Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
StaxRip is a multiformat video encoding application. With StaxRip you can easily convert your DVD's and many more formats into MPEG-4 like XviD, x264/H264/AVC, x265/H265/HEVC, VP9. As a open source application StaxRip is completely free. Supported Formats, Video Output Formats: XviD, x264, x265, VP9. Audio Output Formats: MP3, AC3, AAC, Ogg Vorbis, Container Output Formats: AVI, MP4, MKV, WEBM. Hardware HEVC encoding. Requires .NET 4.6.1.

8.4/10
101 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

StaxRip screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


StaxRip screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot


StaxRip screenshot 3
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.0.6.0 (November 7, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download StaxRip 2.0.6.0 64-bit  187MB  Win64  Portable




Download old versions


Download StaxRip old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


### 2.0.6.0 Stable

no changes since 2.0.5.3 Beta

### 2.0.5.3 Beta

- update: mkvtoolnix 39
- update: mpv.net 5.4.3
- update: NVEnc 4.55

- fix: few UI issues
- fix: avs MCTemporalDenoise/GradFun2DBmod
- fix: VUI luminance issue

### 2.0.5.1 Beta

- update: DGHDRtoSDR 1.13
- update: NVEncC 4.54
- update: VapourSynth R48
- update: x265 3.2+9-971180b100f8 Patman

- new: various UI improvements
- new: the short version of x265 and nvenc switches like -c, -f etc.
were integrated into the search field and command line import
feature, the search feature now first looks for a exact match
- new: x265 switches --dup-threshold, --frame-dup
- new: nvenc switches --multiref-l0, --multiref-l1
- new: StaxRip can use MediaInfo.NET instead of the built-in MediaInfo GUI,
it requires MediaInfo.NET to be installed and started at least once

- fix: FFTW not always asked to be installed when needed

### 2.0.4.10 Beta

- update: mkvtoolnix 38.0.0
- update: x265 3.2+5-gfbe9fef31 Patman

- fix: issue using trim with multiple preview instances

### 2.0.4.9 Beta

- new: code formatting of avs/vs code was improved according to most common standard
- new: tab order changed in nvenc options

- fix: apps with custom path and unknown filename failed to launch
- fix: nvenc --aq-strength is now only visible if --aq is enabled
- fix: the right-click/context help in the encoder options failed in some cases
- fix: a critical issue with the playback feature in the preview was fixed

### 2.0.4.8 Beta

- fix: MPC was shown as missing even for operations that do not require MPC

### 2.0.4.7 Beta

- new: to use nvenc --vbr-quality there is now a checkbox 'Constant Quality Mode'
on the rate control tab (Patman86)
- new: --bref-mode added to nvenc
- new: after a source is loaded StaxRip automatically adds a filter
to convert chroma subsampling to 4:2:0, this can now be
disabled in the settings on a new Video tab
- new: MPC player integration was added to script editor and preview
via menu and F10 key, mpv.net key was changed to F9

- fix: --aq-strength enabled for nvenc h265
- fix: there was a issue with the resize slider and resize menu using VapourSynth
- fix: in the preview the reload feature was causing an error in case
the player was invoked before, also trim wasn't applied in the player
- fix: shortcut keys in the script editor did not work

### 2.0.4.6 Beta

- fix: main dialog was not set to quality mode using nvenc --vbr-quality

### 2.0.4.5 Beta

Thanks to Patman for providing the download links of the tools !!!

- update: JPSDR 3.1.3
- update: nvenc 4.50
- update: AVSMeter 2.9.6
- update: DGHDRtoSDR 1.12
- update: mvtools2 2.7.41
- update: FFT3dFilter 2.6.7
- update: TIVTC 1.0.14
- update: RgTools 0.98
- update: havsfunc r32
- update: DFTTest r6
- update: TCanny r12
- update: BM3D r8
- update: L-Smash Works 2019-09-17 HolyWu
- update: x265 3.2+3-fdd69a76688 Patman
- update: ffmpeg 2019-09-27 Patman

- new: x265 switch --selective-sao added
- new: L-Smash Works parameters prefer_hw 3 HW auto added to menu
- new: the way --vbr-quality works in nvenc was changed,
if it's value is -1 the bitrate in the main dialog is used,
if it's higher then -1 the bitrate is set to 0
- new: add support of video track title/name using MP4Box
- new: simple QP mode added to nvenc to use one instead of three QP values
- new: the menu renderer has now Win 10 style arrows for sub menu indication
- new: icons added to filter list and script editor, shortcuts added to script editor
- new: the preview can be closed by clicking in the top right corner
- new: in the script editor there are now two players available,
mpv.net and whatever is registered for mkv, mpc-be supports vpy playback
- new: the way filters are added, replaced and inserted in the script editor
was changed in order to improve the menu performance
- new: in the main menu a sub menu was added: Apps > Script Info,
it contains avsmeter, vspipe and avs2pipemod for showing
info about the currently active AviSynth or VapourSynth script,
vspipe and avs2pipemod show parameters like bit depth, colorspace and framecount.
In the script editor there is a new 'Script Info' menu item (Ctrl+I) doing the same.
- new: the mediainfo dialog shows the formats in the tab captions
- new: the mediainfo dialog has a new feature to move
to the next and previous file via menu and shortcut
- fix: docs weren't built automatically
- fix: some bugs were fixed in the nvenc command line import feature

