Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for LosslessCut

36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews


I´ve been using Losslesscut for a month believing in reviews that it would just cut without losing original video quality. I was using it to trim VHS captured videos. So I decided to compare some frames from original (captured) VHS video to trimmed using losslesscut. It loses a lot of quality, in both original color and those artifacts that are not in original video. Re-rending process takes more time, but the quality is much better

Review by jdd2000@gmail.com on Aug 10, 2020 Version: 3.23.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 5/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Dion Lima on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 3.23.8 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.



Review by Hitomi on Aug 6, 2020 Version: 3.23.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I don't know why people complain about this freeware. I processed about 50 VHS to mp4 files and used LosslessCut to cut and merge each of these videos into final format. All worked perfectly and very fast, with no quality degradation - unless you need professional level video editing, which comes with a professional price, I highly recommend this product...it's a winner!

Review by Tod on Aug 5, 2020 Version: 3.23.8 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by fd on Jun 28, 2020 Version: 3.22.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Vinayak SP on Jun 12, 2020 Version: 3.23 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As it says in its description "It does not decode / encode" so the cut can only be performed on the keyframe. To penalize with a bad score for not doing what is already information that cannot be done seems incorrect to me.

Review by lamola on May 12, 2020 Version: 3.22.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




When I cut a video, I expect to be able to cut on the exact frame I select, not the closest keyframe or whatever. To me, there is no point otherwise.
"Normal cut" mode is supposed to be frame accurate, like I want it. Unfortunately, it is not working properly. Every video I tried to cut with LosslessCut in "Normal cut" mode, ends up problematic. Playback always freezes for a few seconds when it reaches the cut points. This happens for every cut in every file I test, they all end up faulty.
I hope they will be able to fix it soon (it's been like this since the beginning) because this program has one of the most user friendly and beautiful interfaces I've ever seen and it is really fast. Otherwise, it's totally unsuitable for frame accurate cuts.


Review by Xenos on May 10, 2020 Version: 3.22.3 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 3/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Gustavo Sanchez on Apr 14, 2020 Version: 3.19.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Current version tested BBC iPlayer mp4 Weather for the week ahead audio but no video works fine using Avidemux.

Review by alex 11 on Apr 2, 2020 Version: 3.17.9 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 2/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by facsi on Mar 17, 2020 Version: 3.16.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by yboris on Mar 13, 2020 Version: 3.16.4 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Easy, quick and convenient to use, but trying to use for trim/cut Canon EOS-R Mirrorless DSLR MP4 H.264 Video but ends with error when selecting MP4 output format.


Review by Eric on Mar 9, 2020 Version: 3.16.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 6/10




Works fine if you don't need precision. Despite having two cutting methods, one for keyframes and one for "normal" cuts, it is poor at cutting exactly where you need it. I needed several fast cuts from ~100 videos, and 20 videos into the job I noticed I was losing about 1 second from clips that were 3 or 4 seconds long.

Really frustrating for my purposes.


Review by perktherj on Feb 1, 2020 Version: 2.62 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




There is NO VC-1 codec support in this software.

Review by Abdler on Nov 21, 2019 Version: LosslessCut 2.6.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Needs work on precision. When I put it on the markers, it leaves in 5 second of footage I don't want. Also an option to just cut an intended section out (As in put the marker on a section I don't want, cut that part out then merge the video from there) would be nice. Otherwise it's a good bit of software that nearly hits the mark. Hope the next update uses the suggestions given.

Review by Retro7 on Oct 24, 2019 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 6/10




There are some limitations:
"LosslessCut is based on Chromium and uses the HTML5 video player, not all ffmpeg supported formats will be supported directly"
this means it does not support X265/HEVC or fairly common containers like .avi or .mkv

AviDemux works better for me.


Review by UnknownVT on Oct 14, 2019 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by SPICE on Oct 1, 2019 Version: 2.4.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Without any doubt, it is the super fast cutter ever seen. Ultimate. Hats off..

But there are few bugs in this version

The time timing at the Left and Right Markers are not working, even if we set some value, it is neither getting set, nor the cursor is moving there. Only the left and right markers are working with the Marker arrows and not with the timing. Also when we set the markers, the timing is not getting changed.

When I set a left marker, I am getting the output audio with 5 secs left of the marker set.


Review by Karthik on Sep 1, 2019 Version: v2.4.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Zed on May 10, 2019 Version: 2.2.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Szukałem szybkiego i darmowego programu. Znalazłem. LosslessCut 2.1.0 jest najszybszym z tych które testowałem (około 10 programów). Wyszukuje po klatkach kluczowych. Mogę precyzyjnie ustawić czas. No po prostu bajka! Polecam!

I was looking for a quick and free program. I found. LosslessCut 2.1.0 is the fastest one I've tested (about 10 programs). Searches after key frames. I can set the time precisely. Well, simply a fairy tale! I would recommend!


Review by Marecki on Mar 9, 2019 Version: 2.1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have nothing else to say but it's FREAKIN AMAZIN

Review by PogChamp on Feb 27, 2019 Version: 2.1.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Machete is a far superior and accurate editing too regarding key frame cutting, unfortunately not free. This software still needs a bit of work.

Review by 7of9 on Jan 6, 2019 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Brilliant free software more than adequate for trimming screen recorded TV programmes of commercials mainly at the beginning & end simple & quick.

Review by alex 11 on Jan 4, 2019 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tested the latest version cutting at key frame which should remove just the first portion, key frame to key frame. It was fast but works like ffmpeg on 264 codec. FFprobe reports first frame time is 1.268 which is the amount of freeze frame shown at the beginning when you play it. Needs to at least cut maximum 2 frames before key frame for such as .065983 which is less noticeable or use algorithm that allows first frame to be zero (0.00000)

Review by Budman1 on Dec 15, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Jeff on Nov 23, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by x-Na on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After cutting an AVC video it had about 5 seconds of black before the cut video started so had to cut it earlier to get the video I needed.

Also it just sits at 0% for several minutes before it starts to do anything which is disconcerting. If I hadn't left it to eventually work I would have thought it had frozen and would have abandoned it. This was cutting a 3.5GB section from an 11.5GB video.

Simple and very easy to use but seems to need a bit of work still.


Review by Sally on Oct 15, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Very good work. I searched all web for lossless fast video cut software and i found it :) Thaks a lot.

Review by Mehmet on Jul 14, 2018 Version: 1.12.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Awesome tool! Unequaled for ease of use, efficiency, speed.It puzzles me that non of the video editing softwares (often very expensive) I encountered is capable of doing this! Thanks to the developer for sharing!

Review by stievel on Dec 20, 2017 Version: 1.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I dont get how to use this program?! Where are all of the controls?

Review by abbie on Dec 16, 2017 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just tried it out in Linux. Works fine, very simple and easy to use.

For those that don't know, frame accuracy will never work for stream cutting long GOP formats. Cuts will always need to be made on key-frames. This is common knowledge with ffmpeg.


Review by racer-x on Feb 12, 2017 Version: 1.5 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If it just could cut with frame accuracy would be perfect

Review by TGB on Feb 1, 2017 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




And with version 1.2.1 I'm back to "ffmpeg not found". Version 1.2.0 still working.

Review by videobruger on Nov 9, 2016 Version: 1.2.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Version 1.2.0 works alright.

Review by videobruger on Nov 7, 2016 Version: 1.2.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




"Failed to run ffmpeg ..."

no matter what I try.

ffmpeg.exe (Zeranoe Static build) available in path. Also in lossless-cut.json. No joy.



Review by videobruger on Nov 1, 2016 Version: 1.1.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


36 reviews, Showing 1 to 36 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com