Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for qencoder

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by plonk420 on Aug 18, 2020 Version: 1.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




??? on the reviews below. I decided to get it from github just to see what you meant by dependencies and the only program I needed for av1 encoding was aomenc, well and ffmpeg but ffmpeg was already installed for audacity and the instructions clearly said that. I swear, millenials these days can barely handle their way around an ipad. Asking them to read directions is far beyond their abilities. But even then I do not understand why they would complain when all you need to do is download the exe.

Review by vel on Aug 18, 2020 Version: 1.5.6-2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Give that man below a drink! "It suffers way too many dependencies..." So true of much of Opensource these days. Over adventurous, but losing the sight of simplicity. Opensource is usually the inspiration for commercial software and quite often innovative ideas are 'copied' or even bettered. This unfortunately is not one of 'em!

Review by Robbie on Aug 18, 2020 Version: 1.5.6-2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Impossible to get to work, seems to suffer from the same issue that plaques lots of open source software written by amateurs, namely way, way too many dependencies.

I don't know what's worse, Windows "developers" that use proprietary languages like C# that require one to install a run-time and an API for a relatively simplistic program or open source "developers" that require the end user to install countless dependencies and then trouble shoot countless incompatibilities.

If you're on Linux, don't bother wasting your time with this one.


Review by sophisticles on Aug 16, 2020 Version: Latest OS: Linux Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Alkl on Aug 13, 2020 Version: 1.5.6-2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installed it from pip and it works great, matches my kde system theme perfectly. Fits my theme even better than handbrake. Not as many settings though so I need to mark it down a star but it is the only program that can do av1 that I know of.

Review by jojoia42 on Aug 11, 2020 Version: 1.5.6 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The version I downloaded from videohelp.com was broken af but I went to the github repo and the latest version there worked perfectly fine. https://github.com/natis1/qencoder/releases/tag/1.5.6-2 . No idea why. I reported this as out of date so hopefully it gets fixed. Overall the program is pretty good, lotta settings some of them confuse my brain.

Review by Redguy on Aug 7, 2020 Version: 1.5.6-2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Error message in dos box:

C:\qencoder>qencoder
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Python38-x64\Lib\site-packages\PyInstaller\loader\rthooks\pyi_rth_pkgres.py", line 13, in
File "c:\python38-x64\lib\site-packages\PyInstaller\loader\pyimod03_importers.py", line 623, in exec_module
File "site-packages\pkg_resources\__init__.py", line 86, in
ModuleNotFoundError: No module named 'pkg_resources.py2_warn'
[7708] Failed to execute script pyi_rth_pkgres

Maybe somebody knows, why the program does not start!


Review by James Pous on Aug 7, 2020 Version: 1.5.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Same here, couldn't start the program, on Win10 64bit. Only a (black) DOS prompt opens, and nothing else happens.

Review by loverius on Aug 7, 2020 Version: 1.5.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I could not start the program. Did it need something? I have python runtime installed.

Review by James Pous on Aug 7, 2020 Version: 1.5.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com