Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
PowerDirector offers a unique combination of high-end performance and advanced editing features. It's remarkably easy to use, making video editing accessible to creators of all skill levels, and a huge selection of customizable design tools, including unique alpha transitions, animated titles, particles and PiP objects, provide the freedom to explore creativity and reflect it in unique video creations.

Trialware ($70)
OS:Windows
File size:1.4MB
Version history
6.1/10
46 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

PowerDirector screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


PowerDirector screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

17 / 17 build 2514 (February 10, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download PowerDirector 17  1.4MB  Win




Download Update and other versions

Download PowerDirector 17 build 2514  ca 1.4MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $70.)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


2019-02-10
Updates PowerDirector 17 to build 2514
Install this patch to enhance program stability and improve the compatibility of HEVC video.

Release Notes
Note: This patch is not for PowerDirector 365 subscription version, hardware bundled/pre-installed versions, volume license, educational editions, or versions purchased via the Microsoft Store and Steam.
Adds an option in Preferences to set default insert project behavior.
Improves the compatibility when previewing HEVC with AMD hardware video decoder and producing HEVC with NVIDIA hardware encoder.
Improves the video quality when producing with Intel Quick Sync Video hardware encoder.
Improves the audio compatibility for videos with linear PCM and FLAC audio, and specific MKV and DV-AVI videos.
Improves the compatibility for shadow file creation and combined MP4 videos.
Fixes the issue that disabled audio tracks are not muted when using Batch Produce and Create Disc.
Fixes the issue that timeline markers offset when the project is inserted as a nested project.
Fixes the issue that packed projects donít include the Geometric transition.
Fixes the issue that timeline preview shows incorrect frame when dragging the edges to trim a video on the timeline.
Fixes the issue that the production stalls with hardware encoder and trimmed source videos or SVRT enabled and specific source videos.
Fixes the issue that the preview becomes black when applying multiple video effects with OpenCL acceleration.
Fixes the issue that the program sometimes crashes when deleting title text with special effects on the timeline preview.
Fixes the issue that font preview in the Title Designer is truncated for some fonts.
Fixes the issue that the color of the preview in the PiP Designer becomes incorrect if blending mode is changed.
Fixes the issue that the program sometimes pops up incorrect disk space is insufficient message when capturing from a webcam with specific profile.
Fixes the issue that the video speed adjustment is gone in Render Preview video.
Minor bug fixes.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's


Tool features, DVD Author(BETA!):



Acronyms / Also Known As

PowerDirector, Power Director, Cyberlink PowerDirector




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




46 reviews, Showing 1 to 46 reviews


Software seemed fine, then I started to have problems with it freezing while trying to record. Could not close the program or stop the recording. Had to kill it under the task manager.
Tried using support. They are useless.
Suggested my computer was not spec'd high enough.
Its a gaming machine. Highest spec available.
They obviously have no idea how to read debug files or how to do faults.... numpties.



Review by Henri on May 23, 2018 Version: powerDirector 15 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 2/10




"The previous post is theatrical and in my opinion is also inaccurate." - It's clear that nicksson hasn't used this tool in anger as this software is a triumph of style over substance which is exemplified by the grandiose statement that "It comes with over $650 worth of premium effects and templates to enrich your video creation"; in whose opinion is that? And another wopper is "use magic tools in your production?". No! the real test of a decent video tool is that it produces good quality video which is compatible with the widest range of other vendor's software & this tool produces video which continually causes other packages to crash. You can't not use the internal codecs either - their mpeg2 encoder produced some really ugly interlace artifacts when resampling from HD to DVD. It really ought to be able to offer a frameserver or a vfw (or equivalent) plug-in interface for third party encoders.

Two positives about PowerDirector is the multicam tool (synchronising seperate audio & video clips from the same scene) and that it is the only tool I found that at a reasonable price point that can author valid AVCHD-DVD discs.

So if you are not too fussed about overall quality & high bit rates this tool may suite you as a one stop package.


