Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for ImagoMPEG-Muxer

16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews


Great nut loses a point for not supporting wav audio, which seems like a big oversight that would be simple to fix.

Review by Roger on Jul 18, 2018 Version: 1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Wonderful program, thank you!

Review by sashab on Dec 7, 2008 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great, can Remux .m2v & .mp2 / .ac3 that have ben demuxed by ProjectX.

Review by bilskate on Nov 12, 2008 Version: 1.1 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




One shot - one kill!

Review by neato-mosquito on Oct 31, 2008 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If anyone is still looking for a batch controller, I did find this - http://homepage2.nifty.com/sophia0/freesoft/ImagoBatch.rar - webpage is in Japanese but programme "ImagoMPEG-Muxer Batch Controller" seems to be in English.

Review by kohare on Dec 11, 2007 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




"...I tried the latest mplex 2.2.4 of the mjpegtools 1.8.0 package and it now works like a charm." That's fine, but mjpegtools site is for Linux ... maybe the commenter could post the mplex 2.2.4 download link for everyone to make it easy.

Review by halsboss on Oct 27, 2007 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 5/10




I correct my previous comment! I tried the latest mplex 2.2.4 of the mjpegtools 1.8.0 package and it now works like a charm. There are no timecode errors in Virtualdub anymore and audio stays in sync now.

Imago as stated still produces errors in DVDAuthor, as the audio is shifted backwards. So I'm again remuxing my footage with mplex. I think they fiddled with the code as the resulting mux files are a little bigger now. Better NAV packets I presume.


Review by BlondMM on Sep 29, 2007 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




First of all, as an editor I archive my videos as unsegmented VOB files. This way audio and video in multiple languages stay together, the files are easily transferred to dvd for handing out and the image looks great (encoded with CCE basic). That's how I work.

The Imago muxer works ok for years now. File sizes are a little bigger in comparison to other muxers, but the NAV packets are more trustworthy. When using mplex as a replacement (found in the dvdauthor package) I get timecode discrepancies in VirtualDub-MPEG. I also get sync problems while viewing longer runs (video jumps a couple of frames to stay on track).

On the other hand, with Imago I get multiple warnings in DVDAuthorGUI that the audio moves backwards. mplex streams apparently result in no errors (seems logical because it's part of dvdauthor).

So which to trust? I understand that it is hard to follow the exact MPEG format, even professional software lacks correctness now and then. But I can't live without Imago, because a smooth image (that is, no s-s-stuttering) goes above all. Anyone who knows a better muxer, please let us know (TMPGEnc no way).


Review by BlondMM on Sep 28, 2007 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Multiplexing 8 Mbps MPEG2 video files made with the capture unit DVC150B will work perfectly. Multiplexing 15 Mbps MPEG2 video files made with the professional capture card DC2000 is a problem, the process is stopped at the middle of the file, the Imago MPEG Muxer program exits without any error message.

Review by zugol on Nov 21, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 2/10




This a fantastic muxer! With the batch utility written by a previous user, it is nearly perfect. Easy to use, nicely automatically selects the audio stream with the same name as the video stream and fast! I have been looking for a nice muxer for awhile and my search is over.

Review by gust0208 on Oct 15, 2005 Version: ??? OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




[Review of version 1.0.1.0 ; Sept. 2005]

Desperately needs an option for specifying audio offset; for example "-305ms"

(Had to give a low overall score for that reason alone.)

Also, the software version ("About ImagoMPEG-Muxer") is needed somewhere on the interface/GUI.

It's cool that it recognizes .mpv and .mpa files though;
but I did get some artifacts with the output (not sure
if that's the fault of this program or not).

Guess I'll have to keep looking for a program to make MPEGs for me... sigh...


Review by lyberty on Sep 16, 2005 Version: 1.0.1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 6/10




Very simple Multiplexer.

Only drawback is it doesn't have a batch feature, so I wrote one myself.

Download from here http://www.wickedlemon.co.uk/imagobatch.zip

Unzip in to the same folder as ImagoMPEG-Muxer.exe and just select the folder and output type.


Review by wickedlemon on Jul 12, 2005 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




The perfect and fast muxing tool. I miss a batch muxer, but still the best muxer I have ever tried. Thank you.

Review by boon23 on Jul 9, 2005 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excellent small tool that does not require excessive skills. Would be nice to have a wider window to display file paths, else perfect!

Review by Z-Helmut on Feb 14, 2005 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Solved my muxing problems for free.

Worth its minimal download time.


Review by rondo on Dec 8, 2004 Version: 1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




This muxer is working really great! Very easy to use and fast: just select input files, press go! That's it.
It processes AC3 without problems, even multiple audio tracks. The VOB files work very fine with NERO and DVD-Lab.
Only disadvantage is that you can't change any mpeg options like header/bitrate patching etc.


Review by Kimi on Jun 5, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


16 reviews, Showing 1 to 16 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com