Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
PopCorn MKV AudioConverter is a Matroska MKV DTS/AAC to MKV AC3 converter. It can also remove DTS tracks and convert OGG audio to AC3,MP3,AAC,MP3. Requires external tools like eac3to.

9.1/10
38 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

PopCorn MKV AudioConverter screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

1.88.03 (July 31, 2018)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download PopCorn MKV AudioConverter 1.88.03  3MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download PopCorn MKV AudioConverter old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


v1.88.03

Stereo downmix AAC -> AC3: Didn't instruct eac3to to downmix multi-channel to stereo.
Stereo downmix Simple Audio Conversion: Misspelled -DownDpl switch of eac3to as -DownEpl which meant that eac3to didn't understand what I was trying to tell it.

View full changelog




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to PopCorn MKV AudioConverter


MKV2AC3







Guides and How to's


Tutorial for converting MKV audio tracks with PopCorn MKV Audio Converter

- Read

PopCorn MKV AudioConverter video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

PopCornMKVAudioConverter, PMAC, PopCorn MKV Converter, PopCorn Audio Converter



Download PopCorn MKV AudioConverter Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




39 reviews, Showing 1 to 39 reviews


Excellent app, I use it all the time as I have a Sonos Playbar that doesn't like DTS. I've used it since I had a Popcorn Media player years ago, but now I play through Kodi; I could just leave the DTS and have Kodi covert, but the size difference with DD means it's worth converting to save the space. I put all new downloads through it, works really well, the only thing it's struggled with is FLAC audio on some downloads. Glad it's still being supported and thanks to the people maintaining it

Review by Emanef on Sep 20, 2018 Version: 1.88.03 OS: Other Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




It took 5 minutes. Unfortunately, I can not see the progress indicator. When it will be ready? The output file is silent.

Review by Louise on Jun 6, 2018 Version: AC18801 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




EAC3 batch conversion is available using the Simple AudioConversion item in the File Menu.

Review by HeartWare on Apr 16, 2018 Version: 1.88.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Started Using This A Looooong Time Ago. At The Time I Had Gotten PopCorn Hour And Found This The Hands Down Easiest Way To Manage Audio. Stopped Using It For A While Came Back About 3 Years Ago And Found A Ton Of Great Changes...

I Would Only Take 1 Point Away Because It Doesn't Do EAC3 Batch (All These Knew Shows Are Now EAC3)... So I Started Using FFMEG Batch Files Instead. That Still Leaves This Program With A Solid 10 Because Everything It Does It Does Perfectly.

It Is My #1 Recommendation For Those Who Want Ease Of Use That Works.

Thank You, Mr. Hansen For All The Great Work, It Is Appreciated.


Review by GoRichard on Mar 26, 2018 Version: 1.88.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No - the virus scanners need to fix their scanning routines...

Review by HeartWare on Feb 28, 2018 Version: 1.88.01 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Latest version fails 13 of 66 at virus total...dev needs to fix.

Review by ron spencer on Jan 21, 2018 Version: 1.88.01 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Wonderful software...it would be perfect if there would be the option to batch convert AC3 Multichannel to Stereo. "Re-sample AC3 audio tracks" only manage single files and "Simple AudioConversion" doesn't manage AC3 tracks (E-AC3 only).

Review by sharer777 on Jan 1, 2018 Version: 1.88 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Aurelio on Oct 5, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by nick on Oct 2, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by JimDiabolo on Jun 29, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by JimDiabolo on Jun 29, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by nick on Jun 10, 2017 Version: 18777 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The same here. Canīt download the tool package.

Review by Rockhound1982 on Apr 18, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 7/10




The tools which downloaded after installation doesn't work. The filesize of the archive is 0kb.

Review by Khorgoroth on Apr 16, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




It works now, I had a virus checker problem.

Review by irish003 on Apr 7, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Popcorn MKV Audioconverter is not compatible with Windows 10 Creators editon. It fails the compatibility test and the exe file is automatically deleted.

