Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Windows Media Player

14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews


Very professional and exacting information, tips and instruction, in plain language. Thank you for the effort and constant flow of material pertinent to my pure enjoyment of making quality amateur videos, and any other issue with WMP contact Windows Media Player Service which give the very nice solution.

Review by stella on Mar 23, 2018 Version: 2.513 OS: WinNT4 Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




Very professional and exacting information, tips and instruction, in plain language. Thank you for the effort and constant flow of material pertinent to my pure enjoyment of making quality amateur videos, and any other issue with WMP contact https://babasupport.org/microsoft/windows-media-player-service/368 which give the very nice solution.

Review by stella on Mar 23, 2018 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




I know this player has been out for a long time, but I just started using it because version 10 started doing weird stuff. I looked here first, to see if anybody had anything really bad to say about it, and they didn't, so I gave it a try. My first experience with it went like this: Used it to open some video files I had on the HD, video started playing, I expanded the screen to full-screen, decided I liked the smaller screen better, so I shrunk it back down, only to find I was watching a black screen with audio only. No matter what I did, the picture didn't come back.

At that point, I could either close and restart WMP or close it and start up VLC to watch my video, which is what I did. And, of course, it didn't have a problem at all with resizing the screen while a video is playing.

Maybe another time I'll try to figure out why it did that, but with other players that work okay, why bother?


Review by johnsees on Nov 1, 2008 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 5/10




I had alot of trouble installing this (had to make changes to registry keys) then configuring the media sharing (had to turn on multiple services in XP); and haven't really tested to see if the transcoding works well when streaming to a PS3. But other than that it is a decent player, as long as you aren't trying to make it media share on XP. If you want a user friendly no hassle media server with great transcoding I recommend TVersity. I just installed, added media to library, and started streaming music and movies to my PS3 via wireless router.

Review by moses6533 on Dec 13, 2007 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Its an easy player to use. Uh, I am enjoying the new look, quite nice although I usally change its skin from time to time. Some interesting new features, like the artist stacking, which is pretty good. Ripping is fast in my case. Uh not the best player out there, there are many others like windows media classic that will blow this one away as far as function. Well dont take my word for it, take a look at others out there and find the one that suites your needs.

Me personaly, I use this and windows media player classic, and Im set.


Review by jorge on Oct 11, 2006 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




To use ths Version you must have XP Service Pack 2 Installed.
Media Player Classic is still the one


Review by OzzyDownunder on May 19, 2006 Version: 11 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




A DirectX programmer perspective: Microsoft has no trouble writing powerful, stable user-friendly software. What galls me, and apparently the Justice Department, is their sneaky low-handed tactics.

Case in point: The beautifully annoying vertical blue line on the right side when watching MPG files double size (MP 9 & 10, DirectX 9, NOT DirectX 8). Why do I get the feeling Windows Media Video (WMV) files do not exhibit this behavior. I wouldn't know for sure, because I'm not one to be persuaded, not even by the richest man in the world and his company.

Fortunately there is a powerful, stable and user-friendly solution: Winamp 5.


Review by scttkc on Sep 25, 2004 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




this update, WMP10 is totally remodelled and funtionality
is terrific, having been a fan of WMP for years, very happy
with this update.

no crashes and superb playback allways, with a great interface,
with movie and sound enhancements avail.

A 10 from me M$.

For the music fans out there, convert all your mp3's
to WMA (96kbps 44.1khz 2pass VBR) you will not be dissapointed.
No loss of quality and my friends who are all hardcore MP3 users,
could not hear the difference


Review by peterbuilt on Sep 24, 2004 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I cannot find anything wrong with this media player.I have had no problems with it and intend on using it for a long time to come.
Audio and video quality is great.


Review by laspis59 on Sep 24, 2004 Version: v9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If you want to listen to Perfect Quality Audio use WMP 9.0. Its better than any other audio players even Winamp.Hats off to Microsoft.

Review by Ajit on Sep 24, 2004 Version: 9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is another example of a typical MS program. Does a little of
everything, Nothing well!!!!


Review by DMWatson on Jun 22, 2004 Version: 10beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




This is by far the worst video player you can find. There are too many other developers out there striving for perfection for the consumers and Microsoft obviously doesn't care about perfection. Stay away from all their players. Zoomplayer is a good choice, it lets you change aspect ratio.

Review by cooljoe666 on Jan 6, 2004 Version: 6.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




ewwww....this sucks!. Itīs true that you can perform lots of actions with media player, but if you install and run 10 applications to do what this program does, youīll probably use less of your system memory.
I do not recommend this software if you have less than 256 mb of ram; Plus, itīs from microsoft. Sooner or later, you WILL have problems.
If you just want to see video,i highly recomend BsPlayer instead.


Review by haznut on Oct 9, 2003 Version: 9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




Media player 9 is free if you have WinXP. You can upgrade to 9.0 from 8.0

Good points:
Its Free
Excellent at organizing music files
Can download music album info for ripped CD's
Accepts many codecs
Can burn music CD or MP3
Stable software and easy to use.
Works with many handhelds, can move MP3 via USB
Good tool for handling downloaded music and forming play lists to burn

Needs improvement:
Need plug-in to rip to MP3, comes with WMA
Need plug-in to play DVD


Review by machineman on Jun 10, 2003 Version: 9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com