Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for MKVcleaver

36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews


Increasing failures with each new release of MKVtoolnix. With no updates, now looking for an alternative.

Review by Theli93 on Dec 4, 2019 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 3/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Theli93 on Dec 4, 2019 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 3/10




MKVcleaver 0.8.0.0 have Bitcoin minner on the setup installer, is not an sincere software setup.
Virus Total software Checked results
https://www.virustotal.com/gui/file/bcd94679675d9e039c88b121a83e575d0be4bc99fb3b289aff04f221e5a70fb9/detection
PD:Please Use innoextractor to decompress the files if you neeed mkvcleaver.exe and dlls without infection.


Review by ramonayala@mail-card.com on Aug 1, 2019 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Capiten on Feb 3, 2019 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




mkvcleaver 0.8.0.0 with mkvtoolnix v29.0.0

AutoIt Error
Line 35467 (File "C:\Program Files\MKVCleaver\MKVcleaver.exe);
Error: Subscript used on non-accessible variable.

This error occurs if you use "Custom" in "Filename Options". Working fine if you do not have this need... So reverted to V0.7.0.2


Review by sjaral on Dec 21, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Works seamlessly version0.8.0.0 x64. Reports of virus and malware by some I would suggest are false positives.

Review by netmask56 on Sep 30, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 x64 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




mkvcleaver 0.8.0.0 with mkvtoolnix v27

AutoIt Error
Line 35467 (File "C:\Program Files\MKVCleaver\MKVcleaver.exe);
Error: Subscript used on non-accessible variable.


Review by CyrusWong on Sep 30, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wrong operation of anti-virus solutions. Everything is clear.

Review by Yuki on Sep 29, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




KIS 2018:

0.8.0.0 x86 - clean.

0.8.0.0 x64 - miner:
https://c.radikal.ru/c25/1809/e0/5c6c9f6e5c30.png or http://funkyimg.com/i/2LBhf.png


Review by Gir on Sep 28, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




KIS 2018 swears and deletes the file.

Review by Alex on Sep 27, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Chrome won't even let me download it, stating that the installer contains malicious code.

Not worth the risk


Review by chaos on Sep 25, 2018 Version: 8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




According to windows defender, there's a coin miner associated with that program.

Review by Matt on Sep 20, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 Portable 64-bit OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Avira doesn't like it either. Maybe a false positive but I don't need it that bad.

[IMG]http://i68.tinypic.com/xlhsn8.jpg[/IMG]

With Virustotal 12 reports virus.


Review by videobruger on Sep 19, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Excellent program. Malwarebytes had no problem with it.

Review by netmask56 on Sep 18, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Avast! will not allow executions, says it has "Win32-Evo-gen".

Review by mail2tom on Sep 18, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by mail2tom on Sep 18, 2018 Version: 0.8.0.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Wakaku on Mar 11, 2018 Version: 0.7.0.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Drag and Drop doesn't work. Any file dragged to the GUI window doesn't show up. The only way I can load a file is to use the "Open MKV files to process" and locate directory for each file. Cumbersome and annoying but it works that way

Review by SalFrank on Feb 28, 2018 Version: MKVcleaver 0.7.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




lol.. it's "False Positive" report from 2-5 shitty AV.
The source code is included in setup installation,
you can check it yourself.


Review by cicak on Sep 3, 2017 Version: 0.7.0.2 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




what about virustotal results about MKVCleaver_x64_v0702.exe and MKVCleaver_x64_v0702_Installer.msi
for MKVCleaver_x64_v0702.exe https://www.virustotal.com/tr/file/f4de3e36f66b56348c049cd4486d6cf0daf8da329cadfab8f5bdeafccb379d75/analysis/
for MKVCleaver_x64_v0702_Installer.msi https://www.virustotal.com/tr/file/6cfdf2e819cfacd04d33d85e8eb5626f54a6c863641d59b39fde444fc7ac8b55/analysis/1502834215/


Review by serkanx on Sep 2, 2017 Version: v0702 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




I don't like the installer adding an MKVCleaver shortcut to the SendTo folder.
Please make this optional


Review by StephanP on Jun 1, 2017 Version: 0.7.0.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




MKVcleaver 0.6.0.8

Compatibility issue with MKVToolnix 1x.x.x


Review by stardust on Apr 29, 2017 Version: 6.0.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Thanks a lot for this great program! :)

Review by TeNSoR on Nov 7, 2016 Version: 0.6.0.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@johns0

Ha, so it does... I was using an older version before updating yesterday and didn't notice that it says it...

