the other day, main title only, which was greater than 7GB and the results were amazing!

Still use Shrink for small reduction in file size because it does a great job and is faster but for larger file size reduction DVD RB is the way to go.


Review by wwjd on Jul 10, 2005 Version: RC 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am new-ish to DVD backup and use the advice of people who comment on the tools etc. RB comes highly recommended. I add my support to the comments of others. I paid Mr Dobbs the $10 and splashed out on CCE basic. CCE is fast by comparison and the output quality is excellent, I have not experienced a single problem. The tool also creates more interest by letting you see what is going on. Thank you Mr Dobbs! Don't forget, my comments are on the Pro version.

Review by NIMROD007 on Jul 10, 2005 Version: V1.00RC2.Pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This software is awesome. Best quality no matter what. DVD Shrink was great for a while, but after seeing 9 grainy seasons of a favourite tv series backed up with Shrink I realized there is something better. I use CCE and there is no comparison. It's flawless. For power users that don't like that you can't cut out stuff, use DVDRemake Pro. I have been using it with Shrink for ages to cut down on stuff to be shrunk and this with DVDRebuilder with CCE and using DVD Decrypter to decrypt is the best solution for backing up high quality DVD's period!!!!

Review by DJElvis on Jun 21, 2005 Version: 0.93b free OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




First let me say I LOVE DVD Shrink, its a great tool, simple, fast and I will continue to use it on stuff where I don't have to go under 90% of the original image size.

Also I'm a newbie to Rebuilder.

As far as copy quality: I did a side by side of Sopranos season two disc one that requires shrinking to I believe 54% of original after stripping spanish and french audio. I had no real COMPLAINTS about Shrink, the disc was still very watchable, but obviously of diminished quality. With Rebuilder (with CCE 3 passes), it was almost indistinguishable from the orig. This is of course to MY eyes, we are all different.

They both have pros and cons:

Cons: DVD Rebuilder requires a seperate ripper (I use DVD Decrypter) and more hard disc space for holding the original disc rip, processing, and then output if you wish to create a disc image. It also takes longer.
Pros: outstanding quality and will use decrypter to burn the image, so I start it and go to sleep (just as I would with Shrink and quality enhancements) and when I wake up, DONE.

All in all, both are great tools and I was HAPPY to donate the ten bucks to Rebuilder, now I can backup all of my DVD collection that I desire for travelling ect. and not lose quality.





Review by bhamill on Jun 3, 2005 Version: .91 pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




You cannot compare Shrink (no longer under any development) with Rebuilder - it is simply apples and oranges

Shrink simply removes video transform delta info inter-frame, so if you compress too much, you get macro-blocking - it's as simple as that

DVD-RB, in conjunction with an industry-leading encoder solution such as CCE totally re-encodes the MPEG-2 stream, (frame by frame) distributing the bits where the scene is at its most complex, thereby giving the most efficient representation of the video data in the target space allowed

obviously, macro-blocking effects are less visible on a small-screen TV

for my money ($10 US to buy DVD-RB Pro with free updates forever), there is only one clear winner if I want to compress something below 80-90% (to my eye) - DVD-Rebuilder!


Review by magic144 on May 25, 2005 Version: 0.93.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Of course everyone is welcome to his/her opinion. But opinions of individuals are way too subjective and are often biased.

Perhaps you may want read this post:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=91418

37 uninvolved people who visited an Audio/Video store were shown 10 different video clips that had been encoded using three different "One-Click" tools. They, without knowing what encoder was used on which clips, selected the one they thought looked best.

In all ten cases DVD-RB was selected as best -- and in most cases by more than 2:1 over the second place method.

Facts speak for themselves.


Review by jdobbs on May 25, 2005 Version: 0.93 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To the previous posters who are talking about quality and large screen TV's etc. I can only report what I have tried and tested many times on a wide range of material and seen with my own eyes. The fact is my results with DVD rebuilder used with CCE are not as good as the results I got with DVDShrink.

