Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for MKV Cutter

27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews


Rating by carreti on Jul 16, 2022 Version: 20190123 OS: Windows 11 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Jonibhoni on Oct 30, 2021 Version: 20190123 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I used this software since 2015 for cutting and censorship purpose, hard to use at the first time, but after I figure out everything about this software, I know this is the best one until now.

Review by Ryan Zeus on May 9, 2021 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Worst software, keep crashing.

Review by ravi on Feb 14, 2021 Version: 2.0 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




After opening MkvCutter.exe, it took a couple moments for my brain to understand what it was looking at. Once I figured it out, the process for splitting a 4.2 GB MKV file into eight ~500 MB chunks was pretty painless -- and the resulting output files worked perfectly, with one exception. (For some reason, the last file [e.g. from keyframe 350000 to 393495] had no audio, but because the program shows a log of everything it does, I was able to edit one of the generated .txt files and reissue the logged command to generate a good 8th file.)

I am grateful that the author created this software and allows people to use it for free. With a little UI help and a bit of testing, this software could easily go from Pretty Good to Excellent. Thanks again!


Review by LorettoDave on Feb 6, 2021 Version: r20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Works incredibly well. I've been cutting videos that had two episodes in one file in half. No re-enconding required.

Review by miguel497 on Jul 18, 2020 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by miguel497 on Jul 18, 2020 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Software wont open at all, totally useless, tried in three different computers.

Review by spersper on Jul 8, 2020 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




It took me a while to find a software that does lossless cutting exactly as promised. This cutter is brilliant! Please continue to support and develop it into something even better like support more containers.

Review by tommy2010 on Jun 22, 2020 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




The one thing I have found, when ever you cut a video, you loose all your chapter & tags from the video. Though this may not be a real big deal. But is something that can be fixed to bring a better build for MKV Cutter

Review by Crash on May 21, 2020 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




Rating by tom42 on Jul 7, 2019 Version: 20190120 OS: WinXP 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Would be nice if you could actually find the mkv cutter gui or whatever to initiate the program as it is not in the zip file after extraction. Useless tool without it!

Review by Bobby on Jan 29, 2019 Version: latest OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




This is a really fantastic tool. Finally an easy and accurate way to trim MKV files outside of MKVToolNix, which I could never trim the way I wanted before. It was never accurate. I've never had a problem with it at all but is this not being updated anymore? It would be a real shame if that was the case.

Thank you for this!


Review by Jim on Oct 28, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Rating by Jim on Oct 28, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Latest version 20170625 has problems cutting and merging videos encoded with H.265. The description only mentions H.264, but MKV Cutter does read and play H.265 videos. Cutting and merging H.265 is hit or miss, and the program crashes every time.

Review by ron on Apr 13, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




I've rated this application very low. Audio is out of sync not matter what I do, mp2 aac ac3 it's all aout of sync. When recoding parts of the videostream the audio needs to be recodes as wel and I think that's what causes the sync issues.
Navigating through a video is arkward to say the least, to me this appocation is useless


Review by Bonnevue on Mar 23, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Rating by Bonnevue on Mar 19, 2018 Version: 2017625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 2/10 Functionality: 3/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




If you are using Windows 7, please note that you have to be at least on SP1 before trying to use the program. If not, the program will give you the "api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll is missing" error. To fix this you can check: https://www.drivereasy.com/knowledge/api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0-dll-missing-error-solved
I had to upgrade my system first and install Visual Studio 2015 for it to work. Installing Windows 7 (KB2999226) also helps.

The program itself looks pretty simple. However, instead of "Open Source" maybe a more UI friendly "Open File" would have been better. I suggest also calling the lower part like a "Status" window or something. I thought you had to manually edit the scripts at first.

I tried opening a simple 300mb-ish 720p file just to see how it works and boy did the MkvInfoAnalyser took its sweet time loading. Opening a 1gb+ 1080p file might take even longer. ugh

Once it finally loads, just move the slider and select the desired start and end frames. You can use arrow buttons too.
Press Add to cut-list then commit cut-list when you finally have selected all the parts you want.
It will then tell you to select an Output and Temp folder which you can do so by pressing the buttons on the top right side. However it would have been better if you could just select it prior to pressing the commit button. And the placement of the instruction and the buttons doesn't help at all. It also doesn't take the name of the file as a default name so you have to specify the output name yourself. I think the program should also automatically choose the main drive temp folder and do it there instead of user having to manually specify it.
After pressing next, let the scripts do their thing. The "hopefully it created" the file message in the end doesn't sound reassuring. But thankfully it did cut the part I want precisely so that's good.

