Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Subtitle Workshop

71 reviews, Showing 1 to 71 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by babonga on Oct 11, 2020 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Terrible software, slow, buggy and useless.

Review by gaa on Oct 10, 2020 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




I've been using this program since its first versions. I've tried others softwares, but I always come back to SW.
----
If the message "is not a valid video file" appears, install LAV FILTERS.


Review by ungeio on May 17, 2020 Version: 6.0e OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I really love this program. It helped me a lot when I needed to synchronize downloaded subtitles with any video. For years!
However this message tends to appear lately: (video so-and-so) is not a valid video file.
I tried mp4, mpg, avi, and more but again and again the same disappointing message.
I also tried different older versions of Subtitle Workshop.
Anyone recognizes the same issue?



Review by Olav on Jan 30, 2020 Version: 6.0e OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love the Subtitle workshop because of its simplicity, it is a very objective program in its purpose, and is not to be desired in its aspects. If you wanted to create subtitles simply and increment them, this program is more than recommended!

Review by Diego Souza on Sep 30, 2019 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




In answer to
[quote]
"When I save to ssa format

When I set the font to a sustom tuetype 18 and save.. it works
When i do a similar save to the same file type ... Font size goes back to 8
Font Size is never saved, but the Font Style does save"
[/quote]

Problem confirmed. Will be solved in the next release. Thanks for the problem report.


Review by Kameleon on Sep 30, 2019 Version: 6.0e OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




When I save to ssa format

When I set the font to a sustom tuetype 18 and save.. it works
When i do a similar save to the same file type ... Font size goes back to 8
Font Size is never saved, but the Font Style does save

Please Fix







Review by teodz1984 on Sep 17, 2019 Version: Subtitle Workshop 6.0E OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Used it for years always good results but no support for sub/idx files.

Review by depamode on Aug 28, 2019 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Good program just if the programmer add Arabic language to "settings" would be great, thank you

Review by TeNSoR on Jun 10, 2019 Version: Subtitle Workshop 6.0b / 6.0e OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi,

As answer to:

"have a bug where the Settings window doesn't include all the options and doesn't provide a scrollbar either, in order to see the options on the bottom side of the window"

Are you sure you are using the latest version of Subtitle workshop? (version 6.0d/37). In this version window boundaries outside the screen are (should be) corrected so that the whole window (e.g. the "settings" window) fall within the screen boundaries. So, the behaviour you see should not be possible theoretiaclly.
I do not know however about laptop behaviour when e.g. a second monitor is activated or something similar.

The settings windows can also be resized (or made to use the whole screen) and repositioned (it is a standard window) and the new sizes and position should be remembered. Perhaps you can try to do this. If it does not work (e.g. not remembered) please let me know.


Review by Kameleon on Jan 4, 2019 Version: 6.0d/37 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




A little edit on my previous post - it's easy enough to simulate the OK or Apply buttons by pressing the Enter key when in the Settings window. So the functionality is there, nothing to complain about it, but the visual bug with some bottom-side options only having the upper part of their text visible could have been avoided.

Review by Some Body on Dec 1, 2018 Version: 6.0d from 06.11.2018 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software, been using it for years, but the 6.0d versions (both the one released on 12.09.2018 and the one on 06.11.2018) - that I tried because of the "old" 6.0b version from 2013 losing file associations on Windows 10 v1803 - have a bug where the Settings window doesn't include all the options and doesn't provide a scrollbar either, in order to see the options on the bottom side of the window. Some of those options have only the upper side of the text visible, some are probably entirely hidden due to the lack of scrollbars, and on the top of it, the OK, Cancel and Apply buttons are missing entirely. I've tried using the keyboard to reach those options and buttons, but is like walking blindfolded, really. This is on a 1366x768 px laptop with the latest video drivers, so it shouldn't happen.


I posted this here to be mode visible to the current developer. And because the bug makes the software useless, even if you're a big fan of it, like myself.


Review by Some Body on Nov 20, 2018 Version: 6.0d from 06.11.2018 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




How many times will there be version updates of 6.0d ?

There was an update for this version a while ago. Shouldn't we move on to e or f, or 6.1 ?





