Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Consider supporting us by disable your adblocker or Try ConvertXtoDVD and convert all your movies to DVD. Free trial ! :)

Software Home »


Tool

Description

Type
Rating
Reviews
LosslessCut is a cross platform GUI tool for lossless trimming / cutting of videos using ffmpeg and electron. Great for rough processing of large video files taken from a video camera, drone, etc. Lets you quickly get rid of the useless parts. It doesn't do any decoding / encoding and is therefore very fast and has no quality loss. Also allows for taking JPEG snapshots of the video at the selected time.

Free software
OS: Win Mac Linux
File size: 84MB
Portable version
Old versions
Version history
8.4/10
17 votes
Rate it




Screenshots

LosslessCut screenshot
Click to enlarge screenshot


LosslessCut screenshot 2
Click to enlarge screenshot
Latest version

2.4.0 (August 12, 2019)



Download


Visit developer's site

Download LosslessCut 2.4.0 Windows  84MB  Win  Portable

Download LosslessCut 2.4.0 Windows 64-bit  97MB  Win64  Portable

Download LosslessCut 2.4.0 Mac 64-bit  96MB  Mac64

Download LosslessCut 2.4.0 Linux 64-bit  102MB  Linux64




Download old versions


Download LosslessCut old versions



Software License

Free software / FOSS (Free download and also Free and Open Source Software)



Supported operating systems

WinWindows MacMac OS LinuxLinux




Version history / Release notes / Changelog


v2.4.0

Added
Allow user to select output format to workaround certain issues like #173
Show troubleshooting workarounds when cut fails
Changed
Upgrade ffmpeg to 2.2
Fixed
Fix vulnerabilities

View full changelog




All features


Drag drop a video file into player to load or use /CTRL+O. Select the start and end time and press the scissors button. The original video files will not be modified. Instead it creates a lossless export in the same directory as the original file. Preserves exif data.

Keyboard shortcuts

SPACE Play/pause
Seek backward 1 sec
Seek forward 1 sec
. (period) Tiny seek forward
, (comma) Tiny seek backward
c Capture snapshot (in the same dir as the video)




Sections/Browse similar tools






Alternative to LosslessCut


AviDemux



VidCutter



Virtualdub



Virtualdub-MPEG2



VirtualDub2



VirtualdubMOD







Guides and How to's




Acronyms / Also Known As

losslesscut, Losslesscut, lossless-cut



Download LosslessCut Portable download from the Download links under Download and Download other versions!



Share software

Facebook    Twitter    Reddit    LinkedIn    Pinterest    Google+    Email




Notify me when software updated or report software

Email me when it has been updated    Report this software (dead link/new version)  




17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Zed on May 10, 2019 Version: 2.2.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Szukałem szybkiego i darmowego programu. Znalazłem. LosslessCut 2.1.0 jest najszybszym z tych które testowałem (około 10 programów). Wyszukuje po klatkach kluczowych. Mogę precyzyjnie ustawić czas. No po prostu bajka! Polecam!

I was looking for a quick and free program. I found. LosslessCut 2.1.0 is the fastest one I've tested (about 10 programs). Searches after key frames. I can set the time precisely. Well, simply a fairy tale! I would recommend!


Review by Marecki on Mar 9, 2019 Version: 2.1.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I have nothing else to say but it's FREAKIN AMAZIN

Review by PogChamp on Feb 27, 2019 Version: 2.1.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Machete is a far superior and accurate editing too regarding key frame cutting, unfortunately not free. This software still needs a bit of work.

Review by 7of9 on Jan 6, 2019 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




Brilliant free software more than adequate for trimming screen recorded TV programmes of commercials mainly at the beginning & end simple & quick.

Review by alex 11 on Jan 4, 2019 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Tested the latest version cutting at key frame which should remove just the first portion, key frame to key frame. It was fast but works like ffmpeg on 264 codec. FFprobe reports first frame time is 1.268 which is the amount of freeze frame shown at the beginning when you play it. Needs to at least cut maximum 2 frames before key frame for such as .065983 which is less noticeable or use algorithm that allows first frame to be zero (0.00000)

Review by Budman1 on Dec 15, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Jeff on Nov 23, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by x-Na on Nov 13, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




After cutting an AVC video it had about 5 seconds of black before the cut video started so had to cut it earlier to get the video I needed.

