Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Video Comparer

14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews


I tested several video compare softwares and this one is the best of all for Windows! I bought the fullversion of it and it is a very helpful tool to compare video files. My video collection from TV recording is very big and the program handle many popular and exotic video formats (h264, h265, WMV, MPEG1/2, etc.).
The comparing process takes hours at the maximum compare depth, but after the first scan of your video folders it is much faster, because it use a file caching system. The program can scan the video content only, not the audio stream of the videofile. The only limitations are very small video clips under 10 seconds. You can compare video files with different resolutions, video codecs, file formats, quality, etc. it works fine! At max. search depth you get the best results with all or long videos.


Review by James Pous on Sep 18, 2020 Version: 1.07.002 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




This program is perfect for sifting through huge video libraries which may be un-organized and contain duplicates. I have a huge collection spread out over several drives which I have not been keeping organizing and this tool allow me to save tons of storage space.

The program is easy to work with, doest the job nicely and presents the found duplicates in an intuitive and easy to use fashion. The only issue I see is with the price for the expert version being out of the question for most folks.


Review by qz3fwd on Nov 3, 2014 Version: 1.05 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Video Comparer downloaded, installed, and works great.
Thanks for the quick response


Review by irqthecat on Sep 22, 2014 Version: 1.05 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Thanks 'irqthecat' for the feedback of the download problem with Norton Internet Security.
Symantec has validated the file, and you can now use it.


Review by vicompteam on Sep 22, 2014 Version: 1.05.000 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Just downloaded 1.05. Norton Internet Security deleted it, WS.Reputation.1. Seems its not been rated yet by the Norton community.

Review by irqthecat on Sep 18, 2014 Version: 1.05 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 9/10




Great product!!! Definitely the best, so easy to use (2 clicks), simple GUI. I got good results : 83 duplicates of my 1379 videos.
Highly recommended.


Review by johns33 on Jul 8, 2013 Version: 1.04 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Updating my previous post. I have now bought the Expert Edition and find this tool excellent. To my knowledge it has found most, but not quite all, of my duplicates. Would recommend.

Review by itsonlyme on Apr 10, 2013 Version: 1.03 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




So my original comment was negative but this developer contacted me and has really worked to fix the issues. So I only feel its fair to give credit where credit is due.

I have 4tb of video some downloaded through torrents some I rip myself from DVD's. In those 4tb are some 4000+ videos. This program was able to find over 800 duplicates and save me some MAJOR hard drive space.

Thank you for listening, thank you for helping out. I have been recommending your software to everyone I come across!


Review by thebigdoghimself on Apr 9, 2013 Version: 1.03.00 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Thank you for listening to comments. I expect I will buy this new "Expert" edition when it is released, and when I do I will update my rating scores.

Review by itsonlyme on Mar 2, 2013 Version: 1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




New 'Expert Edition' (30) with 5000 video files limit, will be available during the month of March.
The 'Home Edition' limit will increase to 1500 files.


Review by vicompteam on Mar 2, 2013 Version: 1.03.000 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Agree with previous poster. Effectively will do what I need, but at 100US$ for my requirements prices itself well out of my market. I'll put up with my duplicates and spend my money on other things.

Review by itsonlyme on Feb 24, 2013 Version: 1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




So contrary to the post that says the trail worked for him the evaluation software is WORTHLESS.

If you download it it will allow you to scan up to 500 videos for dups. Unfortunately after the scanning process is done all it does is show you that there are duplicates but then locks you out of being able to do ANYTHING with them. you can't view them delete them nor can you even see what their name is or where on your drive they are located.

So they force you to spend at least 20 euros which is $27 US and that only allows you to scan 1020 files!

So the software works I have run it about 10 times and its been stable every time. I unfortunately have about 2000 videos on 1 2tb hard drive and stuck not being able to find my dups because of the 1000 file limit they place within the software.

Want it unlocked? 100 euros or almost $140 US.

so does it work? sure if your willing to spend $140


Review by thebigdoghimself on Feb 23, 2013 Version: 1.02.004 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




By default Video Comparer scans videos with a duration between 2 minutes and 8 hours. If it's not the case, the message 'Video parameters out of range' is displayed, and these files are not analyzed. The duration can be ajusted in 'Advanced' window, but 2 minutes is the minimum.



Review by vicompteam on Jul 15, 2012 Version: 1.00.004 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Downloaded and installed the free version last night. Nice that there is a 64-bit version. My ratings are neutral until I work some more with it. Ran several scans in standard mode. It did find some exact duplicates and some near duplicates. Its different from the 'DuplicateVideoSearch' discussed in the forums, but not necessarily better. One error noted is that a number of files were "outside video parameters" even though they were all .avi, same resolution, and all made with VideoGet. Will expermiment some more. The free edition has limted features, home paid edition has more. The Pro edition has some very desirable features, but the price is outside my budget at the time. Pro is 100 Euro (121 USD)

Review by IRQtheCat on Jul 13, 2012 Version: 1.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10


14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com