Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try DVDFab and copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
DVD Styler is a crossplatform GUI frontend to the dvd authoring and recording programs dvdauthor and dvdrecord. The main DVDStyler features are: creation and burning DVD video with interactive menus,* support of AVI, MPEG and other file formats, support of MPEG-2, MPEG-4, DivX, Xvid, MP2, MP3, AC-3 and other audio and video formats, using MPEG and VOB files without reencoding, allows put files with different audio/video format on one DVD (support of titleset), user-friendly interface with support of drag & drop, flexible menu creation on the basis of scalable vector graphic, import of image file for background, placing of buttons, text, images and other graphic objects anywhere on the menu screen, etc.

Free software
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 29MB
Old versions
Version history
7.1/10
57 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

DVDStyler screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

3.1 (May 19, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download DVDStyler 3.1 Windows  29MB  Win

Download DVDStyler 3.1 Windows 64-bit  31MB  Win64

Download DVDStyler 3.1 Mac  46MB  Mac

Download DVDStyler 3.1.1 Linux  9MB  Linux




Download Beta and other versions

Download DVDStyler latest Beta/Nightly Linux  158MB  Linux




Download old versions


Download DVDStyler old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 3.1.1 <2019-06-24>
--------------------------

* updated some translation

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to DVDStyler


DVDAuthorgui



GUI for dvdauthor







Guides and How to's


Tool features, DVD Author(BETA!):



Acronyms / Also Known As

DVD Styler




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




57 reviews, Showing 1 to 57 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dave Gorgas on Nov 29, 2017 Version: 3.04 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




useless. no entry on the control panel so I am unable to uninstall

Review by pml1234 on May 2, 2017 Version: 3.0.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The version I installed, DVDStyler-3.0.2-win32.exe, installed easily with no adware or malware. Always check you sources and read installation screens carefully.

This free software has been around for many years. Worked great years ago keeps getting better with many options.


Review by danzeb on Oct 8, 2016 Version: 3.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Virus Total found 3 incidents of a Trojan. Use at your own risk!

Review by pepegot1 on Jul 6, 2016 Version: 3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




@#48 thru #51:

I can confirm the version listed as the installer version does try to install many additional items unless you opt out; however, I would also like to point out that the so-called portable version is not really a portable version at all. In fact, it acts just like the installer version minus the adware/malware and simply installs on your PC. In summary, I'm guessing that anyone who was able to get through the installation prompts without the adware/malware notice must have used the portable version originally and then thought they used the installer version when asked about the adware/malware content. Shame on the author for fooling us twice!


Review by railroadartwork on Jan 29, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




@ #50

See #51 as it's confirming what I said.


Review by mike20021969 on Jan 29, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




The official installer version from sourceforge has adware/bundleware/ad supported. It is even blocked by Chrome/Google.

See screenshot: http://forum.videohelp.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=35427&d=1454062475

But get the Portable version from our site or sourceforge...or just deselect all ads when installing. :)


Review by Baldrick on Jan 29, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




@ #48,

The installer version of 2.9.6 contains no malware or adware. The installation is clean as long as you download from an official source. However, if anyone has any apprehensions about installing it, then go with the portable version as suggested previously.

Now, I will go one step further and tell you this program is the best DVD Authoring freeware program available today; period! IT is a complete authoring package so don't miss the opportunity to try it!


Review by gus gusimio on Jan 29, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@ #48

I always use a portable version. Ad free.


Review by videobruger on Jan 28, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




DVDSyler 2.9.6 is riddled with Adware. Extreme caution is needed if you are going to install. Be sure to scrutinise each offer and un-check everything you don't want.

You may wish to add the following lines to your hosts file:
127.0.0.1 cdneu.turefor.com
127.0.0.1 cdnus.turefor.com
Or, disconnect from the internet BEFORE launching the installer.

During the extended(!) install process, the following "extras" are offered up:
1) Install ByteFence security product
2) Install Chromium Broswer as my default browser
3) Set Yahoo as my default search,home/start up page and new tab on all of my compatible browsers
4) Install Desktop Weather
5) Install One System Care
6) Install Norton
7) Install Baidu Browser

You have been warned.



Review by mike20021969 on Jan 27, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Tried them all (free) and DVDStyler is the best (IMHO). Please be advised there is a slight learning curve but it will be well worth your time.

