Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for MakeMKV

99 reviews, Showing 1 to 99 reviews


Freezing and not working in Win7. Because of this I tried using it on XP system which apparently is still compatible and could only read DVD disc from hard drive. All other functions in GUI grayed out or unavailable. Strange! I've reverted back to previous beta which by the way doesn't work in XP as well, but fine in my Win7. Review/low score is for this beta only and not true reflection overall.

Review by Rod on Jul 17, 2021 Version: 1.16.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I have not used makemkv for some time, but I do recommend using the program (I am aware of its existence and have used it in a variety of ways since the years of 2015), because it is simple in its proposal, which is to transform the entire structure of a bd or dvd (video audio tracks and subtitles), in a single mkv file, and for those who do not have a desktop player to watch their physical media, but have a media player, this program, it is more than mandatory, to facilitate the whole process; A nice point to highlight would be the possibility of testing the program for a generous period, let's say, with a free key (since the price of the program itself may be of little accessibility but I understand why the value, in view, of its functionality and proposal), this allows the user to have an honest judgment of the program, before buying, if any kind of "surprises"; Anyway, in my opinion, it's an excellent program that got it right, in simplifying a process, at first simple, that can be done with other programs, but it would demand a lot of work and time. Congratulations to the developers, and I hope there will be more evolutions of this program.

Review by Diego Carvalho de Souza on Jul 10, 2021 Version: 1.16.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




There are a few bugs. The developer sometimes posts here in this section. Hopefully he looks at below reviews and eradicates the bugs. I like this software. I use Win8, and sometimes XP(MakeMKV has some troubles with this system!)but Win10 loves it as I've encountered no issues there

Review by Jacques on May 9, 2021 Version: 1.16.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Used AnyDVD to decrypt an old concert DVD from 2003 that was copy protected. AnyDVD removed the copy protection, so you could see all the files in windows. Ran MakeMKV. MakeMKV correctly detected all the files. I started to copy the files to HD. It appeared to be working. Said it would take 25 mins for 6GB of files. After 15 mins, it showed it would now take 2+33 mins to copy the files. The length of time keep going up the longer it ran. It kept giving me some sort of invalid data error and said it was trying to work around. I finally closed the program after 30 mins. My pc is an I7, WIN 10 with 24GB of ram. Disappointed. Will try another program.

Review by skirk on May 8, 2021 Version: 1.16.3 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 2/10




The answer to XP is it working? No it isn't! The GUI bug is still unfixed depending on your platform. That said you can transcoded a DVD using XP straight from your DVD ROM drive, but that's about it. Try doing it from a pre ripped folder on your hard drive. You won't be able to use MakeMKV GUI. Nothing to do with whether you have JavaScript installed or not, it just does not work in XP.

MakeMKV works in other platforms well which is okay but shouldn't advertizse in its info that it works in Legacy XP as it is crippled in this platform. I use Win8 and still use XP too as many do.


Review by Kevin on Apr 27, 2021 Version: 1.16.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




It works fine on Win10 without a hitch, but is it working in XP now? I ask because when I last visited my brother he said he still uses xp for some video work and said there were major options on MakeMKV not working in the last version when navigating the GUI as others have said. I'll email him anyway to tell of update. Thanks.

Review by Carlo on Mar 18, 2021 Version: 1.16.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by teamsatan on Mar 17, 2021 Version: 1.16.2 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'm rating this for XP only. None of the functions apart from dvd rom drive option works. Hope someone from MakeMKV forum sees this and passes on info to fix the bug. The software program is crippled at the moment for use in XP. Thanks.

Review by TD on Mar 8, 2021 Version: 1.16.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




Half marks from me. Only works to make a MKV from DVD's in a DVDROM drive in Xp. Other advanced features or options in GUI grayed out or not available such as trying to locate a pre ripped DVD folder on the harddrive. I haven't tested it in other Windows platforms. Maybe just a Legacy issue?

Review by Dave P on Mar 7, 2021 Version: 1.61.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




Right, tested on XP. It opens okay, but navigation problems using GUI in XP, Win7/8 tested! Failure to locate pre ripped folders or files on computer. GUI not reading My Computer or its related folders/sub folders! Advanced options/manual DVD opening etc not working too.