I tried my hardest to convince myself after reading all the glowing reports regarding DVD rebuilder but after comparing like for like scenes, Shrink was definitely better and a hell of a lot faster.


Review by powerhead22 on May 23, 2005 Version: 0.88 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




I don't have a vested interest in the product at all but for the people who are comparing the quality of DVD-Shrink to DVD-Rebuilder,it just isn't happening. Unless you are watching your DVD's on a 7" portable,you absolutely can't compare the quality of using CCE to DVD Shrink on a movie over 2 hours.I watch mine on a 50" plasma and have 20-15 vision with no optical correction needed and this is just the way it is.

If you "think" that DVD-Shrink offers the same quality as DVD-Rebuilder (using ANY of the encoders versus transcoding as Shrink does)then knock yourself out.I personally don't care but i don't like people spouting off inaccurate info. Possibly the person that thinks Shrink is as good as DVD-Rebuilder on ANY length movie doesn't have the technical knowledge of how to get the most out of the program by using Avisynth filters,etc.,or takinght etime to actaull learn nthe proper settings for the best results. It actually reads like a frustrated user to make such a nonsensical statement to me.


But just beware that when you finally get a nice TV and start watching 2 hour,20 minute movies or longer done on Shrink you may have more blocks than you can imagine so beware.

On 1 hour,30 minute movies you may not notice any difference because the bitrate will still be high enough to carry it off.But to say that it does as good a job on any length of movie is not true. It also depends on the quality of the starting original (crap in = crap out theory). So don't expect miracles but if you start with a clean original,this is the best option out there when using CCE or the free HC Enc

Gilligan




Review by Gilligan on May 22, 2005 Version: All OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm obviously an interested party... but some people just don't care or can't recognize quality. For those folks I guess this just isn't the package. But if you care about quality of your DVD Backups, you're the person for whom this software is designed.

I've been a user of Cinemacraft Encoder for a long time now. I have no connection or interest in the compay. But I respect good software. There is no comparison between CCE and within-the-compressed-domain transcoders

The difference is real. That's why I wrote this package -- just to take advantage of the best encoder on the planet.


Review by jdobbs on May 22, 2005 Version: 0.92 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried this many times with CCE and have to conclude that dvdshrink is better and I mean better in every way - including large file sizes.

Review by powerhead22 on May 21, 2005 Version: 0.88 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




Just wanted to elaborate on the use of DVD-RB vs. DVD Shrink. In order to get the best out of this program, you have to be compressing more. You will not notice a difference between DVD-RB and DVD Shrink if the program material doesn't need to be compressed that much (in my experience so far, this means 80% and up).

In other words, use DVD-RB on material which requires a lot of compression. The less compression you need, the less you need DVD-RB and should just use DVD Shrink for quicker processing.


Review by DVD Polizei on May 21, 2005 Version: .89 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




DVD Rebuilder can use CCE Basic($58) QuEnc(Free) HC Encoder(Free) ReJig(A high quality transcoder - Free).

This is the best method of Backing up a DVD ever!
I know people may think that I'm suspicious but... I could use another Nick, or not? ;)


Review by Rockas on May 13, 2005 Version: 0.92 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I used this program with CCE. I wouldn't know what to do without the guides posted online. Once you make the proper setting they are saved and it's basically two clicks of a mouse from then on. I'll probably be burned alive for saying this but this program with Cinema Craft Encoder Sp is only very slightly better than Dvd Shrink. It also takes a lot longer for that very slightly better picture. Best bet is to stick with DvdShrink. Cut out extras and trailers and use less compression. I've been using that method along for a long time. I was curious about CCE so I tried it with DvdRebuilder and found out it doesn't live up to the hype. I mean CCE Sp costs $2000 and Shrink is free and the difference is so minimal.