Review by gus gusimio on Jan 26, 2016 Version: 2.9.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Searched around the web and in videohelp site for various free tools to author dvd's. finally i can say the latest version (2.9.2) of DVD Styler at this time is much better than any other free tool i have used. The closest one which came in options is AVStoDVD but AVStoDVD lacked few options (normalize audio for eg., trim video based on time and not frame -etc) and utterly is slow to encode.
the ui is much clean, easy to use but yet have powerful options to input. i think i overall settled for this and is quite happy about authoring my dvd's using DVD Styler.
btw this latest version doesnt have any adware unlike mentioned in previous versions.


Review by bsrid on Apr 1, 2015 Version: 2.9.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 2.7.2 is VERY unstable on Mavericks. The Installer tries to redirect your browser's search, and installs genio adware whether you like it or not. ALSO... "InstallMac" is the company behind it all. Just Google InstallMac and you'll see all sorts of interesting things.
I wish I could post screen shots on here.


Review by TechieJustin on May 7, 2014 Version: 2.7.2 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This was a reasonably good tool that I used when another free product wouldn't work.
Unfortunately, the inclusion of Adware has made this product undesirable, at least for me. I've now uninstalled almost a dozen programs that have resorted to this tactic.
The inability to opt-out of adware is completely unethical in my view. This package has now been uninstalled until such time as the adware has been removed.


Review by yanta on Apr 7, 2014 Version: 2.7.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




When the option is given to "opt out" of the ADWARE during installation it shouldn't install the ADWARE, but unfortunately this does, as does the MP4Joiner.

Review by mail2tom on Mar 8, 2014 Version: 2.7.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great software. Keeps getting better and better, I mean the Windows Version.
However, I suggest adding the possibility of getting an output DVD which has mixed 16:9 and 4:3 content like CX2D to avoid altering the video aspect ratios in case of various videos with different AR's which gets the videos distorted. For instance, the video gets too small in the case of 4:3 videos converted to 16:3, yet there's no option for leaving it as 4:3, otherwise all the titlesets are converted to 4:3 even though I only want to change the AR of one video.
Thanks


Review by TrueAquarian on Jan 15, 2014 Version: 2.61 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Low marks for sneaky crapware.
Installed using SandBoxie - thankfully I could unload the whole sh1tty mess.


Review by sambat on Dec 29, 2013 Version: 2.6.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




Version 2.52 is very slow to load/launch on Mac OS X 10.9.0 and 10.8.5.

Review by crjackson on Nov 11, 2013 Version: 2.52 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




The current release (and presumably all recent releases) calculates the aspect ratio incorrectly
while transcoding, resulting in a DVD where the image is vertically squished.
I have engaged the author in his forum and he is aware of the problem .

I don't know how you can have a RC release (release candidate) with such a bug as this.

The authoring capabilities of this program are very good, limited by your imagination.
Bit of a learning curve there, but it's to be expected.


Review by davexnet on Oct 21, 2013 Version: 2.6 rc1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I've used DVDStyler for years and it always gets the job done. It's not fast but speed often reduces quality and since I'm not a professional trying to author multiple DVD's each day, I don't care.

There are much more powerful authoring programs such as DVDLab 2 but DVDStyler will meet the needs of many users. It's free, is often updated and works for me even on my old windowsxp computer.


Review by danzeb on Jul 22, 2013 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I can't believe that Linux gets an update ahead of OS X. I understand windows since that's most of the user base. I use ubuntu / Mac OSX so I'm not prejudiced against Linux, it just seems like OSX updates would be released at the same time.

Review by crjackson on Jul 1, 2013 Version: 2.42 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the only freeware program I've ever seen that gets worse with each subsequent release. I check in on it now and then to see if the author has managed to fix anything, and sometimes things have been fixed, only to be replaced with new more horrific bugs. For example: two minutes waiting for a properties box to close. Four minutes to load a project. Crashes routine.

Suggestion, encode all video objects beforehand, never allow DVDStyler to transcode.


Review by cosmotopper on Dec 16, 2012 Version: 2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




The final video quality is awful, and the program crashes all over. Besides, Every time is a new problem in authoring anything, even if its simple.