### 2.0.4.4 Beta

- fix: nfo files with non xml content caused an exception
- fix: if subtitle and audio titles contained illegal
file system characters then these characters were replaced
with an underscore and thus being lost, now the characters
are escaped/unescaped and thus preserved
- fix: update x265 switch --refine-mv
- fix: in the nvenc dialog, Intel decoding options were present
even when no Intel GPU is present
- new: a link to the web site has been added to the menu
- new: option to check online for new stable version once per day
- new: avs plugin HDRTools
- new: avs, vs plugin DGHDRtoSDR
- new: ffms2 parameter colorspace has menu support in the avs code editor

### 2.0.4.3 Beta

- new AviSynth script CropResize added
- update: x265 3.1+15-a092e82 Wolfberry
- update: MP4Box 0.8.0-rev69-5fe3ec1 Wolfberry
- update: ffmpeg 4.2.1 Wolfberry
- update: L-Smash Works 2019-09-14 HolyWu
- the filter list in the main dialog shows shorter filter names,
for example 'BicubicResize' instead of 'Resize BicubicResize'
- SubtitleEdit is now included
- chapterEditor has been integrated into the main menu and
into the container/muxer dialog
- a Tag File option has been added to the container/muxer dialog
- container/muxer has a Tags tab added with a grid view for editing tags
- Kodi nfo files are imported into tags

### 2.0.4.2 Beta

- new macros added: %source_dar%, %target_dar%,
%source_par_x%, %source_par_y%, %target_par_x%, %target_par_y%
- fix: menu support of L-Smash Works parameters prefer_hw was incomplete

View full changelog




All features


Handles common input formats and allows to config how files are loaded and processed
x264, x265, VP9 and XVID encoding
AMD VCE H.264 encoding
Intel Quick Sync H.264/H.265/MPEG-2 encoding
NVIDIA H.264/H.265 encoding
Output Formats: AVI, MP4, MKV, WEBM
Output Codecs: XVID, H.264, H.265, VP9, MP3, AC3, AAC, VORBIS, DTS, FLAC, OPUS
Batch Processing including support for processing sub-directories recursively
Flexible AviSynth and VapourSynth editor
Video comparison tool to compare codec and filter options
Minimal user interaction required due to ´flexible configuration and automation features
copy modes for audio and video for plain remuxing
Cut/Trim/Edit feature
Macros can be used in scrips and command lines allowing to change settings at any time
Scripable with C# and PowerShell scripts
External AviSynth filters and command line tools can be integrated
Project, project template and profiles support
Job processing


Requirements

.NET 4.6.1
Intel Skylake CPU for HEVC/H.265 hardware encoding
NVIDIA Maxwell gen2 card for HEVC/H.265 hardware encoding
Java for ProjectX in case MPEG-2 files are opened
AviSynth+ x64, the installer is bundled with StaxRip x64
VapourSynth x64 as optional AviSynth+ alternative
Python x64 in case VapourSynth x64 is used




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to StaxRip


AutoGK



DVD Swarm



FairUse Wizard



HandBrake



MeGUI



SimpleDivX



XviD4PSP







Guides and How to's


How to encode a H.264 video using StaxRip

- Read

How to rip a DVD to XviD/H264 using StaxRip

- Read

How to rip Blu-ray to MKV with H264 video and DTS-HD audio using Staxrip

- Read

StaxRip XviD Install Guide

- Read

StaxRip video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert

AVI to AVC, AVI to AVI, AVI to DivX, AVI to H264, AVI to MP4, AVI to XviD, DivX to AVC, DivX to DivX, DivX to H264, DivX to MKV, DivX to MP4, DivX to XviD, DVB to AVC, DVB to AVI, DVB to DivX, DVB to H264, DVB to MKV, DVB to MP4, DVB to XviD, DVD to AVC, DVD to AVI, DVD to DivX, DVD to H264, DVD to MKV, DVD to MP4, DVD to XviD, DV to AVC, DV to AVI, DV to DivX, DV to H264, DV to MKV, DV to MP4, DV to XviD, HDTV to AVC, HDTV to AVI, HDTV to DivX, HDTV to H264, HDTV to MKV, HDTV to MP4, HDTV to XviD, MPG to AVC, MPG to AVI, MPG to DivX, MPG to H264, MPG to MKV, MPG to MP4, MPG to XviD, VOB to AVC, VOB to AVI, VOB to DivX, VOB to H264, VOB to MKV, VOB to MP4, VOB to XviD, TS to AVC, TS to AVI, TS to DivX, TS to H264, TS to MKV, TS to MP4, TS to XviD, XviD to AVC, XviD to AVI, XviD to DivX, XviD to H264, XviD to MKV, XviD to MP4, XviD to XviD


