Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.





Software Home »



All reviews for DivX

26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


Avoid this like a plague of locusts like those nasty critters in the latest abysmal Jurassic Park film. Adware riddled online installed designed to destroy your system. Install at your own peril! My actual review 0/0.

Review by K.Pearson on Jul 21, 2022 Version: 10.8.10 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




The links totally useless. One link is for Mac systems 123 mb and the other is just downloading the 3 mb Win installer to download that crap from the internet which is on this site or any site including DivX homepage. What a misleading comment and then adding the 'helpful' comment you can control the URL with a virus..! Are u for real buddy?

Review by Harry on Dec 21, 2018 Version: 10.8.7 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Use Offline Installer to Download the DivX Package:
http://dist.divx.com/divx/pro/DivXInstaller.dmg (129MB) or http://dist.divx.com/divx/pro/DivXInstaller.exe (70MB)
U can controll the URL with VirusTotal.


Review by Hunnia on Dec 21, 2018 Version: 10.8.7 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




Award winning, what a crock of sh..! and spyware added during use of its online installer. Stick with xvid if you must encode avi, better still use h264.

Review by As I see It on Dec 19, 2018 Version: 10.8.70 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




What a crock of ...! Is it possible just to purchase the codec without the garbage which comes with it? No. Loads of freeware out there with the spyware add ons.

Review by Xtro on Aug 31, 2018 Version: 10.8.6 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Requires you to disable eset antivirus for installation. Just wanted to test it's ASP quality against xvid, but it doesn't install any VFW components. Avoid as there is plenty of other less intrusive options available that just "work"

Review by dannyboy48888 on Aug 31, 2018 Version: 10.8.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Codec? -> H.264/265/XVid.
Converter? -> Handbrake.
Video Player? -> MPC-HC.

Why i'm buying this?


Review by Huffy on Apr 17, 2018 Version: 10.8.6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I bought this DivxPro Crap a week ago, just to try it, since they say divx supports HEVC decoding etc. But it is the worst software i used so far, even worser then most free software available.

AC3 is crap (doesnt work)
Video quality aint good
HEVC decoding doesnt work at all
Support is slowwwwww
No info or help files for certain settings


Review by --BJ-- on Jan 17, 2018 Version: 10.8.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




Rating by --BJ-- on Jan 17, 2018 Version: 10.8.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




@ leghorn

The available add-ons for DivX you have to pay for.

From the DivX website:

DivX recommended add-ons (paid):

MPEG-2 Plug-in: to convert DVDs to DivX
SRS AudioFusion: for premium sound
DFX Audio Enhancer: custom audio settings


Review by mike20021969 on Feb 25, 2014 Version: 10 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




Is this free of charge again???

I must admit, I haven't used this since v6. So basically I can only refer to the stuff their website provides. And with it comes the DivX10 Format Support Chart. I'm sure the implementation of h.264 works fine, HEVC is also a promising candidate.
But what about the other features the of the converter? (see chart for this to acknowledge): NO support for Vorbis, NO support for Vobsub, but support for -IMHO- outdated RealMedia stuff. My temples are all bloody from scratching...

It may be good to see this soft being free again (can anybody actually completely back this?), the most vital codecs are supported, but no Vorbis and no Vobsub and what about Opus, although free and widely used...

So here's the score:
Ease of use 9 .. I'm sure, like many other tools, this is easy as pie to handle
Functionality 6 .. lack of free and widely spread formats
Value for $$$ 5 .. seems to be free of charge, except MPEG2 plugin


Review by leghorn on Feb 24, 2014 Version: 10.1.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 6/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




In Win 7 dxva with MPCHM works with Radeon HD 4350 but not with DivX 8 Plus decoder.

Review by ulapines on Mar 26, 2010 Version: Plus 8 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




DivX may be the pioneer in this video compression game but I have been disappointed with the resulting videos.

I am extremely happy with xvid mpeg4 codec. I am from the photographiy field and always look for edge definition, overall sharpness + visible details in shadow areas. Something sadly lacking in any version of Divx.

Only saving grace is that my DivX certified standalone dvd player does accommodate xvid + ac3 rips.


Review by pmshah on Mar 17, 2010 Version: Divx 5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 5/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 2/10




Divx is dead..Too many free tools out there that do a better job at h264 encoding..Also it doesn't support files with vc-1 encoding..Very slow on my dual core compared to the freebies..I used to use divx religiously..Oh well, time to move on to bigger and better things..

Review by headhunter03 on Nov 21, 2009 Version: 7 OS: Vista Ease of use: 4/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 3/10




No offense to people that actually pay for this, but DivX just jumped on the whole HD MKV bandwagon a few years late. HD H.264 decoding in mkv format has been around for years already via haali media splitter + ffdshow and for FREE at that. There are dozens of better, more mature tools to convert HD content into an MKV container with AAC audio that are once again, absolutely FREE. But, if this software fits your purposes then I don't see why one shouldn't use it.

Review by bmo on Jan 6, 2009 Version: 7 OS: Vista Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 6/10




why pay for it? it's definitely not garbage, like a previous poster said. but i get the same results with xvid which is free.