Note:
The test file I used has an AVC video stream and AAC audio stream which seemed just fine. However, the program was not able to cut an mkv with HEVC video stream and FLAC audio stream (BD) file.

Overall:
The program is great if you know what you're doing. It can certainly use a lot more UI improvements.
It's far better than MKVSplitter in terms of accuracy. But still far from being the equivalent of mp4 "Smart Cutter" when it comes to mkv files.


Review by evile1690 on Mar 17, 2018 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 5/10




AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Does exactly what I need it do, don't know how I didn't find this earlier

I have been using a free editor which worked very well until they made it a paid program to keep the format instead of re-encoding
but that doesn't work anywhere as well as this program does

Once again

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you very much for this program I have tried a heap of different ones and this is the best one I have used


Review by cyb3rr4t on Dec 12, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I love this tool, I use it for nearly everything I download to remove station bumpers (looking at you Fox and AMC) and trim the "previously on" sections for shows I constantly rewatch (looking at you Lost, Chuck, etc).

My ONLY complaint is that I've noticed if I use a video with an apostrophe, it either crashes or fails. Just a minor annoyance that I catch most of the time, but every once and a while I miss and it throws me for a loop.


Review by richandwhite on Dec 4, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have some problem:

x264 call: "H:\PortableApps\PortableApps\MkvCutter\x264.exe" --profile main --level ain --tff --ref 1 --bframes 0 --weightp 0 --min-keyint 3 --keyint 13 --stitchable --non-deterministic --thread-input --crf 19 --demuxer avs --fps 5000000/100000 --sar 16:15 -o "D:\\test_reencode.264" "D:\\test.avs"
x264 [error]: invalid argument: level = ain


Review by Ogrish on Aug 20, 2017 Version: MKV Cutter 20170625 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




This is truly a great tool and a much needed one, while most developers charge big bucks for tools like these, this one here is completely free, it's very basic right now and it's definitely missing a decent gui but it works (almost all the time) even where other tools fail. That's why I think this tool is great to cut my videos, I really hope that the developer will continue working on it and improving it, because it has a lot of potential. Keep it up!

Review by pandachinoman on Aug 10, 2017 Version: 20170625 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Cut a H.264 file at ANY frame, not just keyframes. Pretty basic and even saves on an "import file" button during the workflow, but it does its job! Hope that the developer will bring it on Mac OS X and expands the functionality a bit. One factor I miss the most is doing several cut-outs in a single workflow. If the program will be able to communicate or at least read cutlists from cutlist.at to support OnlineTVrecorder, I will invite him for dinner :)

Review by Milan on Apr 14, 2017 Version: 20160425 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 6/10




The last version has problems cutting near the end of the video. It won't let me cut!

"MkvMerge output: Error: Invalid start frame/field number. The start number must be bigger than or equal to the previous part's end number."

Very frustrating.


Review by samsonite on Feb 8, 2017 Version: 20160522 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




It's all about ACCURATE SYNC (video + audio), and if we are working with a large amount of MKV parts (or files) to cut, isn't it obvious that WE NEED a Play/Pause button in order to achieve the final results SOONER (this year) and not the next one?!
Please, ADD to your next verion of MKVCutter, a Play/Pause button, and maybe a way to HEAR the sound from the MKV file we need to work with!
Thanks!


Review by exetreezz on Nov 18, 2015 Version: MKVCutter 20151112 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 7/10




OMG, it successed to cut a mkv file that my old tool did not do !
i keep that free software in my pocket !


Review by Michael REMY on Oct 4, 2015 Version: 20150717 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Used MKV Cutter to repair a file that started off ok then lost sync in the second half.
Selected part 1 (the good part) and saved it in a cut list and let MKV Cutter process it.
Restarted MKV Cutter and selected part 2 (I selected the first frame after the previous cut end frame as the new start point)and processed as above.
Opened part 2 in MKV Merge and output a new part 2 with the correct the audio delay.
Then merged part 1 with the new part 2.
Only recoding was at the cut points of the original files.
The GUI is rudimentary, but it gets the job done.
I found the author to be responsive and helpful.


Review by sambat on May 19, 2014 Version: 20131107 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10


27 reviews, Showing 1 to 27 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com