Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for LameXP

34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews


Windows Defender picks up virus in v4.18
Trojan:Win32/Fuery.B!cl


Review by 1marcus4 on Jun 29, 2020 Version: 4.18 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Gustav on Dec 25, 2019 Version: 4.18 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Gilmour on Dec 21, 2019 Version: v4.18 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Macario Arcuri on Dec 19, 2019 Version: 4.18 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Frank Papst on Dec 19, 2019 Version: 4.18 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Much prefer Lamedropbox or oggdropbox than this. I use Pazera frontend GUI for batch mp3. Hate the gui with this software and LameXp is still prone to crashing in every MS system or version of LameXp I had used previously.

Review by Bob on Dec 19, 2019 Version: 4.18 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Great value for money as it's free- stupid rating! I've never had any success with this and find its gui basic and a cluttered way for navigating. Works for some well, but not for me.

Review by Tex on Dec 13, 2019 Version: 4.18rc2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 5/10




@Gradius2: I think FLAC v1.3.2 is included since LameXP v4.15 ;-)

Review by Prodigal on Nov 11, 2018 Version: 4.17 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




When you will update FLAC to v1.3.2? This one is out since 01/01/2017 !

Review by Gradius2 on Oct 31, 2018 Version: 4.16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Yep you have to make a huge wave file from ac-3 first, so you can input it into this software for encoding. Limited program! At least fre-ac can do it in its alpha version and promises support. Overrated program.

Review by Bernie on Oct 28, 2018 Version: 4.16 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Good but not that good. It cannot input ac-3 nor encode it. Very useless in that respect. You have to make a huge wav file many GB in size to do this.

Review by Delroy on Oct 26, 2018 Version: 4.16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by x26 on Oct 23, 2018 Version: 4.17 RC3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I refer to this awesome FREE tool as the Windows audio encoding/converting Swiss Army Knife. I use this for all my audio encoding needs and it slices through everything like a hot knife through butter.

It's a solid 10 out of 10 in my book.

Thank you, MuldeR!


Review by Dr. TaaDow on Dec 28, 2016 Version: 4.14 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




LameXP not recognizing Apple libraries for AAC after upgrading to the latest version of iTunes v12.3. Had to revert back to Nero AAC encoder.

Review by slacker on Oct 19, 2015 Version: 4.11 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@ RedDwarfer

Then report the problem the developer, LoRd_MuldeR, on the Doom9 forum.

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=157726


Review by mike20021969 on Mar 31, 2013 Version: LameXP v4.07 Beta-10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Neither of the latest beta or final release builds will work on my system. Both show a not accessible - you do not have permission problem when accessing any of my drives. However, v4.04 build 988 works without issue.

Review by RedDwarfer on Mar 31, 2013 Version: 2013-03-17.Release-Static.Build-1258/2012-11-04.Re OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




quite solid program.Use Nero AAC Codec,with full codec parameter setting,but I noticed that there are problems with 5.1 channel audio and more.The downside is that the audio has to be extracted from the film,and after converting back again(MKVToolnix).
My favorite is FFCoder that all of this independently conducted.Interface LameXP is OK medium,should be eliminated visiting the audio effects on a child's game,greeting...


Review by prijatelj.v on Mar 28, 2012 Version: 4.03 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Normally I would use dbPoweramp to down convert files I put on my Ipod but having to pay for it doesn't work for me. Foobar works but it's not very easy to figure out. The other day I looked around in here and found LameXp. This is easily the best audio file/cross converter around...and it's free. Its a snap to use and works with multiple threads. GUI is great and super simple to use. Kudos to the authors of this little app...it works great.

Review by moontrash on Jan 30, 2012 Version: 4.03 R2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent. Been looking for an encoder to convert to/from AAC for some time. Good job.

Review by Chug a Bug on Mar 1, 2011 Version: current OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




How stupid i am ...
This issue came from my anti-virus soft.
Very good job !


Review by slr75 on Feb 23, 2011 Version: 4.0 final OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Couldn't launch Program :
At least one required tool could not be extracted:
File 'tool_flac.exe' could not be locked!
The application has encountered a critical error and will exit now!
Too bad ...
Waiting for rating to 10, hoping soon !


Review by slr75 on Feb 22, 2011 Version: 4.0 final OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




The fastest audio converter, great quality (thanks to LAME + Nero encoders) and very easy to use!

By the way: Nice Win7 goodies ;-)


Review by manfred.murrer on Oct 15, 2009 Version: 3.13 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




ricardouk, I just try to explain the technical details. So unless you can show us the line in the SourceCode where LameXP does actually OVERWRITE the default "Open" operation of any file type, my statement stands! You will see that there is NO such line in the SourceCode -- exactly NOTHING is overwritten, only an additional operation (Convert with LameXP) is ADDED to supported types.

