Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try StreamFab Netflix Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix! Download free trial.

Software Home »



All reviews for yt-dlp

18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews


Rating by zhovanic on Nov 13, 2023 Version: 2023.10.13 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Version 2023.06.21 breaks the ability of playing Dailymotion live streams while they are still playing fine with version 2023.03.04.

[ytdl_hook] ERROR: 'NoneType' object has no attribute 'format'
[ytdl_hook] youtube-dl failed: unexpected error occurred
Failed to recognize file format.


Review by Brazil on Jun 21, 2023 Version: 2023.06.21 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Laos12 on Jun 9, 2023 Version: 2023.03.04 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can not get it installed or to run. How about some (more) info on installing on a MAC.

Review by rhnelson on Jun 9, 2023 Version: 10.15.7 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




I've been a long-time user of youtube-dl and have gone through many versions over the years. Switched to PIP module a while back and encountered an issue today with it so I tried to update it, but wouldn't upgrade to the latest version. I decided to try the PIP installation for YT-DLP and it was quick and painless!! So far, so good!!

Review by spitfire777 on Mar 2, 2023 Version: Ubuntu 20.04.5 LTS OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Daniel on Feb 26, 2023 Version: 2022.07.18 OS: Linux Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Love it! I use it for many different things. Be sure to download both ffmpeg and aria2c and put both files in the same folder as yt-dlp and that's just about all you need to get started. I run it in win terminal, but there are new GUIs being developed all the time (Stacher is one I've used with success). It's updated regularly which is always nice. Just be sure with each new update to check for any changed/new command line arguments as those can change from time to time with each update.

Review by Labryn on Aug 12, 2022 Version: 2022.08.08 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




FAIL moving this to Python 3.7.... time to find another option ... "Thanks" for changing things and thinking of the end-user like that

Review by Robert on Aug 12, 2022 Version: Newest OS: Linux Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Awesome replacement for youtube-dl. Just slots in as a replacement for the old executable, and my 3rd party GUI tools/scripts are working again. Kudos to the devs

Review by SimonF on Jul 7, 2022 Version: 2022.06.29 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




By far the best downloader I've ever used!

Review by on Jul 1, 2022 Version: 2022.06.29 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent program. If there is anyone else like me with low vision and that has difficulty with using CLI software, this program works well with Batch files. In fact, it's far easier than most programs. You just type "yt-dlp.exe" along with any sub-commands you need to use and the addresses of the files, one per line, and save it as filename.bat and run it.

Review by Axel Slingerland on May 19, 2022 Version: 2022-04-08 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works great on Discovery+. Wouldn't work on History channel though. Using Brave browser for target browser. Make sure you start the target video playing, then fetch the available formats, tell it to download using one of the available formats, then let it do it's thing. You can stop the video playing in the browser once you get the download started. The original Youtube version is abandonware so use this as it's updated regularly.

Review by 1hunglo on Apr 24, 2022 Version: 2022.04.08 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This by far is so much better than youtube-dl itself. The reason I say this is because it's updated a lot more and has a great support community. When youtube-dl stops working, it seems a new updated version of ytdlp is available and I can continue my downloading.

Review by yamama on Jan 10, 2022 Version: dec27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Can't get to work with easynews. Get a couple of errors.

"Could not send HEAD request to members.easynews.com....HTTP Error 401: Authorization Required". Should this work or does it have to be added?

I even had my username and password in the command line and also firefox cookies. Strange.


Review by terry on Jan 1, 2022 Version: 2021.12.27 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Rating by pljones on Dec 3, 2021 Version: 2021.12.01 OS: Linux Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm thankful for yt-dlp, it's a really useful tool, with the assistance of a gui or console app it's really easy to get just about any video from just about any site.

BTW, don't blame yt-dlp, yt-dl, or any other such utility when it quits working, every site that has videos wants you to watch them on their site - not download them, so they go out of their way to prohibit it, which in turn forces the devs to constantly tweak the code.

Thanks to all the devs for your hard work.

BTW, to the previous commenter - I think you have the previous release (10-09-2021), VideoHelp is behind as of my post - Github has 10-10-2021.


Review by MikeIsMe on Oct 13, 2021 Version: 10.10.2021 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Romsryu on Jun 1, 2021 Version: 2021.06.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I give the score of 8 for the concept of Youtube-DL as a whole. This version of the software is ridiculous. A differing version of a differing version of an original software. At least DLC made sense in that at the time it looked like DL was going to disappear due to Github being forced to remove it. Since then DL has made a big comeback and is constantly being updated. DLC has not been updated since Nov. 2020. The authors of DLP should simply become Contributors to DL. I have zero knowledge of the circumstances but it smells of someone (the authors of DLP) not getting their way (with the authors of DL) and they decided to take their ball and go home. I could be wrong about that but it's happened plenty of times in history. The world does not need 3 or more versions of Youtube-DL. The authors should swallow their pride and all contribute to DL.

Review by Gripweed on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 2021.03.03.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


18 reviews, Showing 1 to 18 reviews
Visit our sponsors! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2024 videohelp.com