Also it just sits at 0% for several minutes before it starts to do anything which is disconcerting. If I hadn't left it to eventually work I would have thought it had frozen and would have abandoned it. This was cutting a 3.5GB section from an 11.5GB video.

Simple and very easy to use but seems to need a bit of work still.


Review by Sally on Oct 15, 2018 Version: 1.14.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Very good work. I searched all web for lossless fast video cut software and i found it :) Thaks a lot.

Review by Mehmet on Jul 14, 2018 Version: 1.12.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Awesome tool! Unequaled for ease of use, efficiency, speed.It puzzles me that non of the video editing softwares (often very expensive) I encountered is capable of doing this! Thanks to the developer for sharing!

Review by stievel on Dec 20, 2017 Version: 1.9.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I dont get how to use this program?! Where are all of the controls?

Review by abbie on Dec 16, 2017 Version: 1.9 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just tried it out in Linux. Works fine, very simple and easy to use.

For those that don't know, frame accuracy will never work for stream cutting long GOP formats. Cuts will always need to be made on key-frames. This is common knowledge with ffmpeg.


Review by racer-x on Feb 12, 2017 Version: 1.5 OS: Linux Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If it just could cut with frame accuracy would be perfect

Review by TGB on Feb 1, 2017 Version: 1.4 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




And with version 1.2.1 I'm back to "ffmpeg not found". Version 1.2.0 still working.

Review by videobruger on Nov 9, 2016 Version: 1.2.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Version 1.2.0 works alright.

Review by videobruger on Nov 7, 2016 Version: 1.2.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




"Failed to run ffmpeg ..."

no matter what I try.

ffmpeg.exe (Zeranoe Static build) available in path. Also in lossless-cut.json. No joy.



Review by videobruger on Nov 1, 2016 Version: 1.1.0 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10


17 reviews, Showing 1 to 17 reviews

1 tool hits, Showing 1 to 1 tools
   



Explanation:
NEW SOFTWARE= New tool since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version since your last visit
NEW REVIEW= New review since your last visit
NEW VERSION= New version

Latest version
Version number / Beta version number / Update version number and when it whas released.

Type and download
NO MORE UPDATES? = The software hasn't been updated in over 2 years.
NO LONGER DEVELOPED = The software hasn't been updated in over 5 years.
RECENTLY UPDATED = The software has been updated the last 31 days.
Freeware = Download Free software.
Freeware Trialware = Download Free software but some parts are trial/shareware.
Free software = Download Free software and also open source code also known as FOSS (Free and Open Source Software).
Free software Trialware = Download Free software and also open source code but some parts are trial/shareware.
Freeware Ads = Download Free software but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Free software Ads = Free Download software and open source code but supported by advertising, usually with a included browser toolbar. It may be disabled when installing or after installation.
Trialware = Also called shareware or demo. Free Trial version available for download and testing with usually a time limit or limited functions.
Payware = No demo or trial available.
Portable version = A portable/standalone version is available. No installation is required.
v1.0.1 = Latest version available.
Download beta = It could be a Beta, RC(Release Candidate) or an Alpha / Nightly / Unstable version of the software.
Download 15MB = A direct link to the software download.
Win = Windows download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Windows.
Win64 = Windows 64-bit download version. It works only on 64-bit Windows.
Mac = Mac download version. It works on 32-bit and 64-bit Mac OS.
Mac64 = Mac OS download version. It works only on 64-bit Mac OS.
Linux = Linux download version.
Portable = Portable version. No installation is required.
Ad-Supported = The software is bundled with advertising. Be careful when you install the software and disable addons that you don't want!
Visit developers site = A link to the software developer site.
Download (mirror link) = A mirror link to the software download. It may not contain the latest versions.
Download old versions = Free downloads of previous versions of the program.
Download 64-bit version = If you have a 64bit operating system you can download this version.
Download portable version = Portable/Standalone version meaning that no installation is required, just extract the files to a folder and run directly.
Portable version available = Download the portable version and you can just extract the files and run the program without installation.
Old versions available = Download old versions of the program.
Version history available = Complete changelog on our site.
Windows = Windows version available.
Mac OS = Mac OS version available.
Linux = Linux version available.
Our hosted tools are virus and malware scanned with several antivirus programs using www.virustotal.com.


Rating
Rating from 0-10.



Browse software by sections



Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2019 videohelp.com