Help us keep the list up to date and submit new video software here.



Try DVD-Fab Video Downloader and download streaming video from Netflix and other sites! Download free trial !


Software Home »



All reviews for DVD-lab PRO

26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews


I have been using adobe encore for years but is fed up by the crashes and bugs. I heard DVDlab pro is a good alternative so I downloaded the trial version.

After I imported an mpg file into dvdlab pro, it says I need to use LPCM to wave tool to convert the audio track, and it automatically called that tool. During or after the conversion, the program crashed and exited.

That is all I know about DVDlab pro. On with the search for a stable DVD authoring program.


Review by videdit on Oct 20, 2013 Version: 2.51 OS: Windows 7 Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 4/10 Value for money: 4/10 Overall: 4/10




DVDlab Pro is the BEST dvd authoring software EVER. I never had any problems with it and you can do anything can be seen on commercial DVDs: audio and subtitle setup menu, scene selection menu, multiple audio and subtitle streams, multiple movies (main movie and extras), and so on. The documentation and the tutorials could be a bit better about the advanced features but you can do many things without reading any. What you can not do with DVDlab you won't be able to do with any other program. It's even able to convert AVI files to dvd, though the result video will not have the best quality.

Review by Skynet on May 24, 2007 Version: 2.28 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Looks complex but once you start using and reading help, it is quite valuable tool. I first used this tool to add closed captions to DVD. Closed caption in SCC format can be added to the VOB files. Adding subtitles is alos easy, you can either manually type in the subtitles or import srt file. Creating menu is also easy with the flow chart model.

Review by rakf1 on Nov 17, 2006 Version: 2.20 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 8/10




I'm in agreement with "netrom", this version fails when synchronizing the added news Subtitles, also it tries with several movies, and the failure is the same one, I remain better with v.1.53.

Review by jorgecmn on Oct 6, 2006 Version: 2.18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 3/10 Overall: 5/10




Version 1.60 does everything right, but version 2.18 cannot synch the subtitles.
I have ripped the subs from two different movies. Then translated it into an other language and put the movies back together.
Subtitles will be out of synch when using v2.18, but evething is fine when using v1.60


Review by netrom on Oct 6, 2006 Version: 2.18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 8/10




with old version 1.53 it was nearly always possible to author without demuxing video.
with new version 2.18, authoring nearly always fails without warning (better check before burning !!!)if you don't demux video. it is more space and time consuming.
checked many times with the same files with the two versions.


Review by jraf on Oct 6, 2006 Version: 2.18 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 5/10 Overall: 7/10




superb program,only they say Import: AVI all installed codecs, like Xvid. It didn't! Pity would be supersuper

Review by jeebee on Aug 15, 2006 Version: V2.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




When I started taking a serious interest in DVD production, I came across the original DVD-lab, and was amazed at how it differentiated itself from consumer-tools at the time. I tested the beta-PRO version and published a professional title that had far more menu and navigation features than I could have expected. I gave in and bought the $200 version, and I have to say that this one of the best trialware applications I've ever purchased for media and DVD production. DVD-lab PRO is a *must* have for the serious DVD hobbyist or developer, and is a critical part of my own DVD production company. What you spend in $$ is quickly recovered in time saved and usable features. The only negative I can point too is the documentation. While there are examples and explanations of most features, the documentation does not effectively shorten the sometimes steep learning curves of the more advanced features. If someone were to write a comprehensive book on DVD-lab PRO's features (and include use-cases examples from hobbyist and professional perspectives), it would be the crown jewel to this fantastic application.

Review by belfiore on Jun 12, 2005 Version: 1.53 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




After using TMPGEnc DVD Author with no sucess because the audio and video are not in sync. I tried DVD-Lab Pro, the program worked; better than I anticipated. The program is really tough for beginners, but once you get use to it, it becomes bearable. This program has lots of features than other author programs don't. I like it a lot. If people are having trouble with dvd authoring, I highly recommend this tool.

Review by trevorrugby on May 26, 2005 Version: 2.5 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 9/10




Very great tool. You can made almost all professional DVD features.

Review by midium on Apr 27, 2005 Version: 1.04 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




After trying a bunch of different authoring programs, DVD Lab Pro has finally taken first place and now that I'm comfortable with it, I like it more and more every day.

If you want to do anything more than basic authoring (motion menus, custom navigation, etc.), this program is worth every penny. It has features many of the MUCH higher priced programs do not. At $199 it is the best deal around. But don't let the low price fool you.

I've used TMPGEnc DVD Author 1.6 (great and probably the best program if you just want simple menus FAST), Sonic DVDIt!, Sony DVD Architect 2.0 (not bad, but more complicated than it needs to be and lacks features it should have), Ulead DVD Workshop 2 (decent, but advanced navigation, etc. is limited), and others.
DVD Lab Pro beats them all hands down.

