Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Movie Maker is the easy, fast way to turn photos and videos into great-looking movies and slideshows you can share—on the Web or on DVD. AutoMovie automatically turns your videos, photos, and music into a great movie! You provide the raw materials, and MovieMaker fits it all together, including titles and transitions. Share your videos on DVD and on YouTube in just a few clicks! You can even transfer your movie to your mobile to take it on the go. It’s easy to transfer your photos and videos from your camera and onto your PC! MovieMaker offers HD support and works with video formats from most cameras and camcorders. Windows Essentials 2012 suite reached end of support on January 10, 2017.

Freeware
OS: Win
File size: 131MB
Other versions
Old versions
6.9/10
27 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Windows Movie Maker screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Windows Movie Maker screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2012 (16.4.3528.0331) (March 31, 2014)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Windows Movie Maker 2012 (16.4.3528.0331)  131MB  Win




Download old versions


Download Windows Movie Maker old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


N/A




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Windows Movie Maker


Adobe Premiere Elements



Magix Movie Edit Pro



Pinnacle Studio



Vegas Movie Studio



VideoPad Video Editor



VideoStudio Pro



VSDC Free Video Editor







Guides and How to's


Creating Custom Titles and Credits for Windows Movie Maker

- Read

Windows Movie Maker Tutorials and Articles

- Read

Windows Movie Maker video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

Windows Movie Maker, WMM, Windows Live Movie Maker, Movie Maker, MovieMaker, WLMM




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by wewewe on Oct 18, 2018 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




The Windows Live Team had released a new beta version of the new windows live movie maker on AUGUST 17 2010!
Free download from here: http://explore.live.com/windows-live-essentials-beta

New features were added:
1. Speed up video
2. Slow motion video effect
3. Pan and Zoom videos
4. New Text effects
5. New Automovie Themes: Cinematic, Contemporary, Pan and Zoom, Fade, Black&White and Sepia.
6. Take a snapshot
7. Publish to Flickr, Skydrive, Facebook, Youtube
8. Transcode HD video file to easily edit them

For more information, watch vide tutorials about WLMM on http://youtube.com/LiveMovieMaker


Review by LiveMovieMaker on Aug 27, 2010 Version: 3002.0810 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The true key to making professional quality videos is in the mind of the artist, not how many bells and whistles is in their software. I have and use about a dozen different video programs, but I frequently find that Moviemaker does just what I need very nicely.

Review by LilPeck on Aug 31, 2008 Version: 6 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the Vista version which like Movie Maker 2 finally allows you to cleanly edit DVR-MS files created by XP-MCE and Vista MC! Can't beat that and its included with Vista. A few more options and features and companies like Pinnacle might start thinking about filing an anti-trust suit against MS, lol

Publishing (Encoding) is a bit slow, takes 19 mins to convert a DVR-MS file edited (MPEG-2 video, MPEG-1 audio) that is roughly 22 min recorded program. Or is that slow? Personally I don't know, I did very little encoding on my old machine (Dell Pent 4 2.3Ghz, Non-HT) which was dirt slow depending on file size of course.

My newest rig (AMD 5000+ BE 3.0Ghz Dual Core) is shhhh fast to be fair to the older machine, so encoding should be faster regardless.


Review by dj4monie on Apr 21, 2008 Version: 6.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It all looks like a reasonable product when you start but it is very slow to reload projects. Also saving as anything but DV-AVI is impossible - WMV just will not work. Resulting AVI has messed up photo fades and stuttering sound.

Review by peterlc on May 16, 2007 Version: 2.1.4206 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10





Give credit to Microsoft for creating a very easy to use tool for creating home movies. I experimted with a number of products:
(a) Cyberlink PowerDirector
(b) Ulead VideoStudio
(c) EditStudio

I trialed each by loading a file captured from my DV camera, and then attempted create a chapter by assembling clips, adding titles and credits, and saving as DV-AVI.

I don't want special affects, complex transitions, merging of multiple audio sources, etc etc. Simple transitions and simple creation of title and credits were all I really wanted.

When all is said and done, I found MovieMaker 2 to be the fastest and easiest to use. The results look fine. I give credit to EditStudio for offering a bit of control over movie creation. If I was really interested in full control, I would consider it. Surprisingly, I found the other "easy to use" products to be un-intuitive.



Review by sydneydawg on Feb 3, 2006 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I now consider myself a fairly advanced home user and have moved onto tools like Vegas for video editing. But for the basic home user, Windows Movie Maker is a fine app and does most of the basic tasks very well in one of the easiest to use workflow structures (story board). One thing that it does exceptionally well is it handling of titles and credits. It has many built-in options that look quite professional. I started my road of digital video editing with WMM and recommend it for everyone starting out to see what they think, it is free and bundled with all win XP systems. No problems with stability or it's DV importing functions.