Also whenever a box is thrown up by program eg using DVD ROM option the box notification is blank message, and just red box!


Review by N.D on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 1.61.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I can't rate this version positively. There is indeed a navigation problem as mentioned. None of the functions to open a DVD manually or open an existing pre ripped dvd file/folder on PC hardrive is working. Only direct function from DVD rom is working. I tested on Win10 64 bit and same bug. GUI bug or something else causing navigation screw ups!

Review by K.Dent on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 1.16.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




First off new version fixes bug in XP which forced program not to open. MakeMKV works pretty flawlessly in other systems of Windows, but in XP 'Houston we may have a newer bug?' 1.16.1 beta works for discs off the dvd rom drive, but opening an already ripped file folder MakeMKV fails to 'see' it in its gui.

Going to Open Files or Control + O then 'Look in' fails to show anything at all. My Computer on left of gui is just a faded out grey. This prgram in XP only appears to work on dvd's in the rom drive as half of its functionality has gone for some reason? 10/10 for other systems but in XP 5/10. New beta to fix this weird problem of navigation to already ripped decrypted dvd folders on computer? thanks.


Review by Bob on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 1.16.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




I think the confusion lay in that for a brief time the older version was briefly still available on the MakeMkv website, yet the changelog here on Videohelp quickly(Baldrick moves fast with the latest versions-kudos to him!) showed 1.16.1 as the the newer version came out that the same day within hours or so of older version, depending on your time zone, muddling things a bit. I assumed still buggy, but the version must have 1.16. I uninstalled and deleted it so can't check version number.

I'm going to test it out on XP later- should work fine touch wood. Thanks.


Review by N.D on Mar 5, 2021 Version: 1.61.1 newest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@N.D
Did you try 1.16.1?
An XP bug has now been fixed ("Windows XP: Program failed to start").
I tried & it works fine on Windows XP.


Review by mike20021969 on Mar 4, 2021 Version: 1.16.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




My review is for XP as my interest was piqued and I wanted to test if it works or not in this system, otherwise regarding my Win10 the review would be 10/10 as previous version showed. I downloaded an installer off the MakeMKV web page and installed it, but a small red box appears(warning?) and program refuses to open. No good in XP! Why then does site say it is compatible with it? No worries back to Win 7 or Win10.

Review by N.D on Mar 4, 2021 Version: 1.61.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Works excellently well in Win7 to Win10- I will attest to that. MakeMKV site says works in XP and I still like to use that system for encoding etc now and again. Unfortunately for me it did not. Strangely that it failed to install. I saw error message of 'not a valid 32 bit program..' message.

Review by Derek on Mar 4, 2021 Version: 1.16.0 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used it for years (on Win 7 x64), prior to purchasing a license. It has worked pretty reliably for me for the most part, with occasional issues on certain rigs. This is probably not in the class of a cut & dry, "one-size-fits-all", "set it and forget it" software; there can be some wrinkles, if you are not diligent about looking into them. Yes, your particular hardware could be a factor. The MakeMKV forum is a good place for exploring that, and possibly also here on VH. The issues are more likely associated with Blu-Ray. For full functionality, you should have recent Java installed, and appropriately pointed to for MakeMKV to find it. There will be some BR discs that give it problems. I recently learned why desired subs from BR were not being rendered (thanks to the aforementioned forum), and this will involve the nuisance extra step of using some additional software.

When critiquing this program, we need to get real: there ain't anything much left on the market that does what this program does. Most of the "alternatives" listed here are long defunct. (Can't comment on BDtoAVCHD *yet*, as I haven't tried to use it, so far.) The only 3 programs I'm aware of that can handle the protections of commercial discs are: the Red Fox takeover of AnyDVD, and reviews of that company and its business practices here are troubling, to say the least; Fab, which is pricey even with discounts, has a totally different operational approach, and about which company somewhat ditto to the situation with Red Fox; and MakeMKV, which has been offered at no charge to us for quite a few years. I'd go so far as to make the argument that MakeMKV is nearly indispensable, we should be very glad to have it, and we should support it.