Review by iohanntachy on Oct 24, 2012 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




I've dumped on this program but it does have one very useful attribute. It doesn't seem to rely on external codecs like the only other useful and semi intuitive DVD author I've used (avstodvd).

avstodvd is one of those things that installs ffdshow, haali etc. Then it modifies the registry so everything in the system uses them instead of directshow/directx.

Then, other very good programs (like vlc, smplayer) that don't need that crap don't work as well. I yanked avstodvd and all the other crap it installs.

I still don't think the encoding in dvdstyler is very good. The quality isn't great and it doesn't deal with input files using odd 3rd party codecs. But it's a good DVD author.

My preferred method now is to use avidemux (which is really good at dealing with a wide variety of input) to convert the input to a DVD compliant file. Then use dvdstyler without reencoding.


Review by Hoser Rob on Mar 2, 2012 Version: 2.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Responding to last review, I have done many DVDs with menus with DVDStyler over the years. Works great for me!

Review by V1de0Luvr on Feb 27, 2012 Version: 2.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very easy step-in to authoring world. Only problem is that it cannot do any menus, at all. Crashes out with "Create menu MPEG" after adding some simple buttons. Does not matter what you do with them, 'as is' or any and all changes to them render this same result - crash.

DVDStyler can in this state only be used to create dvds without menu. For this it is very handy with no limits to subs etc. like seen elsewhere. Maybe it will start working with menus in the future. When and if it does, ill donate for sure.

(I'm not entirely green on this stuff. Ive checked and double checked so its not some command error given somewhere. Its simply something very wrong with it in current state. Google on this error, and there are many hits with users having problems but no solution. Simply does not work with menus).


Review by obermahn on Feb 25, 2012 Version: 2.2 beta 2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Extremely inefficient!

Spumux is very slow and DVDStyler never completes pre-verification. So you spend hours waiting until you get error messages. Fails over fails, you will probably want to throw that poor software in the garbage.


Review by jfweemaes on Jan 30, 2012 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




The current version of DVDStyler for Mac is still at 1.8.3, and though it has a couple of modest problems, it does the job fairly well (but I don't know why it's no longer listed here). However, a few weeks ago the developer told me in an email that he'll very soon bring it to near-parity with the Windows version with the release of DVDStyler 2.0 for OS X!

The Mac platform still has far fewer free transcoding and authoring tools than Windows, so I was thrilled to hear that Mr. Thüring will continue providing this arrow for our half-empty quiver. Bravo, kudos, and drinks all 'round!


Review by JayBo on Nov 29, 2011 Version: 1.8.3 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I just wish the developer would quit with the sneaky adware in the installer. The latest installer (having to click "custom install" to bypass the adware installation) is a bit underhand. I really hate this "trend" amongst open source software.

Review by chowmein on Nov 16, 2011 Version: 2.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just want to thank the developer Alex Thüring for his continuing hard work with this nifty application. He is continually updating it & introducing new features. Now it has avisynth support! Whoot! Thanks!

Review by chowmein on Aug 15, 2011 Version: 2.0 beta 2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, I've dumped on this program in the past, but this version works better.

I tried it after I discovered that the new version of avstodvd doesn't produce dvds that my dvd player can recognize and that I couldn't even get a reinstall of the old one to work. My patience is rather thin on crap like this, and I don't feel using freeware implies that users should be considered free testers.

Anyway, the CPU usage is still quite high but it works a lot better.

I did have a problem with a .sub file but may have found a way around it on the sourceforge forum. Haven't tried it yet.

I would also like to be able to find some way to set it to 2 pass encoding.


Review by Hoser Rob on Jul 28, 2011 Version: 1.9.0 beta 1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




"libgobject-2.0-0.dll" is missing from latest beta?

Review by chowmein on Jul 26, 2011 Version: 1.9.0 beta 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have a video hobby and often need to make a quick nice looking DVD for a camcorder project.
I have been following the ongoing development of DVDStyler for some time.
It is very useful for making a quick DVD for my camcorder/DVDrecorder footage.
Thanks for your hard work on this great program to date..

The most useful feature of it for me is its easy DVD menu creation ability.
The feature I would most like to see added is a easy way to create a chapter menu.
As it stands, I can make a menu with links to each VOB but don't see any way to link existing chapter markers to menu buttons.

There are many programs available for a fee that make nice DVD menus (ie DVD Lab and Sony Architect) but as a rule,
they are very complicated and have more features than are needed for a quick and simple solution.


