Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoHD and convert all your movies to Blu-ray or HD Video. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
MKV Cutter is a tool to cut h.264 mkv files frame accurate. Cut out mkv video clips exactly without reconverting the entire video. Since it's an ALPHA version it has some major shortcomings.

6.6/10
17 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

MKV Cutter screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

20170625 (June 25, 2017)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download MKV Cutter 20170625  32MB  Win  Portable




Download old versions


Download MKV Cutter old versions



Software License

Freeware (Free download!)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


update 2017.06.25: MKV Cutter should now be able to mkvs with non constant time code differences (vfr content).


View full changelog




All features


Limitations:

Since it's a alpha version and I really only look at it from time to time it has some major shortcomings.
It only properly supports progressive, constant frame rate H.264 content
it has an ugly user-interface
it does not come with any bells&whistles
x264 encoding is very rudimentary (no user choice, always crf 21 encode)
ignores subtitles if present
Windows OS only atm. (mainly because Avisynth is used for decoding and preview; in theory ffmpeg could be used as alternative so porting to Linux&Co should be possible)


Here's a general overview how MKVCutter works:

analyze content with MKVInfo (to get the key frame positions)
analyze content with MediaInfo (to get some general data needed for audio reencoding and preview)
create AvisynthSkript to preview the content (simple script that calls FFVideoSource on the input)
let user set which parts of the content he wants
create audio and video cut lists for mkvmerge, create trim calls
let user set the output name and the temp folder
call mkvmerge with the video cut lists to create a bunch of temporary files (here the cuts are always on key frames)
analyze one of the not reencoded parts with h264_parse to improve compatibility
create avisynth scripts using the trim calls and LWLibAVSource to decode the GOPs that need reencoding (smart rendering)
create x264 call to reencode the content provided by the avisynth scripts
call x264 to reencode
when all GOPs that need to be reencoded are reencoded, call mkvmerge to cut the audio (here attachments, subtitles&co do not get disabled any therefore should still be available)
merge the new audio video and all the reencoded and kept GOPs




Sections/Browse similar tools






Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

Selur MKV Cutter, MKVCutter



Download MKV Cutter Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by tom42 on Jul 7, 2019 Version: 20190120 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Would be nice if you could actually find the mkv cutter gui or whatever to initiate the program as it is not in the zip file after extraction. Useless tool without it!

Review by Bobby on Jan 29, 2019 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a really fantastic tool. Finally an easy and accurate way to trim MKV files outside of MKVToolNix, which I could never trim the way I wanted before. It was never accurate. I've never had a problem with it at all but is this not being updated anymore? It would be a real shame if that was the case.

Thank you for this!


Review by Jim on Oct 28, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Jim on Oct 28, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Latest version 20170625 has problems cutting and merging videos encoded with H.265. The description only mentions H.264, but MKV Cutter does read and play H.265 videos. Cutting and merging H.265 is hit or miss, and the program crashes every time.

Review by ron on Apr 13, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I've rated this application very low. Audio is out of sync not matter what I do, mp2 aac ac3 it's all aout of sync. When recoding parts of the videostream the audio needs to be recodes as wel and I think that's what causes the sync issues.
Navigating through a video is arkward to say the least, to me this appocation is useless


Review by Bonnevue on Mar 23, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Bonnevue on Mar 19, 2018 Version: 2017625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If you are using Windows 7, please note that you have to be at least on SP1 before trying to use the program. If not, the program will give you the "api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing" error. To fix this you can check: https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0-dll-missing-error-solved
I had to upgrade my system first and install Visual Studio 2015 for it to work. Installing Windows 7 (KB2999226) also helps.

The program itself looks pretty simple. However, instead of "Open Source" maybe a more UI friendly "Open File" would have been better. I suggest also calling the lower part like a "Status" window or something. I thought you had to manually edit the scripts at first.

I tried opening a simple 300mb-ish 720p file just to see how it works and boy did the MkvInfoAnalyser took its sweet time loading. Opening a 1gb+ 1080p file might take even longer. ugh

Once it finally loads, just move the slider and select the desired start and end frames. You can use arrow buttons too.
Press Add to cut-list then commit cut-list when you finally have selected all the parts you want.
It will then tell you to select an Output and Temp folder which you can do so by pressing the buttons on the top right side. However it would have been better if you could just select it prior to pressing the commit button. And the placement of the instruction and the buttons doesn't help at all. It also doesn't take the name of the file as a default name so you have to specify the output name yourself. I think the program should also automatically choose the main drive temp folder and do it there instead of user having to manually specify it.
After pressing next, let the scripts do their thing. The "hopefully it created" the file message in the end doesn't sound reassuring. But thankfully it did cut the part I want precisely so that's good.