Download StaxRip Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




101 reviews, Showing 1 to 101 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Leonardo on Nov 11, 2019 Version: 2.0.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by g0uki on Nov 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.4 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AviSynth+ 3.4.0, Python 3.8.0, AVSMeter 2.9.7, x264 Encoder 158 r2988 must update.. and x265 why 2,17 mb.? Thank you very much. Good works

Review by Bora on Nov 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.5.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




QTGMC not working
Script error:
Cannot load the file /dfttest.dll
Platform returned code 1114


Review by frenksisco on Oct 31, 2019 Version: 2.0.4.0 Stable OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Just starting using this program because of the ability to use qaac for audio re-encoding. Great program!!! Has a little bit of a learning curve, but once I got things figured out, works fantastic!!! Thanks for this software!!!

Review by thatjpguy76 on Oct 30, 2019 Version: StaxRip 2.0.4 / 2.0.4.1 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Soren on Oct 29, 2019 Version: 2.0.4.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Eric on Oct 29, 2019 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you very much for best convert app.

Review by Bora on Sep 12, 2019 Version: 2.0.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




preset :x265 slow 10bit
AVS - LSFmode is not working.
Script Error:
This is not an YV12 clip!


Review by Kyle6518 on Aug 20, 2019 Version: 2.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




198mb portable bloatware! Remember when it was much smaller and still did the trick? Very difficult to use at first, impossible for newbies without a lot of cockups. Still it it one of the best out there to get quality in an encoding, though difficult to use.

Review by Tom on Aug 19, 2019 Version: 2.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Bug:
1. The job processing GUI icon - Displayed as a Visual Studio icon
2. minimize processing dialog to tray - There are no icons in the tray list and the GUI is hidden


Review by Kyle6518 on Jun 28, 2019 Version: 2.0.2.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




The x265 setup display is unusual
Writing library : CRF is the first to be displayed.


Review by Kyle6518 on May 28, 2019 Version: 2.0.2.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Crop in Vapour > OK both in Filters Windows or Select from Menu

Crop in AviSynth > from Menu then Manual/Auto Crop ...... OK
But preselect from Filters Windows then Input file "Error"

Windows10 x64

Faulting application name: StaxRip.exe, version: 2.0.0.0, time stamp: 0x5bd374bc
Faulting module name: ffms2.dll_unloaded, version: 2.30.0.0, time stamp: 0x5b9dbfcf
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x00000000001f8e71
Faulting process id: 0x830
Faulting application start time: 0x01d4dafed74b2304
Faulting application path: D:\Programz\StaxRip-x64-2.0.0.0\StaxRip.exe
Faulting module path: ffms2.dll
Report Id: d32757ae-f02d-4d80-9110-0ebde0be5efd
Faulting package full name:
Faulting package-relative application ID:


Review by Fan on Mar 15, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great job. Thank you very much. (VCEEnc 4.02, qaac 2.68 add please) This best convert app..

Review by Wolfman on Mar 9, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Bill on Feb 23, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by CCC on Feb 14, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This isn't developed by the guy who originally started the project, just the name carried on. Even then before the changeover it was becoming bloatware and had too many fixes/options to cater for newer platforms or selfish users who never donated wanting this and that option and moaning when it didn't work.

Review by Jack on Jan 22, 2019 Version: 2.00 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




AVI Target file not convert for target selected size

Review by Farid Sodhy on Jan 22, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0.x64 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I would really like to try this software for ripping Blu-rays to MP4 instead of Handbrake but can't get it to work. First of all it requires AviSynth+, but that messes with my older AviSynth 2.6.0 installation and the software I use such as AVStoDVD relies on AviSynth 2.6.0. If I do install AviSynth+ then Staxrip asks to install FFTW. But if I try to install it I get a "FFTW has returned an error" message!

Review by Lukas80153 on Jan 7, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




All status (versions) deficient. And AviSynth+ 2772, AVSMeter 2.8.7 not update.
Thank you very much. Good luck


Review by Bora on Jan 1, 2019 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wawerczyk on Nov 29, 2018 Version: SUPER :-) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you very much. Continue to work on. Good work.