Review by OldeMan on Jun 20, 2011 Version: 1.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Apart from pointing out the 'portable version' isn't in fact portable - I wanted to test DVD Styler by running it from a USB stick, but when I double clicked on the downloaded file instead of running, it installed itself onto my hard drive - nevertheless I have to say it does what it says, creates basic menus on DVD Snrink re authoured vobs. Ease of use is good once you get used to it and DVD's seem to play on standalone DVD players. At least, I've had no problems so far.

Review by bahjan on Mar 26, 2011 Version: 1.8.2.1.portable OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wanted to create a DVD with "text as buttons/links" so to speak.....worked like a charm. I planned on just importing my already chaptered(no menu) DVD into the program...no such luck....so I grabbed ChapterGrabber and VOB2MPEG and created what DVDStyler needed and went from there. Ended up with a one page menu with just song titles and a background image of my choosing.
Nice stuff....and can't beat the price.


Review by hech54 on Dec 25, 2010 Version: 1.8.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Could use LPCM as an audio option as well as a 'no menu' function but the program functions very well. Perfect as a simple menu program with the freedom to not use templates.

Review by loster on Jan 1, 2010 Version: 1.7.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used this for quite awhile now for basic dvd menus. Just got done trying out the new avi support. All I can say is it worked very well converting an avi to dvd with a menu. It just keeps getting and better and better.

Review by DKruskie on Sep 25, 2008 Version: 1.7.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great free software. Easy to figure out. very intuitive. I am using this regularly after trying many others. It is good enough for basic dvd creation needs.
Thanks to the authors for following KISS rule.


Review by KAZIM2 on Jul 22, 2008 Version: 1.6.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Have found, with a bit of use, DVDStyler to be very good. Occasionally when given an mpeg that's not DVD compliant there are problems. I usually demux it (mpgtx.exe in the dvdauthor folder) and remux it (mplex.exe in same folder) and the problem is fixed. (mplex -f 8 -V -o Outputfile.mpg inputvideo.m2v inputaudio.ac3)

Review by pcspeak on Jan 28, 2008 Version: 1.5b7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Not an intuitive interface but handles well once you get going with the aid of the manual. Good features like being able to assign commands for remotes to buttons (my player remote only does up and down!). However, I am giving this a low score overall because it crashes almost immediately, during menu generation, after telling it to create a DVD iso.

Review by Limnos on Jan 15, 2008 Version: 1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 2/10




Does not work after several updates the only change is crashing during menu creation instead of errors dring muxing.

Review by loster on Jan 4, 2008 Version: 1.6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




A lot of *.dll files are missing from the installation !
ie. freetyoe6.dll, libpng13.dll, etc. etc.


Review by politiken on Jan 4, 2008 Version: 1.6.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'll start off by saying - "DO NOT USE SPECIAL CHARACTERS IN THE TEMP FOLDER"!!! DVDStyler will choke. Other than that, it works great and you'll be creating great menu's fairly easily once you get the hang of it. I've created some pretty nice menu's with it, including menu's with motion backgrounds. Easily the best free DVD Authoring gui w/ menu's capabilities. It takes the great DVDAuthor application and facilitates its use and some. Two thumbs up.

Review by louv68 on Aug 23, 2007 Version: 1.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Brilliant authoring program, very easy to use with advanced features and just does the job.

Despite the comment below, yes you can author the dvd without a menu, load of your video files in to the program then double click on "menu 1" on the bottom left hand corner and then pull down the pre-commands box and select "jump title (number of track);"


Review by paul_g on May 3, 2007 Version: 1.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My only complaint about this tool is its forced "menu" feature. It does not allow dvd creation without the menu and I like my dvd movies created without that. I want the disc to start playing the movie as soon as I shoved the disc into the tray. After creating the vobs, I have to use dvdshrink to reauthor the movie to fix the problem.

Review by v-sharp on Sep 8, 2006 Version: 1.5 beta 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Menus are not intuitive, but it works well once you figure things out. Contains a known bug for NTSC users; could be solved simply by including the fix files in a separate version for NTSC users, but is only pointed out in the WikiFAQ. Also deteriorates menu background images by default (again, solution to increase image bitrate is mentioned in a WikiFAQ). Boasts DVD burn capability, but the option was not available; I assume that neither of my burners, nor my burning utilities or applications, were recognized.

