Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Vegas Pro is a professional non-linear editor. Expertly edit complex SD or HD projects using mouse or keyboard trimming and powerful ripple editing modes. Features include improved video monitoring, customizable window layouts, color-coded snapping, improved HDV, SDI and XDCAM support, Cinescore plug-in support, A/V synchronization detect and repair, playhead scrubbing, drag ripple and arrange, source project editing, and auto-frame quantization.

Trialware $400
OS: Win
File size: 4.5MB
Other versions
Version history
8.6/10
34 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Vegas Pro screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Vegas Pro screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot


Vegas Pro screenshot 3
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

17 (August 5, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Vegas Pro 17  4.5MB  Win



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $400)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads

Download Vegasaur here, Vegasaur is an automation and productivity tool for Sony Vegas Pro.



Version history / Release notes / Changelog


VEGAS PRO 17:

30+ NEW FEATURES. EFFICIENCY REDEFINED.

Nested Timelines
NESTED TIMELINES
Create nested timelines to organize projects and speed up your workflow. Easily move back and forth between nested and the main timeline. Or, access your nested timelines as independent VEGAS projects, so you can share parts of your project for a colleague to work on while you maintain control over the master project.

UNIFIED COLOR GRADING
VEGAS Pro 17 now makes your color-correction workflow faster and more efficient than ever. With the Color Grading panel, streamline your workflow in a quick, efficient, logical process that’s cohesive, comprehensive, and easy to use. Switch to different timeline events and begin grading them instantly.

HLG HDR Color Support
VEGAS Pro 17 continues to lead the way in HDR editing with a start-to-finish workflow. Take advantage of GPU-based open color I/O processing to work in the new ACES 1.1 color standard, including HLG support, HDR color grading, HDR video scopes, internal and external HDR preview, and complete HDR delivery options.

Optical-Flow Slow Motion
Optical-Flow Slow Motion
Create even slower, even smoother slow motion with native tools built on proprietary optical flow technology which analyzes one frame to the next and then creates intermediary frames between them. The result: silky-smooth slow motion for results like never before built right into VEGAS Pro 17.

GPU accelerated decoding for AVC/HEVC
Take advantage of GPU acceleration for smoother timeline playback in VEGAS. Use the power in your graphics card to preview your project more efficiently than ever, even with effects, filters, and multiple video streams. VEGAS leverages your computer’s GPU for smoother, quicker playback.

EXCLUSIVE PLUG-INS
Steinberg SpectraLayers Pro 6
Steinberg SpectraLayers Pro 6
Steinberg SpectraLayers Pro is one of the world’s most revolutionary spectral editing platforms for professional audio editing, post-production and sound design. It transforms your audio data into an unique visual experience. Get control over your sound and let your creativity run wild.

Exclusively in Suite

Boris FX Continuum Lens Flare 3D
Boris FX Continuum Lens Flare 3D
Gladly used by J.J. Abrams and many other renowned movie directors, the highly sophisticated Lens Flare effect gives scenes that certain something and is simply an unmistakable, cool visual. With Boris FX Continuum Lens Flare 3D you can now achieve this popular movie effect, too! From traditional lens flares which occure when a point light source is turned toward a camera lens, to even spectacular special effects that are often seen in science fiction movies, you can play around with it just the way it works perfectly for you and your movie!

Exclusively in Pro | 365 | Suite

Boris FX Continuum 3D Objects Unit
Boris FX Continuum 3D Objects Unit
With Boris FX Continuum 3D Objects Unit you can integrate precise EPS files into your material and get creative with 3D objects. Distort, modify and split various layers in three-dimensional space. In addition, the integrated 2D/3D titling plug-in Title Studio delivers 100 new presets and new 3D render options for professional broadcast titles and high quality motion graphics.

Exclusively in Suite

Boris FX Continuum Key and Blend Unit
Your all-in-one blue/green screen keying solution is here! With Boris FX Continuum Key and Blend Unit you can easily chroma key and composite your footage just the way Hollywood did in major blockbusters like the Lord of the Rings, the Harry Potter series and many more. Thanks to the new Primatte Studio chroma key technology, this Unit offers the ultimate blue/green screen toolset!

Exclusively in Suite

Boris FX Continuum Lights Unit
Boris FX Continuum Lights Unit
With the Academy Award-winning Mocha masking and planar tracking system you can add spectacular lighting effects to your films! Generate puffy glowing light, simulate the look of light leaking into the camera, create textured light from a noise map, animate sophisticated lens flares, laser sword effects, lightning and plasma streams and many more. The possibilities are nearly endless!