Review by panash on Mar 3, 2016 Version: 12 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 1/10




The previous post is theatrical and in my opinion is also inaccurate. Cyberlink PD is a very easy to use software and without exaggerated needs. Of course, if you have a wood PC then for you PD will be for sure a CPU and RAM killer. Although PD is considered a "consumer" or a "prosumer" soft, you can do easily a lot of things, you have a lot of effects, transitions, tools, enchancements - right out of the box, and the final quality is very good for home-made videos. Yes, it have also a lot of issues and frecvently crashes for various reasons, but it is the best and most complete package in its price range and target. I have tryed not only PD from 10 to 13, but also many other video editors, inclusive Adobe and Sony products, but for my comfort and because of the multitude of EASY to use tools I constantly returned to PD.
So, if you are not satisfyed with PD, dont buy it, but for me definitively does WORTH to try and use it.


Review by nicksson on Sep 7, 2015 Version: 13.0.3130.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Final Decision

CYBERLINK it is a CPU and RAM KILLER,
also i tried version from 8 to 13
uninstal this shet and reinstal OS

DONT USE DONT WORTH


Review by DanRo on Sep 6, 2015 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




After last probes seems that a little more encoding speed (50% increase) and more time (lenght) of encoded video (20% more lenght) upon the CyberLink freez.
Solution execute:
1.presentation font cahe (wpf 3.0 also know as PresentationFontCahe.exe as is apear in task manager)from services (where apear like Windows Presentation Font Cache 3.0.0.0),
2.change logon account of Cyberlink RichVide Service (CVBS)from System to LocalService (also from Services of ControlPanel-Performance and Maintenance-Administrative Tools in XP

speed up but still freeez



Review by DanRo on Aug 31, 2015 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




All software from CyberLink are some error in their programs about to memory usage virtualy or not) regarrdles of any driver upadte.
I make all update and respect every pass that they recomend and CyberLink frez at 80-90% of memory usage.
Eat memory and dont releas them.
Also software it is good even very god.


Review by DanRo on Aug 26, 2015 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




I have tried so many video editing/DVD production programs, I was ready to give up many times.
After reading reviews on several suites, I decided to try PowerDirector 13. I am impressed.

I finally was able to actually produce a movie of our senior center stage performances, with a menu that actually worked, and played straight through on my DVD player without skipping, hanging, or otherwise being a non-functional PITA. I have never been able to do that before because so many other program directions are convoluted, or non-existent. I have a lot of learning to do, but Cyberlink provides great tutorials to help you get going.

Thank you Cyberlink. You saved my sanity.


Review by MykRian on Feb 4, 2015 Version: 13.0.2408.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




This is, overall, a very decent application. There are, however, several limitations you may want to be aware of before you buy it.

It is true that you can modify and add things to their basic template. You can even download templates that others have created. However, you are required to include the following items in every DVD/Blu-Ray project:

Main Menu
- My Videos label (which you can change to say anything, but you cannot remove)
- Play button (you can link this to any video and rename it, but you cannot remove or hide it)
- Scenes/Chapters button (you can link this to submenus and rename it, but you cannot remove or hide it)
- Subtitle button (this is linked to the pre-defined Subtitle menu. you can rename it but you can't remove or hide it)
- for the scene/chapter pages, you can set the number of buttons to be 1 or higher, but you must have at least 1 scene menu page with at least 1 scene.

In other words, if you want to have a single film with no chapters and no subtitle page, you cannot do it with this software. That's a real pain in the ass.

On the upside, you can create a full film including subtitles. And while you can force the subtitles to always be on, you cannot set those subtitles to be on by default while still allowing someone to turn them off.

Hope this helps you choose the right product.


Review by Legolad on Jan 17, 2015 Version: 13.0.2408.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




This is the only editing software I've found that supports smart-rendering for AVCHD files. It's been phenomenal for my needs. I was able to take a small test file (720p/60 w/5.1 AC3), cut/trim, add a fade-in, and produce a 4-minute output file in less than one minute.

