Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for MPEG Validator

4 reviews, Showing 1 to 4 reviews


This program is great, except it does not handle I frame only video due to a divide by zero error when it detects 0 B frames. THe report stops there but is valid up to that point.

I was able to fix another problem by running (on WinXP) in Win2000 compatibility mode. Before I did that, it would not load a file after the first one, you'd have to restart.

You don't have to worry about the .ini file and failure messages if you are only looking for information about a file. The .ini file is useful if you want to set up a go/no go test to see if files conform to a very specific setr of parameters as defined by the .ini file.


Review by bradc360 on May 30, 2008 Version: 1.4.0.131 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Im planning to make an upgrade to this tool so Im collecting your new features request and general comments about it. Please send it to goc_01@yahoo.com.ar

THX

Gabriel


Review by gabrielgoc on Aug 14, 2006 Version: 1.4.0.131 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 4/10




[Jan 2005]
While this program doesn't actually validate your MPEGs (it even "failed" a compliant .VOB file*), the amount of info it gives you makes it a much better program than any of the other files listed at videohelp.com under "Video Identifiers".

*(note that it can process VOB files in addition to MPEG files!)

First, it actually takes the time to analyze your file (and this is done relatively quickly).

Then, in addition to the standard info (resolution, frames per second, etc.), it tells you, for example, whether your source file is interlaced or not, average bit rate, peak bit rate, frame info, detailed stream type (e.g. "Stream Type = MPEG-2 MP@ML VBR"), chroma format, detailed GOP data, and so on. Plus it has equally detailed info for the Audio stream, including a very nice graphical bit rate analyzer (bit rate chart).

[ This part of the program is an excellent graphic representaiton of data, beating other aps like 'DVD Bit Rate Viewer' hands down.
See http://www.lyberty.com/mediatech/format-check.htm for a screen shot.]

Sure, the info could have been arranged more nicely, but then the designer would have to decide what info NOT to show you (See, for example, VideoInspector).

Personally, I'd much rather have an accurate average bit-rate value than a user interface.
(A common problem with the "prettier" programs is that they were designed for AVI files, and frequently give inaccurate
bit rate info.)

For getting file data, I'd recommend this program over GSpot, DVD Patcher, MPEG Identifier, etc.

If anyone know of another program that gives as much data AND gives accurate average bit rate info, I'd like to know what it is....

I'd also recommend that the Program Author put up a Donate button on his web page, as this program is definitely worth
at least a couple of bucks (I'd probably pay $5 to $8 for it.) If it could check


Review by lyberty on Jan 23, 2005 Version: 1.4.0.131 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




The name is a bit of a misnomer. If your file has an .ac3 track, this tool judges it invalid. It's also set up only for PAL. (It judges a 29.97 frame rate and 480 frame height as wrong.) You can modify the .ini file for NTSC, but it still judges the field order wrong. Every file I threw at MPEG Validator *FAILED* its test. These are files created with the default settings in TMPGEnc. To be fair, this tool does provide some useful information, but its interface is very crude.

Review by Velcro Face on Nov 13, 2004 Version: 1.4.0.131 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10


4 reviews, Showing 1 to 4 reviews
Visit our sponsors! Try DVDFab and backup Blu-rays!
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2023 videohelp.com