Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
Serviio is a free media server. It allows you to stream your media files (music, video or images) to renderer devices (e.g. a TV set, Bluray player, games console or mobile phone) on your connected home network. There is also a paid for Pro edition($25) which further enhances the possibilities of sharing content in your connected household. Serviio works with many devices from your connected home (TV, Playstation 3, XBox 360, smart phones, tablets, etc.). It supports profiles for particular devices so that it can be tuned to maximise the device's potential and/or minimize lack of media format playback support (via transcoding). Free vs Pro comparison. Pro version costs $25.

Freeware Trialware
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 155MB
Old versions
Version history
7.7/10
16 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Serviio screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Serviio screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.0 (May 21, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Serviio 2.0 Windows  155MB  Win

Download Serviio 2.0 Mac  147MB  Mac

Download Serviio 2.0 Linux  28MB  Linux




Download old versions


Download Serviio old versions



Software License

Freeware/Trialware (Free download but some features are limited to pro/premium version )



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Release Notes - 2.0

added support for multiple users (Pro only); ticket #931
added browsing Movies by duration; ticket #946
added Display name to local Shared folders; ticket #1041
added the possibility to ignore folders by name, per Shared folder; ticket #1084
added the possibility to ignore files by extension, per Shared folder; ticket #740
added support for mpjpeg video container; ticket #1003
added support for Cinepak and Sorenson video (1/3) codecs; ticket #1071
log out (in DEBUG) details of matched transcoding rule; ticket #1093
allow H265 and MP3/AC3 codecs in HLS format; ticket #1001
updated Roku profiles with multi-channel support via HLS
fixed empty folders when browsing on VLC Android; ticket #1062
disabled autoplay in MediaBrowser when it's only available in a muted state; ticket #1090
updated jaudiotagger

View full changelog




All features


Features

streams audio, video (SD & HD) and image files in their native format or transcoded in real-time
streams content from online sources, like RSS feeds, live audio/video streams, web page content
includes a plugin system to support streaming from non-trivial online sources
supports most known playlist formats
supports subtitles
automatically updates the media library when you add/update/remove a media file or a metadata file
supports RAW camera images
wide array of localized library browsing options
supports different editable renderer profiles
supports automatic renderer detection and per-IP profile assignment
extracts metadata of your media files the way you want it, incl. embedded metadata tags, local metadata files, online metadata sources (in preferred language), XBMC, Swisscenter, MyMovies
supports video thumbnails, CD covers, DVD posters, etc.
categorizes video files into movie and/or series and marks last viewed episodes of a series
integrates with trakt.tv
available for Windows, Linux and Mac (with the possibility to run the server part on one platform and console on another)


Supported renderers
Samsung TVs and Bluray players (supports additional features, e.g. subtitles)
Sony TVs and Bluray players
Panasonic TVs
Playstation 3, Playstation 4
Xbox 360, Xbox One
LG TVs and Bluray players
Toshiba TVs
Sharp TVs
Philips TVs
WDTV Live (supports subtitles)
Oppo BDP-83
MusicPal
DirecTV DVR
Pure Flow devices
ROKU
Android phones, iOS phones
... and many more


Supported media files
Audio: MP3( .mp3), MP2 (.mp2), Windows Media Audio (.wma), WMA Lossless (.wma), AAC (.m4a), OGG (.ogg, .oga), FLAC (.flac), Apple Lossless ALAC (.mp4), Wawpack (.wv), Musepack (.mpc), Monkey's Audio (.ape), DSF (.dsf), WAV (.wav),
Video: MPEG-1 (.mpg, .mpeg), MPEG-2 PS (.mpg, .mpeg, vob, mod), MPEG-2 TS (.ts, .m2ts), MPEG-4 (.mp4, m4v, mov), AVI (.avi, .divx), Windows Media Video (.wmv, .asf), Matroska (.mkv), Flash (.flv, .f4v), DVR-MS (.dvr, .dvr-ms), WTV (.wtv), OGG (.ogv, .ogm), 3GP (.3gp, .3g2), RealVideo (.rm, .rmvb)
Image: JPEG (.jpg, .jpeg), GIF (.gif), PNG (.png), RAW (.arw, .cr2, .crw, .dng, .raf, .raw,. rw2, .mrw, .nef, .nrw, .pef, .srf, .orf)
Playlist: PLS (.pls), M3U (.m3u, .m3u8), ASX (.asx, .wax., .wrx), WPL (.wpl)
Subtitles: SubRip (.srt, .txt), SSA/ASS (.ssa, .ass), MicroDVD (.sub, .txt), SAMI (.smi), VTT (.vtt), MOV open text