Review by riven on Aug 5, 2018 Version: 6.0d OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Hi, there is a new version of Subtitle Workshop with following changes:

2018-07-15:

Added 3 extra shortcuts (section Miscellaneous):
- Applies the "Keep minimum duration" setting to the selected subtitles
- Applies the "Default Subtitle Pause" setting to the selected subtitles
- Applies both the "Keep minimum duration" and the "Default Subtitle Pause" settings to the selected subtitles

Added an editing possibility for the shortcuts (added to the Settings menu).
- all items in the new section [Edit Shortcuts] were added to the language file
- in section [Main menu/Settings] of the language file item 09 was added to the language file
- for every language a translation of the shortcut descriptions (including some other info) was added: e.g.
Shortcuts_English.txt where 'English' should be replaced by the actual language name.
The shortcut translation files are located in the 'Lang' subdir.
English and Dutch files are already filled. If a file for a certain language is not found the English one is used.

Removed an error when switching video renderers.

Removed some errors in the Dutch translation.

Added 'shortcuts.key' (the shortcuts file) to the setup.exe file (was missing).

Have fun!


Review by Kameleon on Jul 15, 2018 Version: 6.0d OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Hi,

Version 6.0c has been upgraded tp 6.0d: the VLC video renderer has been added.
Also the Dutch language translation has been completed.

Enjoy!


Review by Kameleon on Jun 11, 2018 Version: 6.0d OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Easy to use for synchronizing subtitles and doing some editing. Does not have a function to fix entries with display end times earlier than display start times.

Review by bizzybody on Apr 20, 2018 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




This is my go to application for timing subtitles. I find it easier to use than SubtitleEdit but I use both for processing subtitles. My only aggravation with SubtitleWorkshop is when my courser crosses the timeline bar I lose my current subtitle line. I'm sure there is a reason for programming it that way but it isn't helpful for me. Still a great program and I am glad it is still being improved.

Review by Moralez on Mar 30, 2018 Version: 6.0b OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Hi, Subtitle Workshop v6.0c has been updated: an error popping up when opening a read-only subtitle has been removed.

Review by Kameleon on Mar 29, 2018 Version: 6.0c OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Doesn't recognize mkv: "not a valid video file". No codec has been trigger (K-Lite).

* I always install the latest K-Lite Codec pack.
* Other editores open mkv just fine (using the LAV Audio + Video + Splitter).


Review by oyoy on Jan 20, 2018 Version: 6.0b and 6.0c OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




Hi, version 6.0c has been corrected for the SSA type of subtitles.

Review by Kameleon on Nov 15, 2017 Version: 6.0c OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Subtitle Workshop 6.0c is buggy..
Hangs and Crashes when you load a SSA that was fine with Subtitle Workshop 6.0b

I suggest you stay away from betas


Review by teodz1984 on Oct 26, 2017 Version: Subtitle Workshop 6.0c OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




Still using this after all these years. I know there are more modern syncing programs, but there is something really streamlined about how SW works that makes editing easier.

For those using Word 2010 or 2013, grab the test build for a spell checker fix: http://sourceforge.net/p/subworkshop/discussion/b ... c

I sure hope development has not stopped on this great tool


Review by doctorm on Jun 4, 2015 Version: 6.0b (test build) OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I've been using it for my professional jobs for about a year now. I use others for post-production, but this is by far the best one for timecoding.

Two things would make the program perfect for me though, and I would love if the devs read this and considered the ideas: an oscilloscope / spectrum analyzer feature, and the possibility of pasting multiple lines at once.

Thank you so much for continuing with this tool, and keep the great work!


Review by luizfalves on Oct 4, 2013 Version: 6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@ThorDawn, install ffdshow and Haali Media Splitter, or K-Lite.

Review by jandor2009 on Sep 10, 2013 Version: 6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Don't work with Mp4 and MKV files.

Review by ThorDawn on Sep 10, 2013 Version: 6.0a OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




I use it always. Is the best among the best. Thanks

Review by remanyao on Aug 30, 2013 Version: 6.0a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 10/10




Developers,
Congratulations for this major upgrade!
You have implemented so many new and advanced features.
So far, everything works and I'm very pleased with it.
It works fine in all my machines from my old XP, to Vista, Win7 and Win8.
Thank you very much and all the best in future development!