Everything else I tried forced me to re-render the entire file, take anywhere from 10-45 minutes, depending on the software, and none could match quality and size of the original source.

I cannot recommend this highly enough. Give it a shot.


Review by Niccador_Saxton on Jul 13, 2013 Version: 11.0.0.3026 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Crap. Does not burn DVDs on new i7 quad core with 8 GB ram and 1 GB GPU. Support gave me various scenarios to try, nothing worked. Stay away!

Review by Ripsnort on May 16, 2011 Version: 9.0.0.2XXX OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




powerdirector 9 ultra64 edition is underrated great noise reduction and less power than TMPGEnc Authoring Works 4 can save u upgrading

Review by dessieclive on Apr 16, 2011 Version: 9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




A decent software program when it works, has some bugs and can be unstable at times. It WILL not auto download and install templates. It hangs and will screw up the application when you have to end task it and start over. If you need a new template, download and install it manually! Also, don't expect any help from these guys, you are on your own...

Review by omnigate on Oct 8, 2010 Version: 8.00.2074 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




I do have a gripe ... the working resolution ... I use a Sony HDTV and my resolution is ... 1280 x 720 ... I have to change my resolution to 1024 x 768 ... to use it ... what was round is not round in that resolution.

I keep ... QuickResNT ... running in the background ... not hard to change resolutions but I really wish I could use PowerDirector 8 with the resolution ... 1280 x 720.


Review by lacywest on Sep 12, 2009 Version: 8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I tried it--Nice gpu acceleration and good quality--My only beef, and Ive read the manual and still cant figure out..It wont save avc/264 in mp4 format. It will only save in m2ts and it encodes everything interlaced even though the source files are progressive...

Review by headhunter03 on Sep 11, 2009 Version: 8 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 6/10




Works just fine for me ... I like the video capture section ... feature for scan for OTA digital channels and record them ... I tried it out ... I like it. Using the ATI HDTV 650 PCI tuner card and the ATI HDTV Wonder PCI card. Works just fine ... it does not crash on my system ... at all.

Review by lacywest on Sep 10, 2009 Version: 8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




This software is NON-FUNCTIONAL, since it is unable to produce any output without crashing. I was never able to produce a blu-ray disk or produce any finished project file, because it crashed. The only thing it can do is crash. It runs for 5 minutes and then crashes. There is no free phone tech support, so I tried using the web-based support. Nothing got fixed. AVOID THIS SOFTWARE LIKE THE PLAGUE IT IS.

Review by stevendthomas on Sep 1, 2009 Version: 8 ultra OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




absolutely awesome, i just converted a 2 hour 53 minute 720p to 720x480 widescreen avc in about 1 hour 30 minutes, just unbelievable (i should mention i enabled cuda acceleration and my rig consists of a E7400 with a 9600 GSO).

Review by deadrats on Aug 3, 2009 Version: 8.0 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Looking for Advanced Author Package..Have Linux & Win NT
Looked at

Power Director 5... 4/10 (Windows only)
Can not build use (custom) menus
Only 11 Precanned Menus Linear *1* Menu Templates
Very weak editing of templates...
Can not change or Add buttons to templates.
Templates very restrictive
can not import menus/templates

Corel/Ulead Movie Factory 5..6..7 (6/10) (Windows only)
Can not build use (custom) menus
Has 40 Precanned Menus Linear *1* Menu Templates
Can change button Styles/Frames/Layout
Can not add custom buttons to Menu.
can not import menus/Templates

PGCEdit( Linux and Win NT Versions)
Fantastic IFO editor ....But does not edit vobs
Can add buttons but these do not show on DVD visually .
Since program can not edit Sub pictures in vobs

Still looking for a good (Advanced) DVD Author



Review by vlad1999 on Feb 7, 2009 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




