Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
DVDx is an all-in-one DVD and Blu-ray copier as well as a powerful audio/video transcoder. Not just a media transcoder and DVD/Blu-ray copier, DVDx includes an easy-to-use video editing toolset and a full-featured DVD and video player, you can play DVDs, Blu-ray discs and almost any audio or video files. You can rip Blu-ray and DVD discs and transcode them to almost any popular video formats. The converter/transcoder is free but the DVD and Blu-ray decrypting cost from $50.

Trialware $50
OS: Win
File size: 86MB
Old versions
Version history
7.4/10
40 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

DVDx screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


DVDx screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

4.2 (October 23, 2017)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download DVDx 4.2  86MB  Win




Download old versions


Download DVDx old versions



Software License

Shareware (Free download but time limited software. Full version from $50)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


Version 4.2

No release notes yet

View full changelog




All features


DVDx 4.2 is very easy to use: open a DVD/Bluray disc, ISO, folder or a media
file in the player, play it with audio/subtitle of your choice ; transcode a
short preview and play it to ensure it's what you expect ; then start the
whole encoding job which can take about one hour but you're quiet sure to get
the very good result you expect!

DVDx 4.2 makes all good choices for you: popular video and audio codecs and
appropriate settings (for fair quality, high quality or smaller size files)
but you can tune the encoder with your own preferred settings.

Features (summary):
- rip DVD/Blu-ray disc to hard-drive into MKV file without additional software,
- rip DVD/Blu-ray disc to ISO image file without additional software,
- transcode audio/video streams to almost any popular media format,
- extract audio or subtitles tracks from files or DVD/Bluray discs (not available),
- load external subtitle files for playback or hardsubbing (not available),
- play audio and video files (Xvid/DivX, H.264, MKV, WebM, MPEG-2, FLV, MP4,
WMV, AC-3, AAC, DTS, MP3...),
- play DVD (menu navigation supported) and Bluray discs, ISOs and folders.

DVDx 4.2 doesn't require any additional software to decrypt DVD and Blu-ray discs.

DVDx 4.2 Beta full-featured converter is FREE ; ripper features require activation.

Convert to Xvid/Divx, MPEG-4, H.264, AVC, MKV, WebM, MOV, QuickTime, Flash Video, AC.3, WAV,
MP3, MP4/AAC, PCM, ADPCM, Lossless Audio, Vorbis, VCD/CVD/SVCD/DVD, etc.




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to DVDx


DVD2SVCD



Eazy VCD



XMPEG







Guides and How to's


Sefy's DVD Backup Guide v2.6

- Read

Sefy's DVDx DVD to VCD ripping guide

- Read

DVDx video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here



Tool features - Convert




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews


Totally useless. If you want to rip a DVD, it says you need to update 'disk encrypter backend'. If you click the given update button, it says there are no updates...

Review by M on Nov 20, 2019 Version: 4.2 v5522 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




DVDx as the previous analyst said, and it is true, it has a very limited trial version as it is complicated to create a trial before we want to buy it (expensive $ 50 for a ripper / dvd converter and bluray becomes surerreal) , remembering that there are free options that deliver the same result, vidcoder or ripbot 264 for example), review the program's accessibility under test, and may be able to garner more users even if the price remains the same.

Review by Diego Souza on Oct 21, 2019 Version: 4.1 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 6/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by 7of9 on Aug 8, 2017 Version: 4.1.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




absolutely the stupidest trial version I have ever seen... you can select just about any input, but you are restricted on output to x264 MP4. hi med or low... high is only about 960x540...

so say if you actually do this stuff and have any sort of brain and want to evaluate it's ability to convert MP4, BD or MKV to HECV-265 MP4 at 720p or greater? you are out of luck

this trial is the equivalent of saying on ebay... "yeah here's a pitch black picture of a watch I took, yeah I know I didn't turn on the light, but tough.... send me $50 and I'll send you the watch,.... oh and no refunds."

this is probably a crappy product,,, I just did a 1.6GB 720p MKV of Avatar to the only output this crazy trial would allow 960x540 MP4 264... it took 14 minutes on a screaming 8 core ssd with 64GB of ram and top flight Nvidia coproccessing and it blew the file size all the way up from 1.6 to 3.2GB... file looks great, but I'm looking for a tool to take advantage of 265 compression on a large library

also if you want to see a job queue? nope... does it smart select you preferred language track? nope....

don't even bother downloading this hunk of junk

terrible


Review by yifyguy on Jan 25, 2016 Version: 4.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The tool is useless unless you pay.
I installed 4.1.9, but then it said i had to update from 4.1.2 to 4.1.9 and gave me a link to the exact same file i downloaded and used for the installation.

