Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
FAVC

NEW VERSION 1.07 / 1.07 DrM

NO LONGER DEVELOPED
FAVC is an All-In-One DVD Converter. A GUI for several different free video tools. Accepts one, or more, avi video files and produces a ready-to-burn dvd folder (and an iso if required). Output can be either PAL or NTSC and most of the work is automated. Subtitle support(srt, hardcoded and switchable). Very little input is needed and the applications used are optimised for speed. HCEnc, QuEnc is used for encoding.

Free software
OS: Win
File size: 14MB
Old versions
Version history
9.0/10
35 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

FAVC screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.07 / 1.07 DrM (June 19, 2008)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download FAVC 1.07  14MB  Win

Download FAVC 1.07 64-bit  14MB  Win64




Download Beta and other versions

Download FAVC 1.07 DrM 64-bit  29MB  Win64




Download old versions


Download FAVC old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows



More information and other downloads




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


__FAVC v1.07 x64 Dr.M Custom Edition__

-Fixed a bug that caused all AC3 to be re-encoded.
-Code modified to use HC Encoder .25.
-Updated components as available favoring x64 versions.

Downgraded: MediaInfo 0.7.6.1 x64

Updated: Aften 0.0.8, Decomb to 5.2.4, FFMpegSource to 1.21, NicAudio to 2.0.6, VSFilter (DirectVobSub) to 2.41.322, DGIndex to 1.5.8, HC Encoder to .25, ImgBurn to 2.5.8.0, mencoder to 37199, mkisofs to 3.01a22, mkvtoolnix to 6.9.1, Muxman to 0.16.8, twoLAME to 0.3.13, QuEnc to 0.75 alpha.

_Other Notes_

To avoid unnecessary processing or channel changes to your audio, I recommend you keep a second audio filter installed. Use one for normal everyday use and one for encoding.

For example, for normal playback I use ffdshow, which is set to output 5.1 channels, and occasionally other tweaks. If FAVC used it, a stereo source will be modified and output as 5.1 with only 2 channels active.

To fix this I added Wavi.exe to the "Don't use ffdshow in" list (under ffdshow's audio decoder configuration/DirectShow control).

With ffdshow blocked LAV Audio Decoder activates instead. I don't use LAV audio for anything else, and I have it configured with every option disabled and only the output formats checked.

Additionally, to avoid missing subtitles, text subtitles must be in ANSI format to be properly recognized. They can be converted using 'Save As' under Notepad. You may also want to do a search and replace to convert &#9834; to <s M/> so you have notes.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to FAVC


Avi2Dvd



AVI2ISO



AVStoDVD



AVStoMPEG



DIKO



DVD Flick



The FilmMachine







Guides and How to's


FAVC Video to DVD Guide

- Read

How to put many movies or episodes in one DVD

- Read

FAVC video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews


There is a thread here dedicated to the discussion of making FAVC work on Win7 x64. I've even posted a custom update there. Check it out.
http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/312833-FAVC-and-Windows-7-x64


Review by doctorm on Jun 8, 2014 Version: 1.07 x64 Custom OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Well, after using this forever, it seems I'm getting the odd conversion that fails at the final stage. I am going to check the working folder as user Milesahead has pointed out.

I am using other alternatives, but nothing has performed so consistently for me as this program has. I have tried this against several encoders, and yes there are close matches, but this one just seemed to always give me what i want in terms of quality. (except for the half second random frame at the start that somebody has mentioned)

Great program, I just wish somebody would pick this up and fix it. (if the source has been made available)

I don't know of any other HC front ends, if somebody has suggestions to something that comes close to the quality of this tool, I'd appreciate it.







Review by kuurgen on Nov 28, 2011 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This utility works quite well overall, makes a simples clean functional menu. Video quality output on Best setting is impeccable.

Only thing is if input .avi has a problem (the nature of which I would be hard-pressed to specify), the output has audio/video sync problems. DVD Flick does not have those output problems.


Review by SpinningCarrots on May 4, 2011 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




There are very few programs worth logging in and writing a review for, however this is one of them.

By far the best quality output I've seen over several encoders.
My only beef is it doesn't handle .MKV very well, for that I use dvdflick.

There's also a small bug which shows a random frame at the start of the dvd for a half second.
I only wish that it wasn't abandonware, as I'd love to see this program with strong menu creation abilities.




