Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
AVStoDVD is a flexible tool to convert various media formats to DVD compliant streams and burn them into a highly compatible single track DVD. Features: Video and Audio editing using AviSynth, Video and Audio encoding using HCEnc/QuEnc/ReJig, DVD Muxing and Authoring using DVDAuthor, ISO Image Building and DVD Burning using ImgBurn. Requires AVISynth(included in package).

8.4/10
34 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

AVStoDVD screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


AVStoDVD screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.8.8 / 2.8.9 Alpha 190616 (June 16, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download AVStoDVD 2.8.8  52MB  Win




Download Beta, Portable and other versions

Download AVStoDVD 2.8.8 Portable  29MB  Win  Portable

Download AVStoDVD 2.8.9 Alpha 190616  52MB  Win

Download AVStoDVD 2.8.9 Alpha 190616 Portable  29MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download AVStoDVD old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


AVStoDVD release 2.8.9 Alpha 190616 (June 16th, 2019)
- Some bugs fixed
- Added support to PGS BluRay subtitles
- Added handling and display of MediaInfo BitDepth video tag
- Added support to 8 channels audio source (Downmix.avsi script file updated)
- Improved Muxing routine: better errors handling and switch to FFmpeg (instead of Mplex) when no audio source is present
- Improved usage of FFMS2: now YV12 colorspace is always specified (A2DSource external AviSynth function updated as well)
- Improved AviSynth program info retrieving routine (now using AVSMeter)
- LAV Filters updated to release 0.74.1
- AVSMeter updated to 2.6.5.1 (2.6.5 modded release to improve reading speed)

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to AVStoDVD


Avi2Dvd



AVI2ISO



AVStoMPEG



DIKO



DVD Flick



FAVC



The FilmMachine







Guides and How to's


AVStoDVD beginners guide - Any video to DVD-Video

- Read

AVStoDVD video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert





Acronyms / Also Known As

AVS2DVD



Download AVStoDVD Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews


I really like AVS to dvd, I use it, to convert the files separately, so that I author the dvd in another program (like dvd lab or dvd styler for example), the quality is impeccable, and it remains With a very intuitive and simple interface, but the only thing I miss about it is a better authoring experience, made directly by AVS to dvd itself, lacking more customization to create for example, setup menu and extras, plus, Button settings are a bit tricky, but for those who don't care about customizing the DVD, sticking to a simple but effective authoring, or looking for a conversion tool for authoring outside the program environment itself, this is a great alternative!

Review by Diego Souza on Sep 27, 2019 Version: 2.8.7 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by SonicBlade on Jun 16, 2019 Version: 2.8.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Perfect. Got fed up with low bitrate using Convertx 7. This software did the job!

Review by blackhawk327 on Sep 18, 2018 Version: 2.87 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Vaquero on Jan 31, 2018 Version: 2.8.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This software does not seem to be able to convert a HD ts file into a DVD. It aborts the process each time, with no explanation.
Not worth downloading


Review by TheGedemondan on Jan 3, 2018 Version: 2.8.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sloppyjoe on May 31, 2017 Version: 2.8.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Kell on Apr 10, 2017 Version: 2.8.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




First it uses image burn to burn the movie. I tried converting two movies and burning them and both didnt work.

Review by mol3000 on Feb 28, 2017 Version: 2.8.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 1/10




Simply brilliant! used this to take some MKV's I made of a dvd and put it back into DVD structure. It took the file, imported all the subs, chapters and audio and put it with a nice menu. It also gave me a nice ISO all without having to transcode. Other solutions have worked but the issue has always been the subtitles that I needed to to make a srt from first. Hats off devel team this program rocks!

Review by dannyboy48888 on Jan 7, 2016 Version: 284 alpha 151229 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




warnings confuse me,but easy UI.

Review by Person_J on Sep 21, 2015 Version: 2.8.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




Since updating to V2.8.0 I've been getting these MediaInfo.dll warnings that I did not receive in previous versions, and I have no idea why I get them.

