Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for MkvConvert

9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews


this program is lacking in features but the worst part of it is it don't out put a working playable video file.

Review by clamo on Aug 13, 2012 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This may be the slowest MKV to AVI conversion tool I've used. That's my one, and only complaint. 9 hours per video is too long.
The interface is nice and clean - very easy to use. Changing from a 2 pass encode to a 1 pass encode is as simple as "unchecking" a box.
Before using this, I'd thought SUPER was slow. Not any longer. I'm probably going back to using it.
Before you go blaming the speed on my computer, it's a 2.2ghz Core2 Duo with 3 gigs of RAM, not some old computer.


Review by hiflyr91 on Jan 15, 2011 Version: 3.4 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Using v3.2 I still have the problem that I cannot set the output destination, but it now works again and well. However, it would probably be better if a little more time were devoted to the fixes/upgrades between releases as constantly downloading /installing a new version is getting tiresome.

Review by bolinboy on Jan 4, 2011 Version: 3.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




yeah i'm having the same issues. Mkv files load up but take 5 seconds to encode to a 1mb avi file and its done. The vob file function works but takes quite a while. The progress bar with the vob file/dvd/disc function doesnt work...just stays at "0" the whole time even though it is encoding. The output of the vob to avi presses the picture from the sides. Not cropped or anything like normal. Not sure what has happened.

Review by moontrash on Dec 20, 2010 Version: 2.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Latest version doesn't work for me at all. Opening the program causes an instant freeze. After a minute or so I can progress to loading a movie, but each action causes my system to freeze and I am unable to slect a destination for the saved output, so when I select start the program crashes! I've had to go back to v2, as it works fine.

Review by bolinboy on Dec 20, 2010 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




This is one of those tools that slips in under the radar. It doesn't have the popularity yet but man is it functional. You couldn't ask for a simpler interface. The nifty little option for 2 pass encode is nice. This app could take the place of AutoGK if it added a few more bits of functionality. Hoping for some more bits and pieces added to it in the future. This one is a winner.

*possible options
ability to rip from dvd to xvid (via the ifo file like AGK)
vbr in audio options
choice of original ac3 or mp3
choice of output size...i.e...Predefined or custom file size(like AGK)
custom bitrate option
choice of resolution settings (like AGK)
choice of codecs

these could be in some sort of "hidden" or "custom" settings but as it is right now, this is still a great little alternative to the other options out there. Kind of the utotrrent of re-encoding apps, small, but effective.


Review by moontrash on Dec 17, 2010 Version: 2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi, I've been using this program for the last few versions since I have needed a good mkv to divx conversion tool. My iomega screenplay hd doesn't play nice with mkv, or hd divx. It gives a near perfect copy of the original file, and about half the size. The only downside is I don't know how to improve the quality, but that could be just me.

Review by stargatesuite on Dec 17, 2010 Version: 2.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool rocks! I tried dozens of different converters for MKV to AVI and every one baulked several times with some of the MKV's I threw at them, but not tjis baby! Flawless conversions every time with great quality. V1.1 has a few niggles though as it's hard to set the output size as the quality choices are limited, so I am looking forward to testing v1.2, which is now out.

Review by bolinboy on Sep 26, 2010 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What a smart Creation by the Author.
WoW! Tiny and Powerful.
Uses my favorite MEncoder with 2-pass!
Just Awesome.

Bunch of Thanks to Authors
:)

PS:
Try this one tiny, if you want to convert MKV-to-AVI.


Review by Bonie81 on May 17, 2010 Version: 20100430 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10


9 reviews, Showing 1 to 9 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com