Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for WinDV

48 reviews, Showing 1 to 48 reviews


This is so awesome. Been looking for this forever. Thank you so much!

Review by Anke on Jul 2, 2021 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A very simple to use product. Very pleased I found it. I want to capture live from my mini DV camera and it does that perfectly.

Review by David on May 22, 2021 Version: WinDV-1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




2/1/2021
I've got 100's of hours of DV video that I have been attempting to transfer to disk for the last 10 years. I purchased a Matrox MXO2 Mini a while back to do this. I always had issues with it. It was always a pain to get it to connect. I also realized after capturing many hours of footage that the AVI codec used to capture is only available if you install the Matrox software that comes with the hardware. They provide the codec for download but it didn't work for me on Windows 10. Anyway, the power supply on the MXO2 just went out on me so the unit is dead. My Win 7 box with the Firewire port is nearing end of life so I need to get this footage transferred before it's too late.

WinDV is the simplest and most reliable way to capture DV video I have come across. You can run it right from the exe. No install is needed. Starts up and connects to the camera immediately. I have been capturing 2 hour HI8 tapes with zero issues. It looks like it defaults to files that are 12.5 minutes in length (this can be changed). This puts the file size about 1.8 GB per 12.5 minutes instead if a single 24 GB+ file. Makes it easier to move around and open up in other apps. I copied these files to my Win 10 box and imported them into Adobe Premiere. There was a seamless transition between clips. No codec issues either. I wish I would have come across this software years ago.


Review by Steve Zuranski on Feb 3, 2021 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thank you for this tool. It works very good. Glad I found this one. I use it at an old (offline) 32 bit Windows 7 laptop. Hardware is from 2005 (Vista-Time).

Review by Floor on Dec 28, 2020 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was stuggling to find a simple video capture software for my 2003 Sony DV VideoCam on my 64-bit Win7 OS. Microsoft does not support Win Live Essentials which includes Video Capture as of January 2020. I simply needed something to get digital video off the DV tapes into a MPEG4 or AVI format through my PCIE firewire card. This program works PERFECT. If you have a system that uses Win7 and a fierewire (I installed the firewire card long after I bought this PC) and your PC will recognize the DV camera when plugged into the firewire (as does mine) then this program works very nice.

Review by Frank on Oct 27, 2020 Version: 1.2.3 2002-2003 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by lamola on Oct 2, 2020 Version: 123 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




9/2020
Tried transferring Mini DV footage to PC using Roxy software (no firewire port). Choppy audio. Am told there are "bit rate" issues. Did NOT work for me as directed.


Review by Tim Roche on Oct 1, 2020 Version: 4.00 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




This works great in January 2020 under Windows 7. I was so glad to find it. I have a few video tapes created on an old Sony digital camcorder and I was glad I could convert them into AVI files easily without buying an expensive software package.

Review by Andrew on Jan 11, 2020 Version: Latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Seriously its a magic. It works today 8th Jan 2020, without a glitch. I dont know the person who created this soft ware is a genius and so futuristic. It just works great. Since its in avi, the files are big.

Review by SIMON on Jan 7, 2020 Version: winDV 123 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Worked great for me Thanks

Review by matt on Feb 28, 2019 Version: not sure OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For anyone wondering, downloaded it today and it's working great under Windows 10, where a modern commercial application has sound issues.

I'm a few years late to answer the guy worried about the supposed down-sampling of audio--it doesn't down-sample or sample at all, its a direct copy of the files on your DV tape. The JVC camcorder I used let you change the audio quality, and the files WinDV is spitting out match the settings I used when I recorded--i.e., 48kHz sampling for highest quality setting, 32kHz for the middle setting, etc.

I was amazed considering when it was written to see it recording files over 4GB with no problem.