This is just a piece of crap and a waste of time.


Review by Paxmilitaris on Aug 3, 2015 Version: 4.1.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The 4.0 Open Edition does the DVD decryption.

@VideoHelp
You can host the Smart Edition for downloads too.


Review by Starbuck2010 on Aug 29, 2011 Version: 4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@JayBo
I believe "quiet" is supposed to be "quite" as in the phrase "quite a few". The words "quiet any" could have been replaced with the word "many" but the author's intent may have been to convey "almost any audio and video files".

I haven't used the windows tool since they split off the DVD decryption function to a members only version. I'm not sure if they have added it back to v4.0 so my ratings are based on much older releases of the program.



Review by gll99 on Jul 25, 2011 Version: DVDx 4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I can't figure out what this app does from the developer's description. What do they think the word "quiet" means?

"DVDx 4.0 is an audio/video encoder as well as a powerful DVD copier. You can read DVDs and quiet any audio or video files and encode them to quiet any popular video formats: VCD/CVD/SVCD/DVD, Xvid/Divx,....."

Just a suggestion: When you're trying to make money in a non-native language, it's ridiculous to skip COPY EDITING. I'm American, but I made 23 times the national per capita income in Turkey for 3 years running as a side-job to my professorship partly because I learned and respected their language as much as my own.

NOTE: I gave this app all 10s because I have to select something, not because I've ever used it. I'm still not sure what it does.


Review by JayBo on Jul 24, 2011 Version: whatever OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Nice tiny tool back-boned by FFMpeg and Mencoder.
successful to rip DVD mpeg-ps with ac-3 (copy) almost @ 4858 Kbps,
Very good quality-rip
scored 10 as it served the purpose.
:)


Review by Bonie81 on Jun 10, 2011 Version: 4.0.0.4 OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




To reply to previous comment about encoding issue:

- Encoding NTSC is always a nightmare to sync audio and video, with DVDx make the good frame rate selection, usually 23.976 with Detect 24Hz.

We're working hard to release DVDx 4 as soon as possible to fix this (it will use external encoder at first (Mencoder, Qenc) to use the best code we can).


Review by Jim@labDV.com on Jun 10, 2009 Version: 2.20 OS: Vista Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




When converting a VOB to DivX, my Audio/Video started off synced, but by the end of a 20 minute clip, there was almost a 2 second shift. Not pleased at all. Nothing else matters if the end result isn't acceptable. They should have spend less time on decoration, and more on making it work.

Review by awgie on Sep 3, 2008 Version: 2.10 OS: Vista Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 1/10




Now DVDx encoder has a great companion: DVDx InfoTool, which provides DVD structure (VTS, PGC, menus etc.) and video/audio/subtitle format from a DVD-Video (protected or not). The very first pre-release is DVDx InfoTool 0.9.1 and is a providing informations like ifo _dump and title_info from libdvdread.

We're already preparing the 1.0.0 release which will display a 3rd view ("standard") with data formatted for a usage in a DVD ripper like DVDx encoder.

DVDx InfoTool runs on Windows, Linux and Mac OS X (Intel binaries provided).

DVDx InfoTool is available (including all compiled binaries) from SourceForge as part of DVDx project:
http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=72208&p ... _id=256669

DVDx InfoTool homepage: http://www.labdv.com/dvdx/infotool.php

PS- I expect Baldwin may add DVDx IntoTool in Videohelp tools.


Review by Jim@labDV.com on Dec 23, 2007 Version: 2.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Further to my problems a few days ago. I eventually found out what the problem was. DVDx is fine it was the Divx codec that was at fault. The error messages were basically red herrings!

I used an Xvid codec and everything works fine.

