Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Stinkys MPEG2 Codec

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


This codec worked well on my computer for months, but I developed an audio sync problem that I eventually traced to this codec. It was hard to figure out, but the codec uninstalled cleanly and the problem was gone.

Review by litlfrog on May 3, 2005 Version: Unknown OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 3/10




Installed and played back my MPEG-2 home videos just fine. I would recommend not to use it with old MS software, but rather something like Media Player Classic. Cheers.

Review by State of Mind on Oct 25, 2004 Version: Newest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 8/10




Quite simply - downloaded, clicked on the supplied .EXE, selected 'install', a prompt tells me it installed.

Tried playing a DVD in mplayer2, didn't work.
rebooted.
Tried playing a DVD in mplayer2, didn't work.

Clicked on the supplied .EXE, selected 'uninstall', a prompt tells me it uninstalled.


Review by jon on Oct 24, 2004 Version: n/a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This worked pretty well for me. I just needed a quick to install mpeg2 codec and I didnt want the hassle of reinstalling the Klite codec pack. Plays fine for me.

Review by devinemi83 on Jun 27, 2004 Version: ?? OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Did not work at all. It register some OCX files in system32 folder, but it did not work. no support or FAQs nothing.

Review by neerajpg on Jun 15, 2004 Version: 1.2.0.79 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Not good at all. I've never been able to get it to work well on any machine I've tried it on. Its not stable at all. A lot of people like it but I don't see the point. You can download the trial version of Power DVD instead and do an install/uninstall of it, which leaves a perfectly functional and much better quality codec on your system.

Review by Poppa_Meth on May 9, 2004 Version: 1.2.0.79 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




I experienced the same problems with skipping.. the video goes into a fast forward while the audio continues playing normally. This was extremely easy to install (took 2 secs!) and works great, minus the above. Best i've found so far...


Review by candikane on May 8, 2004 Version: n/a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I don't know what that other dude was talking about. This software is great. I can jump forward or backward and the video still plays fine. Easy to install, takes two seconds, works great! A+

Review by yuppicide on Dec 24, 2003 Version: N/A OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Plays MPEG2 great through Windows Media Player until you try to skip forward or go back by clicking on the status bar. Then the video goes double speed with normal audio. Free cant get any better.

Review by DonkeyDevil on Jul 21, 2003 Version: ? OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com