Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy iTunes movies, music / remove iTunes DRM protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for ATI MMC

33 reviews, Showing 1 to 33 reviews


With XP - SP2, Problems with the program as described over and over here already.
Let me just say this: It STILL is a piece of crap.
Don't bother with this! There is better out there...


Review by FaeGiN on Jan 20, 2009 Version: 9.15 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Iīm done with MMC 9.13. I had so many problems that I decided to go back to 9.08. AFter installing this version everything is working Smooth once again.

Review by ofbarea on May 8, 2006 Version: 9.08 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Version 9.13 dos not work well with my audigy card when selecting other inputs different than line input. This is kind of annoying. ATI just recommended, go back to the version that worked fine :-(.

I do not like the fact that time shift is allays enabled. So digging around I found a post in by dolimite35, in avsforum, that explains how to do this. The original post is located in here: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?p=7125159&&#post7125159

But just in case it is eventually removed this is a transcription of what to modify:

[quote]open the registry: Start->regedit

Go to this location:

HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\ATI Technologies\MultiMedia\Features\DTV\Channel Manager

give the key "LiveMode" the value "1"

And TV-on demand will be off for analog and [b]digital TV (HDTV)[/b].[/quote]

To re-enable TV on demand just set this value to ď0Ē.


Review by ofbarea on May 7, 2006 Version: 9.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Installed cat. 5.? and mmc 8.8 from the CD come with the package. The program was hung everytime I tried out the audio setup in the configuration. Updated to the latest cat. 6.2 and mmc 9.13. The mmc gave poor picture quality and slowed down the whole PC. Uninstalled cat. and mmc using the uninstall utility at ati.com (I do think this may properly clean out all components). Reinstalled cat. 6.2 and mmc 9.8. Everything works fine except crashes happen from time to time if I have opened up some memory demanding apps.

Review by DigitalKen on Mar 3, 2006 Version: 9.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




This isn't the worst software I've ever used. "Microsoft Bob" was slightly worse. Nor is it the most offensive thing I've seen. Pauly Shore is slightly more offensive... slightly. Otherwise it's pretty bad. I had problems getting 9.13 to function with a 550 Pro against a fresh install of XP. The support of the 550 Pro is terrible. The TV tuner capability tends to be sluggish to the point of not working at all, even on a fast computer, I think that's because the PVR bit is turned on by default? It's difficult to figure out what components I even need to install on the HD. During capture, the preview window shows different (cleaner) video than what actually is captured.

It truly feels like a work in progress.


Review by swiego on Feb 18, 2006 Version: 9.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 4/10




The same esact result as Bullworth. Only, I also had no sound. I contacted support and their resolution was to revert back to an earlier version. Very poor untested software. Don't install it.......

Review by rwmol on Feb 4, 2006 Version: 9.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If I could give the latest vesion a 0 I would. I was using version 9.08 without a problem on XP Pro. I installed my AIW X800 card when my system was already getting buggy from other sw install/uninstall. This thing allowed my to apture at full DVD res without any dropped frames. Their VideoSoap filter work good at helping clean up fuzzy or dirty sources but don't expect any miracles. Very pleased with it overall.
Reinstalled XP over the weekend and went straight for 9.13. It does not look like it was thoroughly tested. As soon as the TV panel opened up the video would start stuttering until it finaly froze the entire system. The same happened with all other MMC apps. Removed and reinstaled 9.08 and everything works fine. I really don't understand why ATI can't get their act together and improve thier sw with a new release instead of screwing it up.


Review by BullWorth on Feb 4, 2006 Version: 9.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




ATI DVD Decoder sites : http://www.csa.dp.ua/downloads/mmc/ATI_Digital_Decoder_4_1_no_disk.rar , http://home.valornet.com/ddriver/download/ATI_Decoder.exe

Review by ertik on Feb 3, 2006 Version: 9.13 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I bought ATI HDTV Wonder card which comes with remote and ATI MMC. This is not finished product. First I installed CD version (9.04), then upgraded to latest web release (9.08), which just simply did not work. After inquiry they sent me instructions to uninstall all ATI stuff and reinstall only the new version. That works - more or less...
1. Their specs are joke - HDTV recording crahes on my Athlon 2.2+. Not enough CPU.
2. This version supports (new for 9.08) use of TitanTV as programing guide. Well, it does not work. The recording is always set to only one particular channel and use of analog TV. Supposedly they know about it and are looking into it... This should be trivial to fix, but seems to take forever.
3. Programing recording seems to be done as some king of "after thought" to everything else, the method is, well, cumbersome.
4. And when you think you programmed recording correctly, the program ignores some of the parameters - for example it always saves in default location, independent of what location you actually gave it.
5. That said:
a. with the HDTV Wonder it seems to work just enough to be useable
b. the remote seems to work very well
c. The applications (TV, HDTV...) seem to come up much faster that Hauppauge products did
d. The picture is really nice, especially HDTV
and so I hope that on new dedicated computer (Athlon 64 3.4Ghz) this will be useable as PVR & multimedia center...


