Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for 3ivx

8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


This IS a really good MPEG-4 Codec, it hasn't been updated in some time and is due for some tweaking, Quality wise I think it on par with DivX and I like it slightly better than XviD, it seems to have a little more detail in well lit scenes but can be very blocky in dark or foggy scenes (all MPEG-4 Codecs are to some degree though). The MPEG-4 toolkit is really useful if you take a little time to learn how to use GraphEdit. Where this codec really shines is in software realtime capture, this is usually an MPEG-4 taboo but this codec can yield great captures in CQ mode and doesn't need a lot of CPU to do it. It also is comfortable with both Mac and PC and works very well with Quicktime Pro.

Review by GMaq on Nov 28, 2006 Version: D4 4.5.1 (Jan 27, 2004) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




A must have for Virtual Dub Mod and MPEG2 files. You'll also need to reduce yor video frame rate for HDTV recordings.

Review by CHSReb on Nov 27, 2006 Version: AC# ACM OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The 3ivx codec pack does have certain limitations according to statements made on the 3ivx website as of 1/22/06. While the video does look very good, why do we need another f***in codec when Divx is clearly superior in popularity (eg. it would be better if we could just stick to just a few codecs - 3ivx, xVid, blaaa) and works great; if you want DVD quality buy a damn DVD!; coversion from 3ivx to other formats sucks - why would I want to convert to another format? - because flexibility is needed to convert to lesser bit rates for smaller file sizes or to more compatable formats for web streaming etc. The only media player that I could get to work with 3ivx with minimal effort was QuickTime 6.5 - and this prog blows.

Review by x0r on Jan 22, 2006 Version: 4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Simply great. The best for real-time capturing.The quality

of video I captured is unmatched to any other codec avalable

in the market,while playing back captured video it looked as

if I have captured it uncompressed.


Review by Ajit on Dec 11, 2003 Version: 4.5 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I saw this codec like 2 years ago and everything looked great. Way better than whatever DivX was out. I think only 3.11alpha. I posted on a couple boards and asked why no one was usuing the encoder but got ignored. Looks like they finally relased a final version of it! Looks awsome!

Review by cegli on Dec 6, 2003 Version: 1.00 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sorry guys, but if it's got limitations it's not freeware, as far as I'm concerned.
To quote:
"Note: The Audio Encoder and Audio Decoder are restricted to 50 encodes or a maximum usage of 30 days."

It may be free, but it's crippled!!


Review by Fluffbutt on Dec 5, 2003 Version: 4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Absolutely unbelievable . . . I haven't seen anything like it. I just encoded 'The Matrix' ( 2:16:21 ) in about 1.5 hours on my Athlon 2400 w/ 512 MB ram. The quality is superb. Encoded at 640x256 at ONLY 1000kbps and it looks better than Xvid or DIVX 5.x at 1800kbps. A masterpiece.

Review by ChevyNo1 on Dec 4, 2003 Version: D4 4.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Freaking amazing quality, better than DivX, XVID, or anything else! Faster encoding, and the fastest decoder out there!!! Sweet postfilters too :) 10/10/10/10 If you don't try 3ivx, you don't know what your missing.

Review by appleguru on Dec 2, 2003 Version: 4.5 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com