Even if you only want simple menus, it's a snap. I find it has a TON of useful little features and tools like mux/demux, bit-rate analyzers, etc. Too many to list. The ability to easily create beautiful customized menu transitions can really make your DVD look quite professional. If you are graphically inclined, creating and using your own objects (buttons, backgrounds, images, etc) is easy.

The quality of the output is fantastic. And the speed is unbelievable. It will author a 2 hour movie with multiple menu transitions normally in less than 15 minutes.

At first the interface can look a little duanting, but once you dig into it you'll find it organized quite logically and you understand why things are set up the way they are. The software is well thought out and the author paid great attention to the little details that make using this program a joy.

There will be a learning curve no matter what software you use. I found DVD Lab to have just about the lowest learning curve of all. Within a couple hours I was comfortable. Within a couple days I was breezing along. After a month now I "almost" feel like an expert.

If you're looking for a great piece of software at an unbeatable price, this is it. The features are too many to list here. Give it an honest workout and I think you'll be impressed.


Review by cincyreds on Feb 15, 2005 Version: 1.0 Build 041103 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




Re the comments immediately below.....
DVDLab and DVDLab Pro is NOT, and has never ever eluded to being an AVI to Mpeg encoder. It's job in life is to author DVDs with menus ready for burning to DVD, and it does that job well. There are many other packages that do a good job of converting AVI to MPEG2.
But think outside the square. With the cost of DVD Recorders dropping daily, and the picture quality far outstripping the capture-and-convert system, you can use a DVD recorder to create your Mpeg2, then transfer it into DVDLab for the final trimmings and menu creation.


Review by zenzen1 on Jan 28, 2005 Version: 1.0 041215 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 10/10




When I first got this I was a bit put off by how complex it looked -it reminded me a lot of Avid!

Run through the quick tutorial & you're laughing though.

My scores are a bit lower than most due to a couple of mega gripes I have:
It doesn't recognise MP3's or AVI files.
If I want to burn anything, I have to spend ages using the very poor TMPG software to convert it to MPeg 2 first.

Other than that, this software is quite good fun.


Review by masterchief77 on Jan 28, 2005 Version: 1.0 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 7/10 Value for money: 6/10 Overall: 6/10




Pretty good authoring tool!!!. Still learning

Review by oldtown on Oct 30, 2004 Version: 1.0 041025 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 8/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




If you want something other than pre-canned menus/layouts this is the tool for you. I have been a happy user of the standard version and have been keeping up with the pro betas. I'm GLAD to pay for the upgrade to the PRO version.

Yes, there may have been bugs in the beta versions (imagine that) but I don't know of any other software of this class where you can talk directly to the developer (Oscar).

With the advanced programming options I am planning on using it for training videos with chapter quizes/scores. Try doing that with MovieFactory or anything else for $200.


Review by jimjohnd on Oct 20, 2004 Version: 1.0 OS: Win2K Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




If a single MPG file of over 90 mins (Approx) is used, the DVD produced would not play in my SANYO DVD-7201. Initially, I was totally confused about the reason for non playing (the player just freezes). After lot of hit and trial found this to be the reason.

If I break up the same file into smaller chunks (time wise, not MB or GB wise), and create the DVD then there was no problem in playing - EXCEPT - for a movie, a short time gap before the second section would start.

Any body else noticed this bug -- this applies up to the last Beta RC4 - all others included.

Otherwise, a fantastic piece of software. No problem about audio sync - like some reported about ULEAD DVD W'Shop (I have not used that yet so cannot comment fully)


Review by ark on Oct 17, 2004 Version: All OS: Win98 Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




When it works brilliant piece of software, which looks daunting at first but mess about for 30mins and you should get the hang of it, comparing it to Tmpeg DVD author is strange as that is wizard driven and though OK, its far to basic for me, with this you can add multiple audio streams even DTS, multiple subtiles and the menus can look great if you spend a bit of time, most other consumer Authoring programs have poor templates which your stuck with, you can just about do what you want with this.

Now the problems, the muxing can be problematic in some players, and the biggest one ive found is the chapters, for some reason it authors 5 chapters and no more, not only chapters but no more video, you can still view the rest of the film if you open the vobs individually but play it from the IFO and all you get is about 5chapters and 25mins of video, it doesn't do this in the standard version though, is this just me, or has anyone else had this problem
But considering the price, and the bugs i would stick to the standard version for now, which is a shame as its the best out there when it works.