Be careful of any new PC you get with all that advertising, trial period junk on it. Some of it contains time limited Divx codecs which have a "wonderful way" of looking as if they are OK.


Review by mar39241 on May 25, 2007 Version: 2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Tried V2.9 today. As yet, working without any problem.

Review by ark on May 18, 2007 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you don't find answers to DVDx issue in VideoHelp forums (I miss some), you can post the issue on official support forum (eventually just a link to the thread in VideoHelp forum so I'm notified):
http://www.labdv.com/forum/viewforum.php?forum=16

That's not normal to fail to run DVDx on any XP machine which can play DVDs...

Jim


Review by Jim@labDV.com on May 17, 2007 Version: 2.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Tried for the first time for encoding a DVD to XviD. It works, albeit a bit slow compared to VDubMPEG. Got a frame rate of 16 against 26 in VDubMPEG. Used it since VDub would not take all the VOBs in a title.

Review by ark on May 17, 2007 Version: 2.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




What a nightmare. I did manage to get V2.4 working on my sons computer but only after XP was installed from scratch on a re-formatted harddrive. This does not work on my other sons XP "out of the box" nor my laptop "out of the box".

Versions 2.5 onwards do not work on anything. The picture is a garbled mess (at best) that's assuming the Iseqcompressframe error does not get you first!.

I'm sorry, I know its freeware but I'm using XP Pc's "out of the box".......so something should work.


Review by mar39241 on May 15, 2007 Version: 2.4-2.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




There is no google toolbar in this program and it's working perfect and it's freeware.
So dont blame dvdx for your problems.


Review by dvdevil on Oct 24, 2006 Version: 2.51 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Okay; I downloaded this and agreed to the terms. Then it installed google toolbar. yuk. Why does a free tool have to install google toobar? Well that's not all it did, and avi is not one of the available free output options. Obtained the blue screen of death on my first VOB conversion try. So its gone, and my system is not back to normal yet. Don't use this one. It'l screw up your system.

Review by Sanger on Oct 23, 2006 Version: 1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have some pal DVD mpeg1 videos that I wanted convert to NTSC vcd. I tried many programs including TMPGEnc Plus 2.5 and Mpeg encorder, nothing worked i only got 2-3 minute video from 6 hours DVD i even tried to convert it to pal vcd that didt't work either then i tried this and it worked perfectly. Highly recommended. Even if you use other program for conversion you should have this just in case

Review by Vahe on Feb 14, 2005 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very easy to use. Great program at the right price. My compliments to the chef.

Review by rosebud1696 on Jan 19, 2005 Version: 2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I was having trouble using DVDdecrpyter when I was trying to rip a DVD and kept getting the error message I/O error. So I thought something was wrong with my DVD, but then I tried DVDx and it converted my DVDs to VCD just fine and no error messages. It is pretty easy to use if you follow the guides for the program. I think this is a really great tool and the best thing is that it is free.

Review by dys199 on Nov 10, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




At first try, DVDx seems a bit of a mess (no offense to the hard-working developers - I realize that it's free). The user interface layout is far from obvious. Everything I tried produced either a cryptic error message or a warning about some limitation. When I finally got it to produce an mpeg file, and I could see that the interlace was messed up. I'm sure I could get past all this with patient research and experimentation, but I guess I've been spoiled - DVDx 2.3 doesn't seem up to the polished standard that I've come to expect of the best free software. I compared it to Fair Use 0.40 (an older version of that software), which seemed to perform the same operation easily on the first try - although somewhat slower.

Review by JamesC01 on Aug 20, 2004 Version: 2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




I have only one problem with DVDx, it uses the obscure nLame.dll. I eventually found a version of it built from LAME 3.96 (latest stable), but it didn't work with DVDx. I can't see why they'd want to use a hardly used version of the shared LAME library, and make life harder for people who like to keep up to date with software versions (you wouldn't stick with using DivX 5.0.1, would you). It just seems like a really silly thing to do.


Review by N1ch0l on Jul 22, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




First of all it is free!
Second there are a lot of guides to have a look at.
This program is the best VCD/SVCD creator out there. Maybe it does not do such a good job with DivX and stuff, but in VCD it just rocks!


