Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for OpenShot Video Editor

14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews


Started Openshot. I see 720 / 30 fps. I like to change to 25 FPS, I go to Edit/Settings
Program craches.

Trying to download 2.5.0 but cannot find

Totally disappointed and confused (((


Review by Mira on Apr 14, 2020 Version: 2.5.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Actually - waste of time. Random crashes. Can't export - crashes again.
Not recommended to even try it.


Review by dani on Dec 1, 2019 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I like the idea and the look of it, but in use the interface is clunky and counter-instinctive, e.g. it is very fiddly trying to find a particular frame to mark and then cut. The audio is not visible by default and it is very slow to scan a clip to show it. On a fast PC with lots of RAM it should fly smoothly, but it doesn't. It can open off-air HD h.264 TS files, but it stutters and locks up frequently when editing them.

Review by TheDoctor on Jul 26, 2019 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Having used much older versions of the program which crashed every few minutes, I was impressed when I edited and exported a video with no problems in about ten minutes

I then tried to make a slide show using around 30 jpg photos and a music track but after trying to fiddle with transitions, the program froze completely. I couldn't close it and didn't know about killw at that stage so I restarted the computer.

When I restarted I tried to open Openshot but it flashed instantly and then closed each time. I thought if I removed my project source files it would be ok, but now while I can open the program I am in a permanent loop demanding I find the directory for the files, but with no 'cancel' option or ability to access the main menu and start a new project. I downloaded the daily update to see if this might make a difference but that is no different.

I am not sure what to do next as somewhere the AppImage file has made start up files but despite lots of searches in system files I cannot find these.


Review by bertiefox on Dec 27, 2018 Version: OpenShot-v2.4.3-dev2-1545894458-a8f75a5b-3861a2c5- OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




A shame. It looks nice, just crashs randomly. Sometimes on opening, sometimes importing projects, sometimes playing video in preview, it just randomly crashs whenever. I hope they can get this up soon because it looks to be really nice to use. At the very least, take this version down and put up a version that works.

Review by DD on Nov 10, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Lukas80153 on Oct 17, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Probado en Windows 10 64-bit. Es algo inestable, pobre en herramientas y hace un pésimo uso de las transiciones. Nada recomendable en la actual versión.

Review by Paulus on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by LittleNowhereRanch on Sep 24, 2018 Version: 2.4.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




all you get are python script errors. been like this for months with no fix. doesnt work on windows! win users beware!

Review by hightekrednek on Jul 4, 2017 Version: all OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is the second version of the program I've tried to use (the first being 2.2.0). Program will not open, just displays a bunch of Python error messages. Hard to believe this still isn't fixed.

Review by Robert Simandl on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 2.3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments

Review by Baldrick on Mar 31, 2017 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This latest version (v2.0.7) for Linux give you the option to download App Image. No need to install, just make it "executable" and put a shortcut on your desktop to launch it. Very sweet, I like that option. Works very well for a basic multi-track video editor.

Review by racer-x on Mar 31, 2016 Version: 2.0.7 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installed OK. Has a nice looking user interface. Loads files OK.
Played video for several seconds before stopping. Still some bugs.


Review by robertsaint29 on Mar 21, 2016 Version: 2.0.6 beta 3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I see there is no rating for this yet, so here is mine. I installed this in Linux. It is a good basic multi-track video editor. I was surprised it correctly interpreted my RGBA clip without the need to "enable alpha channel". It's pretty solid and easy to use in Linux. I haven't installed it in windows, so I can't comment on that.

Review by racer-x on Feb 12, 2016 Version: 2.0.6 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


14 reviews, Showing 1 to 14 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com