Review by kuurgen on Jan 31, 2011 Version: 1.0.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Abandon-ware or not, hands down this is the best, most reliable method I have used to generate good quality DVD's from avi files. A choice of 2 encoding engines (I prefer HCEnc), auto-calculation of the optimum bitrate to fill a blank DVD to capacity and the ability to add a simple menu if you have multiple avi files make FAVC a winner. Thanks Mr. Odwin!

Review by The Mariner on Jan 26, 2011 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Unfortunately v. 1.07 seems to be it. Looks like abandon-ware. The most irritating quirk is getting over 90% complete then having some audio or muxing error that's not reported. You notice that the movie is a couple minutes short or some other artifact. The most interesting feature is the multi-core support. When I get time I want to study the batch files to see if there's a way to split off to do video only processing. Right now I'm using HC encoder "by hand" using the HC gui. It would be nice to get a copy running for each of my cores.

I was hoping Mr Odwin would hang around long enough to fix the quirks of this otherwise very nice software. But it looks like life moves on. For those having issues I'd say the best idea is to use the Radio Button in Working Files that says Keep. Many times the error is just in the final mux and you can save your encoding by just using a DVD authoring program such as DVDAuthorGui to put the audio and video together in a VIDEO_TS file suitable for burning. If there's an error it seems like over 90% of the time it's in the final mux.


Review by MilesAhead on Nov 3, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have tried almost 9 converters but I tell you, FAVC is the best. I didn't get problems with my DVDs, unlike others that gave me incompatibilities, errors, etc.

FAVC is a very good tool that I have been always using for many years now if I burn DVDs. A tool good for x to DVD conversion, no errors, no flaws, nothing but pure awesomeness.

Basically I use this tool for conversion and then use DVD authoring software like TMPGEnc DVD Authoring Works to make my own custom menus.


Review by dzsoul on Nov 3, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tried this for the first time today and it was a complete waste of my time. After encoding for over three hours it gave me no errors and completed, making an invalid ISO file. I went for the raw files instead and found that there were none.

Obviously something went wrong but the program reported nothing amiss. Now it's more than three hours later, I still have no DVD and have to start all over. The program came with some useful tools which is the only reason I didn't score it a 1.


Review by Nitemare on Aug 26, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 4/10




Lovely tool. Uses HCEncoder which gives awesome results at reasonable speed. Definitely worth a 10 if not...
Well, I've had problems converting files with multichannel AC-3 sound. FAVC always re-encodes audio tracks even if told to "retain [AC3] if present". Therefore: downgraded.


Review by leghorn on Jul 31, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Love this tool!
Extremely stable and reliable, it produces awesome quality of practically anything you throw at it. So far I did over 25 conversions and it failed me only once (a messed up Windows-installation at that, 2 days later I had to re-install Windows, not because of Favc!)
Recommend it to almost everyone; perhaps newbies in video-conversion would find the parameters for QEnc/HCenc a tiny bit confusing at first.
But there are a few guides around this site and forum and with just the smallest practice, setting it up is a matter of minutes!
Great work, Mr Odwin, thank you!


Review by nbarzgar on Jun 8, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a superb tool. Well worth it.

Only one problem, the audio normalization feature does not work! Enabled, it will destroy the audio/video sync of every video processed.


Review by iform on May 26, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




Regarding the claim that this magnificent piece of freeware is virus-filled: NONSENSE.

God knows what this guy's MO is, but I've had FAVC in its various versions, on various computers, all running anti-virus software. (Including Malwarebytes.) Never have I had any sort of virus warning.

And it one of the best all-in-ones out there.


Review by Mitchum22 on Apr 22, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I cannot recommend this software for the following reason:

Downloaded on two different computers. This week after a Malwarebytes update, Malwarebytes found a trojan virus on both computers in FAVC.


Review by craftech on Apr 21, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




A very useful tool indeed! My conversions yielded very good results. I'd recommend this tool to anyone for their avi to dvd conversions, as it was recommended to me from Guns1inger. Thanks Guns. Thanks much to Mr. Odwin for his work.

Review by Hittz on Jan 1, 2010 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Doesn't work in Win7 x64. The 32-bit flag needs to be turned on using the .NET 2.0 tool corflags, which is part of the .NET SDK, a free download from Microsoft.