Review by PlotinusRedux on Apr 16, 2016 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just wanted to add that WinDV has been the BEST ever capture app I've ever used!!
I've been using it since it came out and is the only one that I will rely on. I came today looking for answers to use it with WIN7, and most people have been successful at it. so I will do so...I have move so much content from my DVR thru a Canon DV with WinTv is not even funny!!! HD, no problem...you just got to try and use the right cables...The only drawback is 'watching' again those recorded programs, but if you have time do it..and yes, after you get your AVI file, please use VirtualDub for heavens sake...easy to use, cut those commercials out(toons programs) and or old programs from TVLAND or whatever..then Handbrake to covert to MKV and BOOM!! no lost of quality!!!..but without WinDV I don't know what I would do!
My hat is off to the creator of WinDV!!!


Review by alexo229 on Sep 20, 2014 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I had read that this PC app no longer worked so I had not even attempted to use it. I recently purchased: Intel Core i7 3.5G; 8GB mem; Raid 5; Windows Pro 7 64bit and when I attempted to use Premiere to capture from an old Sony DCR-TRV340 of mine (as I had done many times before using my previous system now aged 7 years), all of a sudden with this new system there were many problems that I never had experienced with my previous system. There were many dropped frames and many tapes out of lip sync, primarily toward the end. In many cases viewing with VNC Player would even say the captured footage from Premiere was missing its index. Other video players would not play the AVI captured from Premiere CS5 either.

In frustration I also dried Exsate DV Capture Live and it would always go bananas about 5-30 minutes into an hour long tape, telling me I needed to download the premium version, plus sending a rewind control arbitrarily to the camera. Simply impossible to use unattended.

I did not try WinDV because many reported it didn't work. In frustration that after so many expensive equipment upgrades over the years and I still couldn't get a descent digitized copy of my vintage (sigh) 2000 home video recordings

As a last ditch effort, I thought I would try WinDV. I simply unzipped WinDV and ran the EXE file and up popped a screen. I found I had to to control my Sony DCR-TRV340 manually (I use the remote) and it works fine; just press the capture key and use the camera control to start the tape. The camera runs to the end of the tape and WinDV automatically captures each contiguous frame sequence to a file with a format of the video day the video was recorded. In fact not having camera control within WinDV is great when compared to Exsate craziness. It's also great that if there are big gaps in the tape footage, WinDV automatically stops and starts the capture software process as the scenes are displayed. The one seen ends, the file is closed out for each clip.

I am happy now - WinDV captures all my home movies to AVI(DVCPRO) files in DV & PCM, plus it names the file the date of the cut. So it's not exactly dead yet.


Review by da_dj on Jun 7, 2014 Version: 0.77beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Worked well with my JVC DV-AVI camcorder, but the audio sampling rate was 32KHz. Windows Movie Maker 6 captured at 48 KHz. But that refused to play nice with my Win7x64 (though it worked on my old PC with the same OS). So i tried Enosoft and after a bit of reading of the pretty good help file, i've decided to stick with that.

If WinDV didn't 'downsample' (or whatever it's called), i'd have bumped up the scores a bit - got to love a tiny portable like this. But the audio issue is a big one i think.


Review by Recusant on Mar 17, 2013 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




It doesn't work whatsoever - WinDV doesn't recognize my Canopus ADVC300 at all. I'm using Vista Ultimate 64.

Review by Pixelrage on Dec 24, 2010 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Simple to use, works great, as close to plug-n-play as anything Windows gets.

Review by deesto on Oct 13, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




To the guy who left the previous comment, were you basing your observation on the WinDV window that gives a preview of what you're recording? Admittedly everything looks like crap through the WinDV preview window.

But when I open the finished recording in VirtualDub for editing, the picture quality is fine and dandy. Little if any difference from the original source. This is with the DVsoft codec.


Review by Robert Simandl on Aug 13, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Free, easy to use and does exactly what it was intended to do; transfer digital video data from a device to your hard drive. I have been using WinDV for many years without a hitch.

Unfortunately the poster below does not have clue in regards to why his/her video quality seems degraded. One thing is for sure and that is that WinDV has absolutely nothing to do with his/her percieved PQ loss and he/she is not the only person concerned with PQ.