Review by irish003 on Apr 7, 2017 Version: 1.87.77 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: -/10 Functionality: -/10 Value for money: -/10 Overall: 5/10




Worked perfect!
Coonverted 10 files to now included an ac3 track.


Review by joe bananas on Oct 30, 2015 Version: 1.87.75 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My Samsung TV won't play the audio for DTS encoded MKVs, and the first program I found to remedy the situation happened to be this one, and I'm glad it was. It's a beautiful piece of freeware that does exactly I needed it to, and very efficiently...a full movie in 720p (5.7GB) was converted from DTS to AC3 (Dolby Digital) audio in less than 2 minutes! Granted, I have an overclocked i7, but still, impressive. I haven't tested any other functionality, but so far so good...cheers to the dev!

Review by IcedDog on Jan 17, 2014 Version: 1.87.73 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Both the Guide and the FAQ links for PopCorn MKV AudioConverter generate Malicious Site Warnings from Norton Internet Security. The detailed report is at
http://safeweb.norton.com/report/show?url=http:%2F%2Faudioconverter.heartware.dk%2FTutorial%2F&product=NIS&version=21.1.0.18&layout=Retail&lang=0901&source=toolbar


Review by barmah on Nov 28, 2013 Version: 1.03.04 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Version 1.87.73 is great. Helped me a lot to convert DTS to AC3 Audio. But I found a small bug. When you run the program around midnight (eg. 11:50pm) and the convertion goes through the other day, the program looses the temporary folder (it creates a temp folder using the date). So you must run it again. But it is not a big problem. Thanks a lot.

Review by chico_mendes on Jul 22, 2013 Version: 1.87.73 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




v1.87.73 : Virus Backdoor.hupigon6.CWY detect by AVG.
No find on v1.87.71


Review by Aiglon on Jun 28, 2013 Version: 1.87.73 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




PROBLEM WITH RUSSIAN MOVIES

I get an error whenever I'm trying to convert rips with Russian DTS track, not just once, a bunch of different BluRay rips from different sources of best rip quality.


Review by assburger on May 10, 2013 Version: 1.874 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




My bad regarding the comment below, on my 2nd install, PopCorn MKV AudioConverter 1.87.2 did automatically download all the relevant software and placed them in the tools folder. Great program!

Review by niki on Apr 24, 2012 Version: 1.87.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10





PopCorn MKV AudioConverter 1.87.2, so glad I found this software. I wanted to play MkV HD movies via the USB port on my flat screen TV but it would'nt play back the DTS audio. Using this software I was able to convert a 10GB MkV movie with DTS audio to AC3 audio in about 10 mins on my very first attempt, everything worked. One point to note is that I had to find then download the individual tools myself, most are available on videohelp.com. The GUI will flash a red warning if any tools are missing and the "run" button will be greyed out until all tools are present, once done the software runs beautifully and the results are great, many thanks to the developers.


Review by niki on Apr 23, 2012 Version: 1.87.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The only problem I've had is my own lack of knowledge. Once I was clued-in the "Ah-ha!" moment happened. Works great.

Review by mail2tom on Apr 17, 2012 Version: 1.87.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Works great , previus comments are dumb....

Review by Theodor on Apr 17, 2012 Version: 1.87.2 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




It sets up really when and then doesn't work.

Review by blud7 on Apr 17, 2012 Version: 1.87.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




But the Tools can not be downloaded from developer's site either - there is also only the exe. I always updated with the exe only from this site but beginning with 1.86 it does not open a window so I can not see anything. If I reinstall 1.85 it works normally...

Review by ClarkcwsKent on Apr 7, 2012 Version: 1.85.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is the executable only, and the link to the developers web site gives you a sign-up screen, so you can't download an entire package unless you create an account.

Review by mail2tom on Apr 6, 2012 Version: 1.87 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Latest version 1.86 and 1.87 does not even start on my computer. It appears in the task manager but I can not see any window. 1.85 is working fine! Please help!

