Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
REAPER is a powerful Windows application for multitrack recording and editing of audio. It will accept avi, mpg or wmv files & give you a video preview, thus enabling you to mix extra tracks in with your source audio!. You cannot perform any video editing within Reaper, but you can work on the soundtrack. You can edit the existing soundtrack, and/or add create new tracks and media items to be mixed with it.

Trialware $60
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 9.7MB
Version history
9.2/10
9 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

Reaper screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


Reaper screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

5.983 (August 30, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download Reaper 5.983 Windows  9.7MB  Win

Download Reaper 5.983 Windows 64-bit  ca 9.7MB  Win64

Download Reaper 5.983 Mac  ca 9.7MB  Mac

Download Reaper 5.983 Mac 64-bit  ca 9.7MB  Mac64

Download Reaper 5.983 Linux  ca 9.7MB  Linux

Download Reaper 5.983 Linux 64-bit  ca 9.7MB  Linux64



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $60)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


REAPER 5.983: Sincerity is the key to success. Once you learn to fake that, you've got it made.

Linux
improve default dialog/font sizes, menu checkmarks
fix modal rendering window issue
detect/warn/allow override if numeric locale is set in an incompatible fashion
Subprojects
prevent audio drivers from latently reopening device during subproject renders
allow import of subprojects when auto-background rendering is disabled
Fadein/fadeout tooltip
fix combined time display
MIDI
fix overdub/replace recording when using 0x90 note-offs and item velocity adjustment set
Playback
improve scrolling-by-action behavior when auto-scrolling view during playback is enabled
Preferences
remove outdated scrolling option
Project bay
fix comps view (5.975 regression)
ReaScript
Main_openProject() supports noprompt: and template: prefixes
ReaSurround
fix quadraphonic label typo
Save as
fix rounding issue when "trim media" enabled
Transport
fix display of primary time unit when showing secondary time unit

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to Reaper


Kristal Audio Engine



Wavosaur







Guides and How to's



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews


I learned on ProTools, and by ProTools 10, I became so frustrated with the 'glitches, crashes, lack of features, inability to do power functions, etc...' that I began a quest to test the rest. I sampled Ableton, Logic, Digital Performer, even Bitwig. I didn't find any of them convincingly different to convert me from ProTools, so I then decided to try some Freeware applications in an attempt to maybe record with a more basic program, and do my finishing work in ProTools. Again, nothing really convinced me to change my workflow. I continued using ProTools 10 through 2014 as I didn't want to spend a ton of cash on an upgrade knowing I was about to jump ship. Then, in 2015 I just happened to come across Reaper. I didn't think much about it prior, thinking it must surely be a buggy outlier, something only fanatic fan-boys used because it was cheap. I figured because the price to own was so low, and it spent $0 on advertising, it must be an amateur product.... BOY, WAS I EVER WRONG!!!! Not only was I an immediate convert, I am now one of those fan-boys, spreading the gospel of Reaper everywhere I go.

First off, a complete DAW that doesn't rival the big boys, but actually obliterates the big boys in terms of being able to do ANYTHING you want it to do in a 60MB footprint is an insane concept. Rock solid. The only time Reaper ever crashes is when a plug-in crashes, and Reaper is 100x better about averting a plug-in crash than ProTools. The responsiveness is unparalleled. Again, the program itself opens in less than 2 seconds. If I have twelve projects opened to start, the plug-ins take all the time to load. The fact that I can have twenty projects opened at once, with hundreds of tracks and plug-ins loaded in EACH project is a testament to its stability. Try doing that in any other DAW, with a lag of only 2 to 5 seconds switching between projects. Routing abilities is almost infinite, controlling automation with everything from MIDI, to OSC, to audio side-channeling is incredibly powerful and a cinch to set up. While the simplicity of the program does make some actions seem less than intuitive, relying on action commands, scripts, or even programmable macros, the free instruction manual is a power guide at almost 500 pages, and the community is AMAZING in their willingness to help answer any question. You do not just buy a DAW with REAPER, you join a new paradigm in community support. Every update in the 5.xx series has been chock full of advanced features, now bringing video sync, notation editor in the MIDI functions, spectral graphing, web-controlled interfaces for live-settings or remote recording (from your phone!). All the meanwhile, staying at around 60MB fully installed.