"Warning! MediaInfo has detected an abnormal video frames value:"

Nothing shows up in the log and the video produced seems fine, but the warning is puzzling.


Review by mail2tom on Jan 8, 2015 Version: 2.8.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




By far the best, most simple, least annoying and most functional tool to create DVDs, and it's free. 20/10. Congrats to the author.

Review by kodec on Nov 4, 2014 Version: 2.7.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




used to use dvdflick and still use dvdstyler at times. avstodvd is the best freeware for dvd work. havent had any issues creating dvds and having them play on all sorts of players. fancy menu items might be the only thing if you need that, though i have no issues there.

Review by sidsanders on Jun 5, 2014 Version: 2.7.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have tried AVStoDVD and DVD Flick. AVStoDVD is definitely the one you need. DVD Flick failed to sync the video and audio but no problem for AVStoDVD. DVD Flick just stopped playing video for 2 movies (audio continued to play just fine but video froze). No problem for AVStoDVD. DVD Flick is easier to use, that's true, but once you get the hang of it AVStoDVD is really the better program.

Review by Reg101 on Mar 3, 2014 Version: 2.7.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you try to change the default values in the program preferences to adjust video bitrate higher average birate values it crashes with an error, and quits



Run time error '383':

'text' property is read only


Review by steptoe on Sep 6, 2013 Version: 2.7.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




runtime error 383 text property is read only ?? doesn't open

Review by smartel on Sep 21, 2012 Version: 2.5.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




My second comment ... may as well give it a 10 for value, it's free.

Had a lot of problems getting 2.4.0 to work. This really ticked me off since this is the only program of its type I've found that actually works. I believe it may be problems with win7, which is certainly not unheard of with freeware.

Basically, the program wants to use ffdshow. It doesn't work on my system unless I use Windows 7 preferred filter tweaker (and I have serious reservations about using 3rd party register editing tools) and tell the system to use windows for everything instead of ffdshow for directshow.

Then, I had to go into Preferences and tell Avisynth to use directshow filtering.

Now it works fine. I'm pretty happy.

But why the hell can't these people just use standard directshow?


Review by Hoser Rob on Aug 31, 2011 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've tried a lot of freeware DVD authors. Mostly DVDStyler, which gave me no end of problems. This is the only thing that hasn't frozen and has worked with every file I've used it on, using God knows what codecs.

The interface isn't as pretty as some and may look forbidding but the basic operation is one click after you define the settings. Video rendering quality is very good.

And, best for me, it syncs the audio on files that nothing else I tried will.

Downgraded ease of use just because if you want to define your own chapter breaks it's done based on frame count rather than time, but this isn't necessarily a real problem for everyone. I don't know how you define value for money with freeware but there it is.


Review by Hoser Rob on Apr 6, 2011 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best free AVI to DVD tool available. Author very helpful with problems. Continually improving.

Review by niknik on Mar 3, 2011 Version: 2.3.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks to the Author for updates and...
Keep running GooD ShoW.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------
In TuX, CalmAV throws warning PUA for ImagoMuxer for ASP/COM pack.
Hope, future release sticks to MuxMan or FFMpeg (if bug is fixed).


Review by Bonie81 on Feb 3, 2011 Version: 2.3.4 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




simple, but, nice.
Someone already did it, while I was thinking how to make 4gb sample DVD?
here is the sample of AVStoDVD, I just downloaded from p2p.
http://rapidshare.com/files/426399045/AVStoDVD_SAMPLE.zip


Review by Bonie81 on Oct 21, 2010 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Other Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Updates are much appreciated. MUUUUUUUUUUACK!
SIMPLE like 1..2..and 3.. and it WORKS.
Easy to use FREE Tool for quality DVD Authoring.
it can take AVI or mpg as input.

it should support MULTIPLE video formats as input including mp4 also through (FFMpeg->AVI).


Review by Bonie81 on Oct 14, 2010 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




The most interesting and capable dvd authoring sw in the market. It is better in quality and functions than 90% of the expensive paid sw in the market today. Bravo Mr. C. Keep up the superb work.