Review by Seeker47 on Mar 2, 2021 Version: 1.15.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Comments about crashing reflect on the particular users system. I've been using this program for years and never a crash or hiccup. It works every time for me. That's why I bought a license several years ago.

Review by netmask56 on Feb 28, 2021 Version: 1.15.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Same here, no crashes and works like a charm. I must also add that I am a longterm user. The Software is here NOT to blame, somebody else ;)

Review by flashandpan007 on Feb 28, 2021 Version: 1.16.0 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have used MakeMKV for years... Always works 100% of the time, no crashes etc... maybe some peps need to get a better computer system or know what to install or what NOT to install on their systems that interferes with software, before blaming this software.

Review by PcDirect on Feb 28, 2021 Version: MakeMKV 1.16.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I agree with the previous reviewer. This is very finicky software. When I used during its XP compatible days back then it always used to crash and now in Win7 or Win10 it still does. I even resorted to a portable version and that was crap too. It has never worked for me sad to say.

Review by Tim on Feb 28, 2021 Version: 1.16.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I've been using MakeMKV and its great for doing backups - but as far Blu-Ray disks are concerned, its way to finicky. If you look at the forums you's see it often fails when trying to actually make MKV files with varying error messages. I had a bran new disk that plays and backs up fine, but I had to use BDtoAVCHD if I simply wanted to remux the video and audio, untouched, from the backup to an MKV file. I rated BDtoAVCHD a 10 because it gave me no problems.

Review by mugz8391 on Aug 28, 2020 Version: 1.15.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by The Don on Jun 25, 2020 Version: 1..15.1 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Love this program!I did a bunch of dvd rips a couple of months ago, quality stuff! One click and you're done! I did a bunch of dvd conversions to mkv today which work.

Review by stargatesuite on Jun 4, 2020 Version: makemkv 1.15.1 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Problem solved!
It was my antivirus program blocked the update.
Works fine now.

Thanks!


Review by deeyeej on Apr 20, 2020 Version: MakeMKV 1.15.1 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@WiFi: I agree. The icing on the cake is if the command line version had an option to remove cinavia.

Review by GrampaD on Apr 13, 2020 Version: 1.15.0 registered OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've used this without any problems or errors for a few years now. Transferred all my DVD's and BR discs to MKV. I purchased a license to both support the author and eliminate the hassle of having to update the key every few months also if the powers that be decided to close the program down. I suspect the very few people who have had errors should look to their own computer for problems. I've used this on numerous PC's. Simply works

Review by netmask56 on Feb 19, 2020 Version: MakeMKV 1.14.7 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Believe me, I'd like to rate this much more highly, because **when it is working** it is simply great at what it does. The problem is that I've found it to be much too unreliable on my computers. I keep getting "Fatal Error", and then the program closes. (Have to call that a crash, folks !) I'll uninstall MakeMKV, reinstall it (still with the current version), then it may work for a short while, _or it may not_. Either way, the same problem is sure to return. I processed 4 or 5 BR titles over the last couple weeks with no problem using MakeMKV, but this morning we are right back to "Fatal Error." This even happens with no disc loaded. It's VERY frustrating. There was no sign of this behavior a week ago. My system in question has not changed at all, over the intervening time. It won't be a hardware problem either, because DVD Fab keeps chugging right along, doing its thing as expected, on the very same BR discs. Unfortunately for me, I much prefer working with the MKV format output by MakeMKV, as opposed to the BR file structures output by Fab. (Perhaps there are some alternate output formats one could select for Fab, other than ISO ? I gained a more than adequate familiarity with the DVD file structures, but never really did that for BR.) Not entirely sure about this, but I think the MKV format also kills Cinavia stone cold dead . . . .

Are these "fatal errors" triggered by some latest new wrinkle in the copy protections that MakeMKV just cannot cope with ? Even so, that wouldn't explain the crashes with no disc loaded -- which definitely does NOT happen when the program is actually working. I've sought help on their forum, but still no explanation for all this, and no joy.

Anyway, I'd be happy to buy a license for MakeMKV, but I'd like this problem to receive a real and lasting fix. Otherwise, this program is a potential solution that I just can't count on.


