Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try StreamFab All-in-One and download streaming video from streaming sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for Smart Cutter Ps/Ts

28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews


I tried to use it with the AVCHD h.264 files from my 8-year-old Sony CX-700 which produces 60 fps progressive files.

I could not get the software to display anything, play anything, etc. Even worse, when opening some files, it simply crashed.

So for me, it is totally useless.


Review by johnmeyer on Aug 30, 2020 Version: 1.9.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by johnmeyer on Aug 30, 2020 Version: 1.9.6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




A generally good tool but with only about 80% reliability i.e. the software has crashed on about 20% of the total occasions I have run it. It seems that the likelihood of a crash increases with each additional marked-edit. It also appears that 'Smart Cutter' does not discriminate when it crashes - all file-types I've used thus far have been subject to crashing.

Despite the list of compatible file-types, some files - a minority, I grant you - won't even load.

At the time of writing (May 2020), the price of the software is US$49 - which would be a fair price IF the software was more stable. Complaints about crashes - from years and several earlier versions ago - have been lodged on the distributors forum but the issue still has not been resolved.

The creators warn that files of a size greater than 4GB can cause problems; but all the crashes I've experienced have involved files of 2GB or less.

When it works, 'Smart Cutter' is great.


Review by 007homevideo on May 20, 2020 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




I had tested the program already 7 years ago, and now again. It could be a very good and quick program if you get used to using it. But there is a big problem with the cutted MPG-Files. They crash the VLC player. The GOP-mode also causes problems (audio delays). Too bad.

Review by Herbert Schmidt on Feb 16, 2020 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 5/10




This software cuts and joins MTS files from a camcorder and outputs an MTS file with the same characteristics (fps, Mbps) and does it very quickly. Some reviewers here found artifacts in the joins like I first did. Turning on the Whole GOP option fixes that (it is not the default setting). The user interface is NOT intuitive. It took me a good 10 minutes to work out how to slice and dice, and assemble a final file. After that, it is actually quite easy. The help file needs a re-write at Step 7 because it just doesn't make sense. I have since rewritten that step for myself in case I ever forget in future. This software saved me when I recently had to assemble a high quality MTS file from various camcorder footage. I have tried over a dozen products that don't do it this as well, or don't do this at all. Not even Premier Elements produces a better result. This was $49 well spent.

Review by Boyta on Dec 31, 2019 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Can't figure out how to use it. Couldn't even load a single video file.
Can't comment on functionality or value
I have built software for years.
I must be missing something. Tried the help file and it just didn't load any files


Review by Jim on Aug 15, 2019 Version: 1.9.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




To complicated, I just wanted to cut out the AD's from my .TS files and not re-encode.

Review by Cynthia on Jul 28, 2019 Version: 8.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




"only re-encode first and last gop, middle part of movie remain untouched" blablabla - no truth.
Slow - no reencoding apps cut in seconds eg. boilsoft or mp4box


Review by Kowa1 on Mar 29, 2019 Version: any OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I like this software because it can *render* .ts files others (like TSDoctor or even vdub) cannot.

It's my security when TSDoctor and vdub fail and I can't edit.
It renders perfectly and the saved file is repaired.

Indeed there are system configurations where it doesn't work. I've seen it crashing on a 7-32 bits but I have it ok on my 7-64...
You have to try it before !


Review by MichelD on Mar 21, 2018 Version: 1.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 7/10




Trial version : It does not work at all.
20.03.2018


Review by Janusz R on Mar 20, 2018 Version: Smart Cutter PS TS 1.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by EmmB on Mar 5, 2018 Version: 1.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by M. Bush on Nov 23, 2017 Version: 1.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




thanks!!!! at last...
I found a video splitter for a big TS video!!
I've tried every single video splitter.. and only
yours did the job!!! thanks again!
from Guatemala Central America
Rick! gracias!


Review by rik on Aug 12, 2017 Version: smart cutter OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Anyone have V1.9.3, The latest version have save path bug.

Review by dellsam34 on Dec 18, 2016 Version: 1.9.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@some1ok

"With Smart Cutter all of the original clips remain untouched, only the last GOP before the cut and the first GOP of the appended clip are reencoded"

Why should we need reencoding small parts of the video? Today it is absolutely unnecessary in the case of transport stream files! Try video to video converter, if you want real direct straem copy without the need of reencoding and without sync problems.

Smart cutter often causes serious quality errors in scene-changes and cutting points.


Review by Stears555 on Dec 27, 2012 Version: 12345 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




This tool is the only one which has allowed me to join multiple HD captures into a single file. The program strength is purely based on that, which is more than enough to be the best one out there for this specific purpose. I had a hard time looking for something useful, and tried more than one software, first of all freeware but later also trialware: h264ts cutter crashed trying to open big files (more than 8GB in size), AviDemux is a bit tricky and sometimes claims it can't handle some kind of videos or can't mux a .ts file containing only a video stream and is not frame accurate (not even when trying to split exactly on Intra frames), VideoReDo didn't open all the .ts files I wanted to join and SolveigMM Video Splitter wasn't even frame-accurate)
I have to admit this is the first time I try to do such a thing, so maybe I'm not experienced enough to comment but right now this is what I can report.
With Smart Cutter all of the original clips remain untouched, only the last GOP before the cut and the first GOP of the appended clip are reencoded, which is great because the result is brilliant, nobody can spot the transition, and the reencoded few images retain a fantastic quality, at least in my case. I have to recommend this program, although it's UI isn't great and too expensive in my opinion, but the program does very well at splitting and joining clips and is truly frame accurate.


