Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try StreamFab All-in-One and download streaming video from streaming sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for VisualSubSync Enhanced

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


Very good program. I really like the visual comparing options it gives, but recently I tried to do timing compare and edit, and it didn't help me because I wanted to edit the VO subs empty sections. There was no other easy way to do the timing correction, because I needed the timings from the subtitles-1253 rows, and the text from 'VO/Other' tab-1033 rows('copy VO to subtitle text' is not an option, I needed all of it with some corrections). An option to enable editing the text in the VO tab and use the timings from imported subs to save it as .srt file, will be a nice addition.
This is the best program I've used so far :)


Review by Batelcho on Jul 25, 2018 Version: 1.2.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Please analyze this suggestion!Would save a lot of time editing. Thanks!

Hello,it would be possible the program break the lines immediately before capital letters
and also immediately after punctuation?
Obviously respecting the rule of number of characters per line,
and the balance between that number of characters per line (preset in the program).
Then the program would only enforce this linebreaking rule (immediately before capital letters and immediately after punctuation)
if the line balance condition (preset in the program) is respected.
Is the tip!! :)


Review by Connect on Apr 9, 2018 Version: 1.2.27 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




THE BEST EVER! DOES EVERYTHING! Now it only needs to find the subtitle times alone...and translate too!

Review by Daluz on Feb 23, 2011 Version: 0.93 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can tell this program could reach great rating again: more stable than previous versions, very precise for timing purposes and elegant interface. The only freeware program for Windows that can "replace"/"complement" the great Sub Station Alpha.

For my needs, the program is the right choice among the freeware subtitling options, like Aegisub ( not so stable concerning video engine) or DivXLand Media Subtitler ( stopped development?)

Thanks to the author.

devil (johner)

Thanks to the author.


Review by devilcoelhodog on Apr 27, 2008 Version: 0.9.15 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After using Subrip to extract subtitles off of 'Shawshank Redemptiom', I saw that I was going to have to do some work with the timing of the subtitles (and of course, all the OCR mistakes of Subrip). So i decided to give VisualSubSync a try. I just started to play around with this tool, and I have to say that it's pretty sweet, thus far. To be able to "see" what's going on (as in wave form), this tool really does provide the user with a clear way of attacking the ol' synchronization problem.

But if one wants to get perfect timing, then one has to put forth quite a bit a work with this program. Or so far as I can tell right now. It seems to me that one has to go through EVERY single line of subtitle and manually add it to a 'text pipe', and THEN copy and paste that subtitle in the correct and corresponding timed line, and THEN delete the subtitle and its incorrect timing that the new subtitle was copied from. Sound confusing? Well, it's not. But it IS time-consuming work. Now, like I said before, I just began playing with this program. Maybe there are 'shortcuts' of some kind. Please....anyone fill me in, so this fun (but daunting) project doesn't take me a year and a day.

So far, I see this program as being the best at obtaining perfect synchronization of subtitles. What I would like to see, however, (and this is important) is a scroll tool of some kind. Maybe a little 'hand' like Adobe Acrobat reader has so that one can scroll the wave form screen. With this ability, the user would be able to more quickly get the job done. As it stands, scrolling the screen with that tiny blue, rectangle is a major pain in the butt; the screen goes whizzing by in what seems like a fraction of a second, leaving the user trying to relocate the text pipe he was working on.

Overall (and aside from the scroll thing), I would give this little, yet powerful, program a proverbial 2 thumbs up. I highly recommend giving this program a try.


Review by thundar on Sep 22, 2007 Version: 0.9.10.805 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I can not say anything which hasn't been said already by previous users.
Excellent subtitle tool.


Review by Jeremiah58 on May 19, 2007 Version: 0.9.9 (Feb 25, 2007) OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very nice program.

The only one (FOR MY PC AND NEEDS) that really works using audio bar + video bar for timing purposes.

Timing bar is not so confortable like SSA does and there aren't some nice features that SSA has too.

But, despite of this, VSS is a great freeware program that can be used for timing with nice precision and speed.

Much recommend!


Review by devilcoelhodog on Jan 27, 2007 Version: 0.9.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very easy to use and dead on accurate sync.

In a recent project, I had to retype the subs from 12 seperate clips from a movie (the video quality was too poor to OCR), then sync the subs to a better quality video. The 12 pieces were joined in an Avisynth script (VSS will read from Avisynth as well as other video types). Once the typing was done, syncing to the new, better quality audio/video was simple. Just select a group of subtitles and move it forward or back from the edit -> delay menu.

Where VSS only saves to a few file types, It's an excellent companion tool to Subtitle Workshop.


Review by GTRBudda on Dec 29, 2006 Version: 0.9.4 OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Fast learning curve. Does the job pefectly.

We made a DVD of presentations by the students in my daughter's class. I wanted to add subtitles to one kid's speach because his mother is deaf. I was able to write, edit, and synch quickly and the file loaded into DVD-Lab Studio without issue.

His mother was so happy to be able to "hear" his presentation that she cried when she first saw it in the classroom.


Review by byteguy on Mar 15, 2006 Version: 0.9.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




VSS works fine for regular subtitles, but the Karaoke mode is an afterthought and incomplete. And it doesn't run that well on low-end systems.

One of the features VSS touts was that it has its own tool to extract the audio from the video stream. However, the audio extract doesn't work for me. My existing AVI is MPEG4 video and MP3 audio, and the audio extract simply failed. Fortunately I had a previously extracted audio track for testing Sub Station Alpha and it was useful here.

VSS also has no preview tool to let you view the results of the subtitles unless you want to use the video preview AND have VOBSUB/DirectVobSub loaded. You can't see the subtitles by themselves.

Once you get past these quibbles, you'll find that VSS is very intuitive in its use. Enter a line, and highlight the part of the waveform that contains the audio of that line, and voila, it's done. Repeat ad-infinitum.

Then you run into the incomplete Karaoke mode. Even VSS's changelog tells you that Karaoke mode is NOT really supported in the SRT format, which is the only format it can read, but it will WRITE to .SSA (sub station alpha) or .ASS format.

As a result, the SRT file with timing codes doesn't display right in VobSub. Sometimes I see the text, sometimes I see the code itself, and I can't find out why! I checked VobSub itself, the preview, and so on, can't find the cause of the problem.

So as long as you don't use the Karaoke mode you should be fine with VSS. For regular subtitle editing/syncing this is great, just hope the extract function works better, sucks less CPU power, and preview can see the subtitles themselves before they're overlaid on top of the videos.


Review by kschang on Dec 26, 2005 Version: 0.9.2.681 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great program you creating your own subtitles. Very easy to use. Excellent use of the waveform to get precision timed subs. I'm creating subtitles for my vacation video and authoring using DVDLab Pro. DVDLab controls the final layout and style but VisualSubSync really makes creating subtitles fun!

Review by jimjohnd on Dec 21, 2005 Version: 0.9.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com