Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try StreamFab All-in-One and download streaming video from streaming sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for StaxRip

173 reviews, Showing 1 to 173 reviews


Rating by wEAR on Apr 8, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




When encoding rav1e, permanent artifacts in the form of picture tearing.
The same result on earlier versions.


Review by stimco on Apr 8, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The reason that the 'MP4Box.exe'(1.1.0-DEV-rev635-g9c51f2274-x64-gcc10.2.0 Patman) shipped with StaxRip v2.3.0 is FALSELY diagnosed being malicious is because the executable file is compressed by UPX.

https://upx.github.io/

Several anti-virus software vendors do not report correctly on UPX compressed executables.

This is the VirusTotal scanning result of the SAME executable after it is decompressed (by UPX).

https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/4f2bf85fa0b6f368fede56ff37b218799b530368fbba33276ef5523dc5c322a3/detection

StaxRip employs mod versions of some tools in order to meet the need for Unicode(UTF-8)/long file path support, etc.
Some of the mod tools are released as compressed(UPX-ed) in order to save drive space, and this may result in FALSE warning.


Review by JKyle on Apr 7, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Alzus on Apr 7, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is VirusTotal scanning result of MP4Box.exe (Ver: 1.1.0-DEV-rev635-g9c51f2274-x64-gcc10.2.0 Patman)

https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/074a6e0fc8c50088b93da488c937e643245d207802f5a34f595abd7502dfb7b3/detection


Review by Enrev on Apr 7, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Sasuke on Apr 1, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




VideoHelp Review is NOT the place for your issue report.

Please use the Issue Tracker on GitHub for any bug/issue/feature request reports based on corresponding templates.


Review by JKyle on Mar 30, 2021 Version: 2.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The program crash when I select QTGMC for deinterlacing, it happens with v2.2.0 and v2.3.0, no problems with v1.7.0.
I'm using Staxrip on Win7 64bits, 8GB of RAM.


Review by Ryo94 on Mar 30, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I love StaxRip. It's the one I use to compress my videos. It is excellent to be free. I cannot download the StaxRip 2.3.0 version because windows defender does not allow it and recognizes it as a virus. Please fix this. Thanks

Review by Randy on Mar 30, 2021 Version: StaxRip 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I love StaxRip. It's the one I use to compress my videos. It is excellent to be free. I cannot download the StaxRip 2.3.0 version because windows defender does not allow it and recognizes it as a virus. Please fix this. Thanks

Review by Randy on Mar 30, 2021 Version: StaxRip 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Stupido on Mar 30, 2021 Version: v2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software, especially for free. Worth it just for Qtgmc.
I got a virus warning on 2.30 so Iíll wait until that is sorted out. Probably false.


Review by Barrythecrab on Mar 29, 2021 Version: 2.30 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This software has increased in size but it's not bloatware at all.

It became so big in size 'cause it supports a lot of different encoding cores/engine (that StaxRip incorporate inside) .. and it has its avisynth/vapoursynth environment also built-in.

A bloatware is a software that becomes bigger and bigger 'cause it has useless (or even detrimental) crap added to it, and that's absolutely not the case..

And today's StaxRip is ways ways better than the old 20mb version.


Review by Kryx Moon on Mar 29, 2021 Version: 2.2.x OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is VirusTotal scanning result of v2.3.0.

https://www.virustotal.com/gui/url/0ef91c6187426a1560d76c65ce3f32e39f9e30a11ae75b8c3f311cd8a015c823/detection

Don't spread false information as if it were truth.


Review by JKyle on Mar 29, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Remember when this software used to be only 20mb or even smaller. Oh those glory bloatware free days! Like a lot of great programs and tech advancements things just keep getting bigger and bigger and forget simplicity- remember Nero? Not complaining it does a great job and it's freeware still.

Review by Dave on Mar 29, 2021 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by narcis on Feb 11, 2021 Version: 2.1.8.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I like the design logic of staxrip, the settings are arranged in perfect order. Input, output, filter, encoder, simple and clear. The jobs management are excellent as well.

Review by Simon on Jan 24, 2021 Version: 2.1.7.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent, but what remains to be perfect would be the recognition of external subtitles in *.ass* format in batch.

Review by Adriano on Dec 29, 2020 Version: 2.1.5.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by John on Dec 8, 2020 Version: 2.1.4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by George K on Nov 30, 2020 Version: 2.1.4.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




very good

Review by huaghjj on Nov 29, 2020 Version: 2.1.4.8 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by hevron on Oct 7, 2020 Version: 2.1.48 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Alan on Oct 5, 2020 Version: 2.1.4.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@Enconder but need to update to the latest x264 binary@
This can be done manually, and ffmpeg can also be updated.


Review by hevron on Oct 5, 2020 Version: 2.1.47 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Sunin on Oct 4, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Perfect Enconder but need to update to the latest x264 binary.

