Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DGMPGDec

11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews


Actually, developement is still going on. The project just moved on to DGDecNV: http://rationalqm.us/dgdecnv/dgdecnv.html


Review by pintcat on Oct 23, 2016 Version: 1.5.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 8/10




An indispensable tool. If I can use it, I think anybody can.

Forum helped in learning. I used it for poor quality DVDs and CDs.

Thanks to developers.

Sorry to know it is no longer developed.


Review by ConverterCrazy on Oct 22, 2016 Version: 1.5.8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Best way to decode mpeg-2 if you intend to use avisynth or another tool that doesn't have good built in mpeg decoding. Complex to use but since many programs use this as a component you won't have to use it manually.

Review by loster on Aug 1, 2011 Version: 1.5.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




use vfapi converter on your .d2v output to create fake .avi of it...now use any encoder that does avi to dvd! takes 10 seconds for vfapi to complete! no need for avisynth or scripts!
vfapi is free and in the tools section...


Review by masterpug on Jan 8, 2006 Version: 1.4.6beta3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent tool. After trying four other free tools, found this one. Worked first time and easy to use. Demuxed video and audio (AC3) from VOB files first time.

Review by SiG_ZA on Dec 16, 2005 Version: 1.4.6b2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




For new users, it is a bit complex, thus ease of use = 6. The docs seem more complete than other DVD freeware that I've seen.

Also, don't make minor error I did: I already had it on my system as sub-folder via AutoGK install, but didn't realize that, so downloaded it again. However, the version within AutoGK was 1.4.4 so not quite as current, but good enough for trying it out!


Review by j_hallgren on Nov 17, 2005 Version: 1.4.5 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




A little bit of GUI would go a long way here. Wait, it has a GUI but I still have to write script files. Huh? Grep yourself on back to the UNIX world, developer. In the windows/mac/linux world we like GUIs.

Review by wcanyon on Jul 26, 2005 Version: 1.4.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




This is a kick-ass DVD tool. The only two are worth to stay in my hard drive are VirtualDub and DGMPGDec. Actually, there are a few other DVD tools in my drive, but these two are the best!

Big thanks to the developer of this software!


Review by bazai on Jun 28, 2005 Version: 1.4 rc 4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Like VirtualDub, a 'Must Have' app. Newest Beta version also works with MPEG Transport streams and now demuxes video as well as audio.

Review by soopafresh on Apr 11, 2005 Version: 1.30 Beta 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




A very, very important app in the free video community -- this is the basis of such other apps as AutoGK. Without this program (and DVD2AVI), the free video community would be a whole lot poorer. For that reason, it's hard to rate. I did put functionality as an 8, since it's weak in some of its functions like downmixing to .wav format.

DGMPGDec consists of two files that go together: DGIndex.exe and DGDecode.dll. The version of the two files should always be the same, you can't mix and match.

What DGIndex does is loads an unencrypted DVD movie (VOB files) and allows you to create an index (.d2v) of the frames in that file, as well as demultiplexing the audio to separate files (if you wish).

DGDecode.dll uses that .d2v file to decode the MPEG2 video from the DVD. A third-party app like AVISynth is required to make use of the .dll in order to do something with the decoded video. Typically, you load it in an AVISynth script and then AVISynth frameserves the video to another program like VirtualDub so you can actually do something useful with it (like convert to DivX or whatever).

Very, very useful program and very underrated as well. Most people aren't aware of this program being at the heart of many freeware video apps.


Review by Zisguy1 on Feb 26, 2005 Version: 1.2.1b2 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Much improved on dvd2avi. It now seems rugged enough to use on DVB-T transport streams. dvd2avi would fail on reception errors, dgmpgdec now copes with these well. One of my 'must have' programs.

PN


Review by panash on Jun 10, 2004 Version: 1.0.12 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


11 reviews, Showing 1 to 11 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com