I read about all the crashes users experience, and customer support not responding, here is my experience:
I received Power Director with my JVC HDcamcorder, ithin a few days I figured out it wasn't a full working version, burning DVDs was impossible. I decided to upgrade via download. The program kept crashing every few minutes, my auto-saved project simpkly disappeared and the BAK file was unusable.
I contacted customer support (you have to register and be a member, which is free) and although it was weekend, I received a response.
Here is what makes the software work:
1. You have to have the latest Version of DirectX, which should be 10, they suggest 9.0C.
2. Display should be set to 1024 x 768 and color 32 bit (mine is higher and it is ok).
3. Increase virtual memory: right klick on MyComputer, then properties, advanced, under virtual memory select custom, enter initial value as 512 and max value 1024. If your settings are higher, leave it that way.
4. Disable Antivirus software!!!!!! That seems to be the most important part.

I followed their advice, the program did not crash again.
Regarding the unsuable BAK file:
Rename BAK file in MPG file, open Power Director and import the file, if it doesn't work, you have to redo your project.


Review by AnneMR on Jun 22, 2008 Version: 7.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I have used it some, and it is better than I was expecting. I've used plenty other software that I just wanted to use to trim films. This does trimming and a lot more, and ealily. The only problem I've had is that it sometimes imports VOBs and chops them up into 30sec chunks AND puts them in reverse order!

Review by johnfused on Jan 3, 2007 Version: 3.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




While PowerDirector 5.0 is extremely easy to use for simple video creation, you have to squeeze your work in between crashes. In 20 years of installing and using all sorts of software, I have never run across such a temperamental program.

The program crashes when loading, crashes when adding files, crashes when cutting or splitting video, in short, you are always on the edge of your seat while using it. I took to saving my work after each change I made.

Lest you think this is a problem with my computer, I tried the program on 2 other computers with similiar results. Cyberlink sent me the CD just in case both of my 2 downloads were bad. (Of course, same results.)

In short, you take your chances with this product. Save your money and keep shopping.


Review by mepal on Dec 20, 2006 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Pinnacle - unstable. Vegas & Ulead - lack of functionality. But I love this particular program, but obviously, Cyberlink are NOT listening.

It crashes when you open your save file. When you try to burn the DVD, it has errors or either it wouldn't allow you to burn your dvd. Duh! That is why I bought the program in the first place - it is to burn the video onto the DVD, not keep it on the computer. Anyway, with the patches they recommended, it did not resolved any of the issues. I am guessing they saying the files are patches but it is not.!


Review by pawloe on Sep 12, 2006 Version: V5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Somebody in Cyberlink should be shot for using old DLLs. I saw 2 old DLLs in the program directory, comctl32.dll and msvcp60.dll. Try copying these 2 dlls from your Windows directory and paste them into the PowerDirector directory. After I pasted these 2 DLLs, the program could at least load nicely. Don't know about crashes at other places.

I am giving all scores 5 because I haven't played much with it yet. Just writing this reply in case anyone can't get it to run during startup.


Review by limecat on Aug 7, 2006 Version: 5.00.1018b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I too have a problem. I purchased directly from them ver 5. Program starts ok, but as soon as I click on capture, it starts initializing then crashes. It gives me the same error message. I emailed tech support several times. I never even got an answer. I tried it on two different computers. Same result. There tech support section on there website is a joke. The FAQ is mostly about serial number installation and general installation. Very little, if none concerning crashes, bugs, etc. BTW, I did upgrade using the patch. Still no luck. I did search of other forums concerning this product and it seems many people have a problem with this program. I would stay away from it. There are many other programs that do the same thing and more. Wish I was aware before I bought it.

Review by macko on Jun 12, 2006 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a very easy to use video editor, video converter and dvd authoring suite. It's ideal for put home digital video (DV etc) into DVDs for watching. You can do it all from this one app.

It's super easy to use compared to the other apps with only Ulead coming close. It comes with timeline editing, menus, dissolves, titles, audio etc etc and you can put together perfectly decent disks.