Review by Tony on Oct 4, 2020 Version: 2.1.4.7 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by on Sep 21, 2020 Version: latest beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by on Sep 21, 2020 Version: 2146 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by John on Sep 18, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by TMatrik on Sep 13, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Ali Anvari on Jul 10, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by LynX on Jun 27, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by hevron on Jun 22, 2020 Version: StaxRip 2.1.3.0 / 2.1.3.4 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Edi just stick with the version which works for you, don't get hung up with updating syndrome as many do, thinking a newer version is better. Revisions often bring new problems and bugs despite fixing rare bugs. It is common in the software world that an update introduces errors due to code change. My advice skip this newer version and wait for the next until this error if reported widely gets fixed.

Review by Dan on Jun 14, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I'm using StaxRip 2.1.1.9. I'm having problems with StaxRip 2.1.3.0.

Script Error (SMDegrain problem)
I don't know what 'AvsPlusVersionNumber' means.

Script Error (mClean problem)
There is no function named 'Media'

I can not update. Best regard.


Review by Edi on Jun 13, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Remember the days when files were quite small and under 20mb? This software has gone huge with its dependencies. Good software, but I prefer the simplicity of days gone by when tech was much smaller, but still did the job well.

Review by Ralph on Jun 13, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by FreyaR on Jun 12, 2020 Version: 2.1.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Many thanks for the lovely present!
A million thanks!
StaxRip this is my favorite program!


Review by hevron on Jun 12, 2020 Version: StaxRip 2.1.2.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




2.1.2.2 after → SMDegrain problem..
I turned to 2.1.1.9


Review by Edi on Jun 9, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.9 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by lanquiv on Jun 9, 2020 Version: 2.1.2.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by AxiDuoS on Jun 1, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Script error: There is no function named 'f3kdb'
(C:Program Files\StaxRip 2.1.1.7\Apps\Plugins\AVS\mClean\mClean.avsi, line 144)
flash3kyuu_deband replaced by Neo f3kdb after problem..

I'm using NVvidia H.265, RemoveGrain, SMDGrain, mClean.
Decoder: NVEnc Hardware (Quality, Main 10, High, 5.1, 10-bit)

StaxRip : 2.1.1.7
Windows : Windows 10 Pro 2004
CPU : Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-4790 CPU @ 3.60GHz
GPU : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1650
Resolution : 1920 x 1080
DPI : 96


Review by Edi on Jun 1, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.7 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by STBowd on May 29, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a very versatile app covering the use of AviSynth+, VapourSynth, and various other multimedia tools in Windows x64.
And it's very customizable as well. You can add your own filters and encoders with a simple macro programming.
A must-try app for AVS+/VS users. Highly recommended.


Review by JKyle on May 29, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Loud on May 29, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Toxyk on May 26, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best convert app. Thank you very much. Stable version please, good works..

Review by Edi on May 26, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Staxrip is being continually updated - it's a very powerful frontend . I am still learning . Pays to do some reading first - great has easy accessible scripts included . If you are completely new - maybe start with handbrake to start to understand encoding - then move over to Staxrip for greater control & tools.
Makemkv and MKVtoolNix Gui - are the 2 other progs I use.
Is a lot of fun learning to encode better - but could also just learn a few templates you like for the results you want .
I run a movie through my own matrix to decide on my settings (eyeballing quickly movie helps a lot ) - which ultimately means allocating more processing/disk space to those you like the most & you want to preserve all it's grain/details the most . As opposed to a still very watchable throwaway movie encoded in 3Gb


Review by Graeme on May 25, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by ner0 on May 23, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.5 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Vaxtho on May 23, 2020 Version: StaxRip 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




update please..
AviSynth+ 3.6.0, AVSMeter 2.9.9.3
Visual C++ 2019 Redistributable 14.26.28720 or 14.27.28823
KNLMeansCL.dll fix
Good works..


Review by Edi on May 22, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.4 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Dade on May 12, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by laXzoR on May 6, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Update for:
AVSMeter 2.9.9.1
MKVToolNix 46.0.0
Thank you very much..


Review by Bora on May 6, 2020 Version: 2.1.1.1 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by LynX on May 4, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Vander on Apr 4, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Azzidu0s on Apr 3, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Noise problem > SMDGrain with Motion Picture not fix

Script error: There is no function named 'Dither_Luma_Rebuild


Review by Bora on Apr 3, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Visual C++ 2019 not compatible new version 14.25.28508.3

Review by Edi on Mar 27, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Sidv1R on Mar 17, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




https://prnt.sc/rhqqng

Where can i select what bitrate i want to use? This new version don't have that.


Review by WiNT3R on Mar 17, 2020 Version: 2.0.8.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Rating by Vannor on Mar 12, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




SMDGrain problem !

Cannot load file 'C:Program Files/StaxRip 2.7.0.6/Apps/Plugins/Dual/KNLMeansCL/KNLMeansCL.dll'. Paltform returned code 126:

SMDGrain with Motion Picture problem !

Script error: There is no function named 'Dither_Luma_Rebuild'.