Review by Honza on Jan 14, 2006 Version: 9.08 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




HERE IS A WORKAROUND TIP FOR ATI ALL-IN-WONDER MULTIMEDIA CENTER USERS

PROBLEM: ATI Scheduler crashes

Gemstar Guide Plus causes crashes in ATI Multimedia Center program scheduler. If a period (dot), slash (/), or colon (:) is located in a program title abbreviation, ATI scheduler crashes.

When the event name is transferred into ATI scheduler from the program title in the Gemstar Guide Plus downloadable program grid, ATI scheduler canít handle it. The location of the offensive punctuation in the title does matter. For example, the period causes problems at the end of a title while the other two culprits do their evil deeds in the body of the title. There may be more offenders that I havenít encountered yet.

SOLUTION (actually just a workaround):

If you edit out the punctuation marks in setup the problem goes away. Right click in an open ATI TV window (while TV is playing) and click setup, schedule, modify, etc. Edit the event name so it is free of punctuation. (Not the save as file name; the event name!) When you exit ATI setup you will be asked if you want to start the scheduler. Click yes. It works for me. I wish I had a way to get this message to more people.


Review by pvr_addict on Dec 18, 2005 Version: MMC 9.08 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 4/10




This software is junk.You cannot get it to work,its as simple as that.It must be the most buggiest software I have ever come across.
I would like to capture directly to MPEG with my ATI card but the software they supply is crap.
I have no alternative but to use WinDVR,at least it works!


Review by laspis59 on Nov 3, 2005 Version: Any OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




The version of MMC I got with my AIW 2006 ed, 9.06.1 was a bit glitchy so I did all the recommended uninstall/installs of Catalyst/MMC and it seems to work fine for the most part.

Some lingering complaints include 1.)The ridiculously touchy and long process of upgrading any ATI product; 2.) the scheduler still crashes if you try to record off the air to a file name derived from the program name (apparently it's sensitive to non-literal characters); 3.) AVI captures are still near impossible to do without massive frame drops.

There are some very specific things MMC does pretty well, but they lead you to believe that it does so much more, and those things just don't work without a lot of "insider" knowledge of necessary tweaks. All in all, I think 5.9 is an unfair rating, but it's not a ten by any stretch.


Review by Spotnik on Nov 3, 2005 Version: 9.08 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




When I saw new comments related to ATI MMC ... I checked it out.
Hmmm ... didn't even know a new version was out ... 9.1.

So ... I used the link posted here and downloaded

DAO / MDAC
DVD Decoder
Multimedia Center
and the new driver files for my ATI AIW 7500

I went to my control panel ... clicked on the add/remove icon and used the ATI remove all ATI related stuff. Rebooted. I first installed the new driver files. Rebooted. I then installed the DAO/MDAC [whatever that is] didn't reboot. I then installed the MMC 9.1 I suppose I did reboot then ... and after it was through restarting ... I configured the video capture and what drive I wanted to capture to.

No glitches took place.


Review by lacywest on Jul 22, 2004 Version: ATI MMC 9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




Couldn't get MMC 9.1 to install, even using the instructions from ATI's site. MMC 9.0 works really good and I would give MMC 9.0 a 10, but since I can't even install 9.1, it gets a 1.

Review by lantern on Jul 19, 2004 Version: 9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If you have questions how to install,use,etc visit the sites below:


Review by moviegeek on Jul 17, 2004 Version: 8.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Very hard to upgrade. When visiting ATI's site, it's almost impossible to tell what parts need to be uninstalled first, installed, etc. You've got Catalyst, DAO, DVD Decoder, MMC, Remote, Windows Media Encoder.

Then if you do as the instruction state and uninstall everything first, there is no new version of the Guide (TV Guide feature). You have to dig out the original CD and install if from a sub directory.

My biggest complaint is there is almost no tech support on the ATI web page. You have to call them and pay for long distance or each call.

I can't imagine such a big company doesn't have it's own forum, like this or Pinnaclesys.com (for Studio). Peers are the best source of help.

Now to MY problem. I'll put it in another entry, so it will stand out a little more than at the bottom of this.


Review by hackerjunk on Jul 16, 2004 Version: 9.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




Recently had to upgrade to Windows XP Pro, and in the process jumped to ATI MMC 9.0.

