Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for Cuttermaran

22 reviews, Showing 1 to 22 reviews


I've been trying for a while to determine the best method to edit commercials out of my .wtv and .dvr-ms files recorded from WMC. This is it. The only drawback is the need for the streams to be demuxed, but hopefully that's something the developer can add in at some point in the future (maybe tsMuxer?) I had issues with TsSniper and there's certainly no need to pay $50 or $100 for VideoRedo. Great app, many thanks to the dev.

Review by cjbrown80 on Aug 19, 2011 Version: 1.70 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Been using this tool for several years to cut, edit my recorded mpeg2 television broadcasts.
It works flawless. I never experienced a problem. However, as more and more channel are starting to broadcast in h.264/mpeg4 i hope cuttermaran will support this format in the future.


Review by apprentice222 on Oct 27, 2010 Version: 1.70 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I found the program to work well with NTSC, 29.97 material recorded on a DVD recorder.
However, with NTSC DVD movies using pulldown, the results were mostly very poor.
On only one instance was I able to get a standalone clip with synchronized audio.
Outputting a joined group of clips was never successful, inasmuch as adjusting the audio delay for the first clip still produced a gradual out of sync audio overall.

I tried one PAL movie and that worked ok.


Mpegschnitt, a similar program, had the symptoms.


Review by sambat on Oct 23, 2009 Version: 1.69 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




Fantastic tool for free. Very intuitive to use, very powerful, very few issues.

Review by metropolis2004 on Dec 3, 2007 Version: 1.69 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Have gotten nowhere thus far. User's guide does not solve my first problem, even following directions to a 'T'.

If you don't know already, you won't find out here.


Review by cwb on May 15, 2007 Version: 1.68a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I want make this addition to my previous comments so as not to discourage anyone from trying this program. I must have been having a really bad day to have not thought of this in the first place.

It is possible to use encoding mode for frame-accurate editing that will be processed in a reasonable length of time and not eat up gigs of hard drive space for intermediate .avi files. Use it just to make some tiny cuts (about one secondís worth of frames) that include the non-standard start or end frames. This allows one to make the main portions of the cut in standard edit mode. Cuts using encoding mode and standard edit mode can be included together in the same cut list. Just donít forget to turn off encoding mode before making cuts that donít require it!


Review by usually_quiet on Feb 5, 2007 Version: 1.68 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This tool is da bomb. I had some DVDs that have home movies of my children and a friend's children on them (our families do lots of stuff together). My friend wanted to give copies of the home movies of her kids to her mom as a present. This program let me do what I needed to without re-encoding.

It worked well with AC3 audio as well as MP2. The fact that the mpegs needed to be demuxed was not a problem either as the MPEG tools in TMPGENC Plus 2.5x provided this program with everything it needed. Just select the part(s) I wanted to include in the video, and the audio was brought along automatically.


Review by cogoswsds on Dec 20, 2006 Version: 1.68 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Cuttermaran is my favorite freeware video editor. I didnít find the need to demux recordings prior to editing to be a problem and learning to use it was fairly easy. In its normal edit mode, where cuts begin on I-frames and end on either I- or P-frames, it worked great for recordings made using my set-top video recorder, and was sufficiently accurate for my purposes most of the time. In its normal editing mode, it was also wonderfully fast and used little hard drive space beyond what was needed for the file containing the cut.

I was disappointed with the encoding mode, which allows cuts to begin or end on any frame. Documentation/guides indicated that only a few frames would be re-encoded. Based on that, I thought the process would be fairly quick, and not take up much room on the hard drive. However, this assumption wasnít true for any of the freeware encoders I tried (QuEnc, HCEnc, Mpeg2enc). I donít own a copy of TMPGenc that handles MPEG2, so I canít say whether or not it works differently.

When using the freeware encoders, .AVI files containing the entire cut were created prior to re-encoding, and the bitrate of the final .MV2 file containing the cut was different from the original. The first time I tried the encoding mode, using Cuttermaranís default settings for encoding, the process took about 2 hours for 22 minutes and some odd seconds of video (half an hour of program, minus commercials), and used gigabytes of additional hard drive space for the .AVI files. After that, I tested only with 2 or 3 minute clips. The resulting video looked good, but the time and hard drive space required is a big drawback for me


Review by usually_quiet on Nov 2, 2006 Version: 1.67 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I've tied in TMPGenc Plus w/Cuttermaran so I can cut MPEG files on any frame (I, P or B). I use PVAStrumento to demux the video & audio. Load the demux video into Cuttermaran, and it automatically loads the demux audio. Chose which segments I want to keep (in effect cutting out the commericals). Again, I'm able to cut on any frame. The program works with TMPGEnc Plus, but if you don't own that encoder, it'll work with a free one (I can't remember which). Process and I get demux commerical free video & audio. You can either mux the back together into one stream or load the two streams into your authoring program. One thing I'm really please about is that the audio and video are in sync. Both Cuttermaran and PVAStrumento are free and both are fantastic.