Exclusively in Suite

BUY NOW
Or read on to discover more new features.
LUT Export
LUT Export
Got color grading you like? Want to use it on multiple clips, in other projects, or share it with other VEGAS users? To streamline your process, export your settings as a LUT in .cube format and then apply it to other clips, even in other projects. Share your settings with others on your team.

Planar Motion Tracking
Planar Motion Tracking
Take tracking objects in to a new plane with Planar Motion Tracking. Now tracking objects in your video and pinning other video to them isn’t just for left and right and up and down or objects square to the camera. Track and pin objects moving in perspective, like the side of a building seen from an angle.

Warp Flow Transition
Warp Flow Transition
Create unique morphing transitions with the Warp Flow transition. Analyze the last frame of the first clip and the first frame of the next clip, then automatically create intermediate frames for the appearance of smooth motion between the clips. Use it to create cool sci-fi style morphing.

Smart Split Edit
Smart Split Edit
Tired of jump cuts? Use Smart Split to hide them. Choose the section you want, then Smart Split removes it and automatically transitions the remaining clips together with intermediate frames that hide the jump cut. Quick, easy, smooth, and automatic. No more distracting jump cuts!

Stabilisation on Event Level
Stabilisation on Event Level
If you use only a small portion of a large clip, why stabilize the entire clip? Now stabilize only the part you need with the same world-class stabilization at the event level. Speed up your workflow and salvage shaky clips you thought you wouldn’t be able to use, now much more quickly than ever!

Storyboard Improvements
Storyboard Improvements
For even more storyboard and sequencing power, now you can add the same media file to a single storyboard multiple times with independent in and out points. Perfect for projects build with long video clips. And now you can create a separate storyboard for each nested timeline.

Support for 8K Files
Support for 8K Files
Work with 8K video files with auto-generated proxy files to make editing fast and efficient. Take advantage of 8K resolution for a huge amount of freedom in panning, zooming, and cropping your footage without resolution degradation when you deliver to HD or 4K. Or deliver 8K for super-high-resolution projects.

Mesh Warp
Mesh Warp
So many tools in one, Mesh Warp not only lets you correct distortions in your video, it allows you to stretch and pinch your video in all kinds of crazy ways on a grid of mapped points. Get a wild, sci-fi look to your video, or map it to distorted shapes for endless creative possibilities.

Screen Capture
Screen Capture
With integrated Screen Capture, record one or more computer screens and audio sources, then import those recordings straight to a new project with all files automatically synchronized on the timeline. Ideal for video streams, instructional videos, or anyone who needs to record what happens on their screens.

Lens correction plug-in
Remove lens distortion like fisheye from your footage with the new Lens Correction plug-in. Just choose your camera or lens from an extensive list, and VEGAS Pro automatically corrects distortions based on that lens' profile. Also with manual controls for lenses not on the list or special effects.

Improved Picture-in-picture plug-in
Improved Picture-in-picture plug-in
VEGAS Pro now gives you greater control of your video insets with the improved Picture-in-Picture plugin. You have the option of keeping your video’s aspect ratio, or to change it in two ways: as a parallelogram with parallel opposite sides, or by adjusting each corner individually to make any four-sided shape.

Hardware-accelerated lossless intermediate format
Hardware-accelerated lossless intermediate format
Demand the highest quality you can get with our new hardware-accelerated lossless intermediate format. Leveraging NVIDIA GPUs, take advantage of this master-quality intermediate for efficient, fast editing or for top-quality archiving of your video. Requires specific NVIDIA hardware.

ProRes 4444 files with embedded alpha channels
ProRes 4444 files with embedded alpha channels
Take advantage of alpha channels in ProRes footage with native support for ProRes 4444. Make compositing quicker and simpler by using the native transparency in your footage with no need to apply keying FX or special settings. Great for stock footage with alpha channels like smoke, explosions, fires, and more.

Project Notes window
Project Notes window
Leave important reminders with the Project Notes window. Add notes for yourself and other team members that work in the same project, and resolve notes that have already been addressed. Organize and facilitate communication with notes that travel along with your project.

Complete Hi DPI scaling
High DPI mode provides even crisper user interface on your High DPI monitor. Icons and windows appear clearer than ever before. Ease the strain on your eyes and view your interface in all of its crisp, sharp glory. And as usual, VEGAS Pro still looks great even without a High DPI monitor.

Improved Color Curves
Improved Color Curves
Color grading moves to a new professional level with improved color curves. Now take advantage of automatic color balance right in the color curves tool, of course with the option to adjust things manually to really dial in your desired effect. A powerful tool just got a lot more powerful.

THE RIGHT TOOLS. ALWAYS AT YOUR FINGERTIPS.
Ignore Event Grouping
You don’t always need to move every event in your group; sometimes you just need to adjust one or two. ...

