Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for Simple x264/x265 Launcher

21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by encoding.com on Apr 18, 2020 Version: 2.64 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Pete on Apr 17, 2020 Version: 2.64 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Rinoa Selphie on Mar 10, 2020 Version: Simple x264 Launchere 2.95 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Amazed that some give it 10/10 when to those who know at least a little bit of what a good converter should comprise of can see its deficiencies immediately. It's basic to say the least and works, but hardly complex. A very cluttered awful GUI with lack of functions is being polite. The creator often had his head up his backside dispensing out wisdom or scolding newbies over at Gloom9, yet churns out crap like this.

Review by Bill on Jul 23, 2019 Version: 2.92 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Thanks for this great program, it's really simple and professional at the same time, just if the developer can add audio encoder, it would be awesome.

Review by TeNSoR on Jul 23, 2019 Version: Simple x264 Launcher 2.92 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is poor software with very bad nerdy design, sort of the type a student would knock up for a college project in his first year. Not impressed bybit one bit. Would give zero if I could.

Review by Len on Jul 22, 2019 Version: 2.92 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I'd just like to express my gratitude for this software. The interface, simple, but extremely well designed.

Review by Holkisathe on May 4, 2019 Version: 2.90 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by serge on May 4, 2019 Version: 2.9.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 3/10




Software can be improved.
Acqtually very poor.
The only selectable settings are the bitrate or CQ settings, and codec.
No sound support, no subtitles support e no minimum setting support like deinterlace, autocrop, resize etc. and no avisynth script generator.
Not very usefull for me. All settings are like command prompt in box space.
Not different to use a .bat file with command inside.


Review by darkio on May 3, 2019 Version: 2.90 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 2/10




Free but poor software.

Review by Tel D on May 3, 2019 Version: 2.90 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by darkio on Mar 19, 2019 Version: 2.89 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




hevc encoder dont support mkv format

Review by vicky on Jul 24, 2017 Version: 2.84 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




> The crf value can't be a float. The new version is worst than older.

Don't know why you would need it, but you can definitely enter fractional digits ;-)


Review by Doug M. Steigerwald on Jan 13, 2017 Version: 2.78 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The crf value can't be a float. The new version is worst than older.

Review by longwin on Jan 12, 2017 Version: 2.78 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




NetCat (NC) is a widely-used standard utility, for decades. The version used nowadays is Fee/libre Software created by GNU. If you so-called "antivirus" software detects THAT as a thread, ask the "antivirus" to fix the problem NOW or get your money back...

Review by AntvirusEqualsCensorship on Apr 24, 2016 Version: 2.69 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Changelog :

* Some improvements to auto-update functionality

and a new file : "toolset\common\netc.exe" .

I hash-checked it on VT ,and here it is :
https://www.virustotal.com/en/file/e8fbec25db4f9d95b5e8f41cca51a4b32be8674a4dea7a45b6f7aeb22dbc38db/analysis/

This is my preferred app since 2012 , but Im gonna stay with v2.68 (or an older one without netc.exe).


Review by jaodsvuda on Apr 24, 2016 Version: 2.69 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




This version 2.65 crf mode is totally out of range.I encoded file which produce twice smaller size then older version with the same srf options! Is anybody else got the same problem?

Review by angel181155 on Jan 28, 2016 Version: 2.65 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is BEST ENCODER I'VE EVER SEEN.I've used a lot of program to encode my H264 MP4/AAC
1.39 GB file
such as:
-my mp4box gui(it was fast but subs which i encoded looked very bad.)
-megui[megui encoded x264 video and aac audio file then it joined this files to create main mp4 file but it took more than 6 hours to encode 1 hour video.],
-avidemux[it said 6 hours,too],
-Xvid4psp(it said 1 day requires to encode 1 hour video so i gave up to use this program)
-freemake video converter[it took 3 hours to encode 1 hour video(i think it's not bad for encoding video) but when i added srt,ass,ssa subtitles to my files,its shadows' disappeared and it can be problem when your movie shows another sentences in somewhere (they mixes.)
-Virtualdub(I've tried to save avi but it froze at the middle of video,and then i tried to load external encoder to encode my video and started but it said "projected filesize:141GB!!!"
so i gave up to encode with virtualdub.I used textsub filter to add my subs okay it was good my subs "had shadows" looked good but it wasn't useful when you couldn't encode your videos.)
-THEN FİNALLY I FOUND THİS PROGRAM.İT'S VERY VERY USEFUL AND SİMPLE ENCODER TO ENCODE VİDEOS.
I ADDED TEXTSUB SCRİPT TO AVS SCRİPT THEN I LOADED IT,CHOOSED PRESENT:VERYFAST,TUNİNG:FİLM,PROFİLE:HİGH THEN I STARTED IT TOOK 3 HOURS GOOD SUBS,GOOD QUALİTY AND FAST ENCODİNG but there was no audio in my video but i've fixed it with MY MP4BOX GUI without ruin my subs(extracted audio from my first file then muxed it with my new video file.)WELL DONE.:)


Review by soshipurpleskies on Jul 27, 2012 Version: 2.05 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent video only encoder. Mulder should combine this with his LameXP program!
Oh and for the guy who commented before me, if you save as .264, it becomes default.


Review by blud7 on Mar 25, 2012 Version: 2.03.291 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@racer-x:
Try appending "AssumeFPS(60000,1001)" to your AVS script ;-)


Review by Higgins83 on Feb 17, 2012 Version: 2012-2-16 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great GUI for x264. Simple to use and very functional.

I only have two complaints for the Author.

(1)There is no way to force framerate. This tool tries to guess framerate and sometimes fails, especially on 60p source. If you try to force framerate in the command line such as "--fps 60000/1001" it will reject it. No matter what parameters I set in the Avisynth script, this tool still fails to output 59.940060 fps. The closest it can get is 59.940180 fps. I wish the Author would allow forced framerate in the command line or have a dropdown selection in the GUI

(2) The default output format is *.mkv. I feel *.264 should be the default as this tool only encodes video streams. If these two issues are fixed, this would be my favorite GUI for x264. Right now it's 3'rd behind Virtualdub and MeGui

Thank's to the Author and I look forward to mor updates.

Thanks


Review by racer-x on Feb 17, 2012 Version: 2012-2-16 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com