Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and download streaming video, copy, convert or make Blu-rays and DVDs! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DaVinci Resolve

31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews


I can't understand the negative comment, It works great for me! True I am NOT a beginner, in fact as a retired electronics engineer I have been around Video Editors since they we nothing more than 2 beta cam players and a beta cam recorder doing cut edits with 5 second pre-roll just to get the tapes in sync. Since I retired about 15 years ago I have continued to use NLE's as a hobby and am familiar with most common versions, except Adobe's PP, I just never liked it but that's just my personal taste. So far, and I've been using DaVinci Resolve since Ver.14, I find it amazing.

It can be intimidating for a beginner and there are so many hidden features that I am sure even experts get confused sometimes. I have had a few crashes, but upon investigation it is usually related to hardware rather than the software itself. One common issue is using an external SSD as the scratch disk, if it does not respond instantaneously it can cause a crash.

I currently use a 2017 iMac 3.4 GHz i5 with a 1TB Fusion drive and 48Gb RAM which (apart from the RAM) is nothing special. I edit mostly 4K footage and downsample to 1080p for output. If I include and still images in a project then I may have LR and PS open as well and I still enjoy smooth playback.

As to Value for Money... well, if you don't need the additional effects and codec's of the Studio version you can't get much cheaper than FREE!


Review by L McCutcheon on Jun 13, 2020 Version: 16.2.2 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Davinci Resolve Tutorial de

https://gwegner.de/


Review by k.meiers@outlook.de on Apr 23, 2020 Version: DaVinci Resolve 16.2.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 7/10




I have no idea why it's getting so much hate on here vs everywhere else online. I can't tell if they're uneducated or trolls

DR16 has been so smooth vs Premiere Pro. I've completed documentaries, youtube videos and music videos without any issues. It's NLE abilities are great now, and I'm able to edit way faster in this vs everything else I've tried (Hitfilm, FCPX and PP - which l still own/pay for monthly but don't use since going all in on DR)

The fact that they update so often, is remarkable (heck even yesterday they just dropped ANOTHER update). Sure there is bug reports, every piece of software has them, and there's also the fact that a lot of people don't update their graphic drivers, or even provide good logs. I've personally had a 95% flawless experience with all the tools inside the app, although I'm still not a huge fan of Fusion vs After Effects.

I bought the studio version, because I truly see the value in BlackMagic. The free version is fantastic too, but I don't pick software based on price, I pick it based on features, updates, stability, ease of use and the team behind it - all of which are top notch from Black Magic.

As for people saying the support is bad. That's incorrect. I had a bug which alerted the team, who reached out to be personally by email and then released a fix. I've also had amazing and detailed responses from their email team too, way more detailed and helpful vs other NLEs.

I was a Premiere pro user for several years. I didn't move without a lot of thoughts, no one wants to switch for the sake of it. I did however make the best decision in the end by switching to DR.


Review by Dean Phillips on Apr 22, 2020 Version: 16.2.1 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by sdasdcasdca on Apr 13, 2020 Version: 2.513 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by emnicoo on Apr 12, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I agree with previous posts. DaVinci Resolve 16 has become the worst NLE of all times. I've worked with Adobe, FCP, Vegas... And it keeps getting worse with every update. I think they hired monkeys as programmers. Also, most of the time, support will give you a run around as they don't know what's going on. I have stopped using this PIECE OF CRAP!

Review by Filmdetect on Mar 18, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




For the non-believers : https://forum.blackmagicdesign.com/viewtopic.php?f=21&t=97542. These are horror stories!

Review by FilmVid on Mar 9, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Just saw all the horror stories on their forum. Seems that the programmers of this software are really incompetent. So it's a NO THANKS for me...

Review by MisterMister on Mar 9, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I concur! Piece of junk... As all the fake ratings below state "No comment just rating" with a 10/10 score. Well I can do that to. So...No comment rating only.

