Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Audacity

30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews


"FFmpeg for Audacity" is pretty much DEAD for a long time, it has NOT been MAINTAINED or UPDATED since ages... SO without "FFmpeg for Audacity" , supported formats are very less...

Review by AudacityDeadFFmpeg on Aug 6, 2019 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 1/10




Reason for low rating ---- please update "ffmpeg for audacity " frequently or at least make audacity to use ffmpeg builds (static or shared) available for Windows like zeranoe builds.

Review by audacityEnthusuast on Aug 5, 2019 Version: 2.3.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It has been a long time I have been using Audacity and then it was working very fine especially upto 2.2.0 version but now the latest version of 2.3.0 is not working at all as it crashes at time of opening the exe file showing that not a valid Win32 application, so is now Audacity stop supporting WinXP at all.

Review by parag on Oct 2, 2018 Version: 2.3.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Pollux on Jul 14, 2018 Version: 2.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




It might not be as pretty as recent audio editing software, but this is still my go-to audio package for vinyl ripping, basic editing and track splitting.
It's easy to use, stable and well supported. The basic 'Effects' work well enough, and you can supplement them with powerful third party plug-ins.
The 'Chains' scripting interface could be a little easier to use for newbies though.
Kudos to the developers.


Review by AlanC on Aug 15, 2017 Version: 2.1.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excelente editor de áudio!
Os usuários mais novos poderão achar dificuldades na operação, mas com o tempo os comandos tornar-se-ão simples.


Review by Eneas on Jul 22, 2017 Version: 2.1.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Note when upgrading to 2.06 you will also need to upgrade the ffmpeg it uses, which you can do from the button in the program. Or you can DIY from http://lame.buanzo.org/


Review by AlanHK on Oct 1, 2014 Version: 2.06 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




fixed a number of audio tracks: noise removal, amplification, etc.

a must for free audio work


Review by sidsanders on Jun 5, 2014 Version: 2.0.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Note: the "RC" versions are "release CANDIDATES". They're meant for testing, not for general use. See http://audacity.sourceforge.net/ for the latest STABLE release, currently 2.02.

Review by AlanHK on Jan 19, 2013 Version: 2.0.3 RC1 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The best free audio editor!

Review by Baldrick on Mar 14, 2012 Version: 2.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have seen lots of improvement in latest release of Audacity as recently updated to latest SVN from obsolete one. Thanks to Audacity Team and all other members for keeping it improving.

Review by Bonie81 on Jul 7, 2011 Version: 1.1.3.13 Beta OS: Other Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have no problems with: Audacity ® 1.3.13-beta (Unicode) - it run ok and without problems.

Review by pandy on Apr 1, 2011 Version: 1.3.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Great program for editing large wav files into individual tracks, to the millisecond! converting audio from different fps WITHOUT changing pitch is also another great feature!
Wish a furture upgrade would include editing DTS audio as well...


Review by ranosb on Oct 22, 2009 Version: 1.37 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just upgraded to the latest 1.35 beta -- finally you can export directly to AC3!
Use: "Export" and choose "Save as type: external program" and then
Options: put your command line to pipe output to.
I use aften, as this: "p:\aften\aften.exe -b 128 -s 1 -w 45 -dnorm 27 - "%f"
and it created an AC3 file. Much faster and more convenient than exporting to a huge wave file and converting.
Or you can use any command line to make whatever format you like.

This feature was in the previous version, but did not actually work (in the Windows verson at least) ... now it does.




Review by AlanHK on May 8, 2008 Version: 1.35 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Audacity is my favorite software I have ever used, IMHO!
I use it daily for absolutely everything - recording, mixing, remixing, ringtones.
Cleaning up audio, making better wuality mp3's, "fixing" songs, you name it!

In the past I have tried various flavors of Cubase - liked it, but difficult to use.
Logic.... what?!? More like ILL-Logic! Pro-Tools & others are just too expensive.
I gave up other audio editors altogtether for Audacity, not to mention it's
Fuh-REE-heeee (and so are the effects & plug-ins:)!!!!

The "Timestretching" (called "Change Tempo") function is the best I have EVER used!
I love Audacity so much, I'd actually pay for another (more functional) version!
(Nice segue into....)

The only "gripes" have, or better said "things I would change", are:

1. Cutting/pasting/editing seperate audio waveforms in the SAME track.
- Currently, you have to "Split" audio, creating another track you have to scroll (sometimes way...) down to get to, then "Move Track Up" to realign with other audio. When you have a lot of tracks, this slows things down, and can get confusing. Which brings me to my next point....

2. Colors of "tracks" - different than the standard blue, per track (editable?):
- A somewhat minor gripe, but it would help differentiate tracks by sight, rather than reading the (sometimes long) name of each track, causing you to possibly edit/change/delete something you didn't really want to.

3. Auto-Save - editable, or default every 5 minutes or so...
- Another very minor issue, but if you forget, or your computer locks up/crashes... all those time-consuming edits are gone.

Can't think of anything else bad to say about it, except...
That you have to have a computer to use it!
Can't I just think about it & edit things while I'm levitating around the universe?!?
Erm.... 'nuff said! ;@b


Review by djmoon on May 3, 2008 Version: 1.2.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Wow - fantastic free tool. All i wanted to do, was trim a file to use as a rigtone. Downloaded installed, and cropped an mp3 file in about 5 minutes - thats how easy this tool is to use.