Review by maxxjulie on May 11, 2005 Version: 0.88 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I have been a long time transcoder user with DVD Shrink and just recently decided to give DVD Rebuilder a try for some of the over 50% compression DVD's to see how the quality compared. And the quality is considerably better with DVD rebuilder. I gave it a 7/10 for ease of use solely for the setup process for CCE which includes a couple of steps that was not documented as well as other steps. But once set up is done, program use is a breeze (truly one-click encoding) and the quality is superb! And with the inclusion of freeware encoders, it is looking even better.

Great tool and I will be donating soon.


Review by gust0208 on Apr 28, 2005 Version: 0.84 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool!!!Now even I,newbie in DVD encoding,can easly burn some DVD-9 videos to DVD-5.I am so sorry I cannot donate author 'cos I'm from Serbia,it is very har for us to get a visa card.

Review by kobaya on Apr 23, 2005 Version: 0.82 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Wonderful tool for very high quality re-encoding of DVD9 to DVD5. A very slight bit of work to configure -- nothing anybody with a brain should be afraid of -- but operation is trivially easy compared to the comparably high quality alternatives & it gives superb results. Alternative one-click solutions just aren't even close to being in this league. This is the single best value in any kind of video processing software that I've ever encountered.

Review by LudwigX on Apr 15, 2005 Version: .84 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the missing link between high quality encoding and all the intermediate steps necessary to rebuild the DVD once all the encoding, audio/subtitle ripping, IFO updating, etc.
I never really paid attention to this little proggy until 0.64; I was using the whole DVD Maestro or Scenarist method then. Man I wish I had started sooner. Made my donation to get the benefits of the Pro version which include multi-pass with RB-Opt since 0.78. JDobbs is asking very little for this awesome program which does way more than any commercial package out there. Sure there are transacoders but they cannot compare to CCE. Even better is the fact that it gives you the option to use freeware encoders but with CCE Basic at only $58 I'd rather shell out the dough to get results that are almost indistinguishable from the original. In any case it's still cheaper and better that the other stuff out there.
The way cool thing about this is that the author listens to reports about bugs/crashes/problems and actually fixes or improves them and alot of the new features are very useful instead of leaving you wondering "What the hell is this for?" Support this program, donate all you can, sell your house if you must!


Review by BullWorth on Mar 25, 2005 Version: 2.80 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To everyone that may have some difficulties on the setup of this magnific tool... you may want to use my Installer (the official one) available on www.dvdrebuilder.com

keep it UP


Review by Rockas on Mar 21, 2005 Version: 0.78 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AWESOME!!! AWESOME!!! This is dvdshrink but with far better quality. When used with CCE muti-pass, video comes as close to original DVD as possible while keeping sub's and audio as desired by end user. The only down side was trying to get the program to work properly but that was easily fixed by coming here and doing a little research. I highly recommend this program.

Review by popeye1497 on Mar 18, 2005 Version: 0.77 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unbelievable holy grail of "shrink" world when it comes to titles that can't be transcoded down far enough to fit onto dvd-5 (like Return of The King ext version "extra" discs). Unlike transcoding, there is no limit on how far to reduce quality when re-encoding, and since CCE works with DVD-RB you have the option to use the best encoder on the market for those under 50-60% compression projects and still end up with high quality playback (even at bitrates of around 2000vbr using 2-3pass CCE). thank you thank you thank you author! i just recently got it working flawlessly with latest version...now it's time to pay the man for his work!

Review by masterpug on Feb 25, 2005 Version: most recent OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a really good program! I compressed a DVD from 100% to about 60%. I couldn't notice any difference in quality. But use QuEnc at it highest quality and with Trellis Quantization and "Detect scene change" then you'll get my results.

Review by FreeZzze on Feb 25, 2005 Version: 0.74 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Just read through the comments and all listed here are from the earlier beta versions, but almost all of the problems talked about here have long since been resolved. DVD-RB now supports angles and ILUV and there are even program on the doom.9 DVD-rebuilder forum that will even set all of the programming up for you. New skins are available, multiple computer (RB Farm) processing, and many excellent and knowledgeable moderators and users to answer your questions.

I went from not being able to make a back-up to the point now that everything I do comes out just perfect. Almost never make a post because I have NOTHING to complain about.

