Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for WinFF

45 reviews, Showing 1 to 45 reviews


Great converter for video quality.

Review by Thanh on Jul 25, 2020 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Joe Rod on Jul 6, 2020 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Love this software for years, recommand it to my friends.

BUT

There's no MacOS version, lots of my friends have a mac... please Mac Version !!


Review by adam0509 on Feb 13, 2019 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Beejay on Jan 2, 2019 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by abe on Sep 25, 2018 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by TeamYOU on Mar 4, 2018 Version: 1.5.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




WinFF is a fantastic tool. I've used it for years for various encoding projects.

I wanted to add this note as it might be useful for those using 1.5.4 portable edition.

I came across an issue where Preferences were not saved.

The Preference settings are stored in cfg.xml file in the \User\Winff path. I tried to edit the file manually and still, the settings remained unchanged. Specifically the default destination folder and "remember last used directory" values. I eventually discovered something in the X-Winff.ini file. It contains instructions that look to replace any changed values:

[StringRegExpReplace=@AppDataDir@\$AppName$\cfg.xml]
|0=(destfolder=")[^\r\n\"]+(")$1{%output%}$2
|0=(ffmpeg=")[^\r\n\"]+(")$1{$ExeDir$}\\ffmpeg.exe$2
|0=(ffplay=")[^\r\n\"]+(")$1{$ExeDir$}\\ffplay.exe$2
|0=(rememberlast=")[^\r\n\"]+(")$1false$2
|0=(addfilesfolder=")[^\r\n\"]+(")$1{%output%}\\$2

By removing this segment of the file, any changes in preferences remain saved. Just open the ini file, select this section, delete and save the file.

Hopefully this is useful for anyone who has this issue.


Review by MaxH on Feb 8, 2018 Version: 1.5.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've always found this an excellent front end for ffmpeg. It's very easy to customize, modify or build presets allowing for batch encoding and simplifying command line modifications.

It's also easy enough to swap out different ffmpeg versions-- say "normal" ffmpeg and ffmbc to gain specific functionality. Though one should be aware that, given the ever changing nature of ffmpeg, the presets are optimized for the included version


Review by smrpix on Apr 2, 2014 Version: 1.5.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Reduced a 1.76 Gb .mov to a 475 Mb .avi with no big issues. It did alter the aspect ratio slightly but it plays well with my small memory vid card. Straight out of the box, as well. I didn't delve into any other settings. I don't know all there is to know about video construction and I realize it may not work well for others I'd like to resize smaller. Thanks

Review by RagerToo on Apr 2, 2014 Version: 1.5.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Doesn't work. Crashes straight off the bat on an mkv file.

Review by blud7 on Feb 11, 2013 Version: 1.50 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 1/10




Tried winff (newest build) on an mp4. It crashed. Tried newest handbrake build, using ffmpeg rather than x264 to encode, on the same file. It worked perfectly.

Hmmm ... definitely not good.

On grounds of functionality or ease of use I just can't find a single reason to use this over avidemux or handbrake or a number of others.


Review by Hoser Rob on Jul 31, 2012 Version: 1.4.2 OS: Linux Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




Nice program. Interface is pretty good. Very good output. Doesn't dump flaky codecs into Windows, though I'd expect that from a Linux port.

It's not technically compatible with win7 ... apparently it's written in an open source pascal that's not available yet ... but I haven't had any problems.

While it looks easier than some, I find you still have to know something about formats. It's no Handbrake (or vidcoder) in that respect.

It's still pretty powerful. I'd recommend it.

But I've basically been using either Handbrake / Vidcoder or avidemux to convert. To me this is more of an avidemux alternative. I don't think winff is really resolved enough to make me stop using avidemux.


Review by Hoser Rob on Mar 14, 2012 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Ok, I found the trouble with the preset editing not working: the program saves the modified presets to an XML file in the %PROGRAMFILES%\WinFF folder, but the program actually reads from a separate XML in the (for me) %APPDATA%\Roaming\WinFF folder, so it can't find the updated XML file as it's in the wrong place and consequently the added/edited presets don't work -

this is is whats commonly known as a bug -


Review by Chug a Bug on Jan 29, 2012 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




GUI is a bit clunky with no word wrap, if you have a long filename it disappears off the edge of the window and you can't view it or it's extention -

It comes with a pre-programmed set of presets but not anything I want to use - it claims to be able to edit presets but the function simply doesn't work on my PC.. so it's useless for me.

Has potential but not enough flexibility. I use AVANTI instead for more control over parameters, although thats far from perfect either. If I knew how to program I'd write my own GUI...


Review by Chug a Bug on Jan 28, 2012 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Works just fine in my win 7, 64 bit machine.