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Serviio


Mezzmo



Nero MediaHome



PlayOn



PS3 Media Server



TVersity Media Server



Twonky Server



Universal Media Server







Guides and How to's



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Love it. I've looked at other DLNA and was always underwhelmed. But Serviio changed my mind. It gives me everything I need for playback from my Sony BD players -- along with browsing for movies, photos, and music. I liked it so much that I go the PRO version -- not because I needed any of the advanced capabilities, but instead because I think a software project this good needs to be supported.

Review by jdobbs on Apr 12, 2015 Version: 1.4.1.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I can't believe it still requires Java 6 and asks you to install Java 6 upon installation.
This should be upgraded to use Java 7.


Review by sparktank on Mar 11, 2014 Version: 1.4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Ive tried ALL the DNLA media servers out there, Serviio is just the best one!

Online plugins support is amazing, you can download custom video websites plugins like iPlayer, YouTube, HULU ect
Theres even apps on Android and Windows phone to remotely change settings
Best of you can stream outside your home using MediaBrowser and Android app called ServiiGo

This servers just brilliant, now i use it everyday!


Review by aziztt on Dec 18, 2012 Version: 1.0.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using Serviio for about a year now. Absolutely the easiest media server software to install, setup and use, and I've tried almost all of them. Not a lot of bells and whistles but it works great. I have all my media installed 1.5TB WDHD and use WD Live Plus unit with a wireless usb router to connect to my desktop PC, which is a dedicated to media only. Best of all, the program is free, and has great support!!!

Review by Semperfimac on Mar 17, 2012 Version: 0.6.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Serviio in my opinion is the best available DLNA media server. I currently use it to stream to my xbox 360 and ps3 from my video library and also live streams. I choose it over PMS because of its ability to handle my mkv files and also the software developer is very active in the support forums and frequently replies to help requests and posts. It is 100% Free however it is something that I would pay for if need be.

Review by iheartninjas on Mar 17, 2012 Version: 0.6.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I am having the same excact troubles as 'bryant70b'. (I get the same problem on every single device I try) I know I have used the right profiles.. Is it in the transcoding?

Review by bigceebin4 on Mar 11, 2012 Version: 0.6.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




Using version 0.6.2 and can now access online content in addition to local content. There is a learning curve to using it especially the online content function. Works great for me. I'm getting smooth HD video on a wifi connection.

For those having problems make sure you have the right Profile (under Status) selected for the IP address of your device. Click on the assigned profile to change it. Also there is a very active Serviio Forum and Wiki for help.


Review by danzeb on Mar 7, 2012 Version: 0.6.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was unable to get it to work correctly, i use ps3 media server... had to uninstall it to even get this program to open.. after that i could not get my media to show on my ps3.. even after i disable my firewall... folders poped up but no video... sorry... i was looking for something new... this was not it...

Review by bryant70b on Mar 6, 2012 Version: 0.6.2 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




I can not get 0.60 to work with win7 64bit all other versions have worked with no problem.. simple installing over previuos version

Review by notryt on Sep 24, 2011 Version: 0.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 1/10




Serviio is the only DLNA server that meets all my requirements and it is free. The new version 6 adds support for streaming online video (no live video yet but they are working on it).

As I write this traffic at Serviio's download server is very heavy. In order to download the new version released today I had to download a torrent from the Serviio forum.


Review by Whiznot on Sep 22, 2011 Version: 6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using version o.5.2 for several months and it does the job. Occasionally I loose connection but I think it is a problem with my Samsung Bluray player. It plays all the mkv and avi files I've tried. Video runs smooth. I can pause, rewind and fast forward video. Rewind and fast forward could be smoother but it does work well enough to be useful.