Review by some1ok on Dec 26, 2012 Version: 1.4.6 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




pro:
frame accurate cut on my panasonic avchd m2ts movies
keeping original audio tracks in my tv channel received ts files
keeping original subtiles, which is very important to me
easy to use

cons:
no dvd output
only english and germany language ui
not free


Review by panafans on Sep 21, 2011 Version: 1.3.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Definitely not ready for prime time! I use the Hauppauge HD-PVR to capture 720p and 1080i TS files. The Smart Cutter program looks nice, and was reasonably easy to learn to use, BUT the resulting videos were a complete mess! The original raw video played fine using the CCCP package and media player, but after editing the file, the resulting video was full of artifacts, stutters, etc, which made it completely useless. When I used the older and simpler TS-Cutter (free) program to edit the same files, the result was a clean and playable file, which would mean there's nothing wrong with the file, just the editing program. The only problem with TS-Cutter is that it's not frame accurate, so unless you are only removing the beginning and ending of a raw video, it won't do the job. Still looking for the right program to edit H.264 videos without re-encoding.

Review by satviewer2000 on Oct 2, 2010 Version: 1.2.9 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Excellent!

Finally it supports my Panasonic AVCHD m2ts. Now I can trim my H.264 video easily like what I did to my old Mpeg2 video.

The user interface is very intuitive, I even edit my first movie without reading its help doc.

And it's fast too. Hope it can enhance the project saving and loading.


Review by precisequick on Jul 12, 2010 Version: 1.2.7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




It's useless for AVCHD editing. I did a short cut list from a few files shot with my Panasonic AVCCAM and the resulting file is a mess. The frames around cuts that are re-encoded are completely messed up, they either flicker or turn to black. When I load the rendered file in TSMuxer it doesn't even recognize the audio track.

Review by sebaz on Mar 9, 2010 Version: 1.2.4a OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I really love this new version!

The speed of seeking a frame is much faster than older versions.

This makes the H.264 processing as easy as my MPEG and AVI experience.
After quick scrubbing by the long slider to my desired scene in the video, the short slider lets me find any single frame fast and accurately.
This reminds me that after years of waiting, the H.264 frame accurate processing eventually became a easy job.

There are also some features missed in this version. I want to have some keyboard shortcuts involved. Such as:
Left Right arrow to move backward forward a frame
Ctrl-Left Right to move backward forward a second
Shift-Left Right to move backward forward 30 second

Further more, some refinery improvements on the UI will be much better.


Review by pixelhalf on Jan 26, 2010 Version: 1.2.0a OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




WARNING:

This company seems to use GPL'd software such as x264, xvid, mplayer and ffmpeg to name a few as well as commercial software such as CoreAVC in it's exe.

Quote from .exe file (0xC37E80):
"This software is derived from the GNU GPL XviD codec (1.1.0).
Your software distributor has to give access to its source code."

Previous versions simply renamed some of the codecs such as CoreAVCDecoder.ax to AVCDecoder.ax.

This version now has CoreAVC's Filter embedded in the .exe, see offset 0x999AE0 for CoreAVC's copyright string.

Nuff Said.


Review by Ventolin on Jan 22, 2010 Version: 1.2.0a OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Excelent tool, but with a big problem. It doesn´t work with many antivirus like AVG, MIcrosoft Internet Security. When I open a video file, this system creates another file that is reported as a virus and the Smart Cutter crashs.

Review by marcioalirio on Jan 22, 2010 Version: 1.2.0a OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 5/10




Excellent tool. *none* of the freeware tools can do frame accurate h.264 TS frame cutting. The one that cam closest was h264tscutter but it lost frames and introduced artifacts with the output of my Hauppage HD PVR. This is an exception where I am definitely willing to shell out the money for something that works very well.

A little odd interface but eventually well thought out. Navigation is sluggy at times but it appears it somehow indexes the file in the background when you open it. With a little patience you get spot on in/out points and can create cut lists, i.e. you can definitely take a recording and get rid of all the commercials without problems and hitches.

Until there is a freeware/GPL licensed tool emerging - this is the one to get.


Review by rernst on Dec 27, 2009 Version: 20091217 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Works Very well,
Only frame accurate H.264 editor i've found, all the freeware stuff seem very hit or miss, most of them losing many frames at each edit point making them basically worthless.

Got me out of a problem situation, so was well worth the money.

Recommended..


Review by anaboland on Nov 23, 2009 Version: 2009.11.20 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Nice Tool!
It cuts my Hauppauge HD PVR files correctly, merge them seamlessly, great!
Definitely the frame accurate H264 cutter I was looking for.

Corporated with my favorite AvcHd player Splash Lite, and my Tuner on PC, they serve my Hauppauge HD PVR well. Now I can feed its output to TsMuxer for next stage Burning.

Could be better if some video filters added. Like fade in/out, time stamp, etc. Just like what Avidemux does.


Review by pixelhalf on Nov 5, 2009 Version: 20091101 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Wow work perfect with my h264 ts files recorded with skystar HD!
Very easily to use! If you have problem you can try a portable version. Download here http://www.fame-ring.com/smart.cut.rar , the last in the products page.


Review by palomino3000 on Sep 17, 2009 Version: 1.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




REEWARE editors ---> AviDemux, Chopper XP, Cuttermaran, DVBcut, MPEG StreamClip, Mpeg2Schnitt, Mpg2Cut2, TMPGEnc, VOBMerge, vobSplitter.
Smart Cutter not freeware, just pres play button and get error message for buy the full version 50$

N O T F R E E W A R E ! ! !


Review by otromba on Aug 23, 2009 Version: latest OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


28 reviews, Showing 1 to 28 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com