Review by David s. on Mar 6, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: Windows 10 Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Went back to Adobe PP. DaVinci Resolve is good for color grading only. Editing is a real pain. Very unstable. Support sucks! When reporting a problem (and there are many) they always ask for log files. After that, you won't hear from them again. Searched their forum a lot and it is mind blowing how incompetent they are...

Review by RKM on Mar 6, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




Don't believe all the positive feedbacks. Most of them are FAKE! As a pro editor I can tell you that DaVinci Resolve is a real unstable NLE. DO NOT make important projects with it. There are numerous cases (Check their forum) where whole projects are just broken. Until BMD fixes all the bugs and instability issues (that will not be happening any time soon, it' a NO GO! 16.2 is the same. Just 1 day out and the bugs are already piling up.

Review by Dandyeditor on Mar 6, 2020 Version: 16.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




@Reddydrag, I concur 100%. Very unstable. Davinci should have stayed with the color correcting only. They do not know the first thing about professional editing. Also, I'm not an Adobe fan but Blackmagic's Fusion (integrated in Davinci Resolve) is like a broken toy software compared to After Effects.

Review by VideoGuru on Jan 7, 2020 Version: 16 OS: MacOSX Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I can't believe all the positive feedback here! I use DR now for 2 years and believe me, everyday it gets worse. First I thought I had finally found a miracle solution for adobe Premiere but that didn't last for long. Every update from Blackmagic, DR 16 gets worse! It is almost impossible to finish a 3 minute video without serious problems. Davinci Resolve proved to be very unstable. Go take a look at the DaVinci Resolve forum before you buy!
The people responsabel for the updates have never done some serious editing. You are warned!



Review by Reddydrag on Jan 7, 2020 Version: 16.1.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 2/10 Overall: 1/10




WOW, wish I had found this much sooner. Used Pinnacle for years with some good results, but this program is much much better. Dinged it for the complexity but hope to master is as I use it. Very good help manual, only 3000 pages, wow. Will take some time to get to know how to edit my library of movies. Has some really cool feature. Need to get use to no fly-over help bubbles like most cheap software. If you want to spend money for video editing this should be the one to invest in. Hands down. You can even watch the movie backwards. After seeing this, it make so much sense on how they do this in the big screen movies. I now can say that this makes me feel like a newbie in the video editing arena. I have made thousands of home movies from VCR conversions with Pinnacle Studio and other software. Hope that the results will be of better quality. Best investment I have made in software in a very long time. Should be on everyone's wish list for Christmas. Bye bye Pinnacle. The only downfall is that for the ultimate experience in video editing you will need their professional keyboard or panels at some expense. Wish all of the home video buffs out there to step out of their comfort zone and try this software.

Review by Backpain on Dec 18, 2019 Version: Resolve Studio 16.1.2 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Excellent software. I am really sorry that I didn't find it earlier. I was stuck with sluggish/buggy and overbloated Pinnacle Studio. When I have learned that Resolve Studio is free I couldn't believe.

I am using both free Resolve and Resolve Studio version on two computers. If you are prosumer than the free version is everything you will ever need. Really!! I have bought the software in Studio version because I wanted to donate them money for what they did.

The program is not easy for beginners. That is a fact. It seams easy but to work effectively you must learn the concepts of how you are supposed to work on each tab page. But once you learn it is a real pleasure. I gave only half of the stars for ease of use BUT this is not against the software. It's a fact: you have to adapt to a new workflow but you will not regret it. Especially I really recommend learning the keyboard based workflow with all the available keyboard shortcuts.

The writers of this program really did take into account work speed and ergonomy. You can go very fast through tons of footage (using fast review mode), quickly do basic cutting and then fine tune it in edit / fusion / color and fairlight (sound) stages of your work. That is very well thought of. And very effective.

And when I learned that you can automatically clean up afeter editing (delete unused footage, move used footage to different drive etc) it simple blew my mind. I always wasted a lot of time managing the media.

Compared to Pinnacle/Avid/Corel Studio: it simply works. Do not crash, renders files correctly, projects do not become unusable etc. And has more refined functionalities in the places important for the quality of final movie (like color management, sound fine tuning) instead of overbloating with unnecesary functions.