I still think that DVD Shrink is a great program but for the larger and longer encodes nothing on the planet compares with DVD-RB. At this point I have not done any preprocessing of the video before giving it to RB and Batting 100%. I like movie only back-ups and will start trying to edit some of the extras and PUP's out before finalizing. If you are not using this program you are cheating yourself!!!!!


Review by candsh on Nov 10, 2004 Version: 67 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I the past I've used DVD2SVCD to create DVD's. For that I used CCE as encoder. After a while I went for the quick solution as authoring after I created a 720x525 mpeg stream took too much time. So I started using DVDshrink and Instant copy. Although instant copy is much faster, and can come very close to the CCE results, I started missing the clear, sharp and unbeatable results from CCE.
....untill I read about DVDrebuilder. It uses CCE as encoder, is extremely user friendly and does all the authoring for me. If needed you can even select half D1 size. Anyway: DVDrebuilder is a combination of the best. In my opinion no software can beat this wunderfull program. For me it is a 10 out of 10.


Review by xzarkad on Nov 10, 2004 Version: 064a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Holy Cow! I'm from the old school VCD group and I certainly used to be hypercritical of any work. Lately I have to admit to getting lazier and just using DVD Shrink or DVD FAB. Shrink if it didn't require too much shrinking or could be easily reauthored, FAB otherwise. Well, I just used Rebuilder on LOTR-ROTK yesterday 3 hrs 20 min of torture test. I would never ever consider trying to put it on one disk with DVD Shrink. Using ReBuilder and CCE it was every bit as good as a very modest shrink using DVD Shrink. Not archive quality, but VERY, VERY good. It's beta ware and does require a bit of user knowledge (but not much), and on a 1.8Ghz it does take about 5 hours for such a long movie, but the results are fantastic. I won't use it on everything, but I will definitely be adding it to the other 2 programs mentioned.

Review by sammie on Sep 23, 2004 Version: .62 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Forget about dvd shrink, nero recode or any other program you use to re-encode dvd's. This program is brilliant. I just backed up a 7.3 gb dvd-9 using this program. Could not tell any diffrence from the original.

Review by aleem on Aug 18, 2004 Version: 0.56 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




DVD Rebuilder works great with DVD43, you can copy your DVDs on-the-fly, so for 1-to-1 backups you can drop the ripping stage (unless you have a disc DVD43 can't handle).

Review by deckard8 on Jul 31, 2004 Version: 0.56 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




DVD Rebuilder is not really "one click" if you have to decrypt and re-author the DVD on the side.. Some people have trouble with setting up AVISync and the like. SO I'd call it an intermediate level program leaning on the beginner's side.

It's a fantastic way to re-encode a DVD. It does take a lot of time and CPU horsepower for full quality, but it makes a beautiful copy. If you want the quick and nasty drop and burn, DVD Shrink is still my first choice for FAST movie-only transcoding (or the movie and a few short extras) and genuine one-click simplicity. 90% of what I turn out with the 'Shrink "looks just like the original" to most viewers.

But If you're more the Slow and Steady type, or if this is a movie you REALLY care about, and it's GOT to be beautiful--DVD Rebuilder is the first choice. For 9to5-ing more complex extra-long movies and those heavily loaded supplemental DVDs, especially if you just MUST keep the DTS track, Rebuilder can't be beat. Seriously. In the end it really matters how much you need to squeeze onto one DVD.

DVD Rebuilder = Long Time/High Quality
DVD Shrink = Very quick/Varying Quality.


Review by Jiggly on Jul 30, 2004 Version: 0.56 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best Iíve tried.
It has the superb feature of mixing some edit options (Sound tracks and subpictures) with the best quality possible (CCE), and you donít need that much knowledge to use it.
Transforming CCE in an easy to use tool is simply impressive.