Flawless software. I've had zero problems. The Intel P4, using Windows XP Pro, and stable ATI drivers and this MMC, no more dropped frames on the high-compression WMV/MPEG4 formats, even on the most aggressive WMV and MPEG4 captures. Amazing.

And the ATI hacks still work as good as always, as far as I can tell.


Review by lordsmurf on Jun 25, 2004 Version: 9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is, definitely and by all means, the WORST PIECE OF CRAP that has ever been written on Earth, a multi-award Oscar winner, definitely !

After having double checked that I have fullfilled all ATI's "System requirements", I tried ALL (yes, ALL !) versions from 7.1 to 8.9 - NONE WORKED !!!

Pure shit, skip and forget it. Use ATI cards with other good software like NVE, Ulead and WinDVR.


Review by zetti on Jun 25, 2004 Version: 7.x,8.x OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Downloaded 9.0. but the same problem as in 8.9. the setup hangs and doesnt let you install it. ATI has known about this problem as it has affected many users but still not corrected in this version. only 8.8 and before install perfectly. I think if you dont have an ATI video card it doesnt work. But it says it can work with just the ATI TV Wonder PRO cards, cant get it to install.

Review by lrosado on Apr 9, 2004 Version: 9.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I posted earlier that by downloading the latest version of MMC (8.8 at the time) extended the life of my 8500DV.

Well, using 8.9 just shortened it. MPEG-4 capture is nice, but other programs have a hard time encoding it--not to mention that ATI's once-legendary deinterlacing seems to have been broken. Interlaced MPEG-4 captures are all but unwatchable; if it weren't for the fact that the end result is destined for DVD, I wouldn't even bother with it.

I think I will be uninstalling MMC 8.9 (yeah, that's a good one) very soon and replacing it with Snapstream BeyondTV unless ATI does a VERY rapid fix of MMC.


Review by cubdukat on Feb 28, 2004 Version: 8.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 7/10




MMC 8.7 was stable, MMC 8.8 buggy. Used the ATI uninstall in the control panel, install MMC 8.9 precisely as ATI suggests. No problems after a week, seems very stable.

I got no dropped frames at any bitrate MPEG.


Review by Almost Human on Feb 28, 2004 Version: 8.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




ATTENTION! ATI MMC 7.7 and 8.7 are the two most stable versions of ATI MMC.

7.9, 8.1 and 8.5 were alright on most systems.

7.6 and below are useless for MPEG-2 for DVD. The interlace is flawed, and the quality is not there. Options are lacking too. Almost all older cards can be forced to use 7.9 at minimum, or 8.7 if hacked properly.

8.6, 8.8 and 8.9 are buggy beyond belief. I suggest you avoid these versions at all costs on ATI All In Wonder series cards. Seems to be more failure than success. It may be okay for TV Wonder series cards.

That's my "official" statement, for whatever it's worth to you.

I use 8.1 and 8.7 on my two systems, and I have zero plans to upgrade. If it's not broken, why "fix" it?

The only "value" to the 8.8/9 series was 704x480 MPEG-2 ability, which is the supposed true output resolution of the card (in addition to the half-size 352), but we'll probably have to wait for ATI MMC 9.x series to see it work properly. Other functions from 8.8/9 did not work properly (in addition to install purgatory), and the MPEG-4 capture was useless because it dropped frames (CPU overhead too high).

My rating is for 8.7 ... because that's the best one, and ATI MMC is great software ... as long as you use a good version.


Review by lordsmurf on Feb 24, 2004 Version: 8.1 and 8.7 OS: WinME Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Not only have I been unable to install MMC8.9 (and the associated update of Catalyst) under Win98SE, but I haven't even been able to regress my system back to MMC8.8. I think I'm going to have to tear it [i]completely[/i] to the ground before starting over.

Installing ATI's Catalyst and MMC updates is usually a fairly annoying and painful process, but the end result is [i]usually[/i] worth the effort. Not this time, though.


Review by Ray Radlein on Feb 23, 2004 Version: 8.9 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I was unable to install 8.9 either. It extracts all files but once the wizard is suppose to show up, it doesnt. Dont know how to get it to install.

Review by lrosado on Feb 23, 2004 Version: 8.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I was unable to get MMC89 to install. Older versions were no problem. ATI did not provide a solution to my request for help.

David


Review by DJA on Feb 23, 2004 Version: 8.9 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'm impressed as hell with software that requires
me to re-install my entire system to get it working.
I also like the ATI policy of arbitrarily changing
allowed capture settings for every version. I expect
8.9 to only allow 690 x 690 just because they feel like
it.