Review by Edi on Mar 11, 2020 Version: 2.0.7.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Jaxus on Mar 5, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Lushean on Mar 2, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Wawerczyk on Feb 18, 2020 Version: StaxRip 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Vinne on Feb 3, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My favorite ripping GUI front end, by large and by far. It's leaps and bounds better than any HandBrake based frontend, largely because it has a 10bit pipe for output as opposed to HandBrake's 8bit-to-10bit conversion pipe for output. StaxRip keeps all HDR VUI stats/info and, once you familiarize yourself with the x264/x264 CLI after weeks/months of practice encodes, becomes the absolute go-to tool for your encoding needs. I prefer to decrypt and backup my BDR/UHD discs to my SSD with MakeMKV (AnyDVD has a time limit and costs 60$; MakeMKV is perpetually free and I like the MakeMKV community a lot more than the RedFox community), transcode the 1:1 MakeMKV rip to either AVC or HEVC with Stax, and then remux the transcode with the MKVToolNix tool kit to polish off the finished matroska's metadata (i'm a stat whore, so i need informative labels on all my matroska tracks).

If you want a great StaxRip alternative, check out Hybrid. The two best front-ends out there, and they're totally FREE :D

ps. stax and hybrid will be incredibly difficult for no0b encoders. there's a magnificent help function built into the GUI (just right click on any part of the gui window that you want more information about) that brings up your preferred lib encoder's extended help information in cmd prompt, but this can still be daunting to a layman if you have hardly any encoding experience under your belt. It took me about two solid months of ripping and encoding bdr/uhd movies from my personal library every single day while reading the readthedocs.io CLI documentation for both AVC and HEVC. but boy, once you understand how to manipulate quantization and crf-vbv to your specific likings, StaxRip will be like uncut China White Heroin for the budding encodesmith.

10000/10, most valuable and highest recommended encoding engine and program that you can use (apart from makemkv) imo


Review by WiLDFiRE on Feb 2, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Ebolael on Jan 15, 2020 Version: StaxRip 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Kadu on Jan 3, 2020 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by Ember on Nov 27, 2019 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




StaxRip 2.0.6.0 and NVEncC (x64) 4.55 (r1224) Nov 5 2019, Windows 10 64-bit command:

NVEncC64.exe -i "s:\+++.mkv" --preset quality --aq --vbrhq 0 --max-bitrate 80000 --lookahead 32 --codec h265 --profile main10 --output-depth 10 --vbr-quality 30.5 --output-res 1280x720 --audio-codec ac3 --audio-bitrate 192 --audio-stream :stereo -o "s:\---.mkv"

File has problems with audio track. It does not play sound. After remix with mkvmerge, it plays OK.

Version 2.0.2.4 with NVEncC (x64) 4.42 (r1126) Jun 5 2019 generates good file.


Review by Oleg on Nov 27, 2019 Version: StaxRip 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Leonardo on Nov 11, 2019 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by g0uki on Nov 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.4 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AviSynth+ 3.4.0, Python 3.8.0, AVSMeter 2.9.7, x264 Encoder 158 r2988 must update.. and x265 why 2,17 mb.? Thank you very much. Good works

Review by Bora on Nov 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.5.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




QTGMC not working
Script error:
Cannot load the file /dfttest.dll
Platform returned code 1114


Review by frenksisco on Oct 31, 2019 Version: 2.0.4.0 Stable OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Just starting using this program because of the ability to use qaac for audio re-encoding. Great program!!! Has a little bit of a learning curve, but once I got things figured out, works fantastic!!! Thanks for this software!!!

Review by thatjpguy76 on Oct 30, 2019 Version: StaxRip 2.0.4 / 2.0.4.1 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Soren on Oct 29, 2019 Version: 2.0.4.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Eric on Oct 29, 2019 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you very much for best convert app.

Review by Bora on Sep 12, 2019 Version: 2.0.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




preset :x265 slow 10bit
AVS - LSFmode is not working.
Script Error:
This is not an YV12 clip!


Review by Kyle6518 on Aug 20, 2019 Version: 2.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




198mb portable bloatware! Remember when it was much smaller and still did the trick? Very difficult to use at first, impossible for newbies without a lot of cockups. Still it it one of the best out there to get quality in an encoding, though difficult to use.

Review by Tom on Aug 19, 2019 Version: 2.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Bug:
1. The job processing GUI icon - Displayed as a Visual Studio icon
2. minimize processing dialog to tray - There are no icons in the tray list and the GUI is hidden


Review by Kyle6518 on Jun 28, 2019 Version: 2.0.2.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




The x265 setup display is unusual
Writing library : CRF is the first to be displayed.


Review by Kyle6518 on May 28, 2019 Version: 2.0.2.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Crop in Vapour > OK both in Filters Windows or Select from Menu

Crop in AviSynth > from Menu then Manual/Auto Crop ...... OK
But preselect from Filters Windows then Input file "Error"

Windows10 x64

Faulting application name: StaxRip.exe, version: 2.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5bd374bc
Faulting module name: ffms2.dll_unloaded, version: 2.30.0.0, time stamp: 0x5b9dbfcf
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000001f8e71
Faulting process id: 0x830
Faulting application start time: 0x01d4dafed74b2304
Faulting application path: D:\Programz\StaxRip-x64-2.0.0.0\StaxRip.exe
Faulting module path: ffms2.dll
Report Id: d32757ae-f02d-4d80-9110-0ebde0be5efd
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Review by Fan on Mar 15, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great job. Thank you very much. (VCEEnc 4.02, qaac 2.68 add please) This best convert app..