Review by zonag5 on Oct 12, 2010 Version: 2.31 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One of my favorit programms, specially to make 2 DVD at 1 disk, it works perfect!

But, what I misse and dont get (my mistake I assume) is how to crop? Which values and how to use?

I do not like the blackborders and like to create fullscreen, real fullscreen. How?

Further it is a very good programm I often promote on my own fora for other users!


Review by NZBPirates on Sep 10, 2010 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Tried for the first time yesterday..Took about an hour to encode files...when Muxman prepared the Menu i believe the whole process aborted itself!! Was very annoyed to say the least..back to convertX

Review by Soixante on Jul 24, 2010 Version: 2.3.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Very good functions like tmpgenc or procoder with the easy wizard setup for complex operations. Even authors menus if you want. Save me the time and effort of writing my own avisynth script. One problem is that altering the crop settings requires one to reenter the setting for each side. Although the default encoder settings are different from what I would use they are easy to override.

Review by loster on May 20, 2010 Version: 2.2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Couldn't get this to work on my computer. Kept on crashing the program about 20% through. Needs some work still.

I used the guide on videohelp and the first encoder as recomended crashes the computer.


Review by maonstad on Mar 11, 2010 Version: 2.2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a great tool that keeps on improving even if slowly. Was looking for an alternative to Film Machine without the reliance on codecs. This is nearly as good as TFM in terms of quality and is faster and fairly easy to use. Definitely worth a serious try and cost nothing.

I do wish that tools of this calibre can work in Ubuntu since I find DeVeDe, although good, is quite short on quality and slow compared to TFM and AVS2DVD.

Cheers to the guru(s) behind these awesome tools!!!


Review by ObiTWO on Dec 10, 2009 Version: 2.2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thank's for this.
It works in my pc, the quality of the video and sound is very good, it's better for me than your competition.
I don't like the borders added in avisynth by default !!! (why?)
Maybe in a future update we can load more than one subtitle file.
And we can have a detailed guide.
Thank you...




Review by chrchr on Dec 10, 2009 Version: 2.2.4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I tried this converter a few times and took it off my system. But that was because I didn't read the help thoroughly enough to get the scheme. It's kind of unusual in that it picks the encoder automatically depending on the output bit rate rather than the user checking a box. If that was brought up front in the intro many more users may stick with it. That's the reason for ease of use score of 8. That confusion out of the way, basically all you need to do is set NTSC as the default format rather than PAL if that's applicable to your location, and check multi-thread in options if you have a multi-core PC. It does the rest.


Today I fed it .wmv HD input of various resolutions and it handled them without a problem, producing very glossy output. Definitely a keeper for the video toolbox.


Review by MilesAhead on Oct 10, 2009 Version: 2.2.2 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent HCenc (or QuEnc) based converter. Handles almost any file. Automated and easy to use, but with plenty of options for users to tweak with if desired. And of course the output always as great as possible.

Review by OAKside on Sep 8, 2008 Version: 2.1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 1.2.2 works perfect on Windows XP and Windows Vista Home Premium Edition.Version 1.2.3 will not finish.Version 1.2.3 stops at muxman and gives error check your settings on both Windows XP and Windows Vista Home Premiun Edition.

Review by panther50 on Feb 19, 2008 Version: 1.2.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I have used this program for about two weeks,1.1.2 and the previous version.This program delivers excellent results in a modest amount of time.I previously used two other programs for AVI to DVD conversion,but this beauty is now my program of choice.Thanks to the author-developer.

Review by panther50 on Oct 2, 2007 Version: 1.1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Not bad, output from 576x288 avi fine.

Slower than most other tools, but not by a great deal considering you can set parameters for encoding of video and audio bitrate.

Could improve in subtitle and audio area's ... more please.

Remember, what you see on pc, is not exactly the same as what you will see on tv, so watch your subtitle font sizes , and positioning.

Good work .


Review by Bjs on Sep 28, 2007 Version: 1.1.0.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com