Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Codec Tweak Tool

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


My video and music stopped working on my computer after a GoPro Studio crash. I get the error 0xc00d36b4 anytime I try to play music or video. I downloaded VLC media player and it plays videos just fine. Since there are no instructions with this software that explain how to really use it, I have been unable to fix the problem. I tried using fixes but that didn't work. I tried generating a log, but the information provided is light on explanation. I am assuming if a file format has a 1 after it, it is on, and if it's a 0, it is off. But I could be wrong, and there is no explanation as to how to correct that. Still stuck...

Review by Chris on Feb 16, 2020 Version: 15.3.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by ploerre on Jun 14, 2019 Version: 6.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Codec Tweak Tool 6.4.0 has now dropped Windows XP support.
Therefore the last version to work on Windows XP is 6.3.9.


Review by mike20021969 on May 23, 2019 Version: 6.4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This fixed Video Media Player problems (bad artifacts) with Ati HD 2400 mobile display card (LG R200 laptop)

Review by aris95 on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 6.34 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: 6.2.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works great for me and also I tried it on xp without a hitch, so ignore previous bad reviews. Only 1 build .exe available now.

Review by Wilson on Sep 24, 2017 Version: 6.2.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unlike past versions this one removes more registry enteries. It wiped out my Vegas 11 program by removing Sony related files. Fortunately, I backed up the registry before running the program and was able to get back Vegas functionality. I went back to the previous version which did no harm. Before removing anything, it should give you a yes or no choice.

Review by pepegot1 on Dec 26, 2012 Version: 5.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




It saved my butt! My video editor, VS Pro X5, suddenly could not play back a series of clips or an individual clip in "Project Mode, albeit it fumctioned in individual "Clip Mode" for individual clips." It looked to me like a codec problem. So, I ran the Codec Tweak Tool. After that, VS Pro X5 functioned as it should without error. Also, it backed up my codecs. A good must have tool.

Review by pepegot1 on May 17, 2012 Version: 5.3.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




dear cal_tony I guess you have problem with windows
by the way for me wordpad.exe is in this directory
C:\Windows\winsxs\amd64_microsoft-windows-wordpad_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_8be07ea283850f02
and this one
C:\Windows\winsxs\wow64_microsoft-windows-wordpad_31bf3856ad364e35_6.1.7601.17514_none_963528f4b7e5d0fd


Review by JEskandari on Apr 27, 2012 Version: 5.3.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Evidently it has a help file but when I hit the help button all I get is that it can't find wordpad. I put wordpad in the window folder, windows system 32,windows system and the folder that the program is in. Don't have any idea where it expects to find wordpad.
Other than that seems to work just fine just using the prechecked boxes


Review by cal_tony on Apr 27, 2012 Version: 5.3.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




A changelog for new releases would be nice; what needs to change several times a year in a tool that does mostly registry and Directshow merit-based work?. Other than that an excellent program that behaves exactly as it promises to in fixing many codec configuration problems.

Review by Inspector.Gadget on Jan 14, 2012 Version: ALL OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good,

Haali Splitter + ffdshow + Codec Tweak Tool >> Fixes = play subtitles in WMP, WMC and MPC


Review by jandor2009 on May 1, 2011 Version: 4.9.4 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




worked like a charm. Removed troublesome entries

Review by vidalien on Mar 15, 2010 Version: 4.22 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com