Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for dBpowerAMP

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Rating by Jesper on Aug 6, 2022 Version: 17.7 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Using this has proved to me conclusivelythat mp3 is the best of all for music and king. Running high bitrate enodings through Magic Audio Cleaning Lab proved 100% that aac is noisier codec and produces more artifacts than acoustically tweaked mp3. Converting CD's to aac always produced hiss, clicking etc using any CD ripper or audio converting tool as a control check. With dBpoweramp mp3 comes out perfectly. Best to use 192kbps and above! Love that format still!

Review by 7of9 on Mar 16, 2020 Version: 16.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I use dbPowerAmp as the converter since it is the best
I convert to mp3 (Lame Averate Bit Rate 40)
You might be able to further deduce the bit rate by going to aa format
I canít see why you would want to concatenate the chapters. It serves no purpose but adds another process to your audio and extra work for you. Why put it inside a m4a or mp4 container? That again serves no purpose and limits what you can play it on.

You canít continue to process lossy files without effecting their quality. If you are lucky, you only suffer a loss of fidelity, if not you can produce artifacts. Most will render your audio unusable since they are very loud and can hurt your ears and or blow out your speakers. For that reason I convert to mp3 since most devices play them.

For instance, I cut a ape file into tracks. They sounded perfect. Then I converted them to mp3s. The audios were riddled with horrible artifacts. Then I tried converting the ape file to an mp3 file then cut that into tracks and the audio was fine. The thing is, had I kept the ape tracks and deleted the original one I would never have been able to reduce the bit rate. You canít always hear if you have ruined an audio file until you try to peocess it again. I suggect doing as little as possible to any audio file.


Review by RosalieFPigg on Dec 5, 2015 Version: 15.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




It's actually really great!

The CD ripper is accurate, it has a great and fast encoder, and has a great TAG editor.

Worth your dollars.


Review by iohanntachy on Oct 29, 2015 Version: R15.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Although R15 is 64bits native, the codecs are not (all of them) working for both 32/64bits. From all the supplementary codecs (that are not included in the installation pack) I'm most impressed by the mp3 Helix codec (about 4x faster than Lame), and unfortunately this one is not supported by x64 systems... Maybe Spoon (Da Man) will work around this issue; till than I suggest you stick to R14.4.

Review by muLineZu on Feb 24, 2014 Version: R15 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I purchased this several months ago and am very happy with it. Some of tools like the converter or cd burner can be found elsewhere but where this really shines is the CD ripper. There is nothing as secure other than Exact Audio Copy and still this is much faster. If you have a modern dvd/cd drive like most people the tool might not seem to be as useful. I can rip most CDs with freac or foobar2000 just fine but I find this is faster and I just feel better knowing that it's an exact copy even if I'm getting exact copies with other tools. For me there are no problems with the audio no matter what I encode it in unless there is a problem with the disc itself. The cd data lookup is also better than any program out there.

One thing I noticed is on their website they act like they are a small company with several people. I think this is pretty common way of trying to sell your product online. I don't have any proof really other than a hunch but I suspect it's probably a one man operation. That's fine it's a great product and I certainly got and getting my moneys worth with it.


Review by AaronDude on Dec 29, 2011 Version: 14.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Commercial crap - who cares anyway? There are tons of good and FREE converters which do the same job. Don't bother paying money for this one!

Review by pintcat on Dec 29, 2011 Version: 14.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




No longer has "Winall" support (moving towards Win7/8/x only).

Spoon (author) is apparently now in lockstep with the
Gate$ brigade, for no good reason!


Review by Hate Registrations on Dec 29, 2011 Version: 14.2 OS: Other Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Used Cdex before, but wanted to convert to WMA. Started with dBpowerAMP v10, the free version still available at http://www.dbpoweramp.com/bin/dMC-r10.exe . Paid the $14 for v11 and have not been disappointed. WMA 2-pass VBR @192 is the most accurate sub-256 format (have not tried OGG, but it is supported). dBpowerAMP is now my preferred music player as it uses 1/3 CPU resources as Windows Media Player - ideal for my laptop!

Review by almost human on Sep 26, 2005 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At first it all works just fine...
The bad news come when you HAVE to pay and register or it just won't encode MP3 files using LAME codec (wich is free!!)...
I used it for years and now I'm looking for a new encoder...


Review by dark_knight_br on Sep 25, 2005 Version: 11 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




I have been using dBpowerAMP for a couple of years and this is the best and easiest audio format conversion tool in my opinion.

Too bad that it is advertised as Trialware $20 because you don't have to pay for the additional features if all you need is an audio format converter (WAV MP3, MP3 OGG, and many many more formats supported with the use of free codecs). Their audio player is also free but I prefer Winamp.
Maybe more people would try it if it was advertised as Free, which it is unless you want to buy extra features to speed up some format conversions and other stuff.

It has worked perfectly for me and I cannot recommend it enough.


Review by Gildas on Dec 10, 2004 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have always loved & used this tool for converting between formats.
The new version finally uses MAD for decoding, which is great. But
now having to play to use the (opensource) LAME mp3 encoder is a step in the wrong direction. LAME is now complied completely from scratch, so it uses no licensed code, as far as I have read about it. Fortunately ,most people use LAME with ripping apps, anyways.


Review by CBC on Dec 10, 2004 Version: v11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 9/10




Latest version 11 now has licensed MP3 conversion.
Still possible to get V10 which is unlimited.


Review by rondo on Dec 10, 2004 Version: 10.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com