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Vegas Pro


Adobe After Effects



Adobe Premiere Pro



Avid Media Composer







Guides and How to's


MPEG2 Encoder test(DV source), CCE vs Procoder vs TMPGEnc vs MC vs Vegas

- Read

Vegas Pro video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

Vegas, Vegas Pro, Sony Vegas, Vegasaur, Vegas Pro Edit, Vegas Pro Suite




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Paulus on Oct 25, 2018 Version: vegas 16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Version 13 adds some features vs. v.12, but it's much slower encoding on this rig [almost 2x in some cases] -- to me that's a deal breaker since regardless what you do editing, you still have to get your work out of Vegas as a video file. Prem Pro might be an alternative but I'm not fond of their subscription pricing model, & I'm set up for Sony with AMD/ATI graphics, while Adobe favors Nvidia. Sony may fix this in a later build -- 12 was buggy for quite a while... seemed like they moved it from beta too soon, or maybe have too small a pool of beta testers. May be the same with 13? At any rate, skipped 13 for now -- I may look at it later in its development or may just wait & see what 14's like. I've skipped Vegas version upgrades in the past for this sort of thing, and they've always come around eventually.

Review by mikiem on Jun 3, 2014 Version: 13 Build 310 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




Sony Vegas USED to be a strong editor, but the more recent versions, it started to lose ground where it used to stand out - crashing; Sony Vegas crashes like crazy, at least as far as I have been noticing in the space of say, two years. Its interface and ease of use are still nice, attractive but it feels like, the more they change it, adding new features etc etc, the less stable it becomes. I am now gradually switching to Davinci Resolve lite and am toying with the idea of getting Premiere Pro. Today alone I wasted plenty time because Vegas crashed (on minor things, such as, applying non real time effects to WAV files), while I am to meet a deadline in finishing a wedding project. I have been using Vegas since 2004 (since the Sonic Foundry era) but I am saying good bye to it. Many still prefer it due to its ease of use, but if you want to do serious work, Vegas is not the way anymore.

Review by videodan on Jun 3, 2014 Version: 8.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




This version, Vegas Pro 12 build 710, has a bug which prevents it from importing image sequences, build 714 was released today (9/10/2013) which addresses this issue.

Review by VidProQuo on Sep 11, 2013 Version: 12 build 710 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Running Vegas since what became the Pro version was in beta, I think it's a pretty cool, pretty complete & capable NLE, with great multi-track audio features to boot. Most of the good stuff you can read in their ad copy &/or adverts... here's a little bit on what they don't tell you.

The big news is that this pro-level, cheaper [& 32 bit compatible] alternative to Adobe's Premiere Pro adds GPU acceleration with version 11. On the Plus side, that hardware assist works with ATI hardware [not just Nvidia like Prem. Pro] -- heading up the Minus column, with ATI graphics at least, that hardware assist may or may not work all that well, regardless whether you've got it turned on or off... with Build 594 [595 for the 64 bit version] Sony Creative Software seems to have gotten a lot [most?] of the bugs worked out, but as the release notes point out, they had to temporarily disable some of the ATI GPU assist features to do that. Depending on the video format I've had display issues on both the timeline & in the 2 video windows, along with some problems encoding -- while nowhere near as bad as the 1st build, with an ATI 6870 [the card Sony lists as their ATI reference] I still get occasional green frames displayed, & obviously if you can't see the video you can't edit it. Turning GPU assist on or off may help, or it may make the problem worse -- it's not something where turning off the feature puts things back to normal.

That said, HD video playback is much improved, & a lot of the FX [built-in &/or add-on] can use GPU acceleration to speed things up. The Mainconcept mpg2 encoder works much better than in version 10 [which I skipped because of that encoder], but not quite as well as in Vegas v. 9. The Sony AVC encoder is much improved, but still has weaknesses, I *think* because Sony needs it to work with the bundled DVDA authoring app. Encoding to Blu-Ray AVC is much faster -- it's fastest in the 64 bit version of Vegas, & slightly faster in win8 on top of that -- producing High level 4.0 video when you set the encoder to just under 22 Mbps or lower, where the encoded video will have a max bit rate of 22 Mbps. As you increase the bit rate setting between 22 & 25 Mbps, the level jumps 1st to 4.1, then 4.2, while the max pops up to 26 Mbps -- this also means DVDA will insist on re-encoding. With build 594/595 Sony has changed their Sony AVC encoder setup window -- you now have to select AVCHD if you want to set a 22+ Mbps bit rate.