Review by pepegot1 on Dec 18, 2011 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent tool - works fine under Windows XP...
FFMPEG documentation is all over the internet so with some work you can tune WinFF to do exactly what you need.
I would highly recommend this tool for easy conversions (with default profiles)...
FFMPEG is very powerful but as above, you will need to RTFM to make full use of it !


Review by steve walsh on Feb 24, 2011 Version: 1.3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




WinFF.. SORY BUT THIS TOOL IS NOT WORK IN WINDOWS XP AND YOU CAN'T FIND ANY HELP ABOUT. THIS IS VERY BAD BECAUSE FFMPEG IS THE BEST CLI APP :(

Review by EasyRider_ on Feb 20, 2011 Version: ALL OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




What a brilliant piece of sw! It converted all of my MOV files corrupted by NERO into viewable AVI video clips viewable under Media player. V grateful to all involved in development of tool.

Review by bert ronce on Aug 16, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well you go ahead and laugh, but maybe you should blame whoever set up the ratings system here in the first place. To have a "value for money" option on (what is mostly) free software around here is pretty ridiculous. That being said, I'll use it to post something negative about a piece of software that I find to be pretty lacking as it currently is.

Now do you have any constructive solutions to offer here? WinFF has some potential. I'd be perfectly happy to give it another chance in spite of your silly fanboy ravings.


Review by b8375629 on Jul 21, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 2/10




I think this is a great tool. I've never had a problem with it. Now to the reviewer below me, people come here and read the reviews on software to get a good idea of what they think the software will be like and if its a good fit for them. So I would have to say your review of 4 of 10 for Value is a little misplaced, umm because its free!! So yeah this doesn't seem to be free enough for me, I'm going to give it a 4. Hmm. Makes me laugh.

Review by Racem22 on Jul 21, 2010 Version: 1.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I gave him about 6 weeks. Why? Is that not long enough? How long does it take? /;^(

I think I reported some legitimate issues. If you have any constructive solutions to any of them, I'd be glad to hear 'em.


Review by b8375629 on Jul 19, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 2/10




To the previous reviewer, you are freaking nuts. This is a great tool that works for me. How long did you give the developer to respond to your issues? He's always been very quick to respond in my case. Remember that it is summer time, and I'm sure he has a life, so cut the guy some slack. We should be so lucky that someone gives of their time, and all of this for "FREE".

Review by louv68 on Jul 18, 2010 Version: 1.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool isn't very good and support for it is lacking, at best.

- For one thing, just to convert a simple .avi to an MPEG-4 takes hours.

- The auto shutdown doesn't work. I left it ticked in the menu and when I came back a few hours later, my machine was still on after the encoding process had completed.

- Try inserting an .srt file into the advanced command line so it will be embedded in the finished product. I had no clue how to do it and when I went to the guy's forum for help, he wasn't around. A simple path directing it to where the .srt located in it's file folder would do. As it is, there's no guide out there on how to do it.

- How about a progress bar or an timer letting us know how long it's going to take.

Hey it's free, so I shouldn't expect much, huh? Well you get what you pay for which in this case, is close to zero


Review by b8375629 on Jul 18, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 2/10




Easy to use and the author did all of the hard word to figure out the multitude of ffmpeg switches for file conversion.

Review by Soopafresh on Jan 27, 2010 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I figured out how to do it. I created two new presets similar to each other excep one crops by 100 and the other by 250. I post here if someone else needs it:

-f avi -r 25 -vcodec libxvid -vtag XVID -cropleft 100 -cropright 100 -s 704x384 -aspect 1.83 -maxrate 1800kb -b 1500kb -qmin 3 -qmax 5 -bufsize 4096 -mbd 2 -bf 2 -flags +4mv -trellis -aic -cmp 2 -subcmp 2 -g 300 -acodec libmp3lame -ar 48000 -ab 128kb -ac 2


Review by ben123 on Jun 2, 2009 Version: 1.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Hello,

First thank you very much for sharing this tool. Like everyone else I am amazed with the speed and quality of your tool. I have been using this for past few days and very pleased with it.

I am also posting this to get some help from you please. I often record free to air TV and sometimes the movies are broadcast as 4x3 where I see to black bars on the left and right of the screen. Now, I would like to get rid of these bars and have the movie converted to avi where it covers the full screen. I have tried your AVI-Full screen presettings and it doesn't seem to work. I used Handbrake by setting the resolution to 1920x1080 and crop to t=4,b=8,l=456,r=456 and it does it successfully. However, I am really keen to get it going with WinFF as I want to do all of my conversions with WinFF. I have tried to add the following to the preset: -croptop 4 -cropbottom 8 -cropleft 456 -cropright 456
and changed the resolution and aspect ration to 1920x1080 and 1.76 but no luck. Could you please help me get this going. I am not really good with FFMpeg or video editing concepts.