Review by martyn1980 on Oct 15, 2004 Version: B14-RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 5/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 8/10




I have to agree with the second comment previous to mine.
Beta software (Bugs) and never a proper stable version.When will they ever produce a reliable,stable version.Selling Beta software for $200 is just a con.
For ease of use,definitely a 1.The interface looks way too complex for me and I cannot be bothered to learn how to use the program (No time)
At a much cheaper price,easy to use,fast and reliable,I think I'll stick to Pegasys TMPG DVD Author.


Review by laspis59 on Oct 14, 2004 Version: beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I had to post a comment after reading the previous statement. I have found this program to be one of the best DVD authoring programs around. The functionality of the diagram-based approach to menu design and the ease of changing button linkages and files is second to none. The only function I am waiting to see how it does in the final version is motion menus and buttons. I had previously used DVD Architect and was satisfied, but I found DVDLab Pro to be much better for the "prosumer" market.

Review by gust0208 on Oct 14, 2004 Version: RC4 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 9/10




Six months of beta testing is pathetic (since at least April 2004). Either make the damned software, or don't.

It's buggy, it doesn't always work ... and quite honestly it should NOT EVEN BE ON THIS TOOLS LIST until it becomes more than 15-day vaporware.


Review by lordsmurf on Oct 14, 2004 Version: betas OS: WinXP Ease of use: 1/10 Functionality: 1/10 Value for money: 1/10 Overall: 1/10




I gave a rate of 9 for ease of use simply because there is not enough tutorial and explanation of the featues bundled with the software. This tool is for someone who wants to do more beyond casual authoring and it is so powerful. For the price range, you just cannot find a competitor program.

It allows you to have movies of different aspect ration on one disc, it offers easy and impressive menu design, it supports subtitles and different audio tracks, it also allows you to use third party ac3 encoders to transcode your audio. I cannot think of anything else a prosumer would want.

The only complaint I have is the chapter setting in the tool is not always precise -- but I may be too exact, to many people, 3 or 4 frames off the chapter point is not a real problem.


Review by silverdragon on Oct 13, 2004 Version: pre-release OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 10/10




I'll give it an overall score of 10 when it finally is available for purchase.

People. Listen up! At first glance at DVDlab and in particular the Pro version, you will feel only intimidated by your own imagination's limitations. At first I thought I'd have to wrap my mind around this program but now I've started to realize I can actually wrap it around me. Even things that it does not claim to be capable of doing can be "fudged" it is so open ended.


Review by Sillyname on Sep 25, 2004 Version: beta 14 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 7/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10




Simply the best software for DVD-Authoring out there...
Itīs just amazing... great tools inside, like MPEG size reduction / Pulldown tool and the support for SRT,SSA,SUB subtitles, just blows up the competition... No more converting and fixing subs like an idiot... Just thrown them at DVDLab and compile the DVD!!

PS=Since RC1 the subtitle problems like sub freezing, out o sync or subs failing to show is gone!! GREAT JOB


Review by cesardrk on Sep 22, 2004 Version: Beta 14 RC2 OS: WinXP Ease of use: 9/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 8/10 Overall: 9/10




On of the best, if not the best authoring tool around. You can do so much with the program. Options are not limited and everyday i find something else i can create with it.
We'll worth the money.


Review by sunmiztres on Sep 20, 2004 Version: 12beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 9/10 Overall: 10/10




Overall this should have reiceved a 9 but i subtracted 4 points because of the subtitle support. I subtracted 1 point because it uses a priprotary sub format which is is encoded from srt subs. Subtracted another point because there is not a preview that will display your subsin order to veiw the timing.
Even though I manually adjust my subs they were still off as much as half a second insome spots on my stand alones and software players after authoring. And also there is no provision to make adjustments to your subs unless u adjust the srt file and encode it again, so it losses another point there.
Also the subs tend to hang on all 5 of my stand alones, and in different spots which tend to lead me 2 belive its the authoring process, I tried the same movie on four types of media and 2 different burners same resut each time. Authored and burned again using 2 other programs each worked fine.
And also the authoring process is painstakingly slow in this version as opposed to DVD-Lab, it could be because of the use of the priprotary sub-format in that case he should stick to whats at hand a benifit from the speed increase.
Over all an excellent tool that i would pay the price for and more just get the sub-title aspect a bit more proficient.


Review by dragonkeeper on May 10, 2004 Version: DVDLab Pro beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 10/10 Functionality: 10/10 Value for money: 7/10 Overall: 5/10




Great tool!

I particularly apprieciate the SubTitle support it now features!


Review by kained on May 8, 2004 Version: Beta OS: WinXP Ease of use: 8/10 Functionality: 9/10 Value for money: 10/10 Overall: 9/10


26 reviews, Showing 1 to 26 reviews
Search   Contact us   Privacy Policy   About   Advertise   Forum   RSS Feeds   Statistics   Software   

Site layout: Default Classic Blue

Affiliates: free-codecs.com

©1999-2021 videohelp.com