Review by rkr1958 on Aug 28, 2006 Version: 1.67 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After discovering Comskip and the associated Comclean2 utility set (http://mk.kaashoek.com/comskip/files/), I have found that Cuttermaran is an EXCELLENT mpeg editing utility -- edits are precise with NO audio sync issues. The Comclean2 package includes batch files and two utilities for demux/remux (Bbdemux and mplex1), and when used with Comskip, commercial detection and editing on mpeg TV captures has become virtually a three-click process, with spectacular results. Like others have mentioned, the lack of built-in demux/remux abilities had prevented me from trying or using Cuttermaran -- I had been using Mpeg2Cut2 for commercial editing with fairly good results, but the automated methods provided by the Comskip/Comclean2 batch files have made me a Cuttermaran convert.

Review by jbodin on Jul 20, 2006 Version: 1.67 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very good tool.
I use it to suppress pubs from TV recorded streams and it works perfectly.


Review by DREZE on Apr 25, 2006 Version: 1.66 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is all around a great tool. If he added in a demuxer or a link to an external one it would be all you needed to rip and hack up a DVD. He's also very responsive to emails.

Review by WCanyon on Jan 26, 2006 Version: 1.66 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Invaluable program for editing MPEG video - it can edit them frame-by-frame unlike stuff like the cut/merge tool in TMPGEnc which can only edit on I frames (which is often only every 12 frames). I don't know where I'd be without it!

Review by zilog_jones on Jun 15, 2005 Version: 1.63 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




First since it's mainly a German tool their support and such is in German. So, instead of asking someone I learned by trial and error. First I cut out the comercials got a file full of commercials... So, I just cut out the TV show and that's the file it creates. Delete the original and wammo you have a perfect copy of what you want. I didn't notice any sound/frame errors from testing this with a DVD Anime either. Great tool!!! Best part is it's a GPL aka Freeware.

Review by indomidable on Feb 1, 2005 Version: 1.62 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is the best free software i found and does the job the way i wanted. This is a must to all the people who wants to do video(home or pro). Thanks for your hard work.

Review by windstar on Oct 11, 2004 Version: 1.60 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Still best tool I found for MPEG editing! A Dutch guide can be found at http://home.hccnet.nl/g.van.schaik

Review by gerritvs on Oct 11, 2004 Version: 1.60 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I capture with a Yuan MPG600 PCI. No other program was able to cut the captures at the correct place( tried TmpGenc plus, Mpeg2vcr). This FREE applicatin does the trick. You have to work with elementry streams, but most DVD authoring apps accept these without problem. Excelent program, even without documentation.

Review by panuels on Apr 1, 2004 Version: 1.55 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Father X and others.
A short description of the "buttons" is available at the author's site (in English and German). A more detailed description can be found on www.movie2digital.de (to get the PDF-file one has to login, the description is for V1.54 and is in German).
Have used it on more movies/clips and conclusion is unchanged, its a great tool!


Review by gerritvs on Mar 28, 2004 Version: 1.55 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




There is no degradation of quality at all as the program does not re-encode. It creates a new stream while leaving the original unaffected, the edits may begin at the start of a GOP and end on any frame, if I'm remembering correctly. Audio streams, if present, are cut simultaneously, resulting in perfect sync. Man, I wish I could get this installed and working again.

Review by Father X on Mar 26, 2004 Version: 1.54 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I loaded version 1.54 and loved this program. It let me quickly and easily edit some DVD material and when I was through nobody could tell the footage had not been cut that way all along. However, hoping to take advantage of an upgrade, I uninstalled it and installed version 1.55 and got an error message that the program could not be installed because it is unsafe and the user interface security level should be set to basic. I have no idea what this means, and my searches on Google suggest it has something to do with the .NET framework but I can't find any solutions. The forum on the software author's site is in German and is of no use to me. There is no documentation or troubleshooting guide that I can find. And now I can't reinstall version 1.54 because of the same error message. If you get it in and working, and you like it, leave it alone, or you may never be able to use it again.

Review by Father X on Mar 25, 2004 Version: 1.54 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Looking for (free) alternative for expensive MPEG2VCR. After testing some programs, this is the very best one! Although very basic and one need demuxed files, the cut & merge is very fast, rather precise and audio sync seems OK (on about 100min video). Only drawbacks are that hardly any info is available (only description of the buttons, indicated rating is when one has figgered out the way of working) and that demux/remux is needed.

Review by gerritvs on Mar 11, 2004 Version: 1.55 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I tried this on a TV capture of last nights Friends. It requires your mpeg files to be de-muxed to elementary streams, and it takes a little time to load but lists the exact details of your video including length, resolution, ratio, framerate, bitrate, and vbv buffer. Audio details-length, version, bitrate, samplerate,and ch.mode.
There is a jog bar to move easily through the file, you can also preview/cut I, P, and B frames. There is a quick jump feature, kind of like a thumbnail time line to make it easier to get to the end of the commercials, I prefer to use the jog bar but its a nice feature for a free mpeg cutter.There is a preview feature,so you can preview the final product, you can cut video and audio, or just audio. All you do is add to the cutlist what you want to keep, not what you want to get rid of.File was processed quickly, and there were no audio sync issues as checked in power dvd xp and media player classic (haven't burned yet). If your looking for something to remove commercials, make cuts etc. and dont want to buy womble or Ulead this is the program for you. An excellent free tool.


Review by Ziffelpig on Feb 6, 2004 Version: 1.53 OS: MacOS9 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


22 reviews, Showing 1 to 22 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com