It works better than the DLNA software that Samsung offers with it's player.

I haven't tried the newer version .6 yet.


Review by danzeb on Sep 22, 2011 Version: 0.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I am absolutely hooked! I have been trying many different servers for quite some time now and I believe I have finally found what I have been looking for.

Previously I have been using Java PS3 Media Server and over all was quite happy with it. I had a few problems with it crashing on me when trying to view some movie files and it would crash on those specific files every time, regardless of the format, while it would play others in the same format with no problems, so I always assumed it was just a "bad encode" of those files. I have a pretty puny computer being used as my media server with only 512MB of RAM (its Rhambus memory and its too expensive to add or replace) and PS3 Media Server used most of the resources while it was being used, especially while transcoding. Enough on that.

I installed Serviio, which was a pretty standard and simple process. I then pointed the "share" to my external 1 TB, NTFS formatted, drive that is my video collection. Next, I fired up the PS3 and it picked up the server by the time the PS3 booted up. I did have to wait quite some time for all my media to show up. The reason it took so long was Serviio (optionally) extracts the metadata for each file and goes to the Net to find information used to sort the media. It find directors, actors, and other useful info so that you can simply select "Angelina Jolie" and watch all the movies you have with her beautiful presence or hunt for all the bad@$% movies directed by Micheal Bay. It also gets the cover art, so that you scroll through images rather than simply text. Having the DVD/BluRay covers is a must for me. It makes it look like your media collection is on your TV naturally rather than some kind of cheap hack, which really impresses my less techy friends. PS3 Media Server would display previously downloaded covers, but who has time to search for all of those things.

Serviio is DLNA compliant which basically the same thing as uPNP. I'm not sure what else is required to go from the standard uPNP to DLNA cert, but the PS3's requirments of DLNA is satisfied.

So far it has played every format I have tried without hesitation and I didn't have to do anything other than select it on screen through the PS3, unlike PS3 Media Server where you would sometimes have to select "Transcode". So far I have run .MP4/M4V, .AVI (xvid), and a couple of .MKV's all which played flawlessly.

Now for the bad... which isn't much. It would be nice to have a little more options in the control console, although I can't really think off the top of my head what I would want, however there is very little tuning that can be done to the server, at least not through the console.

I have tried Nero Media Home, in which I quit using pretty quickly, in what I can only recall must have been a lack of format support (probably .mkv). Windows Media Player 11 worked great after I added the K-Lite codec pack, however I got tired of disabling sharing every time I wanted to rename, move, edit, or delete a file because Windows gives you the "file is in use" error. I did update to the PS3 Media Server for Windows v1.20.412 BETA at the same time i was installing Serviio and that seemed to fix the "Corrupt Data" problem i had gotten previously with some of my files.

I am very pleased at this piece of software and it has taken its place as my "main" media server. I intended to maintain both Nullriver's MediaLink and PS3 Media Server on my MacBook Pro for the ease of use while traveling, since i don't always have time to let it compile a media listing.

I almost didn't give this software a "10" because of lack of options, however after thinking about it, I don't feel I am missing anything as of yet. It works, it works great, and it is so easy my wife and son can use it! Wahoo, finally!


Review by devlhuntr on Apr 4, 2011 Version: 0.5.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've tried several servers that don't work with my Samsung C6500 or work poorly. Serviio works fine. Also it has a configuration file that allows user configurations to be added if changes are required to get it to work with other devices.

Review by danzeb on Feb 14, 2011 Version: .5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great software. Works without problems with my Bravia tv.
The only missing feature is inserting the subtitle into the stream.


Review by darkay on Oct 19, 2010 Version: 0.4.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Looks like a nice little tool but like most other freeware tools it lacks in support.
I have been trying several different DLNA media servers and yet to find one that works with my Sony Bluray BDV-E770w.


Review by Cabal2000 on Sep 19, 2010 Version: newest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




Interface between Serviio and Java is broken. Serviio cannot find Java so program does not open on Win7-64bit OS. Sorry for the low score and hope the interface issue is fixed in next version so I can try what looks to be a promising program.

Review by T_Bear on Sep 16, 2010 Version: 4.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com