Review by Seeker47 on Feb 19, 2020 Version: 1.14.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




Rating by rallen on Jan 25, 2020 Version: 1.14.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This software is unbelievable. With programs like DVDFab charging hundreds, if not thousands, of dollars for decrypting and copying your discs to harddrive at a 1:1 lossless conversion, MakeMKV is an absolute steal and is quite possibly one of the greatest programs ever created for the PC. It's not an exaggeration, MakeMKV is without a doubt the most critical tool any possible self-proclaimed cinephile could own. Add on top of that the fact that the developer is constantly giving away free beta keys to extend the freeware period by 60 days AND the fact that he and his community are active 24/7 on the forums makes MakeMKV to the DVD/BDR scene what Doom9 was to us almost 20 years ago.

MakeMKV is also an import and incredible tool because of its easy, completely intuitive interface. It's got a great minimalist aesthetic and everything is simple, concise and effortless to figure out and navigate. So easy, in fact, that an elementary school child could figure out how to rip a dvd/bluray to a harddrive if given the opportunity.

MakeMKV can't be praised enough. The 9.0 score from ~70 users is deserved, 100%. I'm amazed it doesn't have a perfect 10/10. After years of use, I plan to use it for as long as I have a bluray and dvd library to backup and update on my NAS. Bravo to the MakeMKV family and thank you for everything you've done for the scene. Much love and respect!!!


Review by WiFi on Dec 1, 2019 Version: 1.14.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Makemkv was the best program they ever invented when it comes to creating an MKV video file from physical media, without changing its video, audio or subtitle structure. In the generation of Smart tv, it is a rather than exciting tool, because for me that has a large collection of dvd's and no longer uses the dvd player, I can simply create a file in mkv, and transfer it for my external hd, or flash drive (depending on the file size of course), it is possible to create the same process in other ways, but it is too complicated, and requires more tools, make mkv, automates and facilitates this process and safer anyway, Makemkv is an indispensable tool, and one that makes you easier to insert into the new way of watching video on television without discarding your physical media, rather than saving your content, in a single file, Congratulations to the developers!

Review by Diego Souza on Sep 27, 2019 Version: 1.14.4 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 9/10




Rating by Forrest Gump on Aug 21, 2019 Version: 1.14.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent software. I noticed in other reviews that the latest product key is issued for free by the developer on their official Forum (in a thread under the Announcements section).

It works perfectly for doing straight forward Blu-ray backups. I've just used it with 2 Blu-ray discs which aren't encrypted, and I'm now left with 2 .MKV files, fully chapter'd, without transcoding(!) and it plays perfectly in MPC-HC. I used an exclamation mark for the no-transcode design because it means I have a 1:1 flawless quality reproduction, and it drastically reduces conversion time too. Obviously the resulting file size is 'massive' as a result but who doesn't have terabytes of space these days for files coming in at 10-20GB a piece.

It's honestly amazing how such a light-weight, simple but effective piece of software is created for free (at least for now) by the developer who has surely invested over a hundred hours into this. My hat's off to him.


Review by James on Aug 2, 2019 Version: 1.14.4 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I ended up buying the program as it "just works" I used the free version updating the rego code as per instructions for years, finally thought maybe I should support the author and I bought a permanent license. Absolutely no problems with it and I have transferred all my Blu Ray and DVD's to MKV and loaded them onto my NAS. I reckon anyone who has a problem with getting it work hasn't read or more to the point comprehended the instructions.

Review by netmask56 on Mar 8, 2019 Version: 1.14.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@Bob
MakeMKV is FREE* whilst in beta. And it's been in "beta" for years.
*Temporary keys are continuously provided by the developer on the forum when the current one expires.
As such, there is no need to purchase anything so technically MakeMKV is free.
If the program ever makes it out of "beta" (which is doubtful) the DVD capabilities will remain free of charge.


