Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for gui4ffmpeg

13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews


Wow. This worked GREAT! I'm pretty tech-illiterate. I know enough to get by, but I have downloaded numerous virus-ridden freeware in the past. I could tell from the simple interface and user comments that this one was legit. Thanks for making my life easier. Now to find an audio converter that won't crash my computer!

Review by toonsmyth on Jul 28, 2012 Version: XP OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




In this version is a problem with the structure of files and folders. So you can't see the properties of the source, batch file handling goes wrong and you'll have no help.
After unpacking you'll have a folder named Gui4ffmpeg, gui4ffmpeg.exe and ffmepg.exe in the main folder.
Open the folder Gui4ffmpeg and copy the whole content into the main folder.
Then the problems are solved.


Review by gui4ffmpeg on Nov 21, 2008 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




With Windows XP SP3, I am only able to convert (using the related guide) one VOB file at a time (batch encoding does not work as described). Additionally, when a VOB file is loaded, no properties show in the related window as the program's description says it should, so I have to guess at which audio track to use when converting. I posted a similar comment under the gui4ffmpeg guide section, but thought this issue should be noted in the review of this program here as well as I am not the only one reporting this problem.

Review by wild4trv30 on Nov 18, 2008 Version: 3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




bruper, I noticed the same with the video quality with new ffmpeg versions. The bitrate with new ffmpeg version seam to now want a k at the end of the rate you use. You will want to use -b 2200k not -b 2200 on the command line.

Review by thymej on Dec 19, 2006 Version: 2.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




excellent tool however with this new version video quality was horrible downloaded previous ffmpeg and ran the same batch file and things were normal. with new ffmpeg i asked for video bitrate of 2200 but got 300. I didn't notice till i went to burn my 2 movie dvd and it was only 1 gig. overall great tool though.

Review by bruper on Dec 18, 2006 Version: 2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I echo the general applause of the previous comments. This tool has enabled me to create DVD's that play on most standalone players starting with 352x480 mpegs. I re-encode them to 720x480 to improve standalone player compatibility, even though supposedly the 352x480 is a DVD-compliant format. Then I author with DVDStyler.

I tried to use it to convert a .wmv file to mpeg2 but it crashed. However, I believe this was because the underlying program (ffmpeg) is not yet capable of handling the latest .wmv format (version 9), as stated in the ffmpeg documentation. Thus I do not fault gui4ffmpeg for this.

The program very conveniently gives you the ffmpeg command line for whatever conversion you set up. Thus you can create batch files that call ffmpeg directly for multiple files, which saves you the trouble of manually starting each conversion.


Review by dlflannery on Sep 9, 2006 Version: 1.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Brilliant software, been using it for few months now. When other encoders fail or cause problems (synch)etc always go back to this tool, quick easy and has never failed me, 10/10 to author

Review by dweeb52 on Aug 24, 2006 Version: 1.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a phenomenal tool -- it's the only FREE tool I've found that will allow for perfect DVD-compliant MPEG-2 encoding/conversion. I use this to do my encoding prior to using Roxio Easy Media Creator 8 to create an iso image, and the encoding times are MUCH faster than what I was seeing using Media Creator 8 to do the encoding (like on the order of 1 hour or less to do 5 23-minute TV episodes, compared to 5 hours to do the encoding using Easy Media Creator 8). The quality of the encoded video seems just fine to me -- VERY good quality, in fact. This should be considered a MUST-HAVE for everyone's video editing toolbox.

Review by jbodin on May 30, 2006 Version: 1.3 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent straightforward converting program. This is the only program I can use for converting DVD to AVI without any problems (A/V sync), and to top it off it is blazing fast as well (around 40 FPS on my computer).

Could use a more user-friendly GUI however, more advanced encoding options need commandline entry and actual encoding bitrate is higher than what you specify it to be (just choose a lower bitrate than what you want).


Review by brainz on Nov 27, 2005 Version: 1.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I recently encountered some AVI files that gave me sound synch problems when I converted them using my normal tools. This package worked correctly once I figured out a few of the settings and it did a nice job quickly.

Review by havan_ironoak on Sep 6, 2005 Version: 1.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




There is a new guide to convert Divx/Xvid to DVD

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=1345948#1345948


Review by gui4ffmpeg on Jul 26, 2005 Version: 1.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




gui4ffmpeg is one of the best tools I've used for encoding files to DVD - try it - you may become fan of this easy to use, lighting fast program as well.

Review by UberNeuman on Apr 26, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If the encoded divx/xvid is not playable in WMP, see this guide:

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=265021


Review by gui4ffmpeg on Apr 17, 2005 Version: 1.1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10


13 reviews, Showing 1 to 13 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com