Thank you very much.
Ben.


Review by ben123 on Jun 1, 2009 Version: 1.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Apropos my earlier post... About 10 minutes after making a generally complimentary post, I discovered that the one criticism I had of this product was in error. I tried to post a correction, unfortunately, this website would not allow me to post the correction for 24 hours. So here it is, along with some more details on editing presets:

In fact WinFF provides the ability to fine-tune the conversion profiles and save different variations of the defaults under custom names (very helpful). However, that feature is separate from the 'Additional Options' tabbed dialog, which at first glance appears to be the place to go in order to fine-tune the conversion presets. Intuitively, I would have expected an 'edit' or 'advanced' settings tab in that same context. Eventually I found this feature under a generic 'Edit' menu, which is perfectly okay with me.

However, it is confusing to see (for example) a blank box for 'Video Bitrate' when the selected preset has already provided a '-b' command line value for that parameter. Even more confusing, a blank input field for 'Additional Command Line Parameters' without showing the current command line. I tried entering an alternative setting into this field, and it was appended, rather than replacing the original value. So when I looked at the command line preview, it appeared at first glance to have ignored my modification.

WinFF is a very useful program, and given the complexity of ffmpeg, it would be quite a bit of additional work to try and provide input fields for all the possible variations. There is an option 'Display CMD Line' which purportedly shows the final ffmpeg command line, but for some reason, it wouldn't allow me to actually approve the command line and launch the conversion process. I had to hit OK, then go back and turn off the 'Display CMD Line' option, then hit 'Convert' again. So maybe a more accurate designation would be: 'Preview CMD Line'. One easy way to improve that situation might be to simply allow the user to edit the command line en-passante as part of that step, and provide 'CONVERT' and 'CANCEL' options as the exit options for the dialog.

Bottom line, all my prior '7' ratings are now '8'. This is a very helpful front end to a very valuable conversion program (ffmpeg).


Review by cosmotopper on Apr 7, 2009 Version: 0.45 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




cosmotopper, try reading the documentation's that are included, guides that are available, ffmpeg.org documentation, and also not using an old version. You will find that there atleast 2 simple ways of viewing the command lines and 2 ways to modify it.

Review by citanool on Apr 5, 2009 Version: 1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A good working GUI front end for FFMPEG, as long as you choose the most generic options. The program provides a way to modify the presets, but provides no visibility of what the original presets are. Also provides a means of adding things to the command line, but once again, if you don't know what the default command line looks like, it's hard to know how any additions you might make would affect it. They do have an option to preview a command line queue of some kind, but no way (apparently) to intercept and modify the batch file that actually does the work. All the action takes place in a command window, which is fine. It's a very useful utility if you just need to do some basic conversions and don't want to have to learn FFMPEG.

Review by cosmotopper on Apr 5, 2009 Version: 0.45 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I tried this program on the reccommendations of other reviews when I found myself in need of an flv to mpg converter. I have to say WinFF performed better than I expected. Quick conversion and the quality was brilliant, even though I didn't use the highest quality settings. This is the kind of quality I would expect from software you have to pay for, the fact that it's freeware makes it even more amazing!

Review by furrball316 on Mar 12, 2009 Version: 0.45 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It works even in VISTA 64-bit (VISTA Home Premium, SP1, 64-bit) ... just run it in Compatibility mode. It is Fast & No Hassle. THANKS to BigMatt for a Great program!

Review by gonwk on Oct 19, 2008 Version: 0.42 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This little gem also does a great job in converting FLV (Youtube files) into 3GP (Mobile Files). I couldn't play the converted file until I renamed the file extension from '3G2' to 3GP then it played using my VLC player.

Review by Lowder on Sep 2, 2008 Version: 0.42 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I wanted to convert FLV files to DVD mpeg. After trying SUPER (which didn't work), I tried WinFF, and it worked perfectly.

I love the interface--simple, easy to follow, and technically arranged. The options are great. And, it's easy to follow along the progress in FFmpeg. It just makes sense, and worked wonderfully.

Thank you, a great tool.


Review by tmw on Aug 19, 2008 Version: 0.42 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had trouble converting flv to avi.
I tried exporting as avi from Flash CS3 (lost audio).
I tried Riva (error messages).
I looked at Super (too complicated).

WinFF worked like a charm!


Review by sardonic on Feb 10, 2008 Version: 0.33 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is one excellent frontend. It just works! Even on strangely non standard files!!!! Its one of my essential video conversion programs.

Before I found this,I was struggling with either BS shareware/programs that were too picky about the input file.

Mediacoder is next after this(slightly more complex but even more powerful)


Review by pkm42 on Feb 6, 2008 Version: 0.33 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




A simple easy tool to use that produces excellent results. I use it reduce bitrate/file size for OTA HD and SD mpeg files as well as Xvid and h264. Setting up custom presets is a breeze and is a very nice feature.

