Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try DVDFab DRM Removal and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for TMPGEnc Authoring Works

30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews


Major example of terrible BLOATWARE more so than Ahead Nero. And why waste your money when there are free alternatives out there or better commercial products like Sony Vegas!

Review by Mal on Jul 20, 2017 Version: 6.0.8.10 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




I have used TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 for over two years and have found the software to be reliable and fairly straight forward to use. It is not as full featured as the higher priced competitors, but you are also only paying 1/4 the price.

My biggest complaint is that the company is very slow to upgrade their product to support the latest hardware and software being offered in the industry. An example is there decoder and encoder software support, they use six year old decoder and encoder software for their TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 product. A six year old decoder and encoder is just too old to use on modern PC's. If your PC is a 2014 or newer model, you will be disappointed with the product because you will not get the performance boost you are expecting.


Review by irish003 on Aug 21, 2016 Version: 5.2.6.65 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




I've been using the authoring works 5 package for almost a year now with no problems until recently. I set the programme up using the FFDshow and Haali codec's as outlined by post 11 on this page Persen. I hadn't used it since last october when all was well for importing .TS files and outputting AVCHD to DVD. However now when I come to use the programme I get the error "Could not open the video part of the file blah blah" message. I updated both the Authoring works package and the codec packages and still no joy. If I revert from the set-up as described by Persen (post 11) it does work however I'm loath to move away from using either FFDshow or Haali codecs as they are very stable and give perfect picture quality. Any suggestions ?

Review by eibbed on Jan 11, 2014 Version: 5.1.3.57 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I'm just a Joe Average home film maker and computer user and needed a Blu-ray authoring package as that disc medium is now my preference owning a high resolution camcorder.

Previously I used DVD Lab Pro for authoring and unfortunately that software house has not yet created a Blu-ray authoring software. Whilst Tmpgenc Authoring 5 is not a patch on DVD Lab Pro, I have found it still lets me be quite creative with menus and it has never caused me any issues like some of the comments on here.

Their Help Guide is lacking in many areas. However, if you have never used DVD Lab Pro then I'm sure you will be perfectly happy with this Blu-ray menu package.

I firstly use Adobe Premiere Elements 9 for film editing, Tmpgenc Authoring for menu creation and BurnAware for the final Blu-ray disc burn.


Review by meridklt on Oct 22, 2013 Version: 5.1.3.57 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I finally resolved my problem with blu-ray disc pausing. I did a lot of testing to identify the problem. It turns out the problem as to do with MKV files with DTS audio. I can only assume that Authoring Works 5 doesn't handle the DTS conversion properly. When I use a MKV source file with DTS audio I get intermittent pauses. When I convert the MKV file to Dolby Digital using PopCorn MKV AudioConverter v1.87.73 the blu-ray disc plays normally with no pauses. I didn't fix the problem, but I did identify the problem I was having and found a way around it. I have tested on 15 different MKV files and had the exact same result on every file, when I converted the audio every one worked correctly. Go figure.

Review by irish003 on Jun 26, 2013 Version: 5.1.1.55 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 5/10




irish003 encode to dvd folder with not edits rename folder load folder as new dvd project and then edit in time line the you can edit with out any pause or stutter

Review by dessieclive on Apr 30, 2013 Version: 5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




After further testing, I find the suggestions I posted earlier did not help. The video still freezes a different points, but the sound and subtitles continues to play. With the suggested settings, the freezing does not occur as often.

Review by irish003 on Apr 29, 2013 Version: 5.1.1.55 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




I reported two days ago that I have been a user of TMPGEnc Authoring Works (versions 4 and 5) for the past two years. I reported the software sucked the life out of your PC and used 100% of your CPU. I finally got an answer from someone at Pegasys that knew how to fix the problem. To mimimize the use of your CPU do the following:

1. In Preferences> under CPU/GPU settings, enable Multi Threading and enable Nvidia CUDA settings.
2. At Output stage > make right-click on the preview window (in the Batch authoring tool > Options > Task priority ) and choose Task priority > Foreground and set it to "Below normal", and Background set it to the same.

This will significantly boost the speed of your rendering and reduce the CPU load.