Review by Jeremiah58 on Aug 29, 2013 Version: 6.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




SW 6.0a/2.51/2.52 the spell check of MS WORD 2013 64bit not work in windows 8 64bit

Review by marb on Aug 26, 2013 Version: 6.0a OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




This is an free project. The users instead of the criticizing, could simply suggest adjustments. This project could grow more with their collaboration

Review by jandor2009 on Aug 21, 2013 Version: 6.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Wow!

Updated program, thought the project was dead, I will find out and then give an opinion on the new version. A big thanks to the developer of this new version.


Review by AlvoErrado2 on Aug 21, 2013 Version: 6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Dead project. Shame because it has nice features, although it cannot properly recognize files with different BOM-types. When you open subs in notepad or another editor, there are no weird symbols, when you open them with SE, there are weird symbols & letters all over the place.

The authors first need to learn how to properly identify file encoding before they move on.

Oh well, why beating a death horse...


Review by Bobbo on Jan 9, 2013 Version: 2.52 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 4/10




The new Beta 2.52 is very good. The incorporation of the CPS function was an excellent idea and it works perfectly well. Thanks to the developer that decided to take the post and improve this very fine piece of software.

Review by Manusimon on Nov 11, 2011 Version: 2.52 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Needs an update and support for Unicode/UTF. Apart from that, it's still the best and most powerful editing software for softsubs. No other subtitle editor offers such powerful functions for correcting the sync with a few mouse-clicks.

Review by ferkelchen33 on Apr 9, 2010 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Check this out for problems with windows 7... this work for me...


Just install K-Lite Mega Codec Pack and during install check the 2 options in ffdshow
configuration.
1.enable proccessing for raw video and
2. force RGB.. output.

For me its working...


Review by chestermer on Feb 9, 2010 Version: 2.51 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unfortunately the only video format that it will display is avi. Not sure if Windows 7 is causing the problem or codecs or other installed programs. As long as the file is avi no problems. I tried loading ina mpeg2 file with accompanying srt file - it played with audio but no picture. Checked and played with the options for external viewers but to no avail.

Review by netmask56 on Feb 8, 2010 Version: 2.51 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




IMHO, best subtitling software up to version 2.51. Newer versions are not so good. Version 2.51 is the way to go.

Review by fravel on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A great app for subtitle editing. Convert from format to format, check for OCR and other errors, change framerate, adjust timing, and much more. Highly recommended. Although I do enjoy the older version 2.51 better than the latest revision.

Review by OAKside on Sep 30, 2009 Version: 2.51 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It appears that this is abandonware, as there have been no updates or input from the mods for more than a year as of Sept 09. The program has timing problems, and the manual isn't written for beginners, but all in all it was a great tool.

It is still useful for converting from one format to another, and the "Custom Format" option allows uses to create any format that isn't available in their already extensive drop-down list.


Review by angelatc on Sep 11, 2009 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




@TrashCompaqtor,

It sounds like you have the "Lines without letters" auto-fix turned on? The manual says: "Deletes lines of the subtitle that don't contain letters (a-z, -, etc)." and: "(don't misunderstand, "letters" is not the same as "characters")."

Kind regards,
Francois


Review by fvisagie on Jul 13, 2009 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




This is a great tool, much more CPU friendly than similar programs (like Subtitle Creator). It does what it says it does, it converts from every format to every format, so, in my book it's really good. Yes, the Save As ... box could be less glitzy and more functional, but i don't really care.

It's a free, CLEAN program, so all those subtitle-joiner-whiners, ("Oooooh, I am using old 18th century Icelandic and Cyryllic lettering and it won't join those properly, boooohoooo, I have to TYPE!!!! Booohoo, my life is over!!") stop yer blabbering and pay a typist then.
Yes, exaggerating, and perhaps (big IF) whining will improve the program, but one can give constructive criticism without all the passive aggressive stuff ... puh leeeeze !!!!


Review by KneeGrow on Feb 12, 2009 Version: 2.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Very good application with a broad format support, that I used to love when I had Windows XP. Now however, I have Windows Vista. On my last computer (Vista) I had problems with the timeline jumping back to 0 every time I reached 30 minutes, and on this computer (still Vista) it crashes when I load a video (= useless). I have tried reinstalling it and it happens anyway. This worked on my last computer though. Other than the bad Vista support I would say this is the best tool around that I've tried.

