Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try StreamFab All-in-One and download streaming video from Netflix, Amazon Prime, etc! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for yt-dlp

8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews


Excellent program. If there is anyone else like me with low vision and that has difficulty with using CLI software, this program works well with Batch files. In fact, it's far easier than most programs. You just type "yt-dlp.exe" along with any sub-commands you need to use and the addresses of the files, one per line, and save it as filename.bat and run it.

Review by Axel Slingerland on May 19, 2022 Version: 2022-04-08 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works great on Discovery+. Wouldn't work on History channel though. Using Brave browser for target browser. Make sure you start the target video playing, then fetch the available formats, tell it to download using one of the available formats, then let it do it's thing. You can stop the video playing in the browser once you get the download started. The original Youtube version is abandonware so use this as it's updated regularly.

Review by 1hunglo on Apr 24, 2022 Version: 2022.04.08 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This by far is so much better than youtube-dl itself. The reason I say this is because it's updated a lot more and has a great support community. When youtube-dl stops working, it seems a new updated version of ytdlp is available and I can continue my downloading.

Review by yamama on Jan 10, 2022 Version: dec27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Can't get to work with easynews. Get a couple of errors.

"Could not send HEAD request to members.easynews.com....HTTP Error 401: Authorization Required". Should this work or does it have to be added?

I even had my username and password in the command line and also firefox cookies. Strange.


Review by terry on Jan 1, 2022 Version: 2021.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by pljones on Dec 3, 2021 Version: 2021.12.01 OS: Linux Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm thankful for yt-dlp, it's a really useful tool, with the assistance of a gui or console app it's really easy to get just about any video from just about any site.

BTW, don't blame yt-dlp, yt-dl, or any other such utility when it quits working, every site that has videos wants you to watch them on their site - not download them, so they go out of their way to prohibit it, which in turn forces the devs to constantly tweak the code.

Thanks to all the devs for your hard work.

BTW, to the previous commenter - I think you have the previous release (10-09-2021), VideoHelp is behind as of my post - Github has 10-10-2021.


Review by MikeIsMe on Oct 13, 2021 Version: 10.10.2021 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Romsryu on Jun 1, 2021 Version: 2021.06.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I give the score of 8 for the concept of Youtube-DL as a whole. This version of the software is ridiculous. A differing version of a differing version of an original software. At least DLC made sense in that at the time it looked like DL was going to disappear due to Github being forced to remove it. Since then DL has made a big comeback and is constantly being updated. DLC has not been updated since Nov. 2020. The authors of DLP should simply become Contributors to DL. I have zero knowledge of the circumstances but it smells of someone (the authors of DLP) not getting their way (with the authors of DL) and they decided to take their ball and go home. I could be wrong about that but it's happened plenty of times in history. The world does not need 3 or more versions of Youtube-DL. The authors should swallow their pride and all contribute to DL.

Review by Gripweed on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 2021.03.03.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


8 reviews, Showing 1 to 8 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com