Review by irish003 on Apr 23, 2013 Version: 5.1.1.55 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 is the only tool that let me put the latest bluray version of Total Recall into Sync. People had all sorts of problems with this movie even playing it in standalone players.

Review by isapc on Apr 21, 2013 Version: TMPGEnc Authoring Works 5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




I have been a user of TMPGEnc Authoring Works (versions 4 and 5) for the past two years. I kept hoping the vendor would correct problems with the software so it would stop running so inefficiently. This software will suck the life out of your PC and use 100% of your CPU. After the software maxes out your CPU at 100%, it starts causing intermittent video freezes in the generated output.

The freezes will appear every 8 to 10 minutes or so while you are viewing the video. This problem appears to only happen when you are outputting an H.264/AVC Blu-ray project with the x264" encoder engine. I have not noticed the freezing issue in any of my DVD projects, but the CPU utilization does run in excess of 70% range when burning a DVD. Using a competitive product, my CPU utilization was only 28% when I created the same Blu-ray disc using the same exact source files. Both software packages generated an H.264 project.

If my PC was a little weak, I could understand the CPU maxing out at 100%, but I have a fairly decent system. My configuration is Windows 7 64-bit, CPU Intel i7-2700K @ 3.50GHz with 16 GB memory and 800 GB of free disk space. I have never had problems working with video when using Nero Video 12 or Cyberlink PowerDirector 11, so I find it puzzling why TMPGEnc Authoring Works eats up so much CPU trying to do the same thing the other software packages seem to handle effortlessly. Now dont get me wrong, I like TMPGEnc Authoring Works, but this CPU utilization problem is now causing problems that are not acceptable to anyone wanting to render Blu-ray movies.

A little background: I am a retired IT professional with 35 years of computer design and programming experience. I know all software has bugs to some degree, but when you let a software package eat up 100% of your CPU that is just plain negligence. Any developer that would write software with that kind of a problem is just not up to snuff. It is my hope that someone at Pegasys, Inc. reads this and does something to correct their problem. The problem has been going on for more than two years now, so this is not the first time I reported it to vendor.


Review by irish003 on Apr 21, 2013 Version: 5.1.1.55 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




This needs lots of work - not user friendly and no instructions worth a _rap.
The rest is good and easy to use.


Review by pepegot1 on Apr 10, 2013 Version: 5.1.1.55 ( OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I upgraded from 4 and I'm glad I did! This program solves all my HD needs so far. Smart render of HD media is great. Joining multiple HD clips from camcorders works fast. Smart rendering AVCHD is awsome. Individual chapter behavior in the menu is also a nice addition. This prog is a must for people with AVCHD camcorders.

Review by schematic2 on Nov 23, 2012 Version: 5.0.8.2.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I upgraded to v5 but also kept my v4 (for divx authoring, which v5 lacks). Am using v5 mostly to author blu-rays and AVCHD DVDs (videos and photo slideshows). Output quality of TAW5 is pleasing, but encoding can take a long time when using CPU alone (core i7 920 2.66Ghz in my case). And with the CPU maxed out the PC slows to a crawl.
Since TAW5 has CUDA acceleration support, I decided to investigate the GeForce range of video cards and finally settled on one - the GeForce GTX560Ti 448 Core edition - that just happened to fit inside my medium-sized PC case!
With CUDA enabled, encoding blu-rays, AVCHD DVDs, and even regular DVDs became much faster. Subjectively, I estimate that encoding tasks complete in 1/4 to 1/3 of the time vs CPU alone. Output quality looks just as good to my eyes. The CPU still gets pushed fairly heavily, but with much of the heavy lifting off-loaded to the CUDA cores, Win7 remains fairly responsive to multitasking.
CUDA and TAW5 undoubtedly make a great team!


Review by cvxmelody on Sep 18, 2012 Version: 5.0.8.26 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




The softwares own renderers is not that good. I have experienced a lot of errors in the video that you wanted to work with, but i did find a way arround that problem and actually turning this software in to a extremely good piece of software: FFDSHOW and Haali Media Splitter.
If you install these two and after that go in to TAW's renderer settings:

Options => Preferences => Input/output format list => File input-plugin

and here removes every marker, except for the one at DirectShow file reader, then you can turn it in to a extremely good authoring tool for creating DVD and Blu-ray discs.
Do not use the softwares own .ts import tool when working with .ts video files, choose to open them 'as is'. Then FFDSHOW and Haali kicks in and does a perfect rendering of them.
If you have problems seeing any files when wanting to open a video file, choose all files.
You het one heck of a broad support of video types when having FFDSHOW and Haali as your renderering tools, even when you want to open video files who has DTS audio.