Review by Bora on Nov 16, 2018 Version: 2.0 Beta 2 .net 4.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Szero on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




In Version 2.0.0.0 there seems to be an MemoryLeak, because it uses 10+ GB of RAM after the source was loaded, already had it using 25+ GB of RAM. On the old version there was only a RAM-Usage of ~30MB, but it constantly crashed leaving the Crop-Editor.

Hope the would be a new Version soon, that fixes those MemoryLeak's...


Review by darkman1983 on Nov 12, 2018 Version: 2.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Does anyone know (or tested) if the StaxRip x265 Nvidia Encoding will work with the new Nvidia Graphic Cards (Turing) ie 2080 and 2080Ti or it will only work with then Pascal 1050 or better GPUs?

Thanks.


Review by parhamsan on Oct 25, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Anyone having issues with Crop, I suggest Downloading the Building directly from GitHub, Instead of here. The Build being hosted here is outdated and was Alpha Build of 1.9 and Not Final 1.9 Build.

1-Crop function does not work, the program closes after the any crop.

The issue was fixed along time ago, It only existed in the Alpha Build.

2-The Demux (cutting method: mkvmerge) no longer displays file types. Example what kind of Audio or subtitle format is getting extracted.

This issue is not tied to StaxRip, but an issue with MediaInfo not properly reading the files correctly(Already been reported to MediaInfo, It doesn't seem they have any interest in fixing this). Head back to MediaInfo 18.05 Everything will return to normal.


Review by Revan654 on Oct 24, 2018 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hello,

Thanks for the great software, couple of issues to mention:
1-Crop function does not work, the program closes after the any crop.
2-The Demux (cutting method: mkvmerge) no longer displays file types. Example what kind of Audio or subtitle format is getting extracted.

Maybe the issues can be solved in the next version.

Appreciate all the effort.


Review by parhamsan on Oct 24, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Crop does not work ,get an error then close.

Review by Merlin6 on Oct 19, 2018 Version: 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by hamed on Oct 15, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.9.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by John on Oct 8, 2018 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best ever convert app.

Review by TechnoMan on Oct 2, 2018 Version: 1.9.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Can anyone tell me any alternative of Staxrip for Windows 7 32 Bit.

Review by sungeorge on Sep 29, 2018 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Some functions are shareware, too complex to suss out within a reasonable time and what a big file it is uncompressed. However must be a wet dream for techies! I reverted back to earlier versions when Stax was in charge. This I imagine will be close to a gigabyte like Ahead Nero in the future?

Review by B.R on Sep 9, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 4/10




Great software, great quality. Auto update function like megui can be appreciated.

Review by darkio on Sep 8, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great software once and to many still is, but what massive bloatware it has become and overly complicated.

Review by Tom on Sep 8, 2018 Version: 1.8.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wawerczyk on May 28, 2018 Version: 1.7.0.0 - update please :-) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wawerczyk on May 16, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Once you get the hang of it this is one of the easier software to use. It's pretty straight forward really. Video and audio with a few filters. Nothing a beginner can't handle.

Review by insipod on Apr 12, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by moliih on Apr 6, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 stable release OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Some complicated but after some exercise, perfect. Maybe it should give us a new update. Anyway thanks to the developer.

Review by Royalstar on Mar 27, 2018 Version: StaxRip 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by mohd on Jan 1, 2018 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I will be honest! I don't like the direction this program is going in and the developer is yielding to the demands of those selfish users who want such and such feature which is destroying this once great program's integrity. Those who never donate and just want freebies. As it has developed it is rapidly becoming bloatware, overcomplicated and too buggy. I'm sticking with older xp compatible versions which are more stable.

Review by xtro on Oct 26, 2017 Version: 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Marcos on Oct 8, 2017 Version: 1.7.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Colt on Oct 3, 2017 Version: 1.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used it since 1.3 beta and i have to write, this is one of the best encoding software available at the moment for those who want the controll in the software. I'd like to have VFR for x264 and then it would become perfect for me.

Review by StarlessNIte on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very happy with the new version and easy install, QTGMC worked great in 64bit, would like to see more filtering options included.

Review by film on Aug 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




With version 1.6.0.0, tested on my 3 Win10 different computers, i open file, demux starts and complete, window dissapear, main window never show up even after 30 mins. I check the log and all demux were successfull. A staxrip.exe process still running in the background and do nothing.

I had to get back to 1.5.0.0 to have staxrip working successfully after the demuxing process, just after opened a single file.


Review by Martin on Aug 29, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by snowdrop on Aug 3, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by bteamfox on Jul 30, 2017 Version: 1.6.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




In version 1.60 VCEEnC not work, i'm back to the 1.50 and works fine. Please fix it.

