Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and remove iTunes protection, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
OpenShot Video Editor is a free, open-source, non-linear video editor for Linux, Mac OS, Windows, built with Python, GTK, and the MLT Framework. Our goal is to create an easy-to-use, powerful, non-linear video editor, with a focus on "User Interface", "Work flow", and "Stability".

Free software
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 131MB
Old versions
Version history
4.6/10
15 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

OpenShot Video Editor screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


OpenShot Video Editor screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot


OpenShot Video Editor screenshot 3
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.5.0 (February 9, 2020)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download OpenShot Video Editor 2.5.0 Windows  131MB  Win

Download OpenShot Video Editor 2.5.0 Windows 64-bit  131MB  Win64

Download OpenShot Video Editor 2.5.0 Mac 64-bit  128MB  Mac64

Download OpenShot Video Editor 2.5.0 Linux 64-bit  132MB  Linux64




Download old versions


Download OpenShot Video Editor old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


OpenShot 2.5.0 Released | Video Editing + Hardware Acceleration!
Written by Jonathan on Feb. 8, 2020 in Releases.

I am proud to announce the release of OpenShot 2.5.0, our largest release yet! In honesty, this release got a bit too large and almost crushed my brain, but I’m happy to finally release it into the wild! May it have safe travels!

Let’s start with the highlights!

Hardware encoding and decoding support
Perhaps one of the most exciting changes in OpenShot 2.5.0 is our experimental support for hardware acceleration. You will see some new options available if you have a supported encoder/decoder. Many graphics cards come with the ability to encode and decode video data without using the CPU. This can result in a huge performance improvement on some systems, but also depends on the input and output formats, and many other factors. For example, if you are using only MP4/H.264 input files, and your graphics card is supported, it can help OpenShot decode the pixel data from the video, and on the flip side, encode the pixel data back into a video. This can increase performance by up to 30-40%, just depending on all the various factors. A huge thanks to Peter M for his dedication and help with this one!

Hardware acceleration options in OpenShot 2.5.0

Keyframe performance improvements (magnitudes faster)
Often on projects which contain long clips or many clips, the performance of our keyframe system would slow down. Usually the delay was only on first accessing the keyframe, but when many clips are involved, it would sometimes slow down a bunch as a user would jump around the timeline. We have completely rewritten the keyframe system to deliver real-time interpolated values, and no longer cache the entire value set. A big thanks to Daniel Jour for all his great engineering on this one! Our new system can generate almost 100,000 interpolated values before our old system would return even 1 value.

Keyframe performance improvements in OpenShot 2.5.0

Export and Import of EDL and XML (Premiere and Final Cut Pro)
For the first time ever, OpenShot can import and export data in widely supported formats. Our EDL support works with many video editors, and supports the basic timeline data (files, clips, some keyframes, transitions, etc…). XML format is supported in Final Cut Pro, but also many other products support this format. It also contains the basic timeline data (files, clips, some keyframes, and multiple tracks). The XML format is more advanced by far, and supports more features from OpenShot. This has been a highly requested feature for many years. I’m happy to finally deliver on it!

XML Export (Final Cut Pro format) in OpenShot 2.5.0
Thumbnail generation much improved (uses local HTTP server)
Previous versions of OpenShot had a very fragile thumbnail system. If a folder got moved or renamed, it was likely many broken thumbnails would appear. This has now been fixed in a few ways. Project’s now have unique asset folders, and thumbnails are now generated using a local HTTP server, check multiple folder locations, and can regenerate missing ones.

Blender 2.8+ Support
Blender 2.8 was a huge and impressive release. We now support the new *.blend format, and most of our animated titles have been fixed or recreated from scratch. We also have some improved logic around version detection and EXE detection.

Blender 2.8+ support in OpenShot 2.5.0

New ability to recover previous saves (~/.openshot_qt/recovery/) and improved auto-backup
One of the scariest types of issues a user can encounter is losing huge amounts of data, by perhaps deleting everything from their timeline (on accident), and then auto-save running. Now, before every save, a copy of the entire *.osp project is copied into a recovery folder. We only store a limited amount of recovery files, but now users will be able to easily grab an older version and copy it back to the original save folder location. While not perfect, this will hopefully prevent massive data losses, and give users more options to recover previous versions of a project… even when the undo/redo system and auto-save system fails them.

New project recovery options in OpenShot 2.5.0

SVG compatibility and improvements
We have fixed many issues around SVG support, transparency issues, font issues, and included a much newer version of resvg library in our official releases. Updated title thumbnails, and better support of SVG, especially on OS X and older Linux distros.