Review by wwjd on Aug 13, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Am i the only one who cares about Video quality? I cant seem to find a program that gives me the same quality as when i use the RCA cable and plug my camera into the TV, when i do that it's crystal clear! No matter what i seem to do when i get it from the camera to the computer it's not even close to good quality. i have tried alot of good programs. "ulead video studio" Nero 7 ultra" even windows movie maker! why cant i get clear video. i dont care about size! i bought a Capture card with RCA input but havent recived it yet. hopefully i can get it through that. I am currently using Firewire IEEE1934 with no luck!

Review by copyright on Aug 13, 2007 Version: 1.2.3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Just captured 1:26 minutes from a D8 video cam (DCR-TRV140). Running Vista Ultimate x64 in Spanis. CPU Pentium D 920, Mobo with Via PT880Pro chipset. The firewire card is an Adapated (TI chipset).

Review by ofbarea on Jun 9, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using WinDV for a long time, but I recently switched to Vista x64 and it no longer works. Other capture programs work fine.

Review by jabloomf1230 on Jun 9, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




WinDV is the most elegant and effective tool that I have come across for capturing the video from the MiniDV tape in my handycam to my laptop hard disk drive. Editing is simply another matter, any video editor can be used to edit the video and produce a DVD.

After a lot of searching I am very impressed with the simplicity of the form and function and how much has been acheieved with no jazz at all. very impressed! Many thanks to Petr Mourek, and others who have contributed in this forum.
I have been looking for a tool like this for a while.... and after paying Sony for a piece of crap called picture package, I was thinking of going for either Pinnacle Studio 11 or the Ulead Videostudio 11, but after my experience with Picture package, i started researching reviews on both the products before i made up my mind. I went thru countless forums of distressed newbie handycam owners who were clueless about transferring the video on tape to a PC/DVD and found some not so good reviews about the Pinnacle Studio 11, Ulead Videostudio 11 and Sony Vegas and thats when i landed in this forum and the WinDV was like a godsend.
I am running a 32 bit Vista premium and WinDV runs on it like a dream. There are no frames dropped and it delivers all the promises. It is noteworthy that WinDV was last updated in May-2005 and it still runs on todays Vista OS.... a truly versatile tool..
Way to go Petr Mourek... Many thanks.... I think Sony should learn something from this and incorporate this learing in providing better software to capture the videos from the handycams which use DV tapes
The link posted by sikki_nixx was also very useful


Review by Shekhar on Jun 7, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This fantastic little tool keeps working under Vista x64.

Review by ofbarea on Mar 4, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, what I can say. Perfect for my needs. And the best - it's free!!

Before I was using Pinnacle Studio 10 for capturing but video longer than 60minutes always got out-of-sync at the end. It has never happened with winDV.

As long as you have some experience in editing videos and capturing dv it's VERY easy to use. If you're new to all this I suppose you can get confused, and the documentation is really weak. That's why I only gave it 8/10 in ease of use. But hey, it's freeware!!

Don't miss the command line features, i'm attaching a link where it's all explained.


Review by sikki_nixx on Feb 27, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is ELEGANT. It does what it says, does it well, and without all the bloatware, audio sync problems or lost frames from other programs.

I capture video through my digital camcorder's passthru with WinDV, to Type 1 DV AVI. My Ulead editing program accepts it and turns out great edited video.

The only thing it lacks is the ability to monitor audio while capturing, but I can hear it through my camcorder if I need to. And adding that capability to the program might slow it down and cause dropped frames.


Review by tomreedtoon on Feb 19, 2007 Version: ??? OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




downloaded it, used it, was impressed. very impressed! i thank petr mourek. and, i thank this forum. been looking for a tool like this for a long time. spent a lot on no good tools and wala, found it on this forum. thank you!

Review by benbritbaao on Feb 19, 2007 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using this app for years and it has never messed up. Elegantly un-complicated!