Review by mike20021969 on Feb 28, 2019 Version: 1.14.2β OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




So, how is this a FREEWARE if it costs $50? There's not way to install only DVD version (without Bluray functionality) because there isn't DVD-only version, as some people state here. Any comments on this convoluted word-game crap? ;-)))

Review by Bob on Feb 28, 2019 Version: 1.14.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 7/10




Cube799 did you download the hashed keys and put them in makemkv dir i dont have any problems

Review by makemkvuser on Dec 10, 2018 Version: 1.14.2 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've been using this for quite a while and liked it, Until I bought a 4k Blu-Ray drive!!! Went through all the trouble of downgrading it to see if MakeMKV would rip with it, But it Didn't! Though I had downgraded the Drive Wrong, but I Hadn't! I Tried to rip The 4K Disk with The trial Version of DVDFAB and it worked!! I don't understand why DvdFab works with my Drive, but Not MakeMKV?!

Review by Cube799 on Nov 25, 2018 Version: 1.14.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Rating only.

Review by HemLok on Nov 8, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




IsoBuster Serial Keyrks. Start up IsoBuster, Insert a circle, select the drive (if not chosen as of now) and let IsoBuster mount the media. IsoBuster instantly demonstrates to all of you the tracks and sessions situated on the media, joined with all document frameworks that are available.
Along these lines, you get simple to access, much the same as Windows Explorer, to every one of the records and envelopes per document framework. Rather than being restricted to one document framework that the OS picks for you, you approach "the entire picture". Access information from more established sessions, get to information that your OS (e.g. Windows) does not see or avoids you and so on.


Review by mehfooz on Sep 29, 2018 Version: 1.12.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by ZORRO on Aug 7, 2018 Version: 1708 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by ZORRO on Aug 7, 2018 Version: 1708 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by b on Aug 5, 2018 Version: 7 OS: Windows 8 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by a on Aug 5, 2018 Version: 1810 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by p on Aug 5, 2018 Version: 7 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is STILL free after nearly 10 years. There is no trial version vs full version, just the beta version still. Someday the software will move from beta to production but most probably NOT. I've owned this software after using it for 5 years with only very few issues, one issue with closed captions and a few DVDS won't copy correctly(about 1-2% of them). I felt I wanted to support MakeMKV for their great work so I bought it.

This is a great DVD/Blueray ripper. It will rip your dvd or blueray but don't confuse it with re-encoding. Used with Handbrake (also free) for re-encoding and you have everything you need. For the few DVDs that I've had issues with closed captions using Handbrake with the libdvdcss have worked fine.


Review by Dave m. on Jul 1, 2018 Version: 1.1.12 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by fronkenstoyn on Jun 14, 2018 Version: 1.12.2 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by fronkenstoyn on Jun 14, 2018 Version: 1.12.2 Beta OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by VidiMini on Mar 17, 2018 Version: 1.12.0 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




Rating by papa on Jan 30, 2018 Version: 1.10.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by opiWANken on Jan 25, 2018 Version: 1.10.09 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by jordoncomp on Nov 14, 2017 Version: 1.10.7 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by AdamCatalyst on Oct 6, 2017 Version: 1.10.7 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Great program!
I'm backing up my entire DVD and Blu-ray collection and giving it some hammer. It hasn't tripped up once in a 100+ discs so far.
I sometimes override its selection of subtitles and extras, but if you're not fussy, it's click 'n' go.


Review by AlanC on Sep 4, 2017 Version: MakeMKV 1.10.6 Beta OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Been using since 2009 with great results. Author always monitors forums and replys quickly. Best $50 I've spent software wise

Review by dannyboy48888 on Mar 26, 2017 Version: 1.10 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is a great program, I bought the key a long time ago and haven't had any key problems. I have used it on Windows and various versions of Linux. It is the only thing I have found that will De-crypt and rip a Blu-Ray in Linux. It will rip the whole BD to your Hard drive also.

Review by n8tvm on Feb 17, 2017 Version: 1.10.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




I am curious why this is still in Beta after so long. Works ok once the author posts a key to use.

Review by ron spencer on Sep 11, 2016 Version: 1.10.2 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Great product when it works, but latest version is expired and there is no new key posted.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Jun 8, 2016 Version: 1.9.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




Great piece of software. I went ahead and bought a key a long time ago so I haven't had any of the Problems with key that have been poster here. It also works on Linux which I have a dual boot setup Windows/Linux Mint.