Install the SDK, copy favc.exe to the Bin folder (C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft.NET\SDK\v2.0\Bin), open a command prompt in the Bin folder and type the following:

corflags favc.exe /32bit+

Copy favc.exe back to its original folder and you should be good to go.


Review by CaptainFabulous on Nov 21, 2009 Version: 1.07 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I had been searching for hours for a true free avi to dvd converter and had nearly given up hope when I fell on to this site and a recommendation for FAVC and gave it a try. Well I am honestly amazed at this little program! It is my first time at doing this after downloading a series of .avi files to watch on my tv. I can recommend it to anyone.If I can use it anyone can.

Review by David49 on Mar 22, 2009 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just about flawless execution and a breeze to use. Was a little confused when the build script paused between building the DVD files and creating an ISO, with no indication of what was going on. But the software is great and very simple to configure.

Review by deesto on Aug 21, 2008 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent software!
I recommend this to anyone wanting to convert avi files to DVD's!
Easy to use.
Good clear easy GUI.
But maybe a good guide to using all the features of this software would be even better, appologises if there is and I have missed it!
Why pay for software when this is much more stable and has better, quicker results, and pretty simple to use soon as its installed?
mcv



Review by mcv2008 on Aug 1, 2008 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Nice work Mr Odwin, works without problems here(like always), nice to see vob support. keep up the good work

Review by ricardouk on Jun 20, 2008 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What are you doing ?! there is a big bug with Config.ini file, it crashes in almost all systems. If that is your config file, try to store in registry instead....is just an idea. Keep the good work, cheers

Review by Delta2 on Jun 19, 2008 Version: 1.07 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using FAVC since version 1.04. 1.06 works very well in Vista. I like QuEnc and have a dual core processor. FAVC will open a copy of QuEnc for each core for each .avi file. My cores are maxed out, which is a good thing. The automatic menu generation does what you need for episodic menu creation. The default background image makes the menu look pretty awful but if you substitute something with a blue background the menu doesn't look so bad(look for Config.ini file in the Documents subfolder of the FAVC install tree.) The only '9' is due to having to select the output and work folders using the Windows Folder Select Shell Dialog, which is tedious. Again you can look in Config.ini and see how to set it manually. A drag & drop handler for these settings would improve the user experience but I can understand the impulse not to fix something that isn't broken. :)

The only other issue is bitrate spikes. If you set the desired bitrate to a more reasonable level then ending up with a zero length
.ifo file happens rarely. In most cases the Vob set is complete so you can use a tool such as Vob2Mpg to rescue your work and just author manually to get something burnable.

The other feature that may be ignored by the new user is the ability
to check "Don't Start Batch File" on the Advanced Scripting tab. By doing this you can edit the AviSynth scripts. For example, I often
hard sub with idx/sub just by adding a VobSub() line to each .avs script, then manually starting the main batch file.

Very nice software that does video encoding in a hurry esp. if you have a multi-core system.


Review by MilesAhead on May 15, 2008 Version: 1.06 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Looks like a pretty slick tool. Would be nice if there was a bit more documentation. One issue I had was that DV from a digital video camera is interlaced, BFF, and there is no provision to set these flags for the HCenc encoder. FAVC sets these flags to zigzag, which produces lower quality video.

Review by towtruck on May 14, 2008 Version: v1.06 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This worked great for me! I tried AVI2DVD, but could never get it to work. .NET Framework v2.0 that is required for FAVC is now included in the v3.0 download from Microsoft. I transfer VHS through a Canopus ADVC-100 via firewire and capture to my PC using WinDV. Then I edit with Windows MovieMaker and save as DV-AVI. This then becomes the source for FAVC. The HC encoder worked great. There are some codec problems on my system,so I found it necessary to make a tweak in FAVC. I used the Advanced Scripting tab and ticked: Use DirectShowSource For avi Files Instead of AVISource found under the Plugins and Source box.I don't use the menus that are included with this program. Instead, I like to use TitleWriter with its MakeMenu function which will place a menu into the VIDEO_TS folder. FAVC is really easy to use.

Review by raycorri on Nov 8, 2007 Version: 1.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just wish you could use Cinema Craft Encoder with it. Then I'd give it a 10.