Review by Wolfman on Mar 9, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Bill on Feb 23, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by CCC on Feb 14, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This isn't developed by the guy who originally started the project, just the name carried on. Even then before the changeover it was becoming bloatware and had too many fixes/options to cater for newer platforms or selfish users who never donated wanting this and that option and moaning when it didn't work.

Review by Jack on Jan 22, 2019 Version: 2.00 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




AVI Target file not convert for target selected size

Review by Farid Sodhy on Jan 22, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0.x64 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I would really like to try this software for ripping Blu-rays to MP4 instead of Handbrake but can't get it to work. First of all it requires AviSynth+, but that messes with my older AviSynth 2.6.0 installation and the software I use such as AVStoDVD relies on AviSynth 2.6.0. If I do install AviSynth+ then Staxrip asks to install FFTW. But if I try to install it I get a "FFTW has returned an error" message!

Review by Lukas80153 on Jan 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




All status (versions) deficient. And AviSynth+ 2772, AVSMeter 2.8.7 not update.
Thank you very much. Good luck


Review by Bora on Jan 1, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Wawerczyk on Nov 29, 2018 Version: SUPER :-) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you very much. Continue to work on. Good work.

Review by Bora on Nov 16, 2018 Version: 2.0 Beta 2 .net 4.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Szero on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




In Version 2.0.0.0 there seems to be an MemoryLeak, because it uses 10+ GB of RAM after the source was loaded, already had it using 25+ GB of RAM. On the old version there was only a RAM-Usage of ~30MB, but it constantly crashed leaving the Crop-Editor.

Hope the would be a new Version soon, that fixes those MemoryLeak's...


Review by darkman1983 on Nov 12, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Does anyone know (or tested) if the StaxRip x265 Nvidia Encoding will work with the new Nvidia Graphic Cards (Turing) ie 2080 and 2080Ti or it will only work with then Pascal 1050 or better GPUs?

Thanks.


Review by parhamsan on Oct 25, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Anyone having issues with Crop, I suggest Downloading the Building directly from GitHub, Instead of here. The Build being hosted here is outdated and was Alpha Build of 1.9 and Not Final 1.9 Build.

1-Crop function does not work, the program closes after the any crop.

The issue was fixed along time ago, It only existed in the Alpha Build.

2-The Demux (cutting method: mkvmerge) no longer displays file types. Example what kind of Audio or subtitle format is getting extracted.

This issue is not tied to StaxRip, but an issue with MediaInfo not properly reading the files correctly(Already been reported to MediaInfo, It doesn't seem they have any interest in fixing this). Head back to MediaInfo 18.05 Everything will return to normal.


Review by Revan654 on Oct 24, 2018 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hello,

Thanks for the great software, couple of issues to mention:
1-Crop function does not work, the program closes after the any crop.
2-The Demux (cutting method: mkvmerge) no longer displays file types. Example what kind of Audio or subtitle format is getting extracted.

Maybe the issues can be solved in the next version.

Appreciate all the effort.


Review by parhamsan on Oct 24, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Crop does not work ,get an error then close.

Review by Merlin6 on Oct 19, 2018 Version: 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by hamed on Oct 15, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by John on Oct 8, 2018 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best ever convert app.

Review by TechnoMan on Oct 2, 2018 Version: 1.9.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Can anyone tell me any alternative of Staxrip for Windows 7 32 Bit.

Review by sungeorge on Sep 29, 2018 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Some functions are shareware, too complex to suss out within a reasonable time and what a big file it is uncompressed. However must be a wet dream for techies! I reverted back to earlier versions when Stax was in charge. This I imagine will be close to a gigabyte like Ahead Nero in the future?

Review by B.R on Sep 9, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 4/10




Great software, great quality. Auto update function like megui can be appreciated.

Review by darkio on Sep 8, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great software once and to many still is, but what massive bloatware it has become and overly complicated.

Review by Tom on Sep 8, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Rating by Wawerczyk on May 28, 2018 Version: 1.7.0.0 - update please :-) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Wawerczyk on May 16, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Once you get the hang of it this is one of the easier software to use. It's pretty straight forward really. Video and audio with a few filters. Nothing a beginner can't handle.

Review by insipod on Apr 12, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by moliih on Apr 6, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 stable release OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Some complicated but after some exercise, perfect. Maybe it should give us a new update. Anyway thanks to the developer.

Review by Royalstar on Mar 27, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by mohd on Jan 1, 2018 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I will be honest! I don't like the direction this program is going in and the developer is yielding to the demands of those selfish users who want such and such feature which is destroying this once great program's integrity. Those who never donate and just want freebies. As it has developed it is rapidly becoming bloatware, overcomplicated and too buggy. I'm sticking with older xp compatible versions which are more stable.