A credit to the developers - well done.
WMA support would be good - but a quick convert before import is ok.....


Well done.
Steve.


Review by quiffster on Dec 12, 2007 Version: 1.34beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Generating audio files using effects OK, but I couldn't persuade it to record in stereo or to record in other than CD-compliant 44.1 kHz


Review by john999 on Mar 20, 2007 Version: 1.2.6 OS: WinME Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Works great under Vista x64

Review by ofbarea on Mar 13, 2007 Version: 1.3.2-beta OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I have other audio editors but this is the only one that has a unique feature. You can take any WAV or MP3 file and "reverse" it so it plays backwards. Nosy parents can see if their kids are listening to music with hidden Satanic messages recorded in reverse (grin). Or, it can be used to record your OWN hidden reverse messages in audio files.

In my first experiment with it, I sucessfully "unreversed" an audio file that was saved in reverse on purpose - the Satanic ritual music found in the 1999 film, "Eyes Wide Shut." When unreversed, you hear 2 Romanian Catholic priests singing a traditional chant.


Review by AlecWest on Feb 25, 2007 Version: 1.26 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




For ease of use and value for the money (free!), this app can't be beat. This seems like the perfect introduction to digital recording; at least it has been for me. I work in the music lab of a community college and see students struggling daily with more complex programs that don't necessarily have an advantage over this one. Hail Audacity!

Review by fltnsplr on Dec 27, 2006 Version: 1.2.6 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




[quote]I have a pretty strong system and all I'm doing is recording and surfing the internet at the same time. And after 15 or 20 minutes of recording, it drops audio! I'm gonna go try something else now, 'cause this just isn't working. [quote]

No matter how good your system is, the fault is not with audacity. If you are recording while surfing, thats where the fault lies. while you are recording, dont do anything else, i bet you dont get dropped frames then


Review by mike47 on Oct 31, 2006 Version: 1.2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Under 10.4.6, versions earlier than 1.3 were a bit flakey and sometimes crashed. However, Apple's made OSX a real moving target so it's your responsibility to keep things updated.

This new 1.3 version is pretty stable. I have a hard time deciding what "Functionality" and "Ease of use" numbers to assign because the app is so rich that you really have to RTFM to get a good grasp of all that it can do. However, that being said, you probably don't need every function so it then becomes pretty easy to learn the subset of things you -do- require.

Speed is reletive but even on a dual-867MHz G4 (or a 1GHz iBook) the app is very responsive.

What else can I say? I wish I could write software like this. :)


Review by rumplestiltskin on May 19, 2006 Version: 1.3 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Easy to use, easy to convert to other sound formats and easy editing of sound files.

Review by Sam Ontario on Apr 24, 2006 Version: 1.3B OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Exactly what I was looking for.

I needed a tool to merge two audio files together for a video soundtrack - turns out this was it.

Multi-track editor with envelop (volume) control and time-shift so everything could be lined up for a smooth audio transition.

Excellent.


Review by mclark_au on Feb 4, 2006 Version: 1.2.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Preserves perfect quality on recording, edit - trim out unwanted parts in a click, saves high quality MP3 all your recordings! What else can you ask for? Very good!

Review by nick13 on Apr 15, 2005 Version: 1.2.3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The new release supports latency adjustments for syncing up multi-tracks. This is now top-notch audio software - and free! Can't fault it.

Review by NamPla on Aug 26, 2004 Version: 1.2.2 stable OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Glitches in your recording means you're doing something wrong. I've had no problem with Audacity - right up to this latest release. I use it extensively, mainly for multitracking. It's a brilliant piece of free audio software. I'll take off a point, however, coz tho' it features "unlimited undo", you can only undo the last command (you can't go back, say, 5-10 steps & undo something you did back then). Also it doesn't compensate for your soundcard's latency, so when multitracking you have to manually align each track so they all play in sync. (This, however, is a common limitation in digital recording, I believe). Audacity doesn't support midi, but then I don't use midi so no big deal to me. I've compared it recently to Cubase, which I concluded was un-intuitive & unnecessarily complex - (all those steps just to "arm" a track ready for recording! bah!)... Audacity ROCKS!!!

Review by Matteo693 on May 11, 2004 Version: 1.2.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I've also had repeated problems with the recorder "dropping audio frames." And of course it doesn't WARN you when this happens. You have to find out the hard way - by listening to your recording back! I have a pretty strong system and all I'm doing is recording and surfing the internet at the same time. And after 15 or 20 minutes of recording, it drops audio! I'm gonna go try something else now, 'cause this just isn't working.

Review by drsamloomis on Dec 26, 2003 Version: 1.0.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I've only tried this out briefly but it looks and works great; much of the functionality of older CoolEdit 98 but it takes MP3 as source and output, also OGG.

Review by MikeBlyth on Nov 26, 2003 Version: 1.0.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It works pretty well. The interface takes a little bit to get used to but it takes very little use to get comfortable with. It has many buit in plugins and does a great job recording(although I have had minor problems with it dropping audio frames but that only happens occasionally and isn't that big of a concern). It also has a buit in Ogg Vorbis encoder(and supports lame.dll for MP3 encoding and buit-in FLAC support is coming in the next release). It is great vaule for its price(FREE). Overall it is a great free audio editing app that is 1 level below many professional(read: expensive) tools.

Review by Mr.Radar on Jun 19, 2003 Version: 1.1.3 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


30 reviews, Showing 1 to 30 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com