Review by deesto on Jul 15, 2006 Version: 1.5b5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Great tool, I've been looking for some time for app to add some nice menus for home-made Dvd's and this works perfectly. A lot better then other ones I have tried, most are not flexible enough or have a long learning curve. The only thing that would have made it perfect, is being able to add a sound-track to the menu.

But can't complain as it's free and very easy to use ( not sure about someone saying you could only choose from 12 backgrounds ) simple drop and drag options. Hope other Apps start to use it like it is used within DIKO.


Review by felix32 on Jun 25, 2006 Version: 1.5b5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The idea in itself is great! For the first time one is not limited to 2-3-4 items on a DVD menu. It takes a bit of either detective work and a few hit-or-miss attempts to figure out how it works. The problem is the output. I tried to build a DVD with one main menu with links to 20 mpg2 videos, about 1-min long each.

Well, the program filled my hard disk with 30 GB (sic!), and then hung due to lack of disk space. It was only some 10% of the way then, so I figure I'll need a 500 GB disk to make a DVD lasting less than half an hour with it.

I tried it from scratch twice, with the same result.


Review by johel on May 1, 2006 Version: 1.5 beta 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




Great.
Good that menus are jpg,just to create 576x480 images and you
have your own menu(s)


Review by slindkvist on Jan 29, 2006 Version: 1.5b4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Please completely ignore the previous comment about this program. It hurts the open source software movement when ignorant users criticize programs without even understanding them AND insult the authors who have done this with their free time. The GUI interface is at first somewhat confusing, but more than adequate to create a basic DVD menu with buttons and background image. Overall a great tool and one of the only option for free opensource DVD menu creation.

Review by gust0208 on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 1.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




this is bullshit. lacks even the basic things needed. You have a choice of like 12 backgrounds and 1 button graphics. you can't choose your own backgrounds or buttons or anything. Maybe you can, but this will require reading the manual and looking at website to try to figure it out. easier just to give up and goto the next program, as a program should be self-explanatory and everything should be under the finger tips..

there should be a "choose your own background" option, there should be a "more buttons" option... everything.. I dont know how to do anything because there's no options, no buttons, no hints, no nothing.. just lookiing at a blank screen trying to figure out, based on nothing, how this works..

stupid author should have spent more then 5 minutes coding this priogram


Review by markiz2001 on Dec 28, 2005 Version: 0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've used several of the GUIs for DVDauthor and I like this one the best. It has worked for me where others have failed and it is very easy to use. It is not fancy but handles menus nicely. DIKO (for AVI files) has started using it to create its menus which makes for a very nice compination.

Review by danzeb on Sep 28, 2005 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




once you open dvdstyler up, you have 3 tabs - documents (to import your clips), backgrounds and buttons. Thats all you mess with. Very easy to use. Good for someone who wants a basic menu. I found that functions was limited however, customising things was limited. For example, the menu i made, i was only allowed to make buttons to point to each clip. But it would not allow me to make a "play all button".

Review by gremlyn on Sep 1, 2005 Version: 1.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This program is awesome, quick, clean and functional interface. I was up and burning DVD's in very little time that worked perfectly on my DVD player.

Review by posicat on Jun 16, 2005 Version: 1.4 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great app. Simple and easy enough to use.

If you need something that will give you a basic menu to your DVD, this is the answer. Supports pre and post commands, which is a bonus.

Once you create your menu, add your titles, with the press of one button, DVD Styler will author, mux, preview, create an ISO, then finally burn your DVD for you.


Review by disturbed1 on Mar 19, 2005 Version: 1.31 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very nice, and easy to use. Didn't find the option to set the chapter lengths, thats why its a 9, otherwise it would be a 10. Great work!!

Review by sk545 on Jan 12, 2005 Version: 1.3Beta OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I give this a 10 overall. It has worked exceptionally well for me. I had some DVD compliant Mpegs and was able to make an ISO file in no time at all using this proggy. I simply burned the ISO with DVD Decrypter and the result was excellent. I had also captured some video that resulted in an ISO file that was about 6 GB. Hey, no problem, I used DVD Shrink to shrink it to fit on a DVD and once again I had great results. I haven't tried the new version (1.1) but I'm sure it will work just as good, if not better.

Review by Spudboy on Sep 18, 2004 Version: 1.06 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


57 reviews, Showing 1 to 57 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com