Review by n8tvm on Feb 24, 2016 Version: 1.9.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Wonderful piece of software.

Review by iohanntachy on Oct 29, 2015 Version: 1.9.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@ RLT69: I was/am aware of that. That's why I posted link to the 'makemkv.com website down?' thread. I did clean install of MakeMKV v. 1.9.6 on new system and ripping of DVDs worked without any problems. I don't have a Blu-Ray drive, but one of the forum members confirmed he had problems with BDs. So maybe MakeMKV downloads some additional data needed to rip them? Anyway I have no clue what caused problems for some people, but not for me.

Anyway www.makemkv.com is back on, plus we can enjoy new 1.9.7 version of our favourite program :-)


Review by AllisOne on Oct 4, 2015 Version: 1.9.7 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@AllisOn Obviously you are not aware that the latest version (1.9.6) is not working. When you run it it says it has expired. Hence why EVERYONE is asking for a new key. The current beta key which is suppose to be good through November DOES NOT WORK. In fact it's September's key. So a new key needs to be posted. If you bothered to check the forums you would see what has been going on.

To get the program to work you need an earlier version and need to set your system clock back a month or so.


Review by RLT69 on Oct 4, 2015 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I've re-downloaded the newest 1.9.6 version and I'm not able to rip a blu-ray because it says the evaluation period is over even while saying the version expires on 12-23-15

Review by ronson10 on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@ Spitfire63: as long as MakeMKV is in beta stage, you just download and install the newest version. The key is included. Only in rare occasions you need to look for it. The link to the newest is right in front of your eyes under 'Download MakeMKV 1.9.6 Beta (direct link)' - http://www.videohelp.com/download/Setup_MakeMKV_v1.9.6.exe .
Or here: http://www.download3k.com/Install-MakeMKV.html (and no, you don't need to pay 50$, 'cos it's still beta)

The program's website is down at the moment, but you can check this thread: http://forum.videohelp.com/threads/374502-makemkv-com-website-down


Review by AllisOne on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.6.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Does anyone have the key for the latest version 1.9.6. I was able to download the software from a mirror but the MakeMKV website is down and I can't retrieve the key.

Review by skids48 on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Where do I find the 1.9.6 MakeMKV beta key that expires in Dec?

Review by Spitfire63 on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Yes, the web site is down, which is concerning. I installed 1.9.6 yesterday and it does not expire until December 23rd. Hopefully the web site will come back before then.

Review by V1de0Luvr on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.9.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




...wonderful piece of software to enable me to get home videos onto a tablet. It doesn't work now, though, as I cannot renew the key because makemkv.com is not available! The website is down!

Review by josephandrews222 on Oct 3, 2015 Version: 1.9.5 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




What a great tool. Please update for OSX 10.10 when possible. It would be great if there were an option for target file size encoding. Thanks for a great product, it never fails me, I just have to use HandBrake to compress larger titles. I would love to see this built into MakeMKV but we can't have it all I suppose.

Review by crjackson on Aug 19, 2014 Version: 1.8.9 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




From MakeMKV forum:
As stated on a main page all features of MakeMKV are free while program is in beta. You may purchase the full activation key if you like the program and want to show your support, but you also may use the temporary beta key.

The current beta key is

T-5o_eC30IouHhhcMhc7zCTYBADWLqlYWayIs2ahFAuN8YCHEu5sqxf@mfQA96autdEw

and is valid until end of July 2014. Please check back for updated key on this page.

http://www.makemkv.com/forum2/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=1053


Review by AllisOne on Jun 16, 2014 Version: 1.8.10 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very impressive. I have been using AnyDVD for most rips but when I came across an Academy Screener which had numerous bogus movie files to thwart such rippage, MakeMKV made short work of it.

I am a new fan.


Review by spudbone on Jan 3, 2014 Version: beta OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Awesome tool for taking dvds and blurays and putting them into a workable container. Any problems i have had mike has been quick to respond to. Definatly worth the 50 dollars for life as it is the only linux solution that works consistantly

Review by dannyboy48888 on Sep 4, 2013 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Here's a feature that should be mentioned. I had several MKV files that would not play with my stand alone BR player. I loaded them into MakeMKV and it made them compatible with my device. A a gig mkv file took less than a minute to clean up. Of course it does much more.