The DVD authoring part (EZ Producer) does a good but basic job of authoring DVDs and will convert most common formats for you. I not use this as my standard method of coverting TV series AVIs to DVD. I can just select say 4 AVI episodes, design a basic menu and click burn - it will do all the conversion and authoring for me and it's quick too. The results are just as good as using WinAVI + TMPG DVD Author and LOT quicker. It comes with DivX.

If you are a serious video nut then this won't be of interest but for most people just looking to do basic editing, format conversion and disk authoring.

An idiot can use it with no manual


Review by Nozza on Feb 4, 2006 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I have had this program from V4.0 and each update gets buggier and crashes more frequntly than the last, after the latest update I have finally consigned it to the bin to say it is useless is an understatement, there is virtually nothing that this program will complete it crashes more frequntly than any other software I have tried, it manages about 3 to 4 mins into anything and away it goes.
The tech support whilst pleasant enough are a joke they can't resolve anything, if you like a challenge go ahead but like me if you expect the software to work as it should then do yourself a favour and stay away from this!!


Review by johnharbone on Jan 8, 2006 Version: 5.0.1227 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




I owned the 2.5 version from bundled software and upgraded to 5.0 for the DVD burning functinality. For 50 bucks (upgrade) you can't beat this software. Easy to use and full of functionality. Accepts many file formats for editing, streaming video and audio from camera,or burns DVD media for set-top playing with ease.

Review by climber07 on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 5.0 Full OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




the best program i ever used

Review by humbleboy on Jul 14, 2005 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




very easy to use with all essential tools for video editing

Review by humbleboy on May 3, 2005 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




i enjoyed the product but i have problems with the preview screen as when in timeline the preview windows show the pictures like x-rays when i click on ''color'' button the picture corrects itself for about one second then back to x-ray image. if i can correct this problem it would be worth it as i like everything else about this program.

Review by marin001 on Feb 8, 2005 Version: 3.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I down loaded the powerdirector 3.0, and I found out this tool is very easy to use. I can also edit the MPEG/VOB file from the DVD decriptor ... I can detect the scene and allow me to cut and paste scene in the timeline ... I was told that only very expensive editor can edit the MPEG files. Inexpensive tools only trim the front/back of the MPEG files. I have not try the PIP in the my video yet.

It is true that it has some conflict w/ the window messager.



Review by jwayn on Feb 2, 2005 Version: powerdirector 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Cyberlink products conflict with windows messenger and for all I know all messengers ervices.
Also turn off all anti-virus and "protection" softwares whilst using cyberlink.


Review by victoriabears on Jan 30, 2005 Version: 3.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Poor audio - as soon as a video clip is put into the timeline, there is a serious decrease in audio quality. If you play the clip directly, you get original quality, play it from the timeline as a preview, the quality is lower. Same problem once you render it, EVEN IF rendered as high quality DV-AVI! The audio sounds like it is being compressed, and gives a high frequency "tinny" sound, especially to human voices. No matter what I tried, I could not render to any format that resulted in good audio.

Another audio issue - can't export a wav file for editing. If you plan to use tmpgenc for rendering DVD files, it is recommended you use a wav file for full compatibility with NTSC DVD. PowerProducer won't do it.

On the plus side, it is very easy to use, cheap, and is stable. As long as audio is not important to you, it may be a reasonable choice.


Review by 356movie on Jul 19, 2004 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




I currently own ver 2.55 which I was happy with except for two issues. Rendering times are very slow when compared to Studio 8 or VideoStudio 7 and you are limited to the size of DVD you can burn (around 1hr). So I decided to see if ver 3.0 was any better and downloaded the trial version. The interface is great and very easy to use especially now that they have included a timeline (it actually has a Studio 8 feel to it). However rendering times are still horribly slow and it seems to make no difference whether you use SVRT or not. Also the titling tool is a bit limited, e.g. if you want to change the colour of certain letters within a title you can't, changes are applied to the entire title. I couldn't try the burning option as this is not included in the trial. I would say that if you have time to wait for this program to render your movie then go for it.