Review by bits on Nov 14, 2006 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My prior experiences are similar to the other posts here. Dropped frames, hard to work with, etc.
I was about to give up because I believed my computer was too slow. Then I searched the forum here and one of the most recent threads was a newbie's question about miniDV capturing. As always the advice was solid. So I downloaded the tool, started it with no installation required, hooked up my cam and within seconds I was capturing my tape.
I am so amazed about the efficiency of the tool!! Not a single dropped frame. I an using a 5 year old Asus K7M Sloth A Athlon 800MHz machine with a RAID1 U2W SCSI array and close to 600 MB of RAM. Not to fancy by today's standards but it still does the trick. Captured AVI files will play nicely with Windows Media Player. I can also confim that an hour of PAL625/50 video will tka up 13 gigabytes of HDD. That is a transfer rate of well below 4MBit/s and should sustainable even on computers that do not use RAID or SCSI.
I give this tool an 11 out of 10.


Review by ralfbeckers on Nov 14, 2006 Version: v1.2.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




An Excellent program. I give it a perfect 10. I would like to give it a 9 in Functionality because of missing Device Control but what the heck, it is free. So I changed it to a 10.

Ever since I ran into this utility, I have not used any other program to transfer my DV tapes to computer. Every other program had one problem or the other like dropped frames, poor quality etc. but this little thing has no issues at all. Also has nice features such as automatically splitting of avi files according to date and time stamp, AVI-1 or AVI-2 mode and so on.

Two thumbs up to the programmer......


Review by Subhash on May 23, 2006 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great product for capturing the video.

Review by neerajpg on Feb 16, 2006 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Amazing application! I have done a lot of DV video capture with various editing programs (Vegas, Sonic DVD, Windows Movie Maker) and they all have rather slow and clunky interfaces and most would not work with my camcorder in AV->DV bridge mode. This little app is the perfect solution if you need to quickly capture an entire DV AVI segment and has the option to capture in DV AVI type 2! Most of the other apps will only capture in the inferior type DV AVI. As mentioned before, it does not take a lot of resources, so you can still use your computer for most tasks (not things that will hit CPU 100%) and not drop any frames!

Grab this free tool now!


Review by gust0208 on Dec 20, 2005 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ok it's nice, but i read in many posts that some guys out there'd like a DV controller.
Well: Zwei-Stein from Thugs at Bay Inc. does that.
It's a 3.5 Mb editing program found at softpedia.
it has a small


Review by pakmenu on Dec 19, 2005 Version: old but latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I love this program. Don't overlook the command line features. You can use it to automatically capture for a specified duration allowing unattended operation. And by setting up a .bat file you can schedule capture using Windows scheduler.

Review by gadgetguy on Oct 20, 2004 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It's free. It works. It does what it says it does. Cannot ask for anything more. Kudos to the programmers.

Review by lordsmurf on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 1.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This capture software rocks! I have a ADVC-300, and even it has dropped frames with all other capture software. But with WinDV it never drops frames, even while I play processor intensive 3D games, surf the web, or encode MPEG2 files. Open task manager and look at the WinDV process. The software seems to use about 16MB buffer and only takes about 6-10% CPU time on my AMD64 3200+.

I subtracted one point for functionality because the DV automation checkbox is not labeled. Also you can't preview audio while capturing. This is great software from a programmer in the Czech Republic!


Review by wile_e on Oct 18, 2004 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great, simple little program.

Did have the same problem with the audio/video being out of sync a bit, only because I was capturing using Type 2 AVI rather than Type 1 AVI... Switching to Type 1 fixed the problem. :)


Review by bmwracer on Aug 7, 2004 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




With WinDV I can capture DV while encoding another file, from the same drive and surf the net with zero dropped frames. All of my captures so far have been 100% correct.

Review by mikesbytes on Jan 18, 2004 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I just had to register to post about this program!!!
I have been having dropped frames problems with my HD space challenged machine and Premier 6 during capture from my Sony D8 even with very short 1 minute clips. So, I wanted a capture program with a memory buffer to aleviate the drop frame problem. First I tried SceneAnalizerLIVE(?) and was strangely enough very displeased with it, even though it wonderful reviews...seemed a little difficult to learn and one of the captured files was nothing but fast forwarded video....so I decided to try WinDV and I am SO GLAD I did!!!!! VERY simple to use and NO dropped frames!! I agree it would be very nice to have device controls and batch capture would be even better, but, if you have a remote for your camera, its not too bad to manually capture.
Overall I really like WinDV and would be one the first to buy an upgrade with device control!!!