Note: DTS audio is converted to Dolby Digital, you don't have DTS output.


Review by persen on Aug 15, 2012 Version: 5.0.8.26 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am an avid user of Tmpgenc Authoring version 3 and 4. I liked both of them a lot. The flow and reliability were great and you really get control of the options and menus. I have been frustrated by other authoring software that makes me add menus I don't want, or splits a single menu into 10 pages of tracks, when that's nothing like I want. Or won't give me control over text or other objects on the screen. Tmpgenc Authoring 3 and 4 never did that, and gave me full control over quality and tracks and fitting things onto discs, etc.

I think I took the plunge too early with Authoring Works 5. I did so for H.264 capability however the program is as good as 3 and 4 but slicker. The menu options are amazing, the bitrates and formats and control over the output is once again great. But the bugs....omg the bugs. Any little thing will throw this program for a loop, never to return again.

Let's assume for the moment that the errors are justified. One time I had moved some files it needed, some graphics for one of my menus were in the wrong folder. Another time I was missing a codec it needed. And the 100s of other times errors were generated, for who knows what reason. Every single time, the error messages were totally worthless. Every error message said "error 0x0923093 at fff210923" or "the process cannot continue"...but why?!! How can I have a prayer of fixing the error with no explanation as to what the cause is, what type of error. I am a software developer at a tiny company and this would never be acceptable.

So I trudged on and finished my project, analyzed and compressed and 8 hours later, ready for Authoring Works to finish, and with (not kidding) 00:00:01 left on the clock, the program stopped with another useless error message, with codes and numbers that help no one.

While I think the price is fair for what you get, a program with really great features and attention to detail...the unacceptable error messages, or the ability to pass-thru DTS audio, make this an unwise purchase until they can get their act together on version 5, as they had with versions 3 or 4.


Review by kinglerch on Apr 26, 2012 Version: 5.0.8.26 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




At first, I thought I had bought a wrong device from a shoddy and irresponsible salesman. But, now ... I felt his recommendation was okay though I do face some problems with the HDD to DVD -R copying using the proprietary Pioneer's VR mode for my PAL video recording of my various favorite programs.

This DVD recorder has a 80 GB HDD to store a normal resolution (2 hours in DVD) up to a total of 32 hrs of programs. Anyway, I have not been able to watch many of my videos on my PC for sometimes and I finally hit the right place on my TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C ATA property. I changed the region to Singapore and it responded with the word "Region 3". Hitting right note means access to my 'hidden' files in my DVD-R and +R.

However, due to some reason, I'm not able to see my +RW files (not finalised ?).


Review by Conqueror300 on Mar 17, 2012 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




The pricing is fair. I had several options. I could have kept version 4 working for a little bit more money but why bother.

Encode speed is OK. I do not expect to encode with it. I use other software from the same people and others to make compliant video and only expect to use it to author BluRays and DVDs and minor encoding.

I take my HD captures and edit them with the latest VideoReDo as a 1st step. or use TMPGEnc Video Mastering Works 5 that I recently picked up. I paid the little extra to keep TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress functional as I have a need for it on another computer.


Review by TBoneit on Mar 16, 2012 Version: 5.05.22 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks for the info pepegot1. With your report, along with their unfair, insensitive upgrade policy, I wont be upgrading.

Review by rwmol on Mar 16, 2012 Version: AW4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What a piece of crap!! Compared to ver. 4, it's very slow encoding-too slow. If you want speed, then they want to sell you a plugin-what a rip off! You cannot use your older version 4, with 5 installed, unless you pay $20.00-more rip off. You can encode to 60P but, as there are no 60P players available yet, your player will down convert to 29.977. Therefore, I will stay with ver. 4 which does that.

Review by pepegot1 on Mar 14, 2012 Version: 5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 4/10




I use it to edit the commercials out of WIN 7 Media Center wtv videos ... works just fine.