Review by Xavier on Jan 24, 2009 Version: 4 beta 4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I agree with comments below that SubtitleWorkshop in its present state is quite unusable. Free or not, an update is long overdue. Will be great software once the bugs are ironed out, tho'.

Review by ZQX on Jan 8, 2009 Version: 4b4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Just when I thought it was safe to use version 2.51, I encountered a flaw in the program. I'd have to call this a major flaw too.

After using the feature to join two subtitle files, I noticed there was an entry missing. After a while of manually editing the two original .srt files - actually just the one from which the entry turned up missing after the join - and I discovered something pretty stupid about this program:

If a single subtitle entry has multiple lines, the first line can not contain a number all by itself. Why not? Subtitle Workshop removes the entire entry! Now, if the first line of the entry starts with a number but has other text following it on the same line, then this error does not happen.

To give an example, the entry was something like this:

947
01:42:22,694 --> 01:42:34,280
1967
Bla bla bla, bla bla bla words words words.
Yackity yack yack mumble jibba jabba.

The date "1967" in the first line was causing the program to completely remove entry number 947 from the final output of the joined subtitle files. I had to add something like a comma before working with it so it wouldn't remove it all.

Actually, just the simple act of loading the file into the program will remove the entry. So if you've got subtitles that might fit the description, you'll have a heck of a time manually editing it just for the program to work with it.... and then manually editing the final output back to the way it should be.


Review by TrashCompaqtor on Jan 8, 2009 Version: 2.51 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I got the latest beta (v4 beta 4) for only one purpose: to join two subtitle files. Guess what? That option does not work! It is grayed out. Hopefully they'll fix it in future releases.

Version 2.51 still has this option enabled and works just fine.


Review by TrashCompaqtor on Jan 7, 2009 Version: 4 beta 4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Yeah great tool but when is it coming out of beta? Is it still developed? At the moment you can't format parts of a subtitle (italics etc), it won't let you do "parts". So, for the moment, it is useless to me. This current "beta" is restricted in functionality and development seems to be in limbo. Pity.

Review by ZQX on Nov 22, 2008 Version: 4b4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Overall, a nice free tool, fairly easy to use. Thanks to the developer.
Functionality would be excellent if synchronizaton always worked as described. The advanced synchronization (Advanced Subtitle Adjust) doesn't seem to work for me with enough accuracy. Main issue is unstability of the time information I rely on to synchronize the subtitles. The same scene that is associated with a given subtitle will show up with time stamps that differ by several seconds if I have to move around the movie and go back to the scene.


Review by suroit on Nov 22, 2008 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Fantastic subtitling tool. Opens and saves just about all formats.

Review by OAKside on Nov 14, 2008 Version: 2.51 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Actually, it only crashes with DirectVobSub 2.37. With 2.33 it doesn't crash. But I don't know if it's Subtitle Workshop's fault or DirectVobSub's.
Anyway it's a great tool and pretty easy. The only thing is the very slow development, but nevertheless it's the best tool for handling subtitle formats.


Review by XhmikosR on Aug 11, 2008 Version: 2.51 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you have vobsub, disable the automatic loading of it before running this program. otherwise it'll crash (at least it did for me)

Review by Jagovdstap on Aug 11, 2008 Version: 2.51 OS: Vista Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




The latest beta version is not for newbees, because when you move the cursor over the tap icons there is no description of the taps function like in the earlier versions.

Review by fk on Jun 2, 2008 Version: v4 Beta 3H OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Trimmer you dont have to do that. in your example 1-10 fine 21-30 not in sync but say set 2 sec delay. Highlight 21 -30(using shift. Then move the slider exactly where you believe you need to move the subs to get into sync. I dont remember but at this point if you press the double right arrow under the slider it will bring it into sync. Need more help send an email
Mrsash


Review by Mrsash on Oct 18, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using Subtitle Workshop v2.52 API v1.06 for several weeks and am very please with it. However, I am encountering some unexpected results and was wondering if anybody could provide suggestions. My problems are concerning sync-ing and existing subtitle to an AVI. Method 1 - (edit/timings/adjust subtitles) seems to solve most problems. When it doesn't, I move to Methods 2 & 4, however both of these are resulting in behavior that I wouldn't expect, as follows:

I have encountered several subtitles that work fine up to a certian point in the AVI, then become un-synced. Say everything works fine for subtitles 1-20, then 21-30 are off, then 31-40 are fine. Both Methods 2 & 4 adjust all subtitles, thus messing up those that were correct. In the Adjust Subtitles Advanced Tab, I've tried the various "If time is outside points scope" buttons, but nothing seems to stop this action.