Improved SVG support in OpenShot 2.5.0

Preview window improvements (dimensions divisible by 2)
When resizing the preview window in OpenShot, often a user will choose an invalid window size, one that is not divisible by their project output size (i.e. 1920x1080). We now verify (and adjust if needed) the final preview window size to always be divisible by 2 (both width and height). This prevents flickering lines and bars on the sides of preview/playback.

Export improvements
When exporting a video, we no longer modify the project’s keyframe data. This was done to scale keyframes up and down, when exporting to different frame rates. But a side effect was it would modify keyframe data and potentially lose data (scaling down and back up). This no longer happens, and project data is now safe when exporting.

Disable metrics until opt-in (privacy improvements)
On the first launch of OpenShot, we no longer automatically send metric data until a user has opted in to share metrics with us. The metric requests are queued up, and will go nowhere unless a user gives permission. Metrics are very useful though, and help us see how OpenShot is being used. They are already anonymized, and contain no IP or location data. But they tell us important details, such as version info, library versions, what errors have occurred, etc… All things that help us find bugs and ultimately improve the quality of OpenShot.

Improved privacy opt-in for OpenShot 2.5.0

Tons of CMake and build improvements
Thanks to @ferdnyc for all the help and support improving our build system, CMake, Travis CI, GitLab CI, and much more! We’ve updated many dependencies, but mostly, our build system is simpler, more bullet-proof, and more modern.

Cross-platform improvements (fixed lots of small differences between OSes)
We now have a much more rigorous testing suite for OpenShot, and all 3 OSes have reached the same support and features, and all OSes are now passing our release testing plan. This is part of a bigger plan to make OpenShot more transparent, more documented on GitHub, and easier for new contributors to join us. A big thanks to everyone who helped test OpenShot 2.5.0.

Get Involved
Have you been following OpenShot development for a long time? Do you have amazing ideas for improving OpenShot? Do you want to help spark “video editing joy” in the world? Please send an email to hello@openshot.org and introduce yourself! It’s really that easy to get involved with OpenShot on any level, and you certainly don’t need to be a programmer. All skills, all skill levels, and all people are welcome to join our developer community, share ideas, laugh, and make OpenShot more awesome! Still not convinced or just don’t have any time to contribute? You can always send a donation (and get your name featured in our credits)!

Changelog
Here is a more exhaustive list of changes included in version 2.5.0. Also, I want to thank everyone who contributed to these changes! Thank you for helping make OpenShot better!

openshot-qt:

75632f3 2020-01-13 Jonathan Thomas For Mac, preferences should try and append AppBundle executable name for common apps (Blender, Inkscape) HEAD -> release-20200105, origin/release-20200105
e4d79f6 2020-01-13 Jonathan Thomas Bumping version to 2.5.0 (large bump from the previous version, but due to the extensive changes)
27bf096 2020-01-10 FeRD (Frank Dana) main_window: Code style (indentation, exceptions)
87211f7 2020-01-09 Jonathan Thomas Updating some Linux dependencies missing in AppImage
83c4563 2020-01-08 Jonathan Thomas Fixing Windows powershell escaped char in 'git log' call
f2bc30b 2020-01-08 FeRD (Frank Dana) launch.py: Fix command-line output
d35dc53 2020-01-08 Jonathan Thomas Testing a better way to generate git logs from the current commit to the previous tag. During a release, we tag the current commit during the publishing, and then it starts detecting no changes (since we are ON the current tag).
0cb9751 2020-01-08 Jonathan Thomas Don't read the changelog more than 1 time (when testing different encodings)
f840d6d 2020-01-08 Jonathan Thomas Stopping video playback when opening a project, trying to simplify some edge cases (no need for continous playback during switching project files, lol)
2ebef94 2020-01-07 Jonathan Thomas Attempt to fix invalid `resources` folder in Mac App Bundle
e276d62 2020-01-07 Jonathan Thomas Add queue for sending metrics, and disable metrics completely on initial launch. Once the user has opted in, flush the queue and send all metrics which are queued. If the user doesn't opt-in, we send no metrics at all.
8aeda71 2020-01-07 Jonathan Thomas Adding a version for Unity importing... trying to get rid of an error I keep seeing related to this.
fd620f4 2020-01-07 Jonathan Thomas Updating rescale_keyframes() method to not modify the current project. This allows the Export dialog to make a copy of the rescaled keyframes, and not modify the active project when exporting to a different FPS. Now Export feels much safer, because it doesn't modify project data.
0cf6539 2020-01-06 Jonathan Thomas Fixing keyframe rescale issue after an export is completed (we were scaling all keyframes twice on accident)
67d6a76 2020-01-06 Jonathan Thomas Adding libopenshot version to About dialog
5dbb993 2020-01-05 Jonathan Thomas Removing verbose debug statement when getting properties for property dialog (which happens as the user scrubs the timeline)
eb98bf...