Thanks.


Review by Tylerr on Aug 23, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It already has the option to extract to the same directory as the original files,Output directory(leave blank to extract to the original directory).

Review by johns0 on Aug 22, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool, love that you added options for filenames

i was wondering if you could do the same for directory output

i like to extract files to the same directory as the input ones, would be nice not to have t copy and paste it everytime i start new ones.


Review by Tylerr on Aug 22, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Working great. Extract timecodes, attachments, track, blabla.. very easy.

Though I must edit the source a bit to remove "check version online"
because my inet connection problem which make mkvcleaver launced slower.

Other than that, 10/10 for me.


Review by cicak on Aug 5, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.7 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I like this tool, although I used MKVExtractGUI before, this one is faster (uses multiple CPU cores) and has a pleasant interface, and a bit more functions. It also has x64 support.
However version 0.6.0.6 doesn't work (at least for me it didn't) with latest mkvtoolnix 7.6.0 (x64), so if you have the same issue (doesn't work and must shut down) stick with v0.6.0.5 which works just fine.


Review by muLineZu on Feb 19, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I really like the user interface and ease of use.
The only problem I have with it is that it does not honor the output directory that I selected.
The program indicated that it was finished but the file was output to MKVCleaver's own directory under a subfolder that it created with many sub-subfolders inside of that.It was a real head scratcher until I finally found the output file, haha!

Thank you for this tool!


Review by somebodeez on Jan 14, 2015 Version: 0.6.0.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great tool... just a few suggestions

Allow us to disable the tags added to the end of the file name ie: _Track02(EN) I need for my subtitles to have the same name as the video so its a pain to have to rename them all for just a few letters.

Also make an option that allows you to set the current directory of the input files as output (like mkvextract gui does)


Review by Tylerr on Dec 26, 2014 Version: 0.6.0.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




For those new to MKVcleaver, it requires MKVToolNix to work. Unfortunately, the latest version of MKVToolNix (6.7.0) breaks MKVcleaver (0.6.0.2). It extracts streams as an unknown file type rather then giving them the correct extension.

Fortunately though, you can have multiple versions of MKVToolNix on a PC. As well as an installer, there's portable versions of MKVToolNix which you can simply download, unzip and run. The latest version which works with MKVcleaver is version 6.6.0. Simply download it, upzip it to a folder, then copy the folder somewhere (ie to the folder where MKVcleaver resides). Run MKVcleaver and use the "Locate MKVToolNix" button to tell it to use the correct version of MKVToolNix. That way if you want to, you can still have a newer version of MKVToolNix "installed" to use for everything else, while MKVcleaver uses the version which keeps it happy. Hopefully MKVcleaver will be updated sometime soon to fix the problem, but until then, you can find older versions of MKVToolNix on the MKVToolNix page on this site.
http://www.videohelp.com/tools/MKVtoolnix/old-versions#download


Review by hello_hello on Jan 22, 2014 Version: 0.6.0.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Oh, this version actually does work, and it works well but:

1. When you load a file it doesn't show the subtitle or chapters as extractable streams, although you can extract them
2. Why the heck doesn't it extract to current folder as default? There isn't a setting for this either.


Review by blud7 on Mar 2, 2013 Version: 0.6.0.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have to agree with the post below me. This new version 6 doesn't work at all. x32 or x64. I get get a mediainfo.dll file error with the x64 and some "script" error with the x32 version. Please fix.

:)


Review by Moontrash on Nov 20, 2012 Version: 6.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does not work with the latest mkvtoolnix.
In fact I don't know if it works at all, I'm not going to download different versions of mkvtoolnix to test. A shame since the GUI has always been great as well as the functionality.


Review by blud7 on Nov 20, 2012 Version: 0.600 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




I have yet to test out 5.02 but 5.01 and earlier versions worked perfectly on any MKV file I threw at it.

Review by stewiegriffin711 on Nov 7, 2010 Version: 5.02 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




V5.02 not extracting srt subtitles,v5.01 works ok.

Review by johns0 on Nov 7, 2010 Version: 5.02 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10


36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com