If been able to work around this issue by spliting the subtitle into different files, then using Method 1 on each separated subtitle file, joining them all back together, however it seems as though this program should be able to accomplish this task in a much simplier way.

Any suggestions or directions would be appreciated.

One additional question -- I am frequently encountering sub/idx files this program will not open (that come with the AVI's)with an error message that the "sub is a bad subtitleor an unsupported format." Is there a work around for this?

--timmer


Review by timmer545 on Oct 17, 2007 Version: 2.51 API 1.06 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The last comment was written by someone who obviously hasn't even taken the time to learn how the program works! The "insert before" command is clearly labeled in the EDIT menu.

It's amazing how easy it is to complain considering the price you paid! How about channeling that anger into creating some some new free subtitle software that will do even more?

This program is terrific, and although it may take a little time to get used to ALL of its functions, it simply does what it professes to do and does it well! Unfortunately, naive lazy users like this last one bring down the scores of an excellent program.


Review by blue2 on Jun 5, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Well it may be that its good for editing subtitles, but its totally crap at creating them. When you insert a subtitle, instead of adding it where you actually are in the movie, it just adds it after the last subtitle entered, so you end up with 500 subtitles at the start of the movie - very lame.

(Oh, and ignore my scores, I don't want to have to enter any so i just picked at random)


Review by branch on Jun 5, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Very good tool. The only thing i`m really missing is support for input of sup files. So author, could you please implement that feature?

Review by fltk on Apr 22, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Appears to work quite well, easy, self-explanatory.
However, I have one annoying problem with it.
For some reason, the starting times are shifting all the time. When I sync the lines to the film, it looks well, but when I view the whole movie again, times are completely wrong!

I guess, this problem has to do with the PAL system. I am working with PAL film, but the SRT file I have loaded may be in a different format. Anyhow, it has only times in it (checked with Wordpad!), so it can hardly be a wrong frame rate.

Unless somebody knows a solution, I am affraid I have to drop this nice program.

Michel van der Mark
Netherlands.


Review by rominka on Apr 17, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




For those having problems with constant crashing of Subtitle Workshop 2.51, I have a workaround based on this website: http://www.on2.com/support-resources/customer-tutorials/ffdshow/

Firstly uninstall your current Subtitle workshop, and download from official website : http://www.urusoft.net/downloads.php?lang=1
*Also download SubtitleAPI 1.06 from the official website also.

Install Subtitle Workshop and extract the SubtitleAPI 1.06 in the SubtitleAPI folder to whichever folder you install Subtitle Workshop (by default: C:\Program Files\URUSoft\Subtitle Workshop)

If you're using K-Lite Codec Pack,

CHANGING ffdshow IN VFW CONFIGURATION

1. Click Start, All Programs, K-Lite Codec Pack, Configuration, ffdshow, VFW Configuration
2. Click on the "Decoder" tab.
3. Under Codecs, look for decoder "Indeo 3" and changed the Decoder to "libavcodec"
4. Click Apply & OK

CHANGING ffdshow IN VIDEO DECODER CONFIGURATION

1. Click Start, All Programs, K-Lite Codec Pack, Configuration, ffdshow, video decoder configuration
2. Under Codecs, look for decoder "Indeo 3" and changed the Decoder to "libavcodec"
3. Click Apply & OK

Hope this helps as there are no more crashing when closing or saving subtitles from Subtitle Workshop. Thank ou URUsoft for this FABULOUS software!


Review by thesurferguy on Jan 29, 2007 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply excellent! I think it's the best software of its category.

Review by AngusMacGyver on Oct 14, 2006 Version: 2,51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, unlike the previous post, I can say that this tool is excelent. I'm using it for more than 2 years. Sorry man, but don't blame a very good software (Subtitle Workshop) for the bugs of a well known crappy software (Windows XP).

Review by kameleonoff on May 19, 2006 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does this thing work without consistently crashing in WinXP? It looks good (I think?) when it seems to be working but more often than not as soon as I open a file, it crashes and I get the microsoft 'report an error' crap.