Review by gust0208 on Jun 25, 2005 Version: SP1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




You can create quite good home videos with this piece of free software. It has good number of special effects and transitions. For exporting videos, there are many quality options to choose from. It's very stable for me so I'm not quite sure how it chrashed on others. One downside is, there is only one channel for extra sound/music but there is a workaround: Export the video with sound and import it back. Each time you do that you will have another sound channel available :)

Review by denoxis on Jun 24, 2005 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




I find just the opposite, I really liked the software. It's intuitive and full of features.
For the guys experience problems, I suggest you to install XP SP2.


Review by tingyong on Dec 19, 2004 Version: 5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Windows Movie Maker 2 makes home movies amazingly fun. With Movie Maker 2, you can create, edit, and share your home movies right on your computer.


I think that's a lie. I downloaded it and so far it has wasted my time. Everytime I do one little thing such as adding a clip to the time line, it crashes. Even clicking on a clip in my library it crashes.

I'm sorry Microsoft has really disappointed me by giving me a faulty and buggy program that crashes every 5 seconds and everytime you do one simple little thing.

They need to first test and debug their programs before releasing them as downloads.


Review by Gokusan002 on Nov 27, 2004 Version: 5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




1's for M$. Why would they bother updating crappy software? There is already much better software out there for the purposes that WMM claims to do well. I like Adobe Premiere Pro 7.

Review by State of Mind on Sep 26, 2004 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




One of the worst programs i saw i can not get it to work, every time i download and install version2 system crashes and it does not work at all

Review by forare on Jun 29, 2004 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This program is very buggy. For example, when importing DV video, sometimes it will only import part of the video even though all of it was captured. It is however, the best free solution for basic video editing.

Review by evilwarmaster on Jun 28, 2004 Version: 2.0.3312.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




My Win XP system came with Movie Maker 2 (MM2) installed so when I bought a digital video camera I tried it. For me, a beginner I was amazed at the results. I started with just using still imaging and adding background music. Within one day I had my first project finished and saved as an AVI and WMV format. Friends and relatives were pleased. My second project was an old 1 hr 28 minute 8mm analog capture directly from my Sony camera to a 13 Gb AVI file. A week later a 45 minute final project was created on VHS tapes for the relatives. I did not have the problems I anticipated from my experiences of 5 and 10 years ago. Well worth the time to learn this program. Yes, it has shortcomings, but at least I have a finished product without all of the initial frustrations which has been common in the past. I know enough of what I can look for in my next editor but MM2 is working well for me.

Review by Poncho48 on May 2, 2004 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I am creating Picture Slideshows with music and have found WMM2 to be very useful for just that. I wanted a variety of transitions and a way to put everything in that wouldn't take forever to make. I had used PowerPoint prior to this and the final videos were jerky and very limited as far as transitions. Also, DV-AVI is a great DVD quality output that can easily be converted into about any other video format. As far as sound goes, I wanted to crossfade all my tracks and put them in a certain playlist. I don't know any video program that can crossfade MP3's on the timeline, so I just recorded them all into one big MP3 file while playing on iTunes. My only gripe is the limited export options (DV-AVI or WMV9). Transitions/Effects are also available for purchase at www.pixelan.com (you can get 2 free transitions from them in the Winter Fun Pack off Microsofts site) and in the Plus! Digital Media Edition add-on for WinXP.

Review by Nickhamm on Feb 14, 2004 Version: 2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I don't know what maa's talking about. Using the DV-AVI capture and rendering formats, audio is 48KHz, provided your source is too, for example mini-DV cam with audio set at 16 bits.

DV-AVI's the format to use to bring into your MPEG encoder of choice. It's a great entry-level editing program, and you can't beat the price. Too bad you can't produce as MPEG directly, or at least frame-serve to TMPGEnc, for instance.

Also, check out the useful guides on the site below.


Review by p_l on Feb 12, 2004 Version: 2.0.3312.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




As most poeople would want to capture for DVD these days this tool misses the mark again offering 44.1khz for audio and no video codecs.
Yes I gave it low marks because its a waste of time.


Review by maa on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The second version of WMM is a welcome improvement from the first one. It crashes less often, but I save my project fairly often just in case. The inability to produce other than WMV and D1-AVI files greatly decreases this application's worth to me. Let me put it this way...if I want to do some heavy duty video editing or DVD/SVCD authoring, I don't bother with Windows Movie Maker. But when I need to just put together a quick clip that is small enough to be sent via email to a friend or somesuch, that's when Windows Movie Maker really comes in handy. And since this comes free with Windows XP, you cannot beat the price.

Review by Jella on Dec 28, 2003 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




It has a great interface, but won't work with MPEG2 files created by my PVR250.

Review by rmd6502 on Dec 13, 2003 Version: 2.0.3312.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




After reading a few reports on this tool I thought I should record my findings. I have to say that I thought it was excellent for a beginner moving into editing software. I have not as yet encountered any faults that have been recorded (it may of crashed once but then what software doesn't!) Basically I found it very easy to use and ended up with a couple of very good DVD's.

I must say though that now I have been using it for a while I am starting to look for some more advanced features elsewhere, particularly with sound functionality and special effects / transitions. There is only so many times you can flip over a page or use the screen break up function. I would like to see MS release a few additional features.