However there MIGHT be an unrevealed BUG, which causes the "problem" you describe on SOME systems (on all MY test machines it seems to work 100% as expected). Any information to find and fix the BUG, if there is any, are very much appreciated. But make sure you tested the LATEST build before reporting any bugs. Also the comment-system really is NOT the proper place for such discussion. Please use the Development thread on Doom9's or contact me via mail...


Review by LoRd_MuldeR on Aug 27, 2008 Version: 3.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Lord Mulder, theres nothing wrong with my system like you said earlier, or is your system the only one to be fine, the one to take as reference? You keep going on and on about shell integration, i know what shell integration is and i'm aware that lamexp does that, what i said in plain/readble english was that lamexp became the default mp4 player for mp4 files after i used it. Once again nothing to do with shell integration. Dont dumb us down. On a fresh XP instalation the same happened again.

Review by ricardouk on Aug 26, 2008 Version: 3.04 RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Before complaining and spreading misinformation, you should have a closer look at the Source codes! Since NOTHING will be overwritten, there is absolutely NO need to backup and/or restore anything. Just removing all the registry entries, that had been ADDED, is sufficient. Also the registry code was improved once again in latest RC version. However you must keep in mind that this is a NONE-commercial project - It's provided for FREE and you use it at your own risk! It's tested as much as I can effort and all features work on all my test machines. But for obvious reasons I can NOT test it on any system-configuration in existence. So if think you found a BUG - which is quite possible - you are welcome to report and discuss it...

Review by LoRd_MuldeR on Aug 26, 2008 Version: 3.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Same problem happens to me. And itīs not adding - itīs Replacing. The first entry of the association. Not adding in the _open with_ key.
Would be nice if installer before writing to registry will ask for this. Later, by disabling it: no way to get the original association back, as LameXP doesnīt store a backup in the registry. Thatīs annoying.
Cleaning up the registry after a testrun of version 3 is needed - far too many entries. The "send to" link in docs and setting would be enough.
LameXP version 2.3 was my favourite - Version 3 taking over the system: useless!


Review by NoBuddy on Aug 25, 2008 Version: 3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 1/10




I don't know what is wrong with your system. But since this is OpenSource software, you can have a look at the source code and see yourself! The "Open" operation will NOT be changed, only the "Convert with LameXP" option will be ADDED to supported file types. That's it. Furthermore you CAN disable the "Shell Integration" at any time (Advanced Options -> Disable Shell Integration), if you don't like it...

Review by LoRd_MuldeR on Aug 25, 2008 Version: 3.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Same thing happened to me so its not an isolated case, LameXp played by default mp4 files after i converted some files. You got a winner here Lord Mulder just need to iron out that bug.

Review by ricardouk on Aug 25, 2008 Version: 3.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I'm sorry, but my comments are accurate. I installed LameXP and Lame on my XP-SP3 system, ran LameXP to reduce the bitrate of some MP3s and when I double-clicked on the completed files it reopened LameXP. Everytime.

The are based on the problems I had removing the package.


Review by banjo on Aug 25, 2008 Version: 3.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This information is NOT correct. It does NOT make itself the default application for all audio files. Instead it adds the "Convert with LameXP" option to audio files in Windows Explorer, while the "Open" operation is NOT touched. If you don't like that feature, you can check "Disable Shell Integration" under "Advanced Options" and it will be gone. By the way: You'll loose your settings on update for a good reason! This is done in order to prevent problems. But your old settings are kept in the INI file, so you can "restore" your old settings with a simply text editor (Notepad) -- do this at your own risk...

Review by LoRd_MuldeR on Aug 24, 2008 Version: 3.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I installed this and the first time it ran it changed all file associations for MP3, AAC and all other audio-type files in the registry. I had 82 references to LameXp in the registry. If I double-clicked on an MP3 it opend in LameXP not in media player. As a result of its altered setting I could not launch MP3s from Forte Agent. I foind that a bit excessive for program that is only a front-end.

Had to use System Restore to recover. A real pain.

NOT recommended. Will NEVER use again.


Review by banjo on Aug 20, 2008 Version: 3.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




been using this one since v3.0, nice proggie at all...

BUT: there's one thing which is quite disturbing. everytime you update to a new version (which is actually copying the new exe over the old one), you have to re-adjust all the settings. this is annoying... so i can't make it a 10 rating.


Review by leghorn on Aug 12, 2008 Version: 3.03 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I have been looking for a nice, clean, small program for re-encoding audio files to specific Hz and bitrate for use in podcasting. I would have given this program all 10's except when the file is encoding, the indicator does not move until it's done. But overall, this program is going in my podcasting tool chest.

Review by gust0208 on Apr 24, 2008 Version: 3.0Beta-18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


34 reviews, Showing 1 to 34 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com