Review by xtro on Oct 26, 2017 Version: 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Rating by Marcos on Oct 8, 2017 Version: 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Colt on Oct 3, 2017 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used it since 1.3 beta and i have to write, this is one of the best encoding software available at the moment for those who want the controll in the software. I'd like to have VFR for x264 and then it would become perfect for me.

Review by StarlessNIte on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very happy with the new version and easy install, QTGMC worked great in 64bit, would like to see more filtering options included.

Review by film on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




With version 1.6.0.0, tested on my 3 Win10 different computers, i open file, demux starts and complete, window dissapear, main window never show up even after 30 mins. I check the log and all demux were successfull. A staxrip.exe process still running in the background and do nothing.

I had to get back to 1.5.0.0 to have staxrip working successfully after the demuxing process, just after opened a single file.


Review by Martin on Aug 29, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by snowdrop on Aug 3, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by bteamfox on Jul 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




In version 1.60 VCEEnC not work, i'm back to the 1.50 and works fine. Please fix it.

Review by Micky on Jul 28, 2017 Version: 1.60 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by napgiver on Jul 8, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by superhe on Jun 18, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




its a very good fast converter its just the most hardest to use lol. dont know what maybe half or more of the options and stuff do. i cant figure out how to increase the quality and also slow gpu conversion down a lil bit to decrease file size. needs a proper guide.

Review by benjamin on Jun 17, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Since version 1.3.4. I am unable to use StaxRip, it doesn't wont to start on my Win7 64 pro anymore.

Review by simm74 on Jun 16, 2016 Version: 1.3.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Hi,
This is the best GUI for encoding video content!
Please make Avisynth portable as in MeGUI.


Review by VitalyF on Jun 15, 2016 Version: 1.3.7.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the best Video encoding software fore me. Thank you

Review by DopeZero on Jun 7, 2016 Version: 1.3.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi, Thank YOU)! I'd like your Soft, StaxRip is best app encoder for me.

PLEASE add function (filter): StaxRip 'waifu2x' for video resize ???


Review by givens on Apr 1, 2016 Version: 1.3.2.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




still no 7.1 option for qaac
target bitrate still changes after set


Review by nixiejames on Mar 2, 2016 Version: 1.3.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wow! This appears to be one really nice piece of software. Unfortunately, I am only slightly above a beginner in working with video files but I was able to easily navigate through the interface to find the conversion setting I wanted to try and it worked flawlessly. In addition, I see that it also has many more options incorporated into it that I am eager to learn about as well. Now, on the surface, this seems to be the best freeware I've come across thus far (for MY purposes); however, I'll need some time to fully evaluate the full potential of this program (for MY purposes). Thanks to the author!

Review by gus gusimio on Feb 1, 2016 Version: 1.3.1.7 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using this for years now. Found it to be one of the best available in terms of functionality, usability and complexity. Takes a bit of reading up to get used to all settings available, but definitely worth it. Encodes can take a long time (depending on source material), but this is probably the same with all other encoders too.

Review by The.King on Aug 26, 2015 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please ignore my ratings. The "10" I've given is for service. I haven't figured out how to use the program yet. It appears a bit more complicated than Handbrake.

Anyway, just for the heck of it, I downloaded the new beta.

I was clicking around, and when I got to Options, it crashed. A window opened and asked if I wanted to send an error report, which I did.

About 30 minutes later, I got a patched version from one of their programmers, and it fixed the problem.

By the way, you need to have the .NET framework installed for the program to work.

Now the next trick is to learn how to use it.


Review by jgg on Jan 13, 2015 Version: 1.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. And for free. what more do we need?

Review by l0pher on Apr 5, 2014 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Latest version suffers with some bug about complaining Avisynth not installed on 64bit OS. I recommend to use previous version. Otherwise excellent solution giving great versatility and almost full control of video conversion process.

Review by Anakunda on Jan 19, 2014 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please add a high10 profile!!! (10 bits depth)

Review by duplakappa on Jul 6, 2013 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Very disappointing: They didn't fix the bug in xvid encoding that you can't configure the compressibility check. Latest working version was 1.1.6

Review by joearmstrong on Jul 1, 2013 Version: 1.1.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




To StaxRip Author, I tried version 1.1.8.0 with a small MKV test clip and NO Audio.
Thanks! :)


Review by gonwk on May 25, 2013 Version: 1.1.8.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just upgraded from v1.1.6 to v1.1.8 and have now a big problem. I use staxrip for converting my videos to xvid. In staxrip v1.1.6 I could easily configure the compression check. This option is gone in v1.1.8! Compression check always uses the same settings, no adjustments are possible. Am I doing something wrong or does this option not exist in actual version? I switched back to v1.1.6 an everything is working fine. Please answer!

