Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.




Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Light Alloy

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


I bought a cheap bodycam that records in mjpeg uncompressed 720P with a bitrate of 15000 (9,95 from Action)
I tried multiple common players but all stutter
Hard to find a good one but this one plays it flawlessly.
My native players are SM-player and MPC-HC


Review by fred on Mar 25, 2022 Version: 4.11.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by hari on Sep 8, 2021 Version: windows 11 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good player, updated last month:

What's new in Light Alloy 4.11.1 Build 3333
December 9, 2020

Added support for DSD streams in WavPack files (.wv).
Added support for MusePack 7/8.
Extended support for tracks in AC-3 format.
Added support for TSC2 codec (TechSmith Camtasia).
Added support for AV1.
Added support for VP8 and VP9.
Added media types for DV Video support.
Added support for b48r video.
Added support for Xunlei XV files.
Added support for mixed streams H.264 3D MVC.
H.264 video support has been expanded.
Added support for video codec r210 for MOV files.
Added full support for DAV (DHAV) files.
Added support for AVrp codec (Avid 1: 1 10-bit RGB Packer).
Fixed incorrect display of audio track names in some cases.


Review by Jimbo on Jan 4, 2021 Version: 4.11 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by cmuphyxa on May 4, 2020 Version: 4.10.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




November 2019 - for new users - Light Alloy is a clone of the venerable MPC-HC player and family, but after the copy not much development was made. So the core code is similar to the version of some years ago, but the interface is ugly, wrong, unusable and not intuitive. The software has a lot of bugs not present on MPC-HC or MPC-BE. The development, if any, is dead and stopped. I don't advice this player...please, just use MPC-HC or MPC-BE or PotPlayer or Zoom Player for a DirectShow based capable video player. Add LAV Filters as splitter, video and audio decoder combo + madVR Video renderer + Sanear Audio renderer; for streaming and internet videos please use the Source Filter 3DYD Youtube Source or directly youtube_dl.exe. That's it.. for a high quality Windows HTPC software enviroment.

Review by Ziggy1978 on Nov 23, 2019 Version: 4.10.2 (May 21, 2017) OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Good potential alternative to potplayer, but it doesn't handle my screen setting of 150 dpi(in windows) on 2k monitor.
Preference/Option letters very (unreadablly) small and right click menu letters big, overlaping each other for total mess of the interface.


Review by anonymous on Feb 18, 2019 Version: 4.10.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by Denis on Sep 10, 2018 Version: 4.10.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by no_id on Mar 22, 2018 Version: 4.10.2.3317 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Light alloy is my new top fav video player, runs nice and light, this is and (MPC-BE) are the only video players that play my higher HD video playlists without videos stuttering and freezing as with all other over-rated players tried like Potplayer,mplayer,Virtual DJ, 5k player,Cross DJ, Zoom players etc.

To me Light alloy player plays better than MPC-BE player, light alloy also has more video audio features , options, than MPC-BE player, plus it's developer (unlike most other video programs) actually responds to user inquiries, most of these other players , have poor documentation, and mostly non-existence support etc.
I am using LIGHT ALLOY player along with my (WINTEL W8) WINDOWS MINI PC (WIN 10 HOME- 2GB RAM)- 1.33GHZ)-
(INTEL HD GRAPHICS-ULTRA 4K VIDEO PLAYBACK)

Light alloy, could easily be the top best video player over all the rest, if can possibly add these couple of missing super hot features:
1. (Top Feature request it needs) A (Video and audio crossfade effect), or video fade out video options, that many many people are turning to, to mix and transitions to video clips,and play music videos playlists smoothly.
This feature needed mainly at end of video downloads and MP4 clips playlist, so do not have to use an addtl editor program,to edit and re-encode just to fade out videos at end, instead of all cut or trimmed videos ending abrubtly, which looks terrible.
**Light alloy Developer says these hot features may be possibly added to this or another similair player of is in the very near future. This player would really be outstanding, Even had to use of some internal or external effects or plugins to crossfade video and audio.
Light alloy is better than most of these other over-rated video players that want you to pay, but they still cannot even do very basic video and audio crossfading, or even video downloading. I would never pay for these other over rated players out there.

2. Light alloy Downloader with video trimmer option,

3. Lastly, of course and addtl video and audio enhancements, video and video karaoke and playlist features, are always best.

Please keep up all the great video audio improvements Light alloy developers, easily one of the best video players out there currently!


Review by coolvibe on Apr 22, 2017 Version: 4.9.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Finally,,a player that gives people who use Daums PotPlayer or any other player an excellent alternative..Im not knocking PotPlayer but LightAlloy plays everything I threw at it including High Definition files and audio files just as smooth as PotPlayer,,but LightAlloy is easier to configure and has no lag when exiting the program like PotPlayer..LightAlloy uses a little more memory then PotPlayer to run but uses the same amount of low cpu power..It is very much like PotPlayer but it feels more lightweight and responsive to me..I have compared so many free video players to PotPlayer over the years to no avail but for now my player of choice is LightAlloy...

Review by RappinRod on Aug 19, 2013 Version: 4.7.2 portable version OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




My rating means nothing since I can't install it properly. Tried multiple times and rebooted in between tries. I'm on xp sp3 up-to-date. Near the end of the install I get the message = Couldn't install data for 'a'. I tried to run the program anyway and the 1st time it allowed me to select a skin but then it closed and remained in memory but not visible. When I end it using the "end process" in the Task manager" it kills it but not if I run it again it just sits there until I reboot if I run it a second time. I reinstalled but got the same results. After 3 tries there is still no joy. Hopefully that message means something to the developer.

Review by gll99 on Aug 8, 2012 Version: 4.6.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com