Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for MovieRescuer

8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


This doesn't appear to work anymore as of 2022-04-03.

Review by scarecroe on Apr 3, 2022 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I tried BD "Love Story" that I just bought, it works successfully.
I got a single of .m2ts file for 26.4g just like the original.
Thanks,


Review by Sathia on Oct 28, 2020 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Barebones ripper. Worked great recently for a 2019 blu-ray, but kept getting "Aacs key download error" with 2020 blu-ray. Still worth trying when the free key for MakeMKV isn't posted.

Review by spiritgumm on Jul 12, 2020 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Rating by lalle on Jun 29, 2018 Version: 1.0.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is very nice tool. It work perfect just what I need.
Thanks MovieRescuer!


Review by sathia on Sep 22, 2014 Version: 1.0.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just discovered this tool last week. I have been using MakeMKV, but I have been having issues with HD audio freezing my player (Sony BDP-S3100). Also, even though the MKV files contained the caption tracks they would not display when selected.

Using this tool is extremely simple. I would appreciate the ability to deselect audio or caption tracks that I don't need. This would reduce the file size slightly.

If no one noticed, you can rename the exported file by clicking the name and making the change before beginning the rip.

Keeping the video in M2TS format is great for me, as that's what my players need to keep full functionality with the multiple audio and caption tracks. Video quality is excellent.

My only concern (other than what's noted above) is performance. Compared to MakeMKV, which also can rip a Blu-Ray, it is very slow. I ripped all 6 Star Wars BD discs, and each one took over 3 hours. MakeMKV would rip the same movies in less than 30 minutes. This is on a computer running Windows 7 Ultimate, quad core CPU and 8 gig of ram, with nothing but Serviio and Plex services running. Any improvements made here would be greatly appreciated!


Review by atc98092 on Sep 3, 2014 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thank you so so much for the reviews and test. We do appreciate them. And some of them are really very important to us. Here are some clarifications to some misunderstandings. Please feel free to let us know if you have any suggestions or questions. We are open to any of the feedback. :)

1. Uses in-program advertising. ADWARE ALERT! The installation contains adware like browser toolbar addons, new start homepage, software suggestions.
---The software recommends some hot movies inside. While clicking on it, the system default browser will be popup with the movie page. This is all base on users click. And it doesn't install anything else to users computer, no addons or software suggestions.

2. Answers to Post #1 by fritzi93
I do appreciate your time-taking test and feedback. Some of the feedback is very important to us to improve MovieRescuer. But there might be some misunderstandings there.

A. The reason why this program outputs M2TS or VOB is to 100% keeping the original quality and digital format from Blu-ray and DVD. It shows no difference while playing on VLC or MPC-BE players.

B. The reason why only one title is selected after loading to the program is that MovieRescuer already help you detect and select the main title with the main movie. The other titles are mostly irrelevant interviews or ads.

C. Why doesn't MovieRescuer copy the full Blu-ray or folder? It's mostly 39GB or more with many useless files and folders. The main movies are mostly only 10GB or so. MovieRescuer is to help you save exactly the main movie without useless files and folders with original digital format and quality. And the multi-subtitles and multi audio tracks are also copied which you can select while watching in a player like VLC (by clicking Video Menu).
D. MovieRescuer doesn't work for Harry Potter? Would you mind telling me the exact version of Harry Potter? An Amazon purchase link will be greatly appreciated. We tested with both Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows part 2 and Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. They both work for us.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/f3vxtmnz4nrwq57/HARRY-POTTER-DEATH-HALLOW2.jpg

E. Why is the file so large? As mentioned above, MovieRescuer is to keep original quality. The generated file will be the same with the original main Movie. MovieRescuer already help you ignore all irrelevant files and folders from the whole disc.

F. Why it take so long to copy a movie? It will depend on your computer environment and optical drive. To get the movie copied faster, it's highly recommended to close all other programs on your computer.

G. Regarding the Hero issue, would you send us an Amazon URL to purchase the disc? We tested dozens of latest discs but never met with the 31GB file issue. We do appreciate you feedback,fritzi93. :)
Again, thank you very much for all your time and effort to help us optimize the software. We do appreciate it. And please feel free to let us know if you have any idea of making MovieRescuer better.
We are new, but we never lacks of energy to become the best. :)


Review by BobTheDeveloper on Apr 10, 2014 Version: 1.0.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tested 2 Blu-Rays: the last Harry Potter movie, and Hero (Jet Li).

IIRC, AnyDVDHD, DVDFab and DVDFabPasskey had to be updated for Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows 2, and was mentioned specifically in the changelogs. So that test was meant to be tough.

Harry Potter caused MovieRescuer to bomb out after a few minutes. I can't say I was surprised. It left a file on my hard drive of supposedly 22.6 GB, which is of course impossible. Nevertheless, I tried playing it with MPC-BE and it stopped after a few frames. MPC-BE displayed a total runtime of 00.00.00.

Hero, OTOH, completed successfully after 1 hour 35 minutes, with an output file of 31.3 GB. That took twice as long as any rip I can remember.

Output is m2ts. Really now, how tough would it be to have the program remux it to MKV or BD folder with CHAPTERS instead? The program need an update so you can output to something other than m2ts.

I don't see how this program could be any simpler. It scans your optical drive and presents you with a titleset list, longest one on top and selected automatically. Your only option once you accept the selection (or de-select and select another titleset) is to hit the "Directly Copy" button. That's it.

Okay, so it's free and it works (for some discs), so perhaps one shouldn't be too critical. Personally, I see no advantage to this program when one could just use the free part of DVDFab or DVDFabPasskey after the trial expires.


Review by fritzi93 on Apr 8, 2014 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com