Review by joearmstrong on May 17, 2013 Version: 1.1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I just downloaded and tried this software on a whim (and a recommendation from another website) and boy, am I blown away! I had a large blu ray movie file (18.5 gb) that I had ripped from a disc and decided to see if this program was any good. I set the H264 profile to "High Quality" and adjusted the audio settings to keep the DTS Core and 24 bit. The container was already MKV so I just kept that. From there I just let it rip not really expecting my first time around to be much of a success. When it was done the resulting file was only 3.53 gb in size so I am thinking the quality was going to be crap. Wrong! The video and audio are phenomenal! So much so that I honestly cannot tell small mkv file from the original file on the blu ray disc on a 52" 1080p screen. I have used many different encoding software and this is hands down the best at creating a high quality h.264 video file.

Review by RaiderSteveO on May 4, 2013 Version: 1.1.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




1.1.3 is still the most stable version and handles everything well.

Review by JVial on Jan 21, 2013 Version: 1.1.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best there is for free.

Review by insipod on Sep 30, 2012 Version: 1.1.7.2 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




For anyone getting the system.IO.IOException: the process cannot access the file error try reinstalling ffdshow. I had this error for months and simply stopped using it though it is my favorite. Not sure if it would help but it's worth a try.

Review by danneauxsvh on Jan 6, 2012 Version: 1.1.7.2.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Staxrip has some great options; you can load the presets, then tweak any and all of the
x264 settings if you wish. For some reason, by default, this program tries to use
dgdecnv, which requires a license. People don't know what is going on
and go no further with Staxrip.

It can be easily fixed from the preferences, but it seems a big mistake to attempt to use
this shareware (dgdecnv) out of the box.


Review by davexnet on Oct 8, 2011 Version: 1171 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Damn why is this using shareware....

Review by k4noe on Aug 14, 2011 Version: 1.1.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




This tool is dead meat.

Review by Bobbo on Jul 18, 2011 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




To the guy who can't use this piece of wonder... The program is superb!
Try installing FFDShow, next time StaxRip will ask you to register that component... Click yes and that's it!


Review by elmuz on Jul 18, 2011 Version: 1.1.7.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Junk. DOesnt work, keeps on asking me to find decoders. Using Win 7 X64.
Why cant someone create an open source app that all the user needs to do to convert .vob to XVID or DVIX by just dragging and dropping or selecting the files?!


Review by Newb787 on Jul 16, 2011 Version: latest OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Hy guys,
I recently installed Xvid 1.3.0
In staxrip i need to install again XviD, but 1.2.2..
how to do that i can use Xvid 1.3.0 ?
version 1.3.0 of xvid is better


Review by DeNeDe on Feb 26, 2011 Version: 1.7.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




best x264 encoding gui there is, imho.

Review by t-fish on Dec 4, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I also had similar problem with 1.1.7.0 beta version, its really have seriously problem with audio synch tho....convert many anime but all have similar problem with audio synch.

Review by k4noe on Dec 2, 2010 Version: 1.1.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Using the batch function to convert mpeg2 with ac3 audio to avi with mp3, I don't have a problem with sync.
Perhaps changing the default audio encoder (BeSweet in my case) to another selection may help?


Review by sambat on Nov 26, 2010 Version: 1.1.7.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have used this primarily to convert DVDs to H264. The interface is reasonably well laid out, although a couple of things take a little looking for. The encoder is strong (x264), and the output formats supported cover a good range. It is annoying to have to wait for DG-Index to process as each title is loaded (or reloaded, as a previous demuxing is ignored and repeated), but the output quality makes up for this.

Unfortunately one of the features that drew me to Staxrip - batch processing - was the thing that let me down. While it is easy enough to set up a batch to process multiple titles, every attempt I made at this had the same result. The first title would be flawless, and all subsequent titles would have audio sync issues. If I reprocessed the same titles either as the only title, or the first title in a batch, it would encode correctly, but if it was the first of a batch, all that followed would be out of sync. Other tools happily process the same files in a batch without suffering from this problem.

If you are only going to process a single file at a time (i.e. not use the batching) you can add two points to my Functionality/Value/Overall scores. But if you need a good batch encoder, I suggest you look elsewhere for the moment.


Review by guns1inger on Nov 26, 2010 Version: 1.1.7.0 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Changes in v1.1.6.9
* Improved source aspect ratio and frame rate detection
* New Getting Started dialog for beginners
* Various tweaks to improve handling of rare formats
* Updated DGMPGDec to version 1.5.8
* Replaced old folder browser with new vista filder browser
* Fixed bug video delay in MKV not detected
* Added various eac3to and BeSweet options
* Updated x264 to r1703

;)


Review by TGB on Aug 31, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Brilliant!!! Definitely the best, so much easier (logical imo, i'm not a techie) to use than MeGUI and many more formats/options than Handbrake. The Log view allows you to review the apps used and the command line parameters for the techie student in us. Im glad that most of the apps do not need to be installed as they sometimes conflict with same apps of different versions used by other software. Very fast too as it uses all availabe cpu cores with x264.