DVD Architect [DVDA] is mostly unchanged from the version that shipped with Vegas 9, & in fact the only major change to DVDA since v. 4 [2/16/2007] has been the addition of Blu-Ray. As far as Blu-Ray goes DVDA works, but it won't do Java or pop-ups, it will only output to BD disc or ISO, will not accept DTS, & will not pass every Blu-Ray compliant video file without re-encoding -- as above it seems to be limited re: just what AVC video it will pass through without re-encoding. DVDA and Vegas are also a bit different when it comes to importing video, e.g. H264/AVC should be muxed to .m2ts [I use tsMuxeR] & mpg2 to .mpg [I use TMPGEnc mpeg tools] without the audio stream -- importing AVC or .m2v [mpeg2] into DVDA is possible, but it can take quite a while for DVDA to index the file, & then I've had problems later on in the project.


Review by mikiem on Mar 1, 2012 Version: 11 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




I skipped the 9 -> 10 upgrade last year because while Vegas 10 added some nice features, the bundled DVDA didn't, & the Vegas encoders were both broken & broke encoding in Vegas 9. Got an e-mail that everything was fixed, + there were new features, & the upgrade was on sale for 1 week, so after a backup gave it another try -- just restored the backup... No Thanks. AVC encoding is still slow, you can use common HD bit rates now, but quality doesn't seem any better than alternatives, many of which are faster. Mpeg2 smart rendering works like Womble in 9 [vbr etc.], while with 10d installed it looks like it re-renders every couple I frames or something. The 2 deal breakers are 1) down-sizing/re-sampling to DVD now adds shimmering &/or moire patterns, & 2) long delays when you put mpg2 on the timeline as Vegas 10d scans for embedded CC. Resampling was always a bit slow in Vegas, but it did a good job & let you use pulldown, so IMHO it was often worth it -- not with 10d. Putting audio on the timeline, Vegas has always had a delay as it built the waveforms that are displayed -- that delay is now 3 or 4x worse as 10d scans mppg2 for CC, & the only way I see to turn it off is to click cancel, which cancels building waveforms too. There may be other problems but that's as far as I went, since I don't see the value in paying $170 [even if it is on sale] to step backwards.

FWIW late last year after trying maybe a dozen alternatives, I spent a portion of the money I would have spent on the Vegas 10 upgrade, upgrading both Nero & Roxio suites... Vegas is the better editor, but Nero's getting closer, has better/faster [Blu-Ray compliant] AVC encoding, & multi-channel audio handling/encoding is surprisingly nice in the bundled audio app. Roxio 2011's encoders work for me now, & both resampling/re-sizing & encoding are extremely fast. Negatives are: when ATI GPU accel is on down-sizing is prone to the same shimmering & moire patterns as Vegas 10d, audio handling isn't great, DVD mpg2 isn't vbr, & creating new BD AVC profiles doesn't work for me. Neither Nero or Roxio will create DVD mpg2 with pull-down -- both output regular 29.976 fps -- but they will import/use more non-camera video formats than Vegas... I use both along with Vegas to make up for it's shortcomings.


Review by mikiem on May 12, 2011 Version: 10d OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Just want to say to the previous two posters that it does offer smart rendering for mpeg2 but In order to perform rendering without recompression, the width, height, frame rate, field order, profile, level, and bit rate of the source media, project settings, and rendering template must match.

I did this last night and found out you need a mpg with cbr bitrate as a input file and output with the same bitrate because it doesn't accept vbr which is why most people think it doesn't work.

If you want VBR and CBR smart rendering use Videoredo.


Review by dylz on Mar 28, 2011 Version: 9.0e OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




not cost effecitve for an app that does not offer smart rendering


Review by dessieclive on Oct 11, 2010 Version: 10.0a OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




There's no excuse for an app this expensive not being able to do smart rendering or direct stream copy cuts.

Review by mel2000 on Apr 21, 2009 Version: 9 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




I've been using Vegas ever since it existed. Especially became interested in it since nothing beats the User Interface and operability/reliable production quality of Sound Forge in audio, and at the time I was looking for a decent mixer for multiple audio-tracks, which Vegas offered. Since it derives from the same creators who seem to know exactly what a user wants with his/her mouse and work environment (namely those behind SoundForge), I was everything but disappointed when I used Vegas the first time. It surpassed all my expectations.

Then Vegas grew into a major video-editing suite, and I had to say goodbye to all of Adobe's competing software. Premiere is now in the shades of Vegas Pro 8. It's ugly, instable, slow and unintuitive (on a x64 Windows workstation), compared to Sony's Vegas.
At studios I had to work with Final Cut Pro (4, 5 and 6, which is almost the same as Adobe's Premiere, in my opinion) and EDIUS Pro v3 and 4 (as well as with Edius Neo), but none of them display the rock-stable performance and intuitive work-flow of Vegas. They just pale in comparison to any experienced Windows user. And I think that's just it: Sony Vegas understands Windows to a tee, its mouse-options, its hidden gems. Vegas is especially making use of what Windows is better at (I would say) than Apple Mac or Linux, and this is why it is so great to work with on a Windows XP x64 system. In fact, MicroSoft should embrace and thank Sony for this. Sony Vegas and SoundForge are what keep me happy to know and use Windows. The combination is just golden!