Review by leghorn on Sep 1, 2008 Version: any $-ware OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 9/10




Divx Pro is the best of the best. Radical improvement in version 6.
First think some ding dong said that Dr. Divx is dead. No Dr. Divx is more alive than ever and is not open source. It was just updated to work with the newest version of Divx, 6.8. It is handled by SourceForge and can be downloaded at the Divx Labs site at
http://labs.divx.com/DrDivXDownload. For the new Windows version that used the latest Divx 6.8, download Dr.DivX OSS 2.0.1 Beta 6.
Enormous flexibility with menus and resizing, as well as better encoding speed. I personally like to encode it using VirtualDub and select the 1 pass Quality mode and a quantizer from 2 to 4, depending on how much I care about the quality.
The PRO package is all of 19.95 (it is nice to see programmers get paid something), but there are promotions all of the time. Plus, if you encode and put a Divx video in a web site and use the tiny, but incredible Divx Web Player, you will get the Pro package for Free.
The Divx Web Player 1.4 allows for HD video from your web site. There is a section in Divx labs that will create code for you to add into your web site.
I play Divx all of the time on my stand alone cheapee Philips stand alone DVD player.
More and more DVD players are divx certified or Ultra Divx certified.
The videos I encode that I play on my TV (with the stand alone player), keep getting crisper, as newer versions come out.
Make sure you check out the Divx Labs sections for some cool tools that some of tghe community has created, as well as advanced releases.

Jon


Review by jolo on Jan 26, 2008 Version: Divx 6.8 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Overall, I find this to be a great tool. However, I can understand why people will find it bloated, as I too find it bloated. It would be nice if DivX provided individual installers for each component. I am aware that you can choose what to install, but it would be nice if one could simply download the components they desired. Also, I find it a little frustrating that I must download the entire DivX suite whenever an update is available, even though only one or two components have actually changes.

The only other snag with DivX is that it calculates a Mb as 1000 kb, whereas XviD calculates a Mb as 1024 kb. This has led to numerous DVDs being the wrong DVD size.

But despite that, it is still a very good, and fully integrated tool, and even better when used with DivX Author or TDA 3 with DivX Authoring.


Review by retpyrc on Dec 13, 2007 Version: 6.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




in reply to the poster below: garbage for some, gold for others :) if it doesn't work for you, it doesn't mean it's bad :) no offense but... think twice before you post

Review by uzi on Dec 12, 2007 Version: 6.8.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Ding Dong the Doctor is Dead. Does not work with codec 6.0

Review by SandyB on May 4, 2007 Version: Divx6 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




DivX Pro encoder (6.5.1) running under Dr DivX (2.0.OSS) allows direct encoding to .divx from a DVD .VOB with multiple (and selectable) audio & subtitles. This alone makes it a great tool.

My only real criticism is that the bitrate seems to be limited to 4000Kbps, although I cannot find direct confirmation of this in the literature.


Review by nerdgeek on May 1, 2007 Version: 6.5.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




Too slow at playing divx files and skipping through films was very slow and nearly unresponsive at times.

Download divx 3.11 codec and Xvid codec (and tick the 3 FourCC boxes in xvid decoder settings).


Review by paul_g on Jan 25, 2006 Version: 6 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 3/10




The latest version has excellent encoding speed if you use the built in profiles accessed with the settings button. It also has profiles for video capture at 640x480 and 640x352 which are excellent and work well with my PIV 2.4GHz.
The letterboxed 16:9 profiles trim the black borders automatically-which may give unwanted results. All the profiles resize the video to size specified in profile-the resizing is much faster than the inbuilt virtualdub filter.
It has a built in kbps calculator.
A tip-you can get away with much lower kbps than in specific profile if you change encoding speed from standard to slow-the compression improves dramatically-and this is with single pass (the profiles are all single pass)-with two pass slow speed encoding -you can use about 50 % of the kbps specified in profile for PC watching.
Finally and most important, there is no adware version-the pro version has a 6 month(!) trial.
Thumbs up!!


Review by mgh on Aug 5, 2004 Version: 5.2 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Well, that's becuz u downloaded the pro version.
The normal version's link is just a small link just below the comparision table.


Review by wwenze on Feb 9, 2004 Version: 5.1.1 OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




I just updated the DivX coded to version D5.1.1 and was most annoyed to see that it also installs Gator, one of the worst of adware/spyware apps there is! Be sure to scan your dive with Ad-Aware or Spybot after installing anything from DivX! Gator is pure junk!

Review by JohnnyCNote on Feb 8, 2004 Version: 5.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 5/10




DivX 5.0.5 is truly an excellent MPEG-4 based codec and one that is coming into maturity.

The quality is excellent for bitrate, and DivX Networks has finally created a Certification Program for hardware manufactureres (so DivX clips encoded at certain specs will be guaranteed playback).

With the advanced features like GMC, Q-Pel and multiple B frames, you can achieve the same quality with even a lower bitrate (20-25% less), however, you must use either the ad-ware supported version of the codec or purchase DivX Pro. If you find those features useful, I suggest supporting DivX Networks by purchasing DivX Pro rather than using the adware version.

However, as the Certification Program does not require hardware manufacturers to support these advanced encoding features, I don't recommend their use either. On the eve of DivX Certified players, I strongly suggest that you keep your DivX clips in the "cerfied" range. Because of hardware support, and platform support over Windows, Linux and MacOS X, I highly recommend DivX over RM, WMV or QT.


Review by vitualis on Aug 9, 2003 Version: 5.0.5 standard OS: Win2K Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2022 videohelp.com