Review by pyst on May 18, 2006 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Used this app as a last resort. (I'm a Mac user and try to stay away from XP when I can.) The app accepted a ".sub" file, permitted me to adjust the start and end times for the entire subtitle file (which adjusted all the individual subtitles accordingly). Then I saved it as a ".srt" (SubRip file). Brought that back over to my Mac and used ffmpegX to embed the subtitles into an mpeg4 file. Very happy with the result. Will keep it around with the next recalcitrant subtitle file that lands on my Mac.

Thanks to the developer!


Review by rumplestiltskin on Feb 9, 2006 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Program is easy enough to use and is mainly for editing .SRT files.

Tried it with XVID encoded movie, no problem going back and forth, changing sync, and so on. Preview window looks a little small, but nothing really wrong with that.

Didn't test all the other subtitle formats as I'm mainly interested in editing SRT files. For that, it worked very well.

Basically, you type in the subtitle, scroll through the movie, set the start time, and set the end time, and repeat ad infinitum until you got them all shown.

There's an internal "syntax checker" that warns you if you have a 3-line subtitle, too wide/too many characters, duration too long, and such errors. However, it doesn't warn you about too short duration or subtitle overlaps. It also doesn't suggest anything about merging two short subtitles into a longer subtitle, and so on.

It COULD be easier to use since all operations are MANUAL. Wish for a "jump to next dialog/sound" button of some sort. If there was some sort of an audio-graph and the ability to automatically sync up the subtitle with the beginning of audio that'd be better, but the manual operation works well enough.

All in all, if you are editing .SRT or other sort of text subtitle files, this is a great program.


Review by kschang on Dec 17, 2005 Version: 2.51 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I foundit an exceptionally useful software. Synchronizing takes some work by the user, it does not happen automatically by magic.
The conversion from one type to another type is extremely useful. I never have any problem, I now regularly create DVDs with subs and synchronize them well with this utility.
I did have synchronizing difficulty when used it on Win-XP; on Win98SE(my regular platform) it works beutifully


Review by ark on Dec 17, 2005 Version: 2.03 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Almost the perfect tool for subtitles! 9 in my opnion
will be perfect if in future releases the software let us able to play the entire DVD not one .vob file.
I say that because i create my own animes (DVD's) and sometimes its too hard get it sincronized playing only one *.vob file.


Review by Electro_Fixx on Dec 17, 2005 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The program is impossible to use on my system, because it crashes as soon as I load a file. At first I thought it was maybe the preview that was causing it, but it still crashes even after I uninstalled, rebooted and re-installed. A pity, because otherwise it looks like a useful program.

Review by Aielman on Jul 8, 2005 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Crashes on movie preview mode. Tried previewing mpeg, avi,and vobs. Tried configuring with MS media player and powerdvd.

Was not able to edit subtitle times individualy manually within program.

Was able to delete individual subtitle lines and times. The spell checker also worked fine.

Used Windows XP SP1, Windows XP SP2


Review by simonko on Jul 1, 2005 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I'm surprised that such a fine and useful tool has such a small number of user's comment.
The learning how to use this tool is not fast. I recommend to print out the help file and read it carefuly. I haven't find a problem with text based subtitles, which this tool can not solve.
No matter if you want to edit a subtitle downladed from the net, or to build your own subtitle from a scratch, this is the right tool for the job.
There is one problem, tough. It sometimes crashes with newer versions of ffdshow (when in video preview mode, of course). That is not a case with ffdshow 20051210, but only with later versions.
My compliments and thanks to Urusoft from Uruguay.


Review by jeremiah58 on May 28, 2005 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This was quite eay to use when i got used to it.

I think the manual could be more user friendly though as im more of a diagram and experiment guy than a reading guy.

you can convert to many types of sub files . very cool


Review by deadhippo on Oct 14, 2004 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This tool is great, quite easy to use once you get the hang of it. I only have 2 complaints: sometimes it won't open some subtitle files because of minor errors in it (mostly those in SubRip format) and it doesn't support VobSub subtitles (idx/sub), it would be great if it was added in a future version.

Review by NameX on May 1, 2004 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The best subtitle tool available, supports everything and you can preview the subs directly with the video.

Review by test on Jul 22, 2003 Version: 2.01 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


71 reviews, Showing 1 to 71 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com