Note:
The test file I used has an AVC video stream and AAC audio stream which seemed just fine. However, the program was not able to cut an mkv with HEVC video stream and FLAC audio stream (BD) file.

Overall:
The program is great if you know what you're doing. It can certainly use a lot more UI improvements.
It's far better than MKVSplitter in terms of accuracy. But still far from being the equivalent of mp4 "Smart Cutter" when it comes to mkv files.


Review by evile1690 on Mar 17, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Does exactly what I need it do, don't know how I didn't find this earlier

I have been using a free editor which worked very well until they made it a paid program to keep the format instead of re-encoding
but that doesn't work anywhere as well as this program does

Once again

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you very much for this program I have tried a heap of different ones and this is the best one I have used


Review by cyb3rr4t on Dec 12, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this tool, I use it for nearly everything I download to remove station bumpers (looking at you Fox and AMC) and trim the "previously on" sections for shows I constantly rewatch (looking at you Lost, Chuck, etc).

My ONLY complaint is that I've noticed if I use a video with an apostrophe, it either crashes or fails. Just a minor annoyance that I catch most of the time, but every once and a while I miss and it throws me for a loop.


Review by richandwhite on Dec 4, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have some problem:

x264 call: "H:\PortableApps\PortableApps\MkvCutter\x264.exe" --profile main --level ain --tff --ref 1 --bframes 0 --weightp 0 --min-keyint 3 --keyint 13 --stitchable --non-deterministic --thread-input --crf 19 --demuxer avs --fps 5000000/100000 --sar 16:15 -o "D:\\test_reencode.264" "D:\\test.avs"
x264 [error]: invalid argument: level = ain


Review by Ogrish on Aug 20, 2017 Version: MKV Cutter 20170625 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is truly a great tool and a much needed one, while most developers charge big bucks for tools like these, this one here is completely free, it's very basic right now and it's definitely missing a decent gui but it works (almost all the time) even where other tools fail. That's why I think this tool is great to cut my videos, I really hope that the developer will continue working on it and improving it, because it has a lot of potential. Keep it up!

Review by pandachinoman on Aug 10, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Cut a H.264 file at ANY frame, not just keyframes. Pretty basic and even saves on an "import file" button during the workflow, but it does its job! Hope that the developer will bring it on Mac OS X and expands the functionality a bit. One factor I miss the most is doing several cut-outs in a single workflow. If the program will be able to communicate or at least read cutlists from cutlist.at to support OnlineTVrecorder, I will invite him for dinner :)

Review by Milan on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 20160425 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




The last version has problems cutting near the end of the video. It won't let me cut!

"MkvMerge output: Error: Invalid start frame/field number. The start number must be bigger than or equal to the previous part's end number."

Very frustrating.


Review by samsonite on Feb 8, 2017 Version: 20160522 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




It's all about ACCURATE SYNC (video + audio), and if we are working with a large amount of MKV parts (or files) to cut, isn't it obvious that WE NEED a Play/Pause button in order to achieve the final results SOONER (this year) and not the next one?!
Please, ADD to your next verion of MKVCutter, a Play/Pause button, and maybe a way to HEAR the sound from the MKV file we need to work with!
Thanks!


Review by exetreezz on Nov 18, 2015 Version: MKVCutter 20151112 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 7/10




OMG, it successed to cut a mkv file that my old tool did not do !
i keep that free software in my pocket !


Review by Michael REMY on Oct 4, 2015 Version: 20150717 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Used MKV Cutter to repair a file that started off ok then lost sync in the second half.
Selected part 1 (the good part) and saved it in a cut list and let MKV Cutter process it.
Restarted MKV Cutter and selected part 2 (I selected the first frame after the previous cut end frame as the new start point)and processed as above.
Opened part 2 in MKV Merge and output a new part 2 with the correct the audio delay.
Then merged part 1 with the new part 2.
Only recoding was at the cut points of the original files.
The GUI is rudimentary, but it gets the job done.
I found the author to be responsive and helpful.


Review by sambat on May 19, 2014 Version: 20131107 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com