Review by danzeb on Sep 2, 2013 Version: 1.8.4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent tool! Splits vob file sets into mkv episodes based on the .IFO file.

MakeMKV deserves some monetary love!


Review by flinkq on Jul 24, 2013 Version: 1.8.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




@kukkamies

Although the DVD part MakeMKV is always FREE.


Review by mike20021969 on Apr 23, 2013 Version: 1.8.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Pretty ok software to rip bluray to mkv. It NOT freeware though as site says. It is shareware and the software says that when using it. It only gives 30 days of "free use".

Definitely would use it longer if it were freeware (donation option, vink vink) but 50 euros is way too expensive for me considering there are free alternatives like bdtoavchd or mkvtoolnix that are able to do the same.


Review by kukkamies on Apr 23, 2013 Version: 1.8.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




It Rips any kind of Blu-ray movies, like a new movie that just came out.

Review by 2F2E on Aug 1, 2012 Version: 1.76 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




It does work but why pay $70 when there are freeware tools (ClownBD, Blu2mkv) that will rip a blu-ray to MKV? It's menu option is primitive too compared with the freeware alternatives.

The thing you're paying for is the BD decryption, but if you have a subscription to AnyDVD HD or its equivalent in the DVD Fab market then that will will decrypt for you plus many other things too. MakeMKV just makes MKV's and thats that. It won't even compress for you.

Conclusion: too limited for the money. Avoid.


Review by Chug a Bug on May 2, 2012 Version: 1.7.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




The easiest tool I have used so far. Drop the Blu-ray in the tray, select the right video track, audio track and subtitle and click on save.

The only draw back it has is that it does not compress the source video. Not sure if that is a draw back to some, but for me, I want to have quality and space. I cannot have 40 GB mkv files for every blu-ray title I buy. 5 to 10 GB is acceptable.

So once I have ripped the mkv, I use FreeMake Video converter to compress the file further. Since freeMake video converter does not run under Linux, I have Windows-7 running under VirtualBox and since I have my folders auto-mounted to VirtualBox, I can kickoff the conversion from my Windows without delay.

I tried using Handbrake to compress the mkv, but it does not even come close to what FreeMake Video Converter can do.


Review by ggr on Mar 31, 2012 Version: 1.7.3 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Is perfect for making non compressed MKVs from Bluray disc.

Great while its free. $70 to buy though, is just ludicrous.


Review by joe bananas on Jan 7, 2012 Version: 1.7.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The 1.6.10 version is great! I convert my dvd to mkv without loose audio or video quality and play in my Samsung BD player C5500 or my tv Samsung UD40C6900.
Unfortunately, the version 1.6.11 (or higher) generate MKV files that doesn't can be seek in my Samsung devices. So, I recommend the 1.6.10 version if you intent to play your MKV files also in stand alone player or tvs.


Review by cairano on Sep 3, 2011 Version: 1.6.10 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Notice that the direct and mirror links point to windows version of the application.
Either this needs to be indicated or additional links put in.

As for use, have tried it a couple of times and it works like a charm. No, it doesn't transcode, it simply transfers and then you can do with the file what you want.


Review by jhprelude on Aug 7, 2011 Version: 1.6.12 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 8/10




I wouldn't pay for this at all! When converting not all the VOBs will synchronize properly with some movies. Most cases the first vob converting may sync the audio and video together but when the second + VOBs goto merge they will throw the sync off! I'm still using DVD FAB to convert MKVs which also has a sync problem with certain movies like "The X Files: I want to believe" is really out of sync when converting to MKV with both programs that I mentioned!

Review by dvdsham on Feb 17, 2011 Version: 1.6.4 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 6/10




Easy to use tools, puts all the subtitles and chapters in the MKV file.