Review by Micky on Jul 28, 2017 Version: 1.60 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by napgiver on Jul 8, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by superhe on Jun 18, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




its a very good fast converter its just the most hardest to use lol. dont know what maybe half or more of the options and stuff do. i cant figure out how to increase the quality and also slow gpu conversion down a lil bit to decrease file size. needs a proper guide.

Review by benjamin on Jun 17, 2017 Version: 1.5.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Since version 1.3.4. I am unable to use StaxRip, it doesn't wont to start on my Win7 64 pro anymore.

Review by simm74 on Jun 16, 2016 Version: 1.3.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Hi,
This is the best GUI for encoding video content!
Please make Avisynth portable as in MeGUI.


Review by VitalyF on Jun 15, 2016 Version: 1.3.7.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the best Video encoding software fore me. Thank you

Review by DopeZero on Jun 7, 2016 Version: 1.3.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi, Thank YOU)! I'd like your Soft, StaxRip is best app encoder for me.

PLEASE add function (filter): StaxRip 'waifu2x' for video resize ???


Review by givens on Apr 1, 2016 Version: 1.3.2.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




still no 7.1 option for qaac
target bitrate still changes after set


Review by nixiejames on Mar 2, 2016 Version: 1.3.2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wow! This appears to be one really nice piece of software. Unfortunately, I am only slightly above a beginner in working with video files but I was able to easily navigate through the interface to find the conversion setting I wanted to try and it worked flawlessly. In addition, I see that it also has many more options incorporated into it that I am eager to learn about as well. Now, on the surface, this seems to be the best freeware I've come across thus far (for MY purposes); however, I'll need some time to fully evaluate the full potential of this program (for MY purposes). Thanks to the author!

Review by gus gusimio on Feb 1, 2016 Version: 1.3.1.7 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using this for years now. Found it to be one of the best available in terms of functionality, usability and complexity. Takes a bit of reading up to get used to all settings available, but definitely worth it. Encodes can take a long time (depending on source material), but this is probably the same with all other encoders too.

Review by The.King on Aug 26, 2015 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please ignore my ratings. The "10" I've given is for service. I haven't figured out how to use the program yet. It appears a bit more complicated than Handbrake.

Anyway, just for the heck of it, I downloaded the new beta.

I was clicking around, and when I got to Options, it crashed. A window opened and asked if I wanted to send an error report, which I did.

About 30 minutes later, I got a patched version from one of their programmers, and it fixed the problem.

By the way, you need to have the .NET framework installed for the program to work.

Now the next trick is to learn how to use it.


Review by jgg on Jan 13, 2015 Version: 1.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. And for free. what more do we need?

Review by l0pher on Apr 5, 2014 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Latest version suffers with some bug about complaining Avisynth not installed on 64bit OS. I recommend to use previous version. Otherwise excellent solution giving great versatility and almost full control of video conversion process.

Review by Anakunda on Jan 19, 2014 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please add a high10 profile!!! (10 bits depth)

Review by duplakappa on Jul 6, 2013 Version: 1.1.9.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Very disappointing: They didn't fix the bug in xvid encoding that you can't configure the compressibility check. Latest working version was 1.1.6



Review by joearmstrong on Jul 1, 2013 Version: 1.1.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




To StaxRip Author, I tried version 1.1.8.0 with a small MKV test clip and NO Audio.
Thanks! :)


Review by gonwk on May 25, 2013 Version: 1.1.8.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just upgraded from v1.1.6 to v1.1.8 and have now a big problem. I use staxrip for converting my videos to xvid. In staxrip v1.1.6 I could easily configure the compression check. This option is gone in v1.1.8! Compression check always uses the same settings, no adjustments are possible. Am I doing something wrong or does this option not exist in actual version? I switched back to v1.1.6 an everything is working fine. Please answer!



Review by joearmstrong on May 17, 2013 Version: 1.1.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I just downloaded and tried this software on a whim (and a recommendation from another website) and boy, am I blown away! I had a large blu ray movie file (18.5 gb) that I had ripped from a disc and decided to see if this program was any good. I set the H264 profile to "High Quality" and adjusted the audio settings to keep the DTS Core and 24 bit. The container was already MKV so I just kept that. From there I just let it rip not really expecting my first time around to be much of a success. When it was done the resulting file was only 3.53 gb in size so I am thinking the quality was going to be crap. Wrong! The video and audio are phenomenal! So much so that I honestly cannot tell small mkv file from the original file on the blu ray disc on a 52" 1080p screen. I have used many different encoding software and this is hands down the best at creating a high quality h.264 video file.

Review by RaiderSteveO on May 4, 2013 Version: 1.1.8.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




1.1.3 is still the most stable version and handles everything well.

Review by JVial on Jan 21, 2013 Version: 1.1.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best there is for free.

