Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVDFab and copy all Ultra HD Blu-rays and DVDs / remove Cinavia protection! Download free trial !

Software Home »



All reviews for DVD slideshow GUI

10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews


Well folks,

I figured I'd give this one a go and its no dice for me. There are better free solutions out there and they are:

First, create your sildeshow using Windows Movie Maker 6.0 and save it using an HD template. There are 4 different HD versions included in this modified version that will install on any Win OS version:
http://movies.blainesville.com/p/wmm-60-on-windows-7.html
Note: All outputs are in the .wmv format except the DV-AVI selection which creats files too large to use in most cases.

Alternatively, you can use the Windows Live Movie Maker 12 which is part of the Windows Essentials Package here:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/movie-maker
Note: The installer will give you the option to only install Moviemaker and the outputs of your slideshow can be generated in either a .wmv or .mp4 format.

FYI, my preference is still WMM 6.0 because of the interface.

Next, download and install DVDStyler (or use the portable version) and use that, in conjunction with the videos you created, to make outstanding DVD videos.

Good luck,

gus



Review by gus gusimio on Jan 26, 2016 Version: 0.9.5.4 OS: Windows 10 64-bit Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 3/10




I used it for thousands of pictures to create very simple slideshows. It is a very fast way to just backup your fotos together with some music to video, be it dvd or blueray. This version works well, practically no crashes. The generated video has very godd quality. It is a little slow because it is written in basic. I always export .avs files and later encode them to x264 in a batch job.
Animation is difficult to use, very slow and not reliable.
Has very good support from developer.


Review by george84 on Dec 9, 2011 Version: 9.4.7 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 7/10




I finally got the opportunity to test-drive DVDSlideshowGUI, with ~300 odd photos. I used the great random transition feature, and it was easy to go through and replace a few of the inappropriate transitions (eg get rid of "heart" yuck). I had full control over slide duration and transition duration. Added some Ken Burns effects to a handful of the photos. Added some music and used the very cool "Match To Audio Duration" feature. The entire process was very quick & easy & intuitive. This is fun software! Thanks very much to tintin for giving us this gem! I really hope he continues work on it. It's already superb as it is, and I ran into no bugs whatsoever, but it would be nice to see it continue to develop. What would be really cool (and I don't even know if this is possible or not) is the ability to manually "tap through" the slides in tempo with the background music, in real-time - or some other way of syncing up the slideshow to the beat of the music? Anyway fabulous software, and I give it 10 across the board. Thanks tintin!

Review by ZQX on Apr 25, 2009 Version: 0.9.1.1 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Great tool - I especially like the photo animation features.

Review by ajbastien on Oct 25, 2007 Version: 0.77 RC3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




I have several (both freeware and buyerbeware) cd/dvd slideshow creation programs that I have used over the years and each has had issues for my intended use.

DVD slideshow Gui used in conjuction with GUI for DVDauthor and Imageburn makes a nice package with reasonable flexibility and without a lot of work/thought on my part. I can import a directory of Jpegs, re-arrange order if desired, add some background music and individual photo subtitles if wanted and then export to GFD, creat DVD on HD and burn it with Imageburn. Total time including burn time less than 15 minutes.

Very few keystrokes required. When your brother-in-law says "Can you put these photos on a DVD for me quickly?"...try this one.

Don't be put off by the fact that there are three or four visible freeware programs involved, as the steps required in Gui for DVDAutor and Imageburn are not complex. Basically just point to folder on hard disk and execute.

You want more...It cost effective too...

The current version 77RC3 also uses the excellant HC encoder.

Great job guys...


Review by OldeMan on Jul 25, 2007 Version: .77RC3 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




New AviSynth related functionalities are great..Gives flexibilities..

Still has some little buggs but it seems to be a good tool.


Review by alevon on May 9, 2007 Version: 0.75 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




I have a lot of problem with the slideshow ended abruptly on the last slide or missing the last few slides. I found out that MPLEX is aborting leaving the .mpg file too short. The error message is:
"[b][color=red]too many frames dropped[/color][/b]"

[b][color=red]This problem can be fixed by downloading the latest version of QuEnc (V.070) to replace the V.061 from DVD Slideshow GUI[/color].[/b]

However, there is a new problem. MPLEX error out with
[color=red][b]"Frame data under-run detected"[/b][/color]

[color=red][b]The problem can be fixed by running QuEnc and set "2 pass encoding". Also, make sure the advanced option - audio codec is set to "AC3". Click "Apply" and quit.[/b][/color]

It took me a long time and many many digging around, trial and error to sovle these problems.


Review by choi888@pacbell.net on Jul 21, 2006 Version: 065 OS: WinME Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Just tried out the new version. I like some of new features, such as animation of the pictures and export to avi. I think this program is headed in the right direction.

Review by gerryc on Mar 12, 2006 Version: .062 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 6/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 8/10




Extreme slowdown when trying to import more than one picture at a time. Looked like a OS lock (ctrl+alt+del would not respond).

Review by almost human on Oct 27, 2005 Version: 0.60b9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 3/10 Functionality: 2/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 3/10




Program randomly drops slides and just leaves a black screen in it's place. Slides that it does decide to produce seem very good.

Review by edg on Oct 14, 2005 Version: V.60Beta9 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10


10 reviews, Showing 1 to 10 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2020 videohelp.com