If I had to be critical about one detail, it would be that its Help texts are a bit superficial at times, they tend to miss in-depth explanations a user sometimes wants to know. (Premiere definitely beats Vegas in that area..) But then, I can understand Vegas' philosophy too; They stick to explaining just the Vegas options and details. If you want in-depth knowledge about something video-related, you can find it elsewhere (online).

The only real downside to this software is its price-range. I know FREE open source packages out there that are getting real close to Vegas in what they can accomplish, but they don't work well in the Windows environment, thus miss the speed and ease of use Vegas offers. Lowering their price to 3/4 of what it is now would make Vegas the absolute king in the field in no time.


Review by bayme on Mar 21, 2008 Version: 8.0b OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 10/10




I would like to echo many of the comments below...definitely the best NLE out there and by far the most stable, bug-free application that I ever had the pleasure to work with.

While some may decry that it's not worth the upgrade, Vegas 8 was a NEW purchase for me. As a new purcahse, it is DEFINITELY worth it. The power that Vegas gives you at your fingertips opens a world of possibilities.

The work flow in Vegas 8 is also fantastic and the flexibility of being able to import and export formats without the need for 3rd party software is a definite plus for me.


Review by maek on Nov 30, 2007 Version: 8.0a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Vegas is the best tool out there in my opinion. As far a ease of use... you can't expect to get powerful software who does tones of great stuff (according to individual's creativity levels) to also be very easy to use. Movie Studio would be closer to that, since it is the 'entry level' version of the editor.
I tried the latest version (8) but decided, like other already stated here, that it wasn't worth paying for the upgrade. I was looking forward to new titling features but again, after testing the pro titler... not much to jump up about... Also, it does not smart-render my mpeg files, HD files neither...
Still, at this point in time I wouldn't trade my Vegas Video+DVD package for no other nle! But I am really hoping for a 'proper' pro titler!


Review by uzi on Nov 21, 2007 Version: 7e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I use Vegas 6 Pro, (the current ver. is Pro 8). I bought because the DVDs can be copy protected when burned, to some degree. But I found Vegas to be difficult to learn. I had to buy a book and a video learning DVD. I knew what I wanted to do I just didn't know where/how it was to start it. Like editing text titles in DVD Architect, I'm use to double click the text box and an insert text marker opens for text but not in Vegas, you go to a drop down box and select 'text edit'. So that is what the learn curve is about. If I knew someone to show me it would be faster and easier to learn. One of the easiest parts of Vegas is cutting (split) and deleting clips. It's right there in front, easy to find in help,etc. But Vegas is a very powerful video editing software. The audio and video tracks are on separate time line so you can edit or delete one or the other, or both. There are a lot of individual choices to choose for editing & burning in Vegas, what makes it powerful and complex. I will use it from now on.

The easiest Video editing software I found to use and learn, which I do not hear much about, is PowerDirector 'Suite' by Cyberlink. It is very easy to use to makes a complete DVD movie. There are many 'transitions' templates to pick from, for using between clips. And many action/motion 'title' templates to use also. I'd say if you never made a DVD movie before, if you get Power Director Suite (ver5 or 6), you would have a short DVD movie made the same day. (You may have to try several time). What i found best, is to burn/render the DVD file to your 'hard drive' first, rather than burn/render your complete MPEG-2 clips directly to DVD disk. Then you can use the same software or other (like Nero) to 'Burn DVD-Video File'.
---HOW TO:
Make/EDIT MPEG-2 clips .... Render/Produce (1hr.mpg=5hr rendered-in sony) to final completed MPEG-2 movie (.mpg) .... Burn/make-DVD to a (DVD) folder on computer hard drive .... (then) Burn your DVD folders from HD to DVD disks ..... = Movie in DVD formatted disk...
---just-- MiOpinion



Review by MiOpinion on Nov 20, 2007 Version: Vegas 6d OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




If you have version 7 and it works for you, check forum at sonycreativesoftware.com to help decide if new features are worth the $ & effort...

32 bit processing only works with some filters, alters some video color.

New Bezier curve mask tools not the best.

3D compositing is good but nowhere near AE or Boris. Same with new titling.

Still a great app -- don't get me wrong -- but probably not the jump forward 7 was.