Review by insipod on Sep 30, 2012 Version: 1.1.7.2 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




For anyone getting the system.IO.IOException: the process cannot access the file error try reinstalling ffdshow. I had this error for months and simply stopped using it though it is my favorite. Not sure if it would help but it's worth a try.

Review by danneauxsvh on Jan 6, 2012 Version: 1.1.7.2.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Staxrip has some great options; you can load the presets, then tweak any and all of the
x264 settings if you wish. For some reason, by default, this program tries to use
dgdecnv, which requires a license. People don't know what is going on
and go no further with Staxrip.

It can be easily fixed from the preferences, but it seems a big mistake to attempt to use
this shareware (dgdecnv) out of the box.


Review by davexnet on Oct 8, 2011 Version: 1171 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Damn why is this using shareware....

Review by k4noe on Aug 14, 2011 Version: 1.1.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




This tool is dead meat.

Review by Bobbo on Jul 18, 2011 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




To the guy who can't use this piece of wonder... The program is superb!
Try installing FFDShow, next time StaxRip will ask you to register that component... Click yes and that's it!


Review by elmuz on Jul 18, 2011 Version: 1.1.7.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Junk. DOesnt work, keeps on asking me to find decoders. Using Win 7 X64.
Why cant someone create an open source app that all the user needs to do to convert .vob to XVID or DVIX by just dragging and dropping or selecting the files?!


Review by Newb787 on Jul 16, 2011 Version: latest OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Hy guys,
I recently installed Xvid 1.3.0
In staxrip i need to install again XviD, but 1.2.2..
how to do that i can use Xvid 1.3.0 ?
version 1.3.0 of xvid is better


Review by DeNeDe on Feb 26, 2011 Version: 1.7.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




best x264 encoding gui there is, imho.

Review by t-fish on Dec 4, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I also had similar problem with 1.1.7.0 beta version, its really have seriously problem with audio synch tho....convert many anime but all have similar problem with audio synch.

Review by k4noe on Dec 2, 2010 Version: 1.1.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Using the batch function to convert mpeg2 with ac3 audio to avi with mp3, I don't have a problem with sync.
Perhaps changing the default audio encoder (BeSweet in my case) to another selection may help?


Review by sambat on Nov 26, 2010 Version: 1.1.7.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have used this primarily to convert DVDs to H264. The interface is reasonably well laid out, although a couple of things take a little looking for. The encoder is strong (x264), and the output formats supported cover a good range. It is annoying to have to wait for DG-Index to process as each title is loaded (or reloaded, as a previous demuxing is ignored and repeated), but the output quality makes up for this.

Unfortunately one of the features that drew me to Staxrip - batch processing - was the thing that let me down. While it is easy enough to set up a batch to process multiple titles, every attempt I made at this had the same result. The first title would be flawless, and all subsequent titles would have audio sync issues. If I reprocessed the same titles either as the only title, or the first title in a batch, it would encode correctly, but if it was the first of a batch, all that followed would be out of sync. Other tools happily process the same files in a batch without suffering from this problem.

If you are only going to process a single file at a time (i.e. not use the batching) you can add two points to my Functionality/Value/Overall scores. But if you need a good batch encoder, I suggest you look elsewhere for the moment.


Review by guns1inger on Nov 26, 2010 Version: 1.1.7.0 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Changes in v1.1.6.9
* Improved source aspect ratio and frame rate detection
* New Getting Started dialog for beginners
* Various tweaks to improve handling of rare formats
* Updated DGMPGDec to version 1.5.8
* Replaced old folder browser with new vista filder browser
* Fixed bug video delay in MKV not detected
* Added various eac3to and BeSweet options
* Updated x264 to r1703

;)


Review by TGB on Aug 31, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Brilliant!!! Definitely the best, so much easier (logical imo, i'm not a techie) to use than MeGUI and many more formats/options than Handbrake. The Log view allows you to review the apps used and the command line parameters for the techie student in us. Im glad that most of the apps do not need to be installed as they sometimes conflict with same apps of different versions used by other software. Very fast too as it uses all availabe cpu cores with x264.

Suggestions: Remember the last container-video/audio encoding profile or allow for a default. Subtitles could be soft merged into the mkv container for later extraction. Allow for custom output file size.

Absolute genius work....


Review by ObiTWO on Aug 14, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.7beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I believe I have tried them ALL..... paid: Adobe, Sony, TMPEGnc - once upon a time free, and other free and paid converters / transcoders. This is the best tool for converting and tweaking most formats. Steep learning curve for newbies to video editing but worth the effort. For the experienced or learning to be, this is the one must have tool. Nearly complete control of all facets of video and audio transcoding. Best of all it's free and constantly updated. Lots of how too and gouge on use of StaxRip via Google, Youtube Wiki searches. I do not normally post but this tool deserves a shout out!