Review by Big Bob on Dec 29, 2010 Version: 1.6.3 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




I really like this program alot. I have used several different programs HOWEVER I think MakeMKV is by far the best. It could be the DVDSHRINK of BluRay. It literally has the ability to rip just the MEAT of a Blu Ray right into a MKV container. FREAKIN BRILLIANT. MKV to MKV is by far easir to convert. I was using Slysoft to RIP my BR's. I now only use SLYSOFT running in the background if I come across a BR MAKEMKV cant handle. I also used to use RIPBOT which did work but was a pain in the butt to get rolling. I now have gone back to using HandBrake which I LOVE esp. for 720 mkv conversion. My only complaint??? the price.....for now the program is free via beta however down the line it looks like they will be asking $50, I know I will end up paying it. HOWEVER I think for $25 a pop they would get a lot more people willing to cash out sooner rather than later..GODSPEED MAKERS OF MAKEMKV and GOOD LUCK!!!

Review by servocrow on Oct 21, 2010 Version: 1.6.2. OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Cracking tool been using since version 1.4 haven't had a Blu-ray or DVD that it can't rip. worth every penny

Review by garryward on Sep 18, 2010 Version: 1.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




..I agree they should be compensated--I'm just stating that going to their web site the price was now $50 after the trial to keep the mkv function for bluray.Yes its trialware now.I just think its a bit excessive for a program that still has issues---and when there are other "free" proven and even "pay" alternatives that don't cost as much..And I do have a life..But I guess in your world no one is entitled to an opinion other than yours!..

Review by headhunter03 on Feb 3, 2010 Version: 1.1.12 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 8/10




It is not $50...come on...still beta...even about box says so..why buy when beta LOL!!!

Review by ron spencer on Feb 2, 2010 Version: 1.4.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




"Now they want to charge $50"
Yes and programmers should not expect compensation for the many hours they put into their softwares. Everything should be handed out free on a silver platter to you.
Get a Life !!!!!


Review by zenzen1 on Feb 2, 2010 Version: 1.4.12 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This was a good program when it was free..Now they want to charge $50 to make mkv files from blu ray--No thanks..I'll just keep using free tools to demux and remux with megui...

Review by headhunter03 on Feb 2, 2010 Version: 1.4.12 OS: Vista Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




MakeMKV has helped me a lot lately. Easy to use with great results.

Review by bits on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 1.4.10 beta OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excelent tool, to watch dvd in mkv format and in my case, put spanish subs.

Thanks a lot


Review by jorgecmn on Dec 30, 2009 Version: 1.4.10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Very useful to remove css protection.

Review by giuliojiang on Dec 28, 2009 Version: 1.4.9 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great works fine with dvds's good for making one file with the main movie and the DVD features. Also very fast and no stability problems.

Review by loster on Nov 27, 2009 Version: 1.4.8 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




THE ***PERFECT*** tools for make backup of bluray with no compression and play on the western Digital tv !!! Tanks !

Review by miss on Nov 23, 2009 Version: last OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Used it this weekend to backup a few new BDs. I had been using DumpHD previously but recently have many disks for which AACSKEYS has not worked.
Ripped three movies to disk and then De-MUXd with tsmuxer and had to convert DTS to AC3 for playback on PS3 then re-mux to my starage server. Very useful tool. Just worked perfectly.


Review by mshilly on Sep 8, 2009 Version: 1.4.6 Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool. this tool should be add in the blue-ray decrypting categorie since it can decrypt some blue-rays (but not BD+ ones). this is my solution for blue-ray re-encoding: I use MakeMKV to rip then handbrake for re-encoding. Very nice app, very simple.

Review by herbapou on Mar 23, 2009 Version: v1,3 797 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Remember the vob to mpg tool? This works just like it--M2ts to MKV-No compression-Backing up blu ray I had to rip disc to drive-Open tsmuxer-remux to ts after stripping what I didn't want--Then load to megui where I was getting about 6FPS..This tool, I rip the main movie to the drive-(It separates the main movie from the extras) Create my AVS script with megui and go---My only dislike was I was unable to open remuxed m2ts files created with tsmuxer in blu-ray format folder. Other than that, this prog works, and definitely cuts out a few steps for me! 2 thumbs up!

Review by headhunter03 on Jan 9, 2009 Version: 1.01 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


99 reviews, Showing 1 to 99 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com