Review by LioCraft on Jun 29, 2004 Version: 0.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As the previous poster indicated, you must rip the movie how you want it before opening DVDRebuilder. That is, if you want to reauthor, blank titlesets, etc, do it first as your options are limited thereafter. Since I do movie only, I just reauthor with DVDShrink, no compression, and hit backup. Open DVDShrink's output in DVDRebuilder and away you go.

This is a very nice program, and easy to use. Start it before going to bed, since it takes a while! I give it a ten in all categories.


Review by fritzi93 on Jun 22, 2004 Version: 0.53a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is awesome ! If you want the best of the best stop searching, cause here it is. I did several long movies (120+) with this program (CCE Mode) and they all looked very good. Use DVD-shrink to rip the stuff you need and then dump that into Rebuilder and let the magic begin. This makes the long wait for decent DVD+DL drives+media much easier.

Review by DJ BeBoy on Jun 21, 2004 Version: 0.52 (Beta) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For copying DVD9's in the best quality possible, DVD Rebuilder is the premier tool. Beats everything else hands down. I turn to it when I have DVD's with a long running time (120min+) where transcoding with DVDShrink or CloneDVD deteriorates the picture quality too much. Great tool.

Review by deckard8 on Jun 19, 2004 Version: 0.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am very Impressed with this program. After you get it set-up its a one click wonder. Using CCE with 4 pass it does a very nice job on those duel layer discs you want to backup to one disc. Check it out....its worth the effort.

Review by Jefros on Jun 17, 2004 Version: 0.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool succeeded where DVD Shrink (all versions), DVD2One (all versions), Nero Recode, and DVDXCOPY all failed. I've had a disc on my drive for months, waiting for the day when I could finally get it on disc. It was 3GB too big, and no other program could shrink it.

DVD REBUILDER using REJIG did it, and in less than 15 minutes. Quality is quite decent, better than expected. Better than DVD2ONE and better than non-deep-analysis DVD Shrink.

Though not really needed (it's an easy program), a guide will be added to digitalFAQ.com for it (in coming weeks).

Don't think I can quite describe how happy I am with this tool. It took the hardest backup to date and whipped through it like it was nothing. Outstanding!



Review by lordsmurf on Jun 12, 2004 Version: 0.52 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




great program with stunning results! the long conversion time is well worth the wait. You won't be disappointed with the end result. I'm using this program to backup most of my dvd collection.

Review by budz on Jun 12, 2004 Version: 0.51.0.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best program ever!!!!

Congrats to author!!!
Keep the beta's coming
ALways gonna be problems w/beta
software...
Make sure you setup correctly
or its not gonna work....


Review by musher70 on Jun 11, 2004 Version: .52b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply doesn't work. Been trying for a few hours, but giving up now. The only thing it produces are some files i can't use and error messages that tell me nothing. The program itself thinks it's working though, but in the next phase it stops with an error. Back to DVDShrink for me!

Even DVD2SVCD worked here, in the old days when we were making SVCD's. That needed even more programs and settings, but, it worked!!


Review by bouncemeister on Jun 11, 2004 Version: 0.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I also have got a Philips DVD (625), no problems here.
I get sometimes a little stutter but it happens rarely & doesn't really bothers me.


Review by Whitespliff on Jun 4, 2004 Version: 0.51c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It gives problems with playback on some philips dvd-players..

Review by yf2001usa on May 21, 2004 Version: 0.49 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This is indeed the BEST tool to backup your movie collection!
Already said in previous post but in combination with DvdReMake (http://www.dimadsoft.com/dvdremake/index.php) this little thingy rocks.
Version 2 (DvdReMake Pro) is almost done with beta testing & believe me, it's gooood ;-)

I've also found a little tool on Doom9's forum called RB-Opt (http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?s=&threadid=75202), with this you can change bitrates for titlesets.
Who cares if extra's don't look that good?


Review by Whitespliff on May 20, 2004 Version: 0.49 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had problems getting this to run with CCE to start and then found ECLCCE and a guide that indicated that you put THAT as the CCE encoder and not CCESP.exe. As soon as that little thing was sorted it worked fine.