Suggestions: Remember the last container-video/audio encoding profile or allow for a default. Subtitles could be soft merged into the mkv container for later extraction. Allow for custom output file size.

Absolute genius work....


Review by ObiTWO on Aug 14, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.7beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I believe I have tried them ALL..... paid: Adobe, Sony, TMPEGnc - once upon a time free, and other free and paid converters / transcoders. This is the best tool for converting and tweaking most formats. Steep learning curve for newbies to video editing but worth the effort. For the experienced or learning to be, this is the one must have tool. Nearly complete control of all facets of video and audio transcoding. Best of all it's free and constantly updated. Lots of how too and gouge on use of StaxRip via Google, Youtube Wiki searches. I do not normally post but this tool deserves a shout out!

Review by T_Bear on Aug 1, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.6 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best GUI for video conversion ever made, plus the support is excellent too.

Review by TGB on Jul 31, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I really liked this program; you can use profiles to get good results and you don't need to be an expert. I've been a divx/avi person forever and finally switched to x264 and I've got to say I'm impressed. Documentation isn't really good, howto's you can find are out of date with the version and in program links to support (forums) seem to be out of date too. The only reason I didn't rate it 10 was audio sync problems. Most DVD rips worked fine but it seems anything from overseas didn't. Even rips of things from England like Tomorrow People were way out of sync, I just ripped the ORIGINAL godzilla (GOJIRA) dvd and it was out of sync. Even old Doctor Who DVD's are out of sync. That's the only reason I didn't score it a 10 all around.

Review by danneauxsvh on Jul 12, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




i have used some gui for x264 and nero aac and xvid but after some days and some weeks problems made me go serching for another one. but among these convertors staxrip and xvid4psp and have the full setting of encoders available for tweaking and testing quality and problems is fewer.

i am currently use staxrip for encoding to mkv with x264 and nero aac as encoders and send files to my external H.D.D. these filers can be played back with WD HD media player. I am happy with quality and speed and compatibility.

good luck


Review by alireza shiri on Dec 19, 2009 Version: 1.1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




StaxRip is quite possibly the finest "DVDRip" and H264 encoder UI the world has ever known. Definitely the most beautiful. A huge amount of possible customizations (and ways to save/export them). Truly stunning app! Everything the previous commenters stated and more. Highly recommended.

Review by OAKside on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.7 Beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




By far the best encoder I've ever used. I've tried Megui, leimingsx264, handbrake, and some others that are not worth mentioning and they can't offer what staxrip can offer. Most notably in quality and resizing areas as when resizing, staxrip actually gives a percentage on the possibility of errors on the resizing (video jags or "shakes" thats one of resizing errors) so that I can avoid such mistakes and gives accuracy when doing a reencode on how much quality will be retained or lost. I just love that one feature I don't see anywhere else the quality control. I can know when reducing the filesize that how much quality will be lost and since I always aim for that 100% this becomes really helpful and the end result reflects the quality too. However u only get the projected quality oly when u do a Compressibility check depending on the profile you use. Done right with x264 and u can actually have the best quality and at the same time playable on the nintendo Wii. I would love to see the Quality control feature anywhere else but since this encoder has it, it is my #1 choice. Very easy to use, only Con is that the filename of the video u are encoding cannot be too long or else the program will crash. other than that best encoder EVER.

Review by turok on Jul 17, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.0 (beta) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At last: a h264 encoder that has a good user interface *AND* produces beautiful, trouble free MKV files.

I've tried all of those other h264 encoders for my DVD backups: AutoMKV, Handbrake, MediaEncoder, etc. Files from those encoders are always problematic when played on my standalone Beyonwiz PVR (note that I don't use a home theatre PC, so PC playback performance of these files is irrelevant in my case).

I love the way Staxrip makes choosing a x264 profile easy, while still allowing you you to tweak if you want. Deinterlacing is also very easy and you get a good choice of plugin options. Overall the GUI is quite friendly but it's not for complete noobs.

My only gripe is the setting up, as another user mentioned on this page. The auto-download feature for the external apps can be quite annoying, particularly as Staxrip only seems to support a very precise version of the external apps it needs (Avisynth, DGindex, VirtualDubMod plugins, etc). That sucks if you already have more recent versions of those apps installed on your PC because another program (eg. Adobe Premiere Pro) needs THOSE versions of the apps to work properly.

Other than that, very happy with this. Congrats to the developer.


Review by spicediver10191 on Feb 10, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




best frontend for x264 encoding

Review by MuLTiTaSK on Jul 2, 2008 Version: beta.0702.1835 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Staxrip is realy a very good software. But also Avidemux, which is absolutely NOT a crap! And yes, perfect things, in special software, don't exist. Also perfect humans. :)

Review by nicksson on Jun 17, 2008 Version: 1.1.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is a really cleverly programmed tool that does everything you
could ever expect from an all-round encoder front-end.

The author is a genius and he's constantly adding more (and working !) features. Forget about the eternal buggy crap like Megui, AutoMKV or
Avidemux.

Staxrip is perfect !