View full changelog




All features


OpenShot's Features include:

* Support for many video, audio, and image formats (based on FFmpeg)
* Gnome integration (drag and drop support)
* Multiple tracks
* Clip resizing, trimming, snapping, and cutting
* Video transitions with real-time previews
* Compositing, image overlays, watermarks
* Title templates, title creation
* SVG friendly, to create and include titles and credits
* Scrolling motion picture credits
* Solid color clips (including alpha compositing)
* Support for Rotoscoping / Image sequences
* Drag and drop timeline
* Frame stepping, key-mappings: J,K, and L keys
* Video encoding (based on FFmpeg)
* Key Frame animation
* Digital zooming of video clips
* Speed changes on clips (slow motion etc)
* Custom transition lumas and masks
* Re-sizing of clips (frame size)
* Audio mixing and editing
* Presets for key frame animations and layout
* Ken Burns effect (making video by panning over an image)




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to OpenShot Video Editor


Kdenlive



Shotcut







Guides and How to's


OpenShot Video Editor Masks & Transitions Video Tutorial

- Read

OpenShot Video Editor video tutorials



View all guides with guide description here




Acronyms / Also Known As

OpenshotVideoEditor, OpenShot




Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Pasha on Jan 2, 2020 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Linux Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Actually - waste of time. Random crashes. Can't export - crashes again.
Not recommended to even try it.


Review by dani on Dec 1, 2019 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I like the idea and the look of it, but in use the interface is clunky and counter-instinctive, e.g. it is very fiddly trying to find a particular frame to mark and then cut. The audio is not visible by default and it is very slow to scan a clip to show it. On a fast PC with lots of RAM it should fly smoothly, but it doesn't. It can open off-air HD h.264 TS files, but it stutters and locks up frequently when editing them.

Review by TheDoctor on Jul 26, 2019 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Anand on Apr 27, 2019 Version: 2.4.4 OS: Linux Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Having used much older versions of the program which crashed every few minutes, I was impressed when I edited and exported a video with no problems in about ten minutes

I then tried to make a slide show using around 30 jpg photos and a music track but after trying to fiddle with transitions, the program froze completely. I couldn't close it and didn't know about killw at that stage so I restarted the computer.

When I restarted I tried to open Openshot but it flashed instantly and then closed each time. I thought if I removed my project source files it would be ok, but now while I can open the program I am in a permanent loop demanding I find the directory for the files, but with no 'cancel' option or ability to access the main menu and start a new project. I downloaded the daily update to see if this might make a difference but that is no different.

I am not sure what to do next as somewhere the AppImage file has made start up files but despite lots of searches in system files I cannot find these.


Review by bertiefox on Dec 27, 2018 Version: OpenShot-v2.4.3-dev2-1545894458-a8f75a5b-3861a2c5- OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 3/10




A shame. It looks nice, just crashs randomly. Sometimes on opening, sometimes importing projects, sometimes playing video in preview, it just randomly crashs whenever. I hope they can get this up soon because it looks to be really nice to use. At the very least, take this version down and put up a version that works.

Review by DD on Nov 10, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Lukas80153 on Oct 17, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Probado en Windows 10 64-bit. Es algo inestable, pobre en herramientas y hace un pésimo uso de las transiciones. Nada recomendable en la actual versión.

Review by Paulus on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 2.4.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by LittleNowhereRanch on Sep 24, 2018 Version: 2.4.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




all you get are python script errors. been like this for months with no fix. doesnt work on windows! win users beware!

Review by hightekrednek on Jul 4, 2017 Version: all OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is the second version of the program I've tried to use (the first being 2.2.0). Program will not open, just displays a bunch of Python error messages. Hard to believe this still isn't fixed.

Review by Robert Simandl on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 2.3.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments

Review by Baldrick on Mar 31, 2017 Version: 2.3.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




This latest version (v2.0.7) for Linux give you the option to download App Image. No need to install, just make it "executable" and put a shortcut on your desktop to launch it. Very sweet, I like that option. Works very well for a basic multi-track video editor.

Review by racer-x on Mar 31, 2016 Version: 2.0.7 OS: Linux Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Installed OK. Has a nice looking user interface. Loads files OK.
Played video for several seconds before stopping. Still some bugs.


Review by robertsaint29 on Mar 21, 2016 Version: 2.0.6 beta 3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I see there is no rating for this yet, so here is mine. I installed this in Linux. It is a good basic multi-track video editor. I was surprised it correctly interpreted my RGBA clip without the need to "enable alpha channel". It's pretty solid and easy to use in Linux. I haven't installed it in windows, so I can't comment on that.

Review by racer-x on Feb 12, 2016 Version: 2.0.6 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


15 reviews, Showing 1 to 15 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com