Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for PocketDivXEncoder

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


I used this to shrink from a 1 gig AVI to a 700 MB avi. Worked great!

Review by acid_burn on Mar 18, 2008 Version: 3.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just a note that you must go to the authors site to download verison 3.96 (supports Windows Vista).

Review by JoeCHecht on Oct 30, 2007 Version: 3.96 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just downloaded this a few days ago so I could encode video for my Palm TX. Works like a charm!! Unfortunately it does not run on Vista (which is my fastest computer at the moment) but runs great on Windows XP SP2. As I write this I realize I haven't actually put any of the encoded clips on my Palm TX, but they play back on my desktop computer justs as well as the files I've encoded with Handbrake...so I assume they will work on the Palm. So far PocketDivXEncoder has accepted all the source files I've given it. H.264 QuickTimes, MJPEG AVI straight from digital still camera, Multiplexed MPEG2 files. So far so good. It's great because it's basic enough for a one click conversion, yet has some 'advanced' settings for more fine tuning.

Review by mamapajama on Oct 29, 2007 Version: 0.3.60 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a superb piece of Software.
I wanted to convert Mpeg2 footage derived from a Technisat DVB-T card via DS.JAR to DIVX for a Toshiba D-R255SG.
I tried four other pieces of well known software which either crashed or produced footage that was completely out of sync.
Once I had worked out that Pocket Divx does not use the official DIVX codec and that I had to select XVID, I had no problems at all.
Pocket Divx produces very good Home Cinema footage which is perfectly in sync.
Highly recommended.


Review by dvart on Aug 4, 2006 Version: 0.3.60 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




PocketDivXEncoder is in my experience a major addiction to the available arsenal of digital videoamateurs.

Early in its development i had the chance to address the Author some suggestions (mainly in the area of embeddding subtitles, many of which, he, a french young gentleman,
took kind and attentive notice and came to meet and/or even overtake later on.

Since its begining, PocketDivXEncoder was a unic example of a hands-on piece of software, following the footprints of such few (sadly) others like VirtualDub,and it is now achieving a perilous status of 'nec plus ultra' i.e.: there is
no other competitor, in the same league.

And these are my 2 cents...

HNEVES


Review by henriQ on Jan 17, 2006 Version: 8.01 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Avis encoded with default settings of PC,PocketPC and Pocket PC VGA profiles(512x384,320x240 and 640x480 resolutions)play perfectly through my Philips DVP 642. Have encoded clips from both PAL and NTSC DVDs. The autocropping is accurate(the pc seems to hang for while while doing that-don't worry)and the encoding speed is almost supersonic-it is much faster than the latest encoding tool from divx.
Resolutions and kbps are adjustable, two pass encoding is available.
Superb tool for using when in a hurry you want very good quality encoding.


Review by mgh on Jun 30, 2005 Version: 3.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This converter is wicked. In a matter of seconds I had it downloaded and had converted a music vid. Perfecto.
There's not even an install (it runs straight from a single executable file and I love tools like that)
Rinse this to the max. I haven't tried out all the features, but I saw options for just about every handheld device, even Archos players!


Review by gigajosh on May 19, 2005 Version: 0.3.50 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




GOD DAMN !!! - A rare piece of video software
conversion that WORKS.

And its FREE.


Review by tabbas on May 10, 2005 Version: 3.50 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great program. Coded my avi files for my rca 2780 and they all work with the sound in sync and good quality picture and you can't beat the price. Also, tried various video settings, 720/480, 640/480, 352/240; all worked well.

Review by two2tango on May 9, 2005 Version: 0.3.50 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wonderful front end to Virtual Dub, nice button layout, very easy to use. However, none of the videos I transcoded with it work with my Archos Multimedia Jukebox 20. I used the assigned template and every time it produced a video that would not play. Even after adjusting the settings to conform with MPEG4 simple profile, it still did NOT WORK. So, I give it low marks for failing to do what it promised.

Review by patrick80639 on May 3, 2005 Version: 0.3.50 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Does a good job of converting MPEG's to Divx/Xvid that play very nicely on a Palm TT|3 using MMplayer (also works well with a T2). Just watch the bitrate setting (using the quality slider which pops up the actual encoding bitrate when you hover over it).

Review by Airr on Sep 13, 2004 Version: v0.3.50 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com