Review by T_Bear on Aug 1, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.6 beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The best GUI for video conversion ever made, plus the support is excellent too.

Review by TGB on Jul 31, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I really liked this program; you can use profiles to get good results and you don't need to be an expert. I've been a divx/avi person forever and finally switched to x264 and I've got to say I'm impressed. Documentation isn't really good, howto's you can find are out of date with the version and in program links to support (forums) seem to be out of date too. The only reason I didn't rate it 10 was audio sync problems. Most DVD rips worked fine but it seems anything from overseas didn't. Even rips of things from England like Tomorrow People were way out of sync, I just ripped the ORIGINAL godzilla (GOJIRA) dvd and it was out of sync. Even old Doctor Who DVD's are out of sync. That's the only reason I didn't score it a 10 all around.

Review by danneauxsvh on Jul 12, 2010 Version: 1.1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




i have used some gui for x264 and nero aac and xvid but after some days and some weeks problems made me go serching for another one. but among these convertors staxrip and xvid4psp and have the full setting of encoders available for tweaking and testing quality and problems is fewer.

i am currently use staxrip for encoding to mkv with x264 and nero aac as encoders and send files to my external H.D.D. these filers can be played back with WD HD media player. I am happy with quality and speed and compatibility.

good luck


Review by alireza shiri on Dec 19, 2009 Version: 1.1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




StaxRip is quite possibly the finest "DVDRip" and H264 encoder UI the world has ever known. Definitely the most beautiful. A huge amount of possible customizations (and ways to save/export them). Truly stunning app! Everything the previous commenters stated and more. Highly recommended.

Review by OAKside on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.7 Beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




By far the best encoder I've ever used. I've tried Megui, leimingsx264, handbrake, and some others that are not worth mentioning and they can't offer what staxrip can offer. Most notably in quality and resizing areas as when resizing, staxrip actually gives a percentage on the possibility of errors on the resizing (video jags or "shakes" thats one of resizing errors) so that I can avoid such mistakes and gives accuracy when doing a reencode on how much quality will be retained or lost. I just love that one feature I don't see anywhere else the quality control. I can know when reducing the filesize that how much quality will be lost and since I always aim for that 100% this becomes really helpful and the end result reflects the quality too. However u only get the projected quality oly when u do a Compressibility check depending on the profile you use. Done right with x264 and u can actually have the best quality and at the same time playable on the nintendo Wii. I would love to see the Quality control feature anywhere else but since this encoder has it, it is my #1 choice. Very easy to use, only Con is that the filename of the video u are encoding cannot be too long or else the program will crash. other than that best encoder EVER.

Review by turok on Jul 17, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.0 (beta) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At last: a h264 encoder that has a good user interface *AND* produces beautiful, trouble free MKV files.

I've tried all of those other h264 encoders for my DVD backups: AutoMKV, Handbrake, MediaEncoder, etc. Files from those encoders are always problematic when played on my standalone Beyonwiz PVR (note that I don't use a home theatre PC, so PC playback performance of these files is irrelevant in my case).

I love the way Staxrip makes choosing a x264 profile easy, while still allowing you you to tweak if you want. Deinterlacing is also very easy and you get a good choice of plugin options. Overall the GUI is quite friendly but it's not for complete noobs.

My only gripe is the setting up, as another user mentioned on this page. The auto-download feature for the external apps can be quite annoying, particularly as Staxrip only seems to support a very precise version of the external apps it needs (Avisynth, DGindex, VirtualDubMod plugins, etc). That sucks if you already have more recent versions of those apps installed on your PC because another program (eg. Adobe Premiere Pro) needs THOSE versions of the apps to work properly.

Other than that, very happy with this. Congrats to the developer.



Review by spicediver10191 on Feb 10, 2009 Version: 1.1.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




best frontend for x264 encoding

Review by MuLTiTaSK on Jul 2, 2008 Version: beta.0702.1835 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Staxrip is realy a very good software. But also Avidemux, which is absolutely NOT a crap! And yes, perfect things, in special software, don't exist. Also perfect humans. :)

Review by nicksson on Jun 17, 2008 Version: 1.1.0.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is a really cleverly programmed tool that does everything you
could ever expect from an all-round encoder front-end.

The author is a genius and he's constantly adding more (and working !) features. Forget about the eternal buggy crap like Megui, AutoMKV or
Avidemux.

Staxrip is perfect !


Review by cobalt on Jun 7, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was looking for a conversion tool to convert my DVD collection to MP4 for bacup purposes. I have tried many, StaxRip, AutoMKV and MeGUI. All but StaxRip gave some or other error and produced faulty result.

The learning curve is little steep so I would say ease if use is 8/10, but all other are great. Got a somewhat newbie friendly interface and produces excellent result.