Review by ntruax on Nov 5, 2007 Version: 1.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I like the program a lot. It is a simple to use front end to some powerful tools. HCEnc is a good quality, relatively fast encoder, and the way it is implemented here makes it simple to get good quality, accurate results. I have had some issues with both this version and the previous producing incomplete DVD structures (All the VOBS are good, but the IFO's are incomplete and/or missing), hence the slightly lower overall score. I have not yet found a pattern to this problem. A strong alternative to the likes of ConvertXtoDVD when quality is paramount.

Review by guns1inger on Aug 12, 2007 Version: 1.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Really good stuff. I like this app a lot.

Review by Soopafresh on Jun 14, 2007 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The source code is now available at:
http://download.videohelp.com/favc/


Review by Mr_Odwin on May 24, 2007 Version: 0.95 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I love this tool! I use it whenever I want to get one or more avi files onto a dvd. There are lots of options but the author seems to have gone out of his way to keep it simple and intuitive.
One of the best features is the strong use of DGPulldown. PAL to NTSC conversions, or NTSC Film to PAL conversions, are great because of this - and the audio is never resampled so it doesn't ever go up or down in pitch.
QuEnc and HC encoders are supported, and so are AC3 and mp2 audio.
As mentioned below, TV Overscan compensation is magic. Finally you get to see all the stuff at the sides you've been missing out on.
Finally, the way that you can modify the generated avisynth scripts in the advanced tab means that you can add denoisers/sharpeners/etc yourself, but then the rest of the process is automated.


Review by acid_burn on Feb 9, 2007 Version: 0.91 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool works very well to put an avi onto a DVD, simply but with no frills or whistles and with very good video quality. There's no menu on the DVD, just the AVI. It handled resolution and frame rate changes automatically and with no problems.

The only setting that I needed to change was to set QuEnc for it's highest quality and tell it that I had a dual core CPU -- FAVC'll run 2 copies of QuEnc and combine the result :). (I also opened the running QuEnc copies and changed the process priority to low -- which it remembers on subsequent runs -- and lets me use my computer while it's working).

For me, there is a bug where it won't execute the 2nd batch file that it creates to do all of the work -- it just pops up a menu saying that everything's running and that I can do something else. If this happens to you, just go to the subdir where it's installed, look for the highest numbered working folder (eg., 'working folder 5') and double click on Title.bat. That'll kick off the rest of the process.


Review by davidk21770 on Jan 20, 2007 Version: 0.90 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Solid program that seems to handle PAL>NTSC, Interlaced, etc. well.

ONE OF THE ONLY PROGRAMS THAT SUPPORT TV OVERSCAN!!!!! (yes, I am shouting!)

Some much needed missing functions IMHO:

ability to choose AC3 encoding (if other than AC3 source) (on to-do list)
ability to NOT run DVDAuthor (just want the .mpv/.mpa/.ac3 files for use in something else)
ability to choose VCD resolution (352x240)

Homepage? About button?


Review by donnyj on Aug 18, 2006 Version: 0.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Basic functions but worked very well for me with good quality video . It can input an AVI and take it all the way to a DVD if you also have ImgBurn (freeware). There is no built in help with the version .5 that I used but it is so easy to use I did my first project without assistance.

Review by danzeb on Jul 27, 2006 Version: 0.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool has come on in leaps and bounds since the first comments were made. It's easy as anything to use and the output is great.
Quality settings can be changed and after some initial configuration it is just a sexy one-click application.


Review by striker9 on Jul 18, 2006 Version: 0.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool has come on in leaps and bounds since the first comments were made. It's easy as anything to use and the output is great.
Quality settings can be changed and after some initial configuration it is just a sexy one-click application.


Review by tonemgub on Jul 18, 2006 Version: 0.5.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




New D/L link allows it to be unzipped. Mine crashed at around 80% of conversion, requiring reboot.

Nice idea but I would prefer access to settings. No ST support. Choice of encoder would be nice, e.g. CCE Basic, HC.


Review by luke51 on Feb 2, 2006 Version: 0.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




The link has been updated to something that can be unzipped.
For a self-extracting zip file:
http://pike.fireflyinternet.co.uk/favc.exe

I've been using this as an alternative to WinAVI Video converter for avi files. Similar output, not quite as fast, but better quality.


Review by Mr_Odwin on Feb 2, 2006 Version: 0.1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com