Review by cobalt on Jun 7, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was looking for a conversion tool to convert my DVD collection to MP4 for bacup purposes. I have tried many, StaxRip, AutoMKV and MeGUI. All but StaxRip gave some or other error and produced faulty result.

The learning curve is little steep so I would say ease if use is 8/10, but all other are great. Got a somewhat newbie friendly interface and produces excellent result.

There is only one problem, the program sometimes crashes if it is tried to be maximized from system tray icon.

Great overall tool and updated too.


Review by src2206 on Mar 16, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Produced the best results or the whole pack.
Extremely clever programming, too bad the author doesn't spend some more
time on it.


Review by Bobbo on Feb 11, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The Best Video Conversion Tool. This is the only conversion tool I use. Templates make the UI extremely easy to use, and the Quality is outstanding every time. A perfect match for my Home Theatre and ZVW - Zen Vision W. One encode will play on both.

Review by Trac on Jul 6, 2007 Version: 1.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It was with a heavy heart that I found I had to switch to Staxrip to do a dvd conversion to h264 as the latest version does not support virtualdub anymore. But either way I went into it with an open mind hoping that perhaps this tool would be as useful and easy to use as virtualdub. Useful it is indeed, Staxrip is feature-filled and I was impressed. But its heavy-reliance on outside apps and the messy(i have 56K atm)auto-download feature of the external apps was a pain. Moreover staxrip only seems to support a very precise version of the external apps(Avisynth, DGindex, virtualdub codecs etc). Once everything is set up, the program is a breeze(well almost anyway)to use. A good tool for beginners and intermediate users like me, but the initial setting up brought the whole experience down for me.

Review by joe_star on Oct 29, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Like pretty much all conversion software, StaxRip is a waste of time. But hey, if video conversion were easy and we didn't have plethoras of competing container formats and codecs then we wouldn't need the thousands of competing and largely non-functional converters.

I didn't get any further than trying to load a file, any file, mpg, avi, whatever (mov apparently not supported) and every time I was faced with the undecipherable error message "Most sources are YV12 and thus a YV12 decoder is required. The decoder defined in the settings 'xvidvfw.dll' could not be located. Please install the defined decoder."

Wait, could it be that somebody forgot to put the commas around 'xvidvfw.dll', thereby completely changing the meaning of the error message? xvidvfw.dll is not the settings, but rather the decoder? And in addition to installing .NET (blech), I also have to find and install xvidvfw.dll? Just a moment . . .

Ok, now it wants me to install AutoCrop, whatever that is. I thought the StaxRip home page said installation is easy . . .

And now it puts up a message about "7 problematic applications detected". If StaxRip is easy to use, I'm going to have to crawl under a rock for the rest of my life. I can probably convert files more quickly with a hex editor. I only detect 1 problemati application here: StaxRip.


Review by bogus23 on Sep 21, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




Opening files from a CD/DVD drive is not supported.
That pretty much says all...


Review by masster on Aug 15, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Glad I found this!!! I don't use XviD too often. Learn how to use the more complicated conversion tools and forget everything by the time I need them again. Some of the easier to use tools give poor quality results, especially if you don't know how to tweak the settings.

This one is very easy to use. Made VERY nice looking XviD from DVD VOB files (among the best I've seen) and from MPEG 2 captured with my Hauppauge PVR-250 TV / capture card. First program I've tried that was able to make a decent looking XviD from my MPEG 2 capture at default settings (with deinterlace selected). Does everything I need it to do. The default settings will generally yield excellent results.

Seems to retain some settings, but not others from previous projects. Have to remember to select AVI as the container every time to avoid creating a different file type with the sound output separately, and change the XviD 1st and 2nd pass defaults from PAL to NTSC. No problem, now that I know... May require a restart after installing the necessary programs it has you install during the first use. Helps to know what output file size you're looking for, or the desired bitrate. The "compressibility check" doesnt seem to be that helpful. I just skip that step. The resize seems to require being set manually as well. Has a nice readout for what sizes fit the aspect ratio best though.

Still easier to use and more reliable than the other MPEG 2 to XviD converters I've tried. Great looking results with less tweaking knowledge required. Everything that requires setting is all visable on one screen, making it seem simpler than some other programs even though it's not FULLY automatic. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who has a little knowledge and wants excellent results without too much "fiddling".

Oh... and the price is good too...

Thanks StaxRip!!!


Review by royphil345 on Aug 13, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool which shows real potential. I have toyed with almost all the encoding tools out there and must say this has the best balance of ease of use (an assistant for beginners) and functionality for more advanced use (you can even edit the menus to add your own details). It is more stable in my experience than the latest range of similar tools like mediacoder, SUPER or MKVMagic etc. And offers as many features (code to avi, ogm, mkv, easily add filters, x264, XVID and more. I can't believe this is only an alpha. I gave it a nine simply because I need to allow for improvement in the next release. Fantastic tool as it is, and one to really watch out for.

Review by NeilH on Apr 20, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


173 reviews, Showing 1 to 173 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com