Review by lacywest on Mar 14, 2012 Version: version 5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




This in line with previous comment....
This exactly what it suppose to do, after charging U$100 out-of-pocket.
ConvertX2DVD is in the same boat, as it is commercial software.

The only those things surprised and pleased me, when freewares like AVStoDVD, MultiAVCHD and FVAC, MeGUI, XViD4PSP,RiPBot and all other freeware produce quality output as good as commercial software(s). Making a good software and keeping it for FREE is a really very... I mean really very BiG Hearted Project. In this way I am thankful to many authors.

There is no software in this planet which is bug-free.
Why to pay extremely high price for buggy-wares. when your primary purpose is served well by free-wares?


Review by Bonie81 on Jul 7, 2011 Version: 4.1.047 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I was looking for a program that could convert MKV to DVD or Blu-ray. After trying multiAVCHD, AVStoDVD, FAVC, and ConvertXtoDVD, this is the best I found so far, easiest to use, and produced the best results. It can import an MKV through DirectShow. The user interface looks elegant and most important, it's not complicated and is easy to navigate. You are able to easily edit the video, filter the audio, and create or import subtitles and adjust its font, size, and position. You can easlily create your own custom menu templates, instead of using standard amateurish looking ones. Correcting mistakes or revising selections is not a hassle. The built in disk burner is good and the produced DVD preserves video and audio quality, subtitles look sharp, and encoding time is fast compared to the other programs I've used.

I would have given this a 10 but for the Blu-ray output. It only supports MPEG2 output, if your source is H.264 it re-encodes to MPEG2. It does not pass through DTS audio, it re-encodes to AC3 or LPCM.


Review by Peppino on Jul 5, 2011 Version: 4.1.0.47 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




its true and they know it verywell and if it is launched with .h264 authoring there will be lot of illegal blueray dvd on the street and also it contained pop-up menu.

Review by addu on Jul 15, 2010 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The last couple of versions of TDA work directly in Windows 7 32bit, no Compatibility Mode or Virtual XP needed. Main issue I have with it is no H264 Blu-ray creation, only MPEG2 Blu-ray.

Review by ChickenMan on Jul 14, 2010 Version: 4.0.11.39 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Works fine in Windows 7 under Virtual Windows XP mode.

Review by alanfox on Jul 9, 2009 Version: 4.0.4.24 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Version 4.04.24 DOES WORK on my Windows 7 RC build 7100.
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400 dual core, 2GB Ram.


Review by roger707 on Jul 6, 2009 Version: 4.0.4.24 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Great program but has some issues, will not run under Vista SP2 or Windows 7.

Review by alanfox on Jul 6, 2009 Version: 4.0.4.24 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Continues the Tempgenc DVD Author tradition of simple, template driven authoring. This one is a little more flexible, and combines Divx and BluRay authoring into a single package. It is still no substitute for a full authoring tool, but for most consumer users it is more than adequate.

@schematic2 : You will never see more than 32 items on a menu in any authoring tool because the DVD specification does not allow for it. You may as well strike it from your wish list now.


Review by guns1inger on May 6, 2009 Version: 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




No support for AVCHD output and when I imported a 61 mnute M2TS file from a BDMV folder, only the first 12 mins were displayed. Took an age to encode even those few minutes.

Review by ntscuser on Apr 27, 2009 Version: 4.0.2.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




This version is much more user friendly than past versions. Menus are where they should be. While documentation is limited, this prog is full of nice surprises. Right mouse click for fast scrubbing is an asset. Middle mouse click for scene change search is neat. Although I never tried past versions for encoding, this version will accept non MPG2 files and encode for you. Batch processing is also a nice touch.
As with most TMPGenc products I've tried, TAW4 seems rock solid for stability. The program gives you alot for the money. Divx and Blueray included. The supplied templates are still iffy, but the self generated templates are only limited by your imagination. All the basics are there. The ability to add your own buttons, frames and backgrounds to the menu wizard is also handy.
I liked the prog trial enough to purchase it.
Wish list:
-It would be nice to be able to copy/paste text/graphics from a menu page to another
-99 chapters per menu page should be allowed instead of 32 (nice for text menu)
-ability to change skin to older styles


Review by schematic2 on Jan 30, 2009 Version: 4.0.2.14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com