Review by bits on Nov 17, 2007 Version: 0.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Awesome piece of kit, have only converted a couple of files with it so far and have yet to use it to the same degree as I have used SUPER, but what I've seen so far cannot be faulted, great utility

Review by boing on Sep 5, 2007 Version: 3,1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Staggeringly good FLV quality. The best I've ever had from a free tool. I just encoded a video at 384x288 at 300k. It's much better than YouTube quality (needless to say!) and better than I was getting at 320x240 at 425k with Riva.

Theinterface could do with a 'stereo' option and drag and drop would be nice. But still this is an awesome tool. Many thanks to the developer.


Review by rgs_uk on Sep 5, 2007 Version: 0.31 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent tool for driving ffmpeg, especially now that 2-pass support is added.

Review by bidmead on Aug 29, 2007 Version: 0.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




OK,
This is a phenomenal Cross-Platform application. In Windows it is an excellent substitute or replacement for SUPER, and in Linux it has no rival! The developer is helpful and accessible and listens to user input. Running on top of a good ffmpeg build almost any common conversion is possible.


Review by GMaq on Jul 3, 2007 Version: .291 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the best frontend for ffmpeg hands down. ffmpeg is totally bad ass to begin with and having an easy to use frontend for it with batch capabilities and presets makes it even more bad ass. If you are a Linux user my opinion is that this is the only video encoder frontend/program you will need. Just make sure you compile ffmpeg to support all the restricted codecs.

If you have a multi-core processor be sure to add "-threads x" to the command line where "x" is the number of cores you have. On my E6420 at stock speed (2.13 GHz) using "-threads 2" I'm getting 50 fps encoding to h264! This is without overclocking. I can't even imagine what the speed will be like after I OC to 3.2 GHz.


Review by DV Jones on Jun 29, 2007 Version: 0.291 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is absolutely awesome!! I've never encountered a tool that would produce such great quality in so short a time! (Believe me, I have tried most.) I agree with the previous poster, it is as good as Canopus (or HC or CCE), but lightning fast!
Although gui4ffmpeg uses ffmpeg as well, the results do not match WinFF's at all!
A 2h 24m movie (.avi-file, XViD) took less than 2 (two!) hours to convert and it looks GREAT!

Congratulations to the author for using ffmpeg as underlying app and encoder to such great avail!!
Keep up the good work!


Review by nbarzgar on Feb 26, 2007 Version: 0.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




excellent for lamers.Just choose file,choose destination,codec and press start) no customisation needed at all!

Review by Linker on Jan 21, 2007 Version: 0.23 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




i just downloaded and tested the latest version and all i can say i WOW!!! the gui is just a front end for ffmpeg, but whatever version of ffmpeg it's using kicks ass!!! it kicks ass in the two most important ways:

1) the quality of the encode is phenomenal. at any particular bitrate i have never seen a codec that even comes close, not even x264 (i know it's technically not a codec, but it is the co portion of that acronym) at the highest settings can touch this, not mpeg-2 at 30Mb/s can beat this codec at about 6 Mb/s, not apple's H.264, nothing!!! (i checked, it seems to be some H.264 codec i've never seen before).

2) this is the most shocking of all, it's lightning fast using a dual core E6400 i am doing the following 2 encodes simultaneously (i'm running 2 instances of winff, it's not multithreaded) and each is being performed in faster than real time:

first file, target:

1920x1080, 16:9, 6500 Kb/s, using "MPEG-4" video codec, 320 Kb/s 48000 Hz, for audio

second file, target:

1280x720, 16:9, 5000 Kb/s, using "MPEG-4" video codec, 320 Kb/s 48000 Hz, for audio

it's almost unbelievable when you consider that Procoder 2 takes about 7 hours just to do the first encode with the same settings, and no other encoder i have ever seen (if you can name it, i've tried it) can come close (Mencoder264 does the first encode at a rate of 3 fps).

just absolutely incredible, i'm uninstalling all the other encoding tools i have on my computer and from now on this is what i plan on using!!!


Review by deadrats on Dec 14, 2006 Version: 0.22 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just downloaded this tool and ran through a list of flash files that I had saved to see what it would do. I tried converting them to wmv and some other formats. The process took only a matter of seconds (though the flash files were only a few minutes long at most). I have a pet peeve about programs that don't allow dran-n-drop capability, as many freebies don't, but that's my only complaint. I would have given it a 9 otherwise. It can be tedious sometimes having to search manually when all I want to do is drag files. But the program is free, so I can't complain too much. Good job.

Review by isaacj on Nov 29, 2006 Version: .21 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


45 reviews, Showing 1 to 45 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com