Review by ClarkcwsKent on Apr 6, 2012 Version: 1.8.5 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What a wonderful tool! In order to convert the DTS to ac3, I've searched the converters and finally I chosed this wonderful tool. It is so easy that I just click my mouse and wait. All the works were done automaticlly and perfectly.

But I still have a request: I bought a TV , but it doesn't support DTS or AC3, only support AAC. I hope Popcorn MKV Audioconverter can convert DTS/AC3 to ACC directly in the future. Because there are so many 1080p movies that with DTS or AC3, but my TV cannot decode their audio tracks. Many TVs that are not expensive also can't decode AC3 tracks.

Thank you for your so wonderful tools,Thank you a lot.


Review by gundamxx on Dec 28, 2011 Version: 1.85.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




What a wonderfull tool; very nice and reliable
I use it, almost two years
Thank's


Review by alvareza on Sep 16, 2011 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very nice tool! It has spare me a lot of trouble!!!Easy to use and accurate...way to go!

Review by Maiandros on Apr 6, 2011 Version: 1.84 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The GUI doesn't fit the screen, and my monitor is set to its maximum resolution: 1280x800.
I click on the box in the top corner to make it maximum size or window size, but it makes no difference.
This program is not good for laptop screens.
Even "compatibility settings" don't fix anything.
in short, this program is a bust if you got a tiny screen.
i hate to see people run this in the old 1024x768 resolutions.
Too bad, looks like it had some nice features.


Review by sparktank on Mar 1, 2011 Version: 1.84.0 OS: Vista Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




THANK YOU!!!
Finaly a probram easy to use, that does'nt force me to spend hours of searching and installing different plugins and programs to work.
Nice work.
Perhaps a progressbar and ETA can be implemented??


Review by cuffy77 on Feb 17, 2010 Version: 1.81 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've downloaded this from the direct link and the author's web site and all I get is version 1.80.1 and not 1.81. Is this supposed to be 1.80.1 or 1.81?

Review by mail2tom on Feb 13, 2010 Version: 1.80.1 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I just wanted to add that once you have this tool set up, batch muxing and converting the audio for a folder full of .mkv files is very easy and convenient. Basically just select the input and output folders and hit the Run button. The gui could use a bit of work such as letting the user resize it. It seems to want to be the height of the desktop insisting on being underneath the Taskbar on the bottom of the screen. That doesn't really hinder usage very much. It's just a minor annoyance. But it does what it's designed to do.



Review by MilesAhead on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 1.8 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I was using MKVextractGui, MKVmergeGui and the little dts2ac3 batch folder package to demux DTS, convert audio to ac3, then mux. This tool does all that, plus it will download the MKV tools if you don't already have them.

The ui is a little bit quirky, which is the reason for the 8 score. If you have a blinking red error msg try doing the audio settings again even if you already set them. Then the error msg may disappear(at least that's what happened on my first use.)

But such things you get used to if you use a program often. I think I will be using this one regularly. Thanks to the author for making this tool available.

If you have the first generation of WD HDTV player for USB, which doesn't down mix DTS, then this is a good tool to have in your media toolkit.


Review by MilesAhead on Dec 27, 2009 Version: 1.8 OS: Vista 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




All those with any nmt based solution, knows the problem: ogm files won't play, and DTS audio is not always available on your TV.

This tool converts automatically the audio to AC3, also remuxes your ogm files to mkv. So, they can be playable to your nmt easy, fast and free. Officially is a tool for the lucky owners of the Popcorn Hour A100, but nothing prohibits it to be used for free if you have any other nmt based player.

It is very easy to use and you need an Internet connection to download external tools. It is an automatic procedure, you won't need to do a thing.

Overall, a tool (a GUI actually of various tools) that gives a solution to a specific problem. You know when you need it!


Review by SatStorm on Apr 21, 2009 Version: 1.75.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


39 reviews, Showing 1 to 39 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com