CONS - there are a few DigiDesign hardware incompatibilities with REAPER. There are a few older consoles and PCI boards that AVID just won't allow compatibility for anything other than ProTools. This is not the fault of REAPER in any manner, but it is something to investigate. Luckily, you can evaluate REAPER with full functionality for 30 days to see if any errors pop up. The MIDI editing is not as geared towards loop production as Ableton Live or FL Studios, but if that is the main purpose of your DAW needs, there are already three or four programs out there designed specifically for that function. I have rewired FL Studio through REAPER, and have done loop production that way, choosing to bounce the finished product back in to REAPER. There are third-party extensions to give REAPER these abilities natively as well. Other than these two major concerns, if they are applicable to your situation, just about any other drawback can be worked around, and the pros far outweigh the few limitations.


Review by Marc DeGiovanni on May 26, 2018 Version: 5.90 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Marc DeGiovanni on May 26, 2018 Version: 5.90 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by tokenterprises on May 26, 2018 Version: 5.90 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A multi-track audio editor packing incredible number of features into a small download. Actively developed and supported on the official forum. The program is so intuitive, given an accumulated experience with other audio editors, that it doesn't need a help-file, which isn't provided, I imagine, because it would take too much effort to keep it current.

Nevertheless, nearly every option in the Preferences dialog is explained in a clear short sentence, which appears right on the program interface without opening resource intensive external programs, or requiring the user to skim through lengthy text. Functions in the dialog are also directly searchable, without needing to search the docs, and then following them to find the required button.

None of the above uses any bulky html/metro/net bloat. Where possible, the program makes use of Windows controls to draw the interface. The whole preferences dialog is very fast to scroll through. So the other comment about Win 3.11 isn't justified. Reaper did receive a major UI update of the skinnable parts once. But it is still possible to load the skin from verison 2 in the current v4 and continue using the familiar layout.

Reaper has codecs for practical, useful open file formats, there is a powerful batch converter (also with built-in help), which allows to use any installed DirectShow or VST (more reliable) effect. Reaper can load MIDI files, and unlike with sophisiticated editors, this process seems "lossless" (events aren't rearranged), and sometimes the reason why a file doesn't sound right can be found and manually corrected.

Later versions add video support through ffmpeg. But I've never found it to be precise or stable enough to be of any use for syncing. Reaper is not a sample-exact cut-and-paste editor; and doesn't replace Sound Forge for sound, nor Cakewalk Pro Audio for MIDI. It's a DAW works on a clip level.


Review by j7n on Jun 22, 2014 Version: 4.32 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If u use reaper and see its functionality, it seems to me that the other stalwarts like steingberg and presonus or other big names of the audio industry seems to be fooling the general public in the name of high-end products.

Review by addu on Mar 4, 2014 Version: 4.602 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




That's a stupid comment below, the pdf help file is excellent and fully comprehensive, and keeps up-to-date with all the frequent revisions. Plus it can be opened from within Reaper as a .chm file if you bothered to look into it a little bit.

The GUI is fully skinnable, so you can have the default functional GUI, or snazz it up to your heart's content, I don't see what you're gripe is here.

Pointless criticisms! Blah!


Review by bourboner on Mar 23, 2008 Version: 2.14159 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Cons:
* the help file is a separate download;
* the pdf file is poorly authored;
* the interface wants to "look cool" instead of being
"professionally-simple" --- the author would have much to learn
from the GUI of the old Midisoft Studio4 for Windows 3.1;

Pros:
* you can try before you buy.




Review by Midzuki on Mar 22, 2008 Version: 2.14159 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 4/10




Superb software that rivals all the biggies like Pro-Tools, Cubase, etc. Easy to use "out of the box", but plenty of power "under the hood" (hint: right-click for menus!). Has sophisticated on-board plugins, and supports all VSTs and VSTi's. The "Reafir" plugin can isolate, for example, hiss or noise from a VHS capture & remove it. Reaper seems to be very actively developed, and bugs are generally ironed out very quickly before new features are added. This is the same guy who made Winamp! Non-restricted 30-day trialware!

Review by bourboner on Oct 10, 2007 Version: 2.0rc5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




AWESOME....and I haven't used it for any video based audio yet...just for
making extended/enhanced mixes of some songs. VERY simple to use hasn't crashed
or faltered once since my experimenting began.
GREAT stuff.


Review by hech54 on Oct 8, 2007 Version: 1.888 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10


9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com