Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try PlayON and record Netflix, HBO, Hulu etc! Download free trial

Software Home »



All reviews for K-Lite Codec Pack

21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews


No comments. Rating it only.

Review by on Dec 8, 2019 Version: 5.2.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by kipdex on Sep 13, 2019 Version: 15.1.9 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Appy Srinath on Mar 27, 2019 Version: 14.3.0 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great in combination with MPC-HC, MPC-BE, and MadVar.

Review by XQxq on Mar 22, 2019 Version: K-Lite Codec Pack 14.8.7 (Full) OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by zq4u on Mar 21, 2019 Version: K Lite Codec Pack Standard 14.8.4 / Update 14.8.7 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




version 14.8.1 ~ 19.7 MB ~ March 4th 2019 is latest version
https://www.codecguide.com/klcp_update.htm


Review by teodz1984 on Mar 5, 2019 Version: 14.8.1 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by fiona on Aug 14, 2018 Version: 14.3.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




13.82 is the last XP compatible version. Works great in my system without issues.

Review by Fran on Apr 2, 2018 Version: 13.82 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Actually it is now 13.8.0 which is the last XP compatible version as it is tweaked to work fine with it. The standard pack should be enough to meet anyone's needs!

Review by Wilson on Feb 16, 2018 Version: 13.8.0 standard OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Sadly 13.7.5 is now the last version to support the great system xp. The update 13.7.9 won't install on it.

Review by Al on Jan 23, 2018 Version: 13.7.9 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Correction: 13.7.5 contains the 1.7.13 media player which supports xp. The k lite update contains the 1.714 not supporting xp version, yet the update of k lite installed in my xp pro no problem! Whether it vworks we will see! Thanks

Review by Simon on Jan 22, 2018 Version: 13.7.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great codec pack. I've a question though! If newest Media Player Home Classic does not support xp anymore then how come this codec pack still supports and works great in xp with this version of Mphc which if you use separately does not work at all in xp? Is k lite version a special hack? Just very curious!

Review by Simon on Jan 22, 2018 Version: 13.7.9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent software. Never mind what you've heard, K Lite is the best and simplest solution for encoding and playback of multiple file formats. It DOES NOT wreck your PC and is far superior and updated more often and quickly than other packs like the defunct CCCP or Shark. This has been the case for YEARS now. Anyone who says otherwise probably tried it a loooong time ago. The bundled media player handles anything and runs more smoothly than standalone players like VLC, KMP etc. without the bells and whistles, even on a fast PC.

Review by blud7 on Oct 18, 2017 Version: 13.6.0 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by blud7 on Oct 18, 2017 Version: 13.6.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




These codec packs WRECK your system, won't people ever learn? If you must use one then use X Codec Pack, very safe and provides good functionality, or just use ffmegtryout. Better still lav filters which is immensely popular, but use Media Player Classic Home Cinema with everything built in subtitles, lav etc. Anyone with tecchie sense will tell you AVOID codec packs. Period!

Review by Harry on Jul 14, 2017 Version: 13.3.4 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Please Add K-Lite Codec Pack Mega
http://www.codecguide.com/download_k-lite_codec_pack_mega.htm


Review by magsoud on Oct 11, 2016 Version: 12.4.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I really think Videohelp should update their reviews and score. This software deserves more than the rating. All the reviews and ratings are really old and not really applicable anymore.

I have been using KLCP for a couple of years now, and I must say, they have come a long way. I agree that all the old reviews were correct in their time, the software had issues. You used to get somewhat frequent clashes with other software, or crashes or etc. But in the recent times, the software is REALLY stable. Since the past year, I have a hard time remembering the last time I had crashes or issues with the software. They are also probably the only codec pack to update very frequently. That being said, it could be good or bad depending on how you look at it, sometimes latest filters and such might give you problems. I have not personally experienced anything thing in the recent times though.

The installation phase at expert settings is a treat. It gives you so much control over all options (what filters you want to install, file association etc.). Once done, it play pretty much everything you throw at it. Never had any issue with any playbacks. I used to use ffdshow but with the introduction of LAV into KLCP, I switched because I read that LAV was better. The only issue I ever faced was that when playing Darksiders, the cutscenes would skip because KLCP (with LAV) clashes with the game and it ends up getting skipped. A number of people faced that problem, and the only solution seemed to uninstall KLCP temporarily. It could potentially repeat for other games, but again, I did not face anything personally.

The old versions used to come with the regular MPC but the newer ones come with MPC-HC. It is overall the same though, very minimalistic in terms of design but without sacrificing any functionality. It ensures that the application does not take too much RAM.

Now for the downsides, first off, WARNING: The application is a "bundleware". It comes with toolbars and homepage changer. DO NOT, I repeat, DO NOT, keep clicking "Next" blindly. You have to "Decline" the two offers otherwise you will end up with toolbar and your homepage changed to Bing or whatever it was. This itself is a big negative for me, when applications come bundled with stuff like this. But at least it gives you an option to skip it.

Now the second one is not really major, but it would have been nice if the application came bundled with a set of encoders for Ripping/Converting multimedia files. Foobar comes with a really excellent Ripping and Converting software and VLC comes with it too. Not that I take off points for this statement but it would have been nice nevertheless. I am guessing it has to do with MPC-HC and not the pack itself.

Apart from this, I have no other issues. I would highly recommend this to anyone who is looking for a decent, minimalistic player which can play everything, provided if you skip the advertisements during installation.


Review by vibgyor on Aug 1, 2015 Version: 11.3.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Please install Full version instead of Mega version. Then install MPC-HC seperately!!

If your OS not working for this Mega Version....

I use Win7-64bit too and all went fine


Review by KenEzthex on Dec 12, 2014 Version: 10.8.8 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




K lite mega pack,the mpc didn't work in windows7 64bit

Review by shinnishi on Jun 8, 2014 Version: k lite v10.55 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 8/10




Great codec pack. all the needful codecs are included.

Review by eagletdw on Nov 30, 2013 Version: 10.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




First, I have to say this is the BEST code pack ever and it should be rated higher! It's free and also works better than the ones that charged. The K-Lite Codec Pack play just about every codec files. I mostly use it to watch divx coded files. After installing it, I also have no problem using Windows Media Player 9 to watch encoded divx file unlike someone previously mentioned (maybe he should try new vers and make sure his Window Media Player 9 is updated?). I highly recommend however using the cool and slick ^^ BSPlayer instead for those of you who dislike the Media Player Classic interface or prefer a much cleaner looking player then Windows Media Player 9. BSPlayer can be found in the the K-Lite Mega Codec Pack vers 1.25 which can be downloaded from the main website link.

The K-Lite Mega Codec Pack vers 1.25 is essentially a K-Lite Codec Pack 2.41 Full version with additional features such as QuickTime Alternative 1.42, Real Alternative 1.32, BSplayer 1.22.817 and FFDShow build 2005-02-16. By the way, all these features can be installed optionally.

For me, the installation process went through smoothly. Uninstalled seems to work just as well for the full program or features otherwise such as such as QuickTime Althernative and Real Alternative. I have to say though, these features are really worth keeping. Once you installed you will no longer need QuickTime Player or the overly 'bloated' Real Player.

This is a awesome tool! 10 all the way! ^^


Review by Meiyi on Mar 17, 2005 Version: Klite Mega Codec Pack v1.25 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10


21 reviews, Showing 1 to 21 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com