There is only one problem, the program sometimes crashes if it is tried to be maximized from system tray icon.

Great overall tool and updated too.


Review by src2206 on Mar 16, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Produced the best results or the whole pack.
Extremely clever programming, too bad the author doesn't spend some more
time on it.


Review by Bobbo on Feb 11, 2008 Version: 1.0.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The Best Video Conversion Tool. This is the only conversion tool I use. Templates make the UI extremely easy to use, and the Quality is outstanding every time. A perfect match for my Home Theatre and ZVW - Zen Vision W. One encode will play on both.

Review by Trac on Jul 6, 2007 Version: 1.0.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It was with a heavy heart that I found I had to switch to Staxrip to do a dvd conversion to h264 as the latest version does not support virtualdub anymore. But either way I went into it with an open mind hoping that perhaps this tool would be as useful and easy to use as virtualdub. Useful it is indeed, Staxrip is feature-filled and I was impressed. But its heavy-reliance on outside apps and the messy(i have 56K atm)auto-download feature of the external apps was a pain. Moreover staxrip only seems to support a very precise version of the external apps(Avisynth, DGindex, virtualdub codecs etc). Once everything is set up, the program is a breeze(well almost anyway)to use. A good tool for beginners and intermediate users like me, but the initial setting up brought the whole experience down for me.

Review by joe_star on Oct 29, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Like pretty much all conversion software, StaxRip is a waste of time. But hey, if video conversion were easy and we didn't have plethoras of competing container formats and codecs then we wouldn't need the thousands of competing and largely non-functional converters.

I didn't get any further than trying to load a file, any file, mpg, avi, whatever (mov apparently not supported) and every time I was faced with the undecipherable error message "Most sources are YV12 and thus a YV12 decoder is required. The decoder defined in the settings 'xvidvfw.dll' could not be located. Please install the defined decoder."

Wait, could it be that somebody forgot to put the commas around 'xvidvfw.dll', thereby completely changing the meaning of the error message? xvidvfw.dll is not the settings, but rather the decoder? And in addition to installing .NET (blech), I also have to find and install xvidvfw.dll? Just a moment . . .

Ok, now it wants me to install AutoCrop, whatever that is. I thought the StaxRip home page said installation is easy . . .

And now it puts up a message about "7 problematic applications detected". If StaxRip is easy to use, I'm going to have to crawl under a rock for the rest of my life. I can probably convert files more quickly with a hex editor. I only detect 1 problemati application here: StaxRip.


Review by bogus23 on Sep 21, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




Opening files from a CD/DVD drive is not supported.
That pretty much says all...


Review by masster on Aug 15, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




Glad I found this!!! I don't use XviD too often. Learn how to use the more complicated conversion tools and forget everything by the time I need them again. Some of the easier to use tools give poor quality results, especially if you don't know how to tweak the settings.

This one is very easy to use. Made VERY nice looking XviD from DVD VOB files (among the best I've seen) and from MPEG 2 captured with my Hauppauge PVR-250 TV / capture card. First program I've tried that was able to make a decent looking XviD from my MPEG 2 capture at default settings (with deinterlace selected). Does everything I need it to do. The default settings will generally yield excellent results.

Seems to retain some settings, but not others from previous projects. Have to remember to select AVI as the container every time to avoid creating a different file type with the sound output separately, and change the XviD 1st and 2nd pass defaults from PAL to NTSC. No problem, now that I know... May require a restart after installing the necessary programs it has you install during the first use. Helps to know what output file size you're looking for, or the desired bitrate. The "compressibility check" doesnt seem to be that helpful. I just skip that step. The resize seems to require being set manually as well. Has a nice readout for what sizes fit the aspect ratio best though.

Still easier to use and more reliable than the other MPEG 2 to XviD converters I've tried. Great looking results with less tweaking knowledge required. Everything that requires setting is all visable on one screen, making it seem simpler than some other programs even though it's not FULLY automatic. I would highly recommend this program to anyone who has a little knowledge and wants excellent results without too much "fiddling".

Oh... and the price is good too...

Thanks StaxRip!!!



Review by royphil345 on Aug 13, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great tool which shows real potential. I have toyed with almost all the encoding tools out there and must say this has the best balance of ease of use (an assistant for beginners) and functionality for more advanced use (you can even edit the menus to add your own details). It is more stable in my experience than the latest range of similar tools like mediacoder, SUPER or MKVMagic etc. And offers as many features (code to avi, ogm, mkv, easily add filters, x264, XVID and more. I can't believe this is only an alpha. I gave it a nine simply because I need to allow for improvement in the next release. Fantastic tool as it is, and one to really watch out for.

Review by NeilH on Apr 20, 2006 Version: 0.9.9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


101 reviews, Showing 1 to 101 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com