Review by afonic on May 14, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




decent program, tho audio seems to get choppy. gotta find out how to fix that. other than that, it's great. easy to use.

Review by tat2d1 on Feb 17, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have tried to use several tools to back-up my dvds. I am a newbie and I have been having trouble making a back-up thus far using several of the tools talked about here on this site. When I found DVDx, I read the guides and was up and running in no time. I got great divx, svcd and vcd copies of my dvds. This program does what it says it can and the price can't be beat. It takes some time to convert the dvd but thus far I have not been able to sucessfully back to dvd-r so I can live with for now. I would recommend DVDx to all.



Review by bballnut on Feb 14, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this program and it's FREE. I have made about 10 back-ups of DVD's. This will keep me busy until I finally move up to a DVD burner. Takes about 4 hours for a 2hr movie. Then I burn using NERO 6. If your a noob like me and want a simple program where all you have to do is click to copy and then burn, DVDx 2.2 is it.

Review by Foxvalley on Feb 10, 2004 Version: DVDx 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Works okay standalone, but is strange when using output plug-ins such as "bbMPEG"
See forum post:
http://www.dvdrhelp.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=785583#785583


Review by petesimon on Feb 2, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Hi
This is a GREAT piece of software.

Over the last couple of weeks I have evaluated many different software titles for DVD to (S)VCD conversion and in my humble opinion DVDx is the best package avaiable for an easy to use program with very acceptable results. If you are a newbie like me you should give DVDx a try..... it's FREE to boot!!

mesaboogieman


Review by mesaboogieman on Feb 2, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great tool, it just takes ages for the ripping to finish (that's life) however the result is brilliant.

Review by maurik on Jan 21, 2004 Version: 2.xxxx OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




@jnm007a

why are you dissing this program?
i see you are advertising a program too?

this program is FREE so how can u give it such a low mark for value for money lol

in my experience.........

this program is truly excellent.
very good quality
pretty configurable.
can make VCDS/XVCDS/SVCDS/XSVCDS/CVDS.

its a very easy proggy to use once you know what you are doing too.

recommended by me to loads of people.


Review by KYUSS on Jan 5, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I had a hard time using DVDx. The end result was that the audio and video were not sync. The video also skipped a lot.

Review by jnm007a on Jan 4, 2004 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




This is an excellent little program. The ease of use and functionality, to me, is second to none. I have found the image quality to be only marginally lower than DVD2SVCD. Though this is only MARGINAL at best.

Though on the same token DVD2SVCD can be quite unwieldy, and extremely confusing to laymons like myself :D

If you want an all in one DVD to VCD encoder that is genuinely easy to use and actually WORKS! You definitely cant go past DVDx!

This program is most definitely a godsend for noobs and lazy people :)


Review by diggler302 on Nov 24, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I disagree with the comments about dts and ac3 - DvdX 2.2 works perfectly with both those formats!.

The only failure I've ever had was the new James Bond movie - the video seems to me some sort of multi channel deal; so the vcd/svcd has 20 mins movie, the skips back 5 mins, plays 20, sjips back 5, and so on. And that's the ONLY failure DvdX has given me.

I'd rate this a 9 at least.


Review by Fluffbutt on Nov 17, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Converted DVD to SVCD and DVD to DivX.
End result was superb. Recommendable :-)


Review by Carlsberg on Nov 17, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great interface for stright forward encoding. Quite quick to compress but not a great end result compared to other products.

Review by jwoody on Oct 13, 2003 Version: 22. OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This is the easiest to use converting DVD format to (S)VCD format. It will not work for those movies have audio soundtracks such as tds and Dolby Digital (AC3). With these type of soundtracks, it simply blamed its a MS issue.

Review by Sam Ontario on Aug 10, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the easiest to use tool and is good enough for newbies. However, it started to have encoding and decoding problems and blamed for MS issue after a few SVCD authoring.

Review by Sam Ontario on Jul 30, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Also useful for backing up DVD-9/10 DVDs or extracting a scene.Very customizable:framerate,resolution,bitrate,audio,frameserve,etc.

Review by MOVIEGEEK on Jun 11, 2003 Version: 2.2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


40 reviews, Showing 1 to 40 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

9 Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com