Review by johnnny on Feb 11, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




After much back and forth with Cyberlink concerning my problems with version 2.55, they decided they could not identify why I could not manipulate AVI files without causing the program to crash. Therefore, they gave me a copy of 3.0 for FREE. It works perfectly! In my opinion, this is about the easiest full featured video editing software around.

Review by bonorden on Feb 6, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I must be one of the lucky ones. 3.0 works pretty darn good for me. I've compared it with Vegas and MovieFactory. Didn't like moviefactory at all, so most of my test compared Vegas to Powerdirector 3.0. Quality wise, I can't really tell the difference (I've burned many DVD-RWs of the same footage from my camcorder and played on home theater system). However from a learning curve, I was able to use anything in powerdirector without having to go to the manual. Vegas has many more bells and whistles but I found it fairly hard to make it do what I wanted it to do unless I read the manual (and even then I couldn't get it to do some things). If I was going to make this my #1 hobby, I'd probably stick with Vegas. Since I'm not, I guess I'll purchase the full version of 3.0 (I'm using the trial right now).

Now for the bad. I've already purchased Powerdirector 2.55. It crashes whenever I manipulate an AVI file (3.0 doesn't have this problem). Back and forth with customer service without any luck...they've asked me to try lots of things without success. Hope I don't have problems later with 3.0 because I don't have a lot of faith in their customer service.

BTW, why is powerdirector under DVD Authoring instead of Advanced Video Editing?


Review by bonorden on Jan 19, 2004 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm still struggling with this mother! My last attempt to solve my svcd production problems (jerky!- see my first post) ended with me sending a sample of Mpeg to Cyberlink, they replied to say they couldn't see that there was any problem! If you're reading this Guys, how about a free upgrade to version 3? (or perhaps don't you feel that confident?)

Review by buzz on Jan 19, 2004 Version: 2.55 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I got this with Pixelview XCapture. I use the canned 'DVD for disc' settings and it produces very presentable video. Since the stock bitrate for DVD disc is 6000000, i get files too large to fit on one disc. I author the files then burn to image. I mount the image with daemon tools and use DVDXCopy express to shrink it to fit on one disc. The whole process goes a lot faster than reencoding.

I do not recall more than a couple of crashes. I am running a 2.6g cpu on an nforce chipset mb with the onboard nvidia sound.

This leads to my first complaint. The sound level on every recording is too loud (to the point of distortion), and I am not sure there is anything that can be done to correct it. I am currently testing the volume control in 'Sounds and Sudio Devices Properties', which is the only one I have not tried.

The second complaint is the app produces 'not quite compliant' program streams. PowerDVD opens and plays them but pops up the windows box 'encountered a problem and needs to close'.
Spruce will not author them, but DVD Lab will and makes DVDs playable on my standalone DVD player.

Since I got the bundled version, it will not author DVDs without an upgrade; I cannot comment on this functionality.

Easy to use, makes nice quality video, but if I cannot resolve the audio issue, it is going on the scrap pile.


Review by zhandax on Jan 18, 2004 Version: 2.50.0919ME OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Buzz here!,(again)

Cyberlinks technical support is a joke, with no serious attemp to solve any problems, just stock answers from what must be a script! I even emailed them a sample of my grotty mpeg encoding for them to look at. No reply. It seems that this soft ware could work for you but if it doesn't bin it! (or TRY and get a refund) (software sellers may now chuckle)


Review by buzz on Sep 26, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




I tried this recently. Doesn't work at all. Crashes at random times. I don't have NIMO codecs or other junk like that installed. This program is just a lemon.

Review by lordsmurf on Sep 21, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




After uninstalling nemo codecs I found this to work very well.

Review by taylorva on Sep 21, 2003 Version: 2.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I initially had trouble with Power Director crashing however I soon traced this down, through a process of elimination to a Nimocodec pack that I had installed. After removing this I found PD2.55 worked flawlessly, is very easy to use and whilst perhaps not as feature rich as Ulead's Videostudio is still more than adequate for producing professional home movies.