Compared to Adobe: you are not forced to pay taxes to Adobe till the end of your life. You get the software for free or pay once and you own the software till the end of your life!!!!! If you will want to edit something after 20 years you will be able to do this. Without paying extra money to re-render your footage.



Review by damago1 on Dec 17, 2019 Version: 16 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Loures on Dec 5, 2019 Version: 16.1.1.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




My recommendation to everyone. Buy Studio version. It is MUCH faster when working with h.264 footage. It is better to buy Studio version then spend money for buying additional/larger HDD/SSD for optimized media. You save your time to generate optimized media and on top you get extra effects which are not included in the free version.

Review by PHh on Feb 13, 2019 Version: 15.2.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I still have it installed and used on w7-64b

Review by fbt on Dec 4, 2018 Version: 15.2.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Only Windows 10 is supported by now... An actually decent software becomes useless by being utterly incompatible with common operating systems. Also, full version is way too expensive!


Review by pintcat on Dec 3, 2018 Version: 15.2.1 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by SreveL on Oct 24, 2018 Version: 15.1.1 Studio OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Simply the best. I can't believe I haven't tried this masterpiece before.
I think I need to stop listening to "recommendations" by strangers who only know about Premiere etc.


Review by nick on Oct 23, 2018 Version: 15.1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Excelente y muy completo programa, incluso su versión free.

Review by Paulus on Oct 11, 2018 Version: 15.1.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Peter Sagan on May 1, 2018 Version: 14.3 OS: Windows 8 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by kgjhg on Mar 15, 2018 Version: 14.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by silence on Mar 15, 2018 Version: 14.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Egidijus J. on Feb 3, 2018 Version: 14.3 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Guys that give 1/10 score are haters that try to lower the score. You cant give less than 10/10 value for money if product is free. Let alone this evesome product. You may not know how to use it, are laze enought to learn it, some functions are not there... but value for money?!¨

I started to use Davinci when Premiere Lumetry started to make troubles back in 2014. I used SpeedGrade as well. Than discovered resolve. If Speedgrade is speedier in comparison to Premiere built in tools, Resolve does resolve colors you were not know it was there. Right name. Learning curve is not huge if you know the principles of color grading (from real grading machines in anolg world). It is far more intuitive than Speedgrade, or Lumetri. As well FAST.

I only have free version, and I hoped that someday it will evolve into full grown suite. I like alredy in 12.5 the way how it export files. Now I use Premiere only for cuts and export. But today I discovered version 14. Now this is not only full grown editing suite, but it adds attention to audio as well. I can ditch now both Premiere and Audition, and Speedgrade. I do not use Aftereffects, so I can finally ditch Adobe subscripttion.

Price of 300 USD is bargain compared to what I pay for Adobe software both in money and my time, nerves, frustration. And I learned that it works fine on Linux - So I can buy new workstation dedicated to editing without the need To pay for Windows which I do not like as well.

If I take into consideration how many savings I make with transition to DavinciResolve, the studio version is actually free after one month of uasage, than I actually gain profit by just not having expenses each month, let alone, being far quicker and higher quality for what I do.

It is Capture One for video.


Review by michael on Dec 3, 2017 Version: 12.5 OS: Windows 7 64-bit Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




As a fully professional NLE, expect a learning curve. Once learnt, it is easy to use. The grading tools are regarded as an industry standard. There is no bloatware. Download the free version directly from the Blackmagic Design website. The paid for Studio version ($299) is available from dealers. Available for both PC and Mac. You can load VST plug-ins into the Fairlight audio section, and mix in surround if you wish. I find it a pleasure to use, and the workflow is far superior to most consumer orientated edit software.

Review by ChapmanDolly on Oct 21, 2017 Version: 14.0.1 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Lenard on Sep 14, 2017 Version: 14.0 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Sartori on Jul 26, 2017 Version: 12.5.b6 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




No comments. Rating it only.

Review by Michael on May 29, 2017 Version: 12.5 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


31 reviews, Showing 1 to 31 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com