Review by KB Kustoms on Jan 8, 2004 Version: na OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The problem I have with this is the audio/video sync. I recorded a 30-minute video (in one HUGE file - I'm on NTFS), and, by the very end, the audio was approximately 1/30th of a second ahead of the video.

Review by drsamloomis on Dec 26, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Yes, it definitely is! All it needs is an image capture feature and it's on it's way to glory and fame in the Third Party world! Someone should seriously do that. :)

Review by State of Mind on Dec 10, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the #1 way to bring your DV media into your computer for conversion or editing!

This program is unreal! I've tried tons of different packages and this thing is the only one that does this simple task as easy as can be. I only recommend you cap to TypeII Avi's so you can bring 'em in to VDub no prob. Also make sure you have lots of drive space, I get a 13gb file from a full DV tape (1 hour).


Review by Norstrom on Dec 8, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This program should have an image capture feature. Would be perfect for me, then.

Review by State of Mind on Dec 6, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 9/10




I would just like to add the fact that I have coped with the freezing of the captured video in Media Player Classic and gone straight to the editing of frames in VirtualDub and frameserving into TMPGEnc Plus. I simply cannot believe that I have a mere 98 kb program that uploads DV video as opposed to Ulead VideoStudio 7 which installs as a nearly 60 MB program. All I was using it for was the uploading feature. 60 MB...98 kb...HUGE difference. Awesome program!

Review by State of Mind on Dec 5, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 7/10




The only problem I have with this program is that when I try to playback the captured video with Media Player Classic, the player freezes and the menus turn white and say "Not Responding". If anyone knows how to fix this, e-mail me at jwg_ns18@hotmail.com

Review by State of Mind on Dec 4, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 7/10




I have been trying to find a simple program to capture the analog pass-through dv signal from my Sony dv camcorder. Most of other programs either can not see the dv signal or trying to capture from the tape (including the Sony program came with the camcorder!!) . Once you hit the capture button, they started to move the tape and preview screen turned blank. The lack of control in this program is exactly why this program can capture the analog pass-through. It just capture the dv signal disregarding the source. Great program!!

Review by cchang on Nov 5, 2003 Version: 1.2.3. OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does exactly what it says it will do and for the most part easy to use. The best part is that it's true freeware. To record one large video file (instead of creating a new one for every scene) set the "Discontinuity threshold" to 0 (zero) seconds. This was the only part that was difficult to figure out. Records both Type I DV and Type II DV. Works great!

Review by nateaustin on Nov 4, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It's a wonderful software for DV capture. I used the Studio7 from Pinnacle Systems but I couldn't capture over 17", now it's possible.Whith Premiere there are always some dropped frames.
Conclusion: WinDv it's a easy and light software, and I think that is a good lesson to the "importants" softwares like Studio from Pinnacle and Premiere from Adobe.

AM


Review by AC on Jul 3, 2003 Version: 1 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Here's a note I sent to Petr Mourek the WinDV creator....

I just wanted to take a moment to send you a huge thank you for this utility!!!! It is wonderful!

I have been working on editing a two-hour long, two camera shoot of some children's choirs. With this length of video and the resulting file sizes, I was getting 2 to 8 dropped frames per file using either Premiere or Vegas to capture. Droped frames are a big problem with maintaining sync between the two shots for this long a project.

With WinDV, I had no dropped frames, period! Also the continuous capture feature is incredible for this long-format capture. Since there are no dropped frames, once I sync up the first two files on the timeline in Premiere, keeping the following files is sync is simply a matter of dropping them into the timeline.

Have you thought about approaching Adobe, Ulead, Sonic Foundry, Canopus etc. about buying this utility and incorporating it into their products? The only thing it needs is machine control.

Thanks again for your work on this great tool!


Review by philipstaley on Jul 3, 2003 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


48 reviews, Showing 1 to 48 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com