Review by johnnny on Sep 4, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




its an ok program i got free with my computer.the encription to vcd is not to great (lots of squares).I use it mostly for the transitions and effects as they are better tham Windows movie maker.Although i gave it a low score its not to bad overall.

Review by hippy1001 on Aug 14, 2003 Version: 2.55 pro OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




It's me again! as an update to my last PowerDirector comment I've had a reply from Cyberlink to my support request and guess what? that didn't work either. Software support is begining to look as much use as the program. Might be money wasted! Stay tuned.

Review by buzz on Aug 12, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




(UK user - PAL)Purchased v.2.5 months ago - program fell over at slightest excuse. Downloaded 2.51 bug fix. improved matters but only just. Ending with final 2.55 download upgrade. Much better stability. Problem is the capture is realy sensitive to resolution and audio. I haven't been able to produce a watchable VCD or SVCD. The end product always has momentary hesitations in playback making smooth action kind of jerky (1 hesitation per second) and the audio is out of sync. by 1.5 secs. behind) Cyberlink customer support suggested I change from on board sound to a PCI audio card.The when I told them it didn't improve anything they just ignore any further messages I send. I have 1GhzAthlon with 100udma HD.

Review by buzz on Jul 2, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Tried the program on THREE systems, each with a different OS and different capture card. EVERY SINGLE TIME, the program crashes, either at startup or when you go to capture. Waste of money, refund in progress.

Review by txpharoah on Jun 25, 2003 Version: 2.55 OS: WinME Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


46 reviews, Showing 1 to 46 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware/Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code.
Free software/Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware/Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software/Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections
All In One Blu-ray Converters (11)
All In One DVD Converters (15)
All In One MKV to MP4/Blu-ray/UHD (11)
All In One Video Converters (23)
Animation (3D/2D Animation) (11)
Audio Editors (16)
Audio Encoders (73)
Audio Players (17)
Authoring (Blu-ray/UHD/AVCHD) (20)
Authoring (DivX) (5)
Authoring (DVD) (32)
Authoring (SVCD/VCD) (10)
Bitrate Calculators (7)
Blu-ray to AVI/MKV/MP4 (15)
Blu-ray to Blu-ray/AVCHD (10)
Burn (CD,DVD,Blu-ray) (23)
Camcorders/DV/HDV/AVCHD (33)
Capture TV/DVD/VCR (32)
CD/DVD/Blu-ray recovery (3)
Codec Packs (7)
Codec/Video Identifiers (29)
Codecs (64)
Decrypters (Blu-ray Rippers) (9)
Decrypters (DVD Rippers) (14)
DigitalTV/DVB/IPTV (37)
DVD to AVI/DivX/XviD (16)
DVD to DVD (21)
DVD to MP4/MKV/H264/H265 (16)
DVD to VCD/SVCD (5)
ISO/Image (16)
Linux Video Tools (141)
MacOS Video Tools (191)
Media (Blu-ray/DVD/CD) (9)
Media Center/HTPC (38)
Other Useful Tools (133)
Photo Blu-ray/DVD/SlideShow (9)
Portable (Mobile/PSP) (35)
Region Free Tools (5)
Screen capture / Screen recording (23)
Screenshots / Thumbnails (12)
Subtitle Editors (65)
Video De/Multiplexers (56)
Video Editors (Advanced/NLE) (33)
Video Editors (Basic) (49)
Video Editors (H264/MP4/MKV/MTS) (19)
Video Editors (MPG/DVD) (18)
Video Editors (WMV/AVI) (16)
Video Encoders (AVI/WMV) (39)
Video Encoders (H264/H265/MP4/MKV) (45)
Video Encoders (MPG/DVD) (25)
Video Encoders / Converters (150)
Video Frameservers (9)
Video Players (40)
Video Repair/Fix (21)
Video Scripting (11)
Video Streaming (22)
Video Streaming Downloaders (77)
Virtualdub Tools (11)



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com