Review by foo on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 8.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Neat, now you can capture directly to .wmv or MPEG4. No problems installing like so many others seem to have with Catalyst/MMC. I have found out the best way to "upgrade" Catalyst/MMC is to do a fresh install of OS, update with patches etc.. and then use Ghost or Drivecopy to save your pristine image. Then, install the Catalyst driver and then MMC and all will be OK. Then, install your video apps and you will be good to go. Next time ATi releases new Catalyst/MMC restore that pristine image and then install Catalyst/MMC etc...Watch what happens if you try and simply un-install Catalyst/MMC - after reboot it finds all the stuff you just uninstalled! Then you got 2 different versions of files out there - no wonder there is trouble.

Review by slukaczyk on Dec 22, 2003 Version: 8.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This is a "must-have" piece of software if you own the ATI- family of graphics capture cards.
I have been using the old versions that were supplied by ATI - and they are awful.
The new versions actually work and ATI's web site is now a lot easier to navigate. http://www.ati.com
The best feature with my Radeon All-In-Wonder is that it captures straight to MPEG2 and you can actually trim video "on-the-fly".
To get the most out of the software I would suggest using the guides at http://www.lordsmurf.com - the guides are very easy to use and you can even modify the capture settings to suit your own needs.
The site isn't finished yet, but what is already there is of great help.


Review by Airedale1 on Oct 23, 2003 Version: 8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




New version working much better for me. Had problems with Scheduler not retaining settings if capturing MPEG with previous versions.

Be sure to follow installation instructions from ATI to the letter.


Review by gcgreen on Oct 23, 2003 Version: 8.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Note that this software is buggy, the "Scheduler" doesn't work for some users when the format choice is MPEG;

Also, it generally refuses to keep your presets, and ATI DOESN'T OFFER ANY KIND OF SUPPORT AT ALL.

Good point : it's free.

If you intend to use a Scheduler, skip it.


Review by andresalles on Oct 6, 2003 Version: 8.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 2/10




Downloading the new version of this program just extended my 8500DV's stay in my computer. I was all ready to toss the entire card out because of all the problems i was having with using other codecs beside MPEG-2 and its' seemingly incurable audio sync problems.

Now, I can use AVI codecs (particularly HuffYUV and PicVideo MJPEG) without issues (other than they go way out of sync when I take it into Ulead VS7, but that's another POS), and that reason alone is enough for me to keep it a while longer.

Ultimately, though, I think I'll be going to a plain Radeon video card, a 10-bit tuner card and the FusionHDTV, or if I stay in the AIW range, I might get the new AIW 9600 when it shows up.


Review by cubdukat on Sep 11, 2003 Version: 8.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




If you use an ATI All In Wonder card, this is THE PROGRAM that you should use. It is both advanced and fairly easy to use, especially if you use a guide.

I can capture AVI, MPEG1, and MPEG2, and never have errors. The MPEG1 and MPEG2 files are accepted by almost every DVD authoring package and MPEG editing program, including TMPGEnc. Quality is second to none. Never have problems with audio sync, dropped frames, or anything else. Only good video and good audio. You can even capture WMV, as well as Divx and a few others using AVI codecs, though I never really do. But you have the option!

The MMC 8.x is the best one, since it has video correction filters built-in, but use MMC 7.7 or 7.9 if you cannot get 8.x to install properly or if your card does not support the 8.x program. Some non-Radeons require MMC 7.x only, but I hear there are registry hacks to get 8.x to work. Search the forums.

DO NOT USE OLDER VERSIONS OF MMC PRIOR TO 7.7!!! There were serious issues with MMC 7.6 and before that were corrected in MMC 7.7.

The guides I wrote are what I do, and it works great. The guides are the outcome of numerous tests and trials over a long period of time. Feel free to stray away on various settings. In fact, if you find other settings that work, let me know. Go to www.lordsmurf.com and E-MAIL ME!

The only "problem" with the ATI cards and the MMC software is some computers may refuse to cooperate with all versions and all drivers, which is why I still use MMC 7.7 on one of my systems. From what I hear the card more closely resembles professional hardware, and may be a booger to install sometimes, but stick with it! It's worth it! And the forums here have all kinds of information regarding ATI installs. Be sure to follow install instructions at www.ati.com TO THE LETTER!


Review by lordsmurf on Aug 17, 2003 Version: 8.1 and 7.7 OS: WinME Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Fantastic tool for direct-to-MPEG captures with ATI All-In-Wonder. I currently have a AIW8500, but I'm going to upgrade to the new AIW 9600 as soon as it's available.

Note about Lordsmurf's guide: with MMC 8.1+, you can [and should] select "capture cropped video" for VCD/SVCD/DVD captures: MMC will keep the resolution compliant, and it avoids wasting bits on the overscan.


Review by Sulik on Aug 16, 2003 Version: 8.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


33 reviews, Showing 1 to 33 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com