Review by mikiem on Sep 12, 2007 Version: 8 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Combined with Cinescore and DVD Architect it is by far the easiest and best editing/authoring package available. Tried Adobe, Pinnacle, Edius Pro and dumped them all - not nearly as stable as the Sony package.
As someone mentioned earlier other packages are just toys for beginners. The only other soft that can actually outperform Vegas is Edius Pro, but very resource hungry and pricey - need at least a 10GHz CPU and about 1000Gb RAM! :)


Review by NoRulez on Sep 9, 2007 Version: 7e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I just upgraded my Vegas 3 to the latest, 7+DVD. I'm gonna say the same thing - best NLE out there!! I find it hard to work with Borris (limitted edition - A LOT of limitations!!)), which comes bundled with Vegas. But that's Borris, so I'm tnot too bothered. vegas does for me almost all I want and am sure the next updates will do all I want. But really, if you want to experience it's potential, you have got to give it a try. I started using vegas in 2001, in the mean time i tried other high rated products and decided non of the others offered the stabiity vegas did.

Review by uzi on Sep 20, 2006 Version: 7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




A friend of mine turned me on to Sony Vegas

within 2 or 3 hours I was on my way to video editing ... all the things I wanted to do came easily .. other things I had to ask my friend but he gave me help over msn and thats all I needed

by contrast another friend of mine asked me to cut a bad portion off a short film, but all he had installed was Adobe Premier ... Knowing only how to edit with vegas and not being any kind of video expert - I gave premier a try (vegas was easy to learn, how hard could this be?) - After 45 minutes of playing around I still had no idea how to simply cut the vid ..

The only other program he had was MS movie maker (another program I had never used) - after 45 minutes I gave up on Premier - after 55 minutes he asked me if I figured it out yet - I said yea Its almost done rendering (in MovieMaker) ... it took me about 30 seconds to figure out and the rest was just rendering

If you want an excellent program that doesnt' require a bible or taking a 'course' to learn to use - go with Vegas.


Review by WedgeX on Jul 4, 2006 Version: Vegas 6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Best NLE out there. You have to try it to believe it though, also, if you are a newbee though, you will need a bit of time to get used to it. After that, the only 'barrier' is your own imagination. Vegas gives you the wings, all you need is to learn how to fly.
None of the other advanced editors I tried gave me the stability Vegas did. I sm using an older version, I can't aford the latest for now, but have tried the latest and it's very, very good stuff.
Sony offered very good support in short time.
Look forward to future developments.


Review by uzi on Jun 19, 2006 Version: 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After trying so many tools (Studio/Adobe Premier Elements/Pinnacle Liquid/MediaStudio Pro), I finally gave Vegas 6.0 a try. I was initially put off by its storyboard style video editing. However, I later decided to give it one more shot and never turned back again. It has been the most stable NLE so far and has never crashed on me. Paired with DVD Architect, its a complete package.

Two Major Cons:
Vegas: A infrequent problem. After editing, the preview in Vegas shows perfect Audio/Video sync, but when the whole project is rendered, the audio is way off. I still haven't figured out the reason.

DVD Architect: Different clips cannot be put in the same timeline as a single title. It treats every video clip as a seperate title. You can set one clip to jump to the other, but it can introduce a slight delay. Requires a good mpeg cutter/joiner (I use VideoRedo Plus which is the only output DVD Architect accepts) if you wish to make spot changes to a pre-rendered video.


Review by vvume on Jan 8, 2006 Version: 6.0c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Great video editor. I've tried Ulead MS 8, Adobe Premiere, Pinnacle Studio 9, but Vegas is the best.

What I like most is that that it does not freezes during editing (not a second). For examle when you press play button it starts playing immediatly ( other editors like Ulead or Pinnacle freezes for a second). I can also scroll in timeline while playing the video (which is not possible in Ulead).

What I dislike is that it does not save DV AVI Datecode in Rendered AVI, but at least I found way to extract chapter points for using in 3d-party tools like DVDLab Pro: Vegas allows you to save EDL Text file. So i wrote a small app which extracts Chapter points based on EDL Text file.

I highly recommend this editor.


Review by ufo95 on Nov 15, 2005 Version: 6c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using this program for over a year now. I tried to use Premere Pro before this, but found it dull and cold and hard to learn.

Vegas is a faster start, and more user friendly. I am sure the Adobe program produces results just as good as Vegas 5. But I wanted to get going quickly, and Vegas is the answer.

It is amazing what Vegas 5 (or 6) can do for any price. I have yet to learn all the functions of this sw, but for what I have done so far, the finished DVDs look stunning. DVD-A which is the authoring software included is also highly regarded.

If you are on the fence and not sure what to get, this is a great investment, don't worry, get it, you will not regret it.

I started out using Pinnacle Studio 8. A cute toy for beginners, but Vegas is for big boys and girls. Love it!