To be honest though that is not what this tool is about, this is about beginners being able to easily convert DV to AVI / WMV and end up with a good looking video / DVD. Very good tool and great fun to use.


Review by vettesea on Dec 10, 2003 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Windows Movie maker seemed at first glance to be an excellent product for the creation of home movies. It has a very simple and intuitive user interface. Also, although is has modest fonctionnality, with some work it seems capable of creating some interesting movies.

Unfortunately, the software seems severly bugged. On a few occasions, I was unable to save my completed movies in the DV-AVI format, which you would want before using a compressed encoding for the final product, which was very frustrating given the time invested.

I researched the issue in the Microsoft knowledge base and found that the software had many bugs which where acknowledged by Microsoft, but there are 0 (none, nada, zilch) patches available to fix the issues.

I found other non-Microsoft web sites, which mention the problem with saving files (which can happen in formats other that DV-AVI). These sites give all try to provide help in resolving the issue, but none offer a fail-safe remedy.

Personnally, I dont have the time to invest in software which does not have acceptable support, no matter how interesting it may have seemed at first.


Review by fgendron on Oct 25, 2003 Version: 2.0.3312.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Windows Media Maker 2 is actually a reasonably good product and fantastic for those "Mums and Dads" who want to get "creative" with their new miniDV camera, but can't afford a proper NLE program like Premiere.

It is very easy to use for the beginner and the price cannot be beaten.

However, this is where it stops. WMM2 is very much limited in what in can do, and although this may be fine for the casual user, it is completely insufficient for any real degree of video editing.

Furthermore, Microsoft has put this program into a number of irritating shackles, obviously designed to lock the unsuspecting user into Microsoft products. Firstly, this program cannot export to anything but WMV (Windows Media Video) and DV-AVI Type I. This is completely unsatisfactory. If one wants to encode the video for DVD production, you will have to go into the convoluted step of encoding first to DV-AVI and then an external encoder. This is similarly so if you want to produce DivX video. Although WMV gives reasonably good quality for size, it is not a well supported standard over different platforms and this obvious product limitation, for the want of a better word, [i]evil[/i]. ;-)

Also, DV-AVI Type I means that the DV file will not be able to be loaded with a VFW based program (which includes many freeware editors). To get around this, I suggest you have a look at my guide on converting Type I to Type II here: http://users.tpg.com.au/mtam

For the target audience, WMM2 is a reasonable program and a good introduction into video editing. However, if Microsoft removed some of the unnecessary shackles (e.g., allowed third party AVI codecs to be used, include MPEG-1 and MPEG-2 encoding, DV-AVI Type 2 output), it would be a much superior program.


Review by vitualis on Aug 9, 2003 Version: 2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




don't like v2 of movie maker can't seem to save anything.

Review by andybno1 on Jun 26, 2003 Version: 1.1.2427.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Not a big MS fan but they actually created a decent product.
I have noticed that it will lock up on occasion. My hunch is that when it is doing it's autorecovery save(every 10min.) and I am adding or changing something that this may cause it to lockup. You can turn this off or change the interval. I've had a lot more problems with Studio8 locking up then I have with this product.

I now use this more than Studio8 because it is so easy to use.


Review by woody5 on Jun 26, 2003 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This software really isn't that bad. Plenty of nice features in a slick, FREE package. This is obviously Microsoft's rip-off of the venerable iMovie, but if you run Windows (and I do) and you don't want to or can't pay for a stronger video editing package, this is a decent choice. I'd use it myself for the simple task of editing, however there's this annoying bug that occurs on at least my computer that causes Movie Maker to shut down without warning or subsequent error notification every time I attempt to add titles to a video. Very strange. Based on my experience, my ratings should be lower, but I'll give Microsoft the benefit of the doubt that this isn't a widespread problem.

Review by NaraiwoN on Jun 26, 2003 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I have used many DVD authoring programs now and this one turns out to be the easiest. One thing I like the best is the ability to grab mp3 files from my computer instead of having to load the cd like Pinnacle Studio 8. My cd collection is totally on my computer now. Pinncale Studio 8 crashes on me all the time too.

My one big grip is that you have to get a third party software program to author a DVD!!!

I save my files in .avi so I can use them with NeroVision Express but now that program has gone sour on me. It burns my dvds at 100 mb instead of the 4.4 gb that the project was supposed to be.

Anyone know of a better tool that I can use with my .avi output from Windows Movie Maker2?

Thank you!


Review by Moondoggie23 on Jun 26, 2003 Version: Windows Movie Maker 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I LOVE THIS THING
the function to cost ratio is through the roof, basic editing for free, FREE, HOW MUCH CHEEPER CAN YOU GET
its easy to use, i use it because its the only thing on my 1ghz that can capture without dropped frames
2 gripes, no overlay, different footage with asame audio
only 1 audio track, needs more, you have to render the whole thing many times if you want sound. but its cool.


Review by joeshmoe2000 on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com