Quality is superb. A 7Gb disk on a P4 2.4 took 190 mins for the 3 pass encode. Having a batch facility is VERY useful. I can see me setting all on 4 pass and running several overnight.

Finally a tool that does what Pinnacle IC8 should do. It also sized the disk correctly which IC8 never does.

PLEASE REMEMBER IT IS BETA but it is regularly updated with fixes.

Great piece of s/w. Kudos to the author.


Review by Deuteros on May 20, 2004 Version: 0.49 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Absolutley the best way to backup your DVDs. I've done all of my Farscape discs with this and they all look great. I use DVDRebuilder along with DVDReMake to create the best backups. If you haven't tried this out yet, you need to.

Review by NoodleMaps on May 14, 2004 Version: 0.48 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Use it and donate !!! That's the greatest tool for backuping DVD and keeping the best quality !!

Review by SAPSTAR on May 14, 2004 Version: 0.48 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Working fine with good quality on the finished movie. I have been missing a SW like this. I have been using dvd2svcd for a couple of years, first for svcd creation and later for dvd. This is a very good SW for "movie only" copies but very time consuming and as I said, just "movie only" copies

Now there is a similar SW for full copies: DVD rebuilder.
Excellente! It also converts faster than DVD2SVCD.
I though would like to have some more setting possibilities but maybe the idea is that it should just be one click to start up.. ;-) But why does CCE require much less time in DVD-RB than in dvd2svcd? A real guide would also be nice..


Review by Micke@home on Apr 10, 2004 Version: 0.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Coming right along.. this version seems to have squashed a lot of remaining bugs.

Review by kungfucow on Apr 5, 2004 Version: .31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just a reminder after seeing the negative comments. This software is in pure beta form. All those who download it in its present form are in essence "agreeing" to be testers and acknowledge that it has kinks and bugs. Today is March 31, 2004. Take a look at the history above and you will see that it was released 2 weeks ago on March 14.

So, keep that in mind when reading the comments and agreeing to download. Those who have had success with the program (many have), it is said to be a great tool. If you do download it, don't forget to visit the doom9.org forums to report your bugs and experience in usage - this will help in Rebuilder developing into a top-notch tool.



Review by e1miran on Mar 31, 2004 Version: .27 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Still cannot convert any DVD, I keep geting runtime error '9' just after begin of process.
Tryed with several different DVD's and CCE SP 2.67, nothing to do!
The idea is great, but please correct the problem.


Review by biopresto on Mar 29, 2004 Version: 0.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




It would be a great program if you could get it to work. I can NOT get to encode all the way.

Review by gf on Mar 29, 2004 Version: .25 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Up to now the only way to get the best quality DVD-9 video shrunk to DVDr was to use the Big Three Method - a slow and often painful experience necessitating a steep learning curve.

Introducing DVD Rebuilder!!

Rebuilder promises to be the next best thing since DVDShrink. Unlike DVDShrink and its ilk, however, DVD Rebuilder is the first to allow you to automatically re-encode all video including menus and movies using Cinema Craft Encoder. Other methods often lead to pixilated and poor overall picture quality. Not anymore. Even the most overstuffed DVD9 episodic
DVD can be fitted to a single layer DVDr with acceptable quality.

The prayers of the DVD ripping community have been answered.


Review by offline on Mar 29, 2004 Version: 0.26 (beta) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One of the best apps to come out in a long time, I've tried it on a dozen different types of DVD's and has worked perfect on them all. And at the price, you just cant go wrong.

Review by ChickenMan on Mar 28, 2004 Version: 0.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




By far the best and easiest way to backup dvds using cce. Good Job JDobbs

Review by whatsthedeal on Mar 26, 2004 Version: 0.24 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool in developement. It truely makes CCE done movies a one click operation. You can set a lot of settings including up to 10 passes. It does everything including authoring the dvd. There are a few things that the author is still fixing but this will be the best app available soon. Best of all its free.

Review by DMagic1 on Mar 22, 2004 Version: v.021 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


93 reviews, Showing 1 to 93 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com