Review by hiptune on Aug 10, 2005 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This software has to be the ultimate in low cost, professional video editing. You can create video that is easily comparable with any professionally made video....I recently created a 50 minute video of a corporate event I filmed and was blown away by the standing ovation I received. All thanks to Sony Vegas. You would need to spend thousands on professional video editing software that would be comparable.

Any advanced video editing software is relatively complicated....there is no magic wand software that will create amazing video. Having said that, Sony Vegas is logical. Once you understand the basics, getting to understand and use the full functionality of Vegas just takes a bit of experimentation. But the results can be outstanding. It's the best software for audio editing too. At £500.00 odd, this is a steal!!!

Sony Vegas is the best consumer market video software out there and one of the best things I ever did was invest in this. Fantastic.



Review by carrspaints on Jun 26, 2005 Version: 6b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's user interface and workflow are unsurpassed in my opinion, assembling a movie is way easier than in other programs. Thus, it's very stable and "just works".
The real-time preview is a great addition and makes editing actually fun. Unfortunatly there aren't many 3rd party plugins available, but I hope this'll change in the future.
Another plus is the audio engine, you can't find that elsewhere.
Two negative points: I think rendering is a bit slow, and it doesn't open avisynth streams.
Overall, it's professional and fun, a rare combination!


Review by misterice on Apr 20, 2005 Version: 5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Some months ago I was still having problems choosing between Vegas and Adobe. I decided to go with Vegas and am very very happy with it (it DOES NOT CRASH!!!!), however I was still thinking Adobe might be better. So I tested it as well, and I am ever so happy I didnt spend my money on it... Vegas does the job!!!. Obviously the effects and transisions are (more or less) the same no matter what NLE u use, but crashing seems to be a general problem with most of NLE's. Vegas will not do that (if you're using a decent machine). Just try it!! I've been using the trial version, am actually using Movie Studio for now, but as soon as I can aford Vegas, I'll get it.

Review by uzi on Mar 11, 2005 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




What Vegas 5 can do - Adobe can't even see in it's wet dreams. Period.

Review by nick113 on Jan 12, 2005 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sony Pictures Digital applications installs the MainConcept MPEG-2 Directshow decoder to allow preview and playback of MPEG-2 video in video playback applications. If you encounter problems playing back MPEG video in Powerpoint after installing the MainConcept, do the following:
Do a search (Start-->Search-->For Files or Folders) for "mcdsmpeg.ax" and "mcspmpeg.ax".
Rename those files to "mcdsmpeg.ax.hide" and "mcspmpeg.ax.hide"
(Rename them back to the original name if you run into other trouble)
That should fix the problems...


Review by BBTV on Jul 25, 2004 Version: 5.0b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have tried a lot of NLE's to find the best and this is the only one that doen't give me headache. I find it the most stable and it do the work without any hickups every time.
In company with DVD Architect it's a superb suite for DVD production.


Review by sb on Jul 8, 2004 Version: 5b OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




i love Vegas. It's the only NLE I can use that doesn't give me a headache. It's also got an excellent real time preview. I've used it since version 3 to edit various short films, weddings, and anything else I've decided to shoot. You should all give it a shot. AVID and Premiere both gave me a hard time and are pretty unstable. They've also got a stupid GUI...it's an NLE, not a painting. Vegas is just that, an NLE. It doesn't look pretty. It looks like software, and it runs perfectly.

Review by hexxisoft on May 12, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Good piece of software for home enthusiasts. If you wanna go beyond, stay away.
You can edit and add some basic transitions and filters, but that´s about it.
For pro editing and image processing, consider Premiere Pro, Avid or Combustion 3.


Review by Haznut on May 11, 2004 Version: 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 6/10




Absolutely the best editor I've tried. I've spent hours learning Premiere Pro only to find it unstable. After only a few minutes, I was comfortable in Vegas. This editor is extremely stable. I cannot seem to crash it. I will never look to Adobe again. I just hope that Sony keeps up the quality in Vegas. The only downfall is the third party support , but that will come in time. I still can't believe how fast and smooth the non-rendered previews are....

Thankyou Sonicfoundry!


Review by schematic2 on Apr 13, 2004 Version: 4.e OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Amplifying on original post, have seen enough reports of compatibility prob caused by mainconcept encoder files I wanted to include a couple of links so you can judge for yourself.

This one a reply by SOFO tech re: prob. with powerpoint no longer importing/playing video: http://www.sonicfoundry.com/forums/ShowMessage.asp?MessageID=190462&Page=1

The FAQ page here lists compatibility problems with mainconcept in general: http://www.nwlink.com/~zachd/

Search the SOFO site Vegas Video forum for other complaints. In personal experience, causes a direct conflict with Ligos codec as installed by Roxio, Magix, older Ulead. Conflicts with same named Mainconcept files installed with Adobe Prem. All caused mpg2 open/play prob in other prog as well as windows.

Still think Vegas is Great, but realistically wanted to warn potential users so it doesn't get a bad rep... If these compatibility prob. are a potential prob for you, do the trial first, & back up your registry before install! I've read several reports of folks having to reinstall windows (particularly XP) in order to get things back to normal - even after uninstalling Vegas.

Also please check the SOFO site for capture compatibility. The capture app included as part of Vegas is designed for DV capture over firewire, & some firewire cards will not work. While analog capture is possible it's not recomended by SOFO techs. You can't select a codec so capture is uncompressed. With 2 or 4 gig file splitting not available either, IMO analog capture is unuseable.


Review by mikiem on Jun 14, 2003 Version: 4c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No NLE editing program except AVID deserves 10 in my opinion
This program is rock steady like AVID tho', unlike PREMIERE..
the only other NLE editor than can hold a candle to AVID.
Other than missing buttons like MARK IN and MARK OUT, VEGAS has other features that make it unwieldy for those familiar with EDITING in front of a client in an EDIT SUITE.
THAT IS you can get done everything you need to do with this ROCK STEADY-fully capable piece of software- you just may
end up cutting the AUDIO FIRST! (a small dig at the fact that the program eveolved from an audio tool upwards, and it shows...)


Review by dcsos on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 4.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Resolution independent, able to import any format and export to almost any format.

Supports 24p editing and High Def. editing.

Many add-in's and plug-ins, including the all virtual-dub filters. Boris Red and other programs have now or soon direct plug-ins.

Can frame serve in and out.

The main Concept encoder is one of the fastest and certainly one of the most stable encoders - since it adds no dll's to your system is has a record of NO conflects with other software.

Able to output Qt and WMV 9 as well as almost any other format including divx and xvid.

Low priced ac3 and dvd basic authoring package (could be better), includes AC3 EX.

Only software NLE to have real time preview.

Ability to capture anaog and digital with more hardware support comming - with use a DV transcoder any format is capture friendly.

Very precise and fast resize and cropping plus 100's of effects included - excellent speed change and has supersampling to improve increase in size to much larger sizes.

Unlimited audio tracks (and video layers)with field accuracy adjustment for sync.

Professional Digital Video and Audio Production
Vegas® 4.0 is the professional choice for video editing, audio production, compositing, titling and advanced encoding on the PC platform. With its sleek, intuitive interface and powerful video and audio production tools, Vegas provides a complete and integrated solution for digital video, audio recording, editing and mixing, streaming content creation, and surround sound production.
Vegas 4.0 sets a new standard for professional multimedia production. Apply high-quality transitions, filters, credit rolls and text animations; create sophisticated composites, keyframe track motion and pan/crop, all with unlimited tracks and unsurpassed flexibility. Vegas 4.0 provides real-time previewing of effects and transitions from the timeline without needing to render. Perform advanced color correction and scene matching using 3-wheel primary as well as secondary color correction filters. Precisely view video levels using new video scopes including Waveform, Vectorscope, Parade, and Histogram monitors. Vegas 4.0 now supports HD editing and rendering along with native support for the Panasonic AG-DVX100 24p DV camera.

Vegas 4.0 also provides the ultimate in audio flexibility, including unlimited tracks, 24-bit/96kHz audio support, record input monitoring, effects automation, time compress/expand, and much more. Vegas 4.0 ships with over 30 studio-quality real-time DirectX® effects including, EQ, reverb, noise gate, time compress/expand and delay. Vegas 4.0 is ideal for digital video production, TV soundtracks, web content creation, radio and broadcast, and mixing 5.1 surround soundtracks.





Review by BJ_M on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 4.0c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




GOOD: Very intuitive. Very fast (realtime) for many effects, fades etc. Excellent mpg1/2 & DV encoders. Excellent handling of audio, including realtime stretching/time compressing without pitch change. Handles 5.1 audio, including createing psuedo 5.1 from stereo. Edits DiVX & wmv files. Includes many FX/Filters including color correction tools. Great support and user community.

Not so Good: Program is slow when it has to resample video, for resize etc. Outputs 5.1 audio as 6 mono files or wmv - need expensive plugin for AC3. Mpg1/2 encoder from Mainconcept has conflict problems with other software and windows. Text handling & rendered qual not as good as some others. Not many plugins avail. Can have prob. importing/editing/rendering from many mpg2 files depending on encoding. No analog capture. As recently bought by Sony, future availability &/or